Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Door County Shorefront 2 Bedroom Home On 1.2 Acres w/100 Ft Of Shoreline

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Sleeps 6, 35 Miles from Lambeau Field

Cabin w 100 ft of waterfront on private road with: Internet, Fully furnished kitchen, family room with wood burner, full size sleeper sofa, 2 recliners & 50" TV & DVD player. 2 bedrooms with air, queen bed and a single bed. Outside there is a fire pit, a propane grill, Weber grill, lawn chairs, picnic table & hammock. I also have 3 kayaks, bocce ball, latter ball, ring toss and bag toss. There is a 64 foot pier with benches (summer usually Memorial Day to Labor Day).


Owner
Pat O'Donnell
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
June 23, 2017

About Pat O'Donnell

My wife Dena and I have two very active boys. With our hectic schedule we can't find the time to be at the cabin enough so we decided to share it with you. I've lived in Wisconsin my whole life and I absolutely love Door County.

Pat O'Donnell purchased this cabin in 1995

Why Pat O'Donnell chose Door County

I think this is the best part of the county because this isn't the tourist area, but yet you can enjoy a very scenic peaceful drive along the shoreline to visit all the wonderful areas in the county.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear Pat,



We had a truly wonderful stay at your house! Thanks so much for everything. A big thank you as well to your neighbor who helped us with any questions and were so kind.



Kind Regards,

Ben
Sep 2016
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Brussels Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • One towel and wash cloth provided per guest. Please bring your own beach towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
  • Two bedrooms each with air conditioning, queen size beds, twin bed and ceiling fans.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

Door County Shorefront 2 Bedroom Home On 1.2 Acres w/100 Ft Of Shoreline
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 19 reviews
5

Comfortable. Great view, especially if sunsets.

  • 5 of 5

If the fishing had been better, it would have been perfect.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wauwarosa, WI
5

Beautiful sunsets

  • 5 of 5

Perfect weekend get-a-way. Cottage is clean and cozy. Has everything you need.Beautiful views of the sunset and the lake is steps away. Enjoyed having a firepit outside and gazing at the stars at night. The owners are wonderful and made sure all our needs were met. Short drive to the peninsula. Would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

great location

  • 4 of 5

Great location, just few feets from water. We stayed in oct with my 2 kids and friends, the cabin was neat and clean, has everything what you need. The cabin location is what we liked the most, the woods on the back of cabin and water on other side is awesome!! The weather was nice in mid of October, however, the pier/dock shown in the photos was not there. The sugar creek county park is just 5 min walk gives another nice view of lake.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location and view

  • 4 of 5

Nice home with a great view. Great location between Green Bay and the rest of Door County as we came for a Packer game and to explore. Easy to find off the main highway. Anything we needed in the house was available and it was clean upon arrival. A nice affordable place to stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Very Disappointing

  • 1 of 5

The entrance to the property is down a steep hill. If you are the least bit disabled getting into the property involves going down and up stairs. Upon arrival, before entering, we found that the 75' Pier/Dock, which was in the advertised photo, has been removed for the season. When we entered the "so called" remodeled home, we are greeted with a strong musty, mildewy, moldy odor. Our clothes felt wet or damp all the while we were there, and all had to be washed when we got home to get the musty odor out. Although the weather was in the mid 70's and low 80's, with dew points in the mid 60's during our stay, the advertised the window air conditioners were removed and stored away. My wife, who has COPD, was coughing the entire time we were inside the structure. It was not clean, by our standards, and all dishes had to be washed before use. The coffee pot had to be cleaned with two cycles of vinager, before it could be used. The drain board for washed dished was filthy, and was cleaned thoroughly before we would use it. We broght our own pillows, towels and wash clothes and were thanklul that we did. We were advised, after the rental payments were made, that we needed to bring our own water. The well water obiously has a high sulphur content and the rotten egg smell is overwhelming. We were very close to just turning around and leaving shortly after we arrived, however since we were prepaid, we did not want to lose everything, and we stayed.

The marketing descrption for this property is exagerated.

There is much deffered maintenance (widows that do not work properly, oudated electrical service and outlets and the lack thereof).

The recommendation to use portable ceramic heaters if needed. (Old rusty baseboard electric heaters may not have been usable.)

I would not recommend this property to anyone and would probably will not use VRBO again.

After requesting a $500 refund from the owner, he agreed to give us a credit of $125 ($25 per day for no pier).

We owned a remodeled Lake Home for 28 years and for this property, the term "remodeled" is used very losely.

On a positive note, in our travels we did enjoy some sites in Door County and found a place where we will look forward to staying during our next visit to Door County.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes there are three stairs from the parking area to the front of the cabin. You had asked about this before you rented it and you were informed. I have advertised that the pier is removed after Labor Day weekend and it’s in the rental agreement as well so there is no confusion in the future. The bedroom air conditioners are also removed after Labor Day. Sorry, I had checked the weather before your arrival and saw that the temperatures were going to be in the 50’s every night. I’m sorry to hear of your illness. I think most people wouldn’t want to stay in the bedrooms all day. Upon your arrival and call to me with these issues, you did not take the option to leave with a refund. You instead wanted to stay and get a credit of $500 (this is 2/3 of the rental fee). I didn’t think this was justified and did not want to have to pay the expenses (utility and cleaning costs) for you to stay at my home. I offered a credit for the troubles and you made the decision to stay. All windows to work properly. I do have filters on the well water, but do always recommend bottled water. I have not had any other complaints like yours in the past. While my place is not perfect, I do take pride in it, everything does work and I work very hard to keep everything up. The base board in the bathroom does have some surface rust on it. I’m replacing it even though it works.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Very relaxing,peaceful contry settng.

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay. Everything was very clean, and comfortable. The cottage had everything you will need. The wood stove in the cottage was so cozy. We enjoyed the fire pit in the yard. Very private with breathtaking sunsets over the bay. Enjoying coffee in the morning on the back deck. The small grocery store in Brussels had everything we needed plus a great meat department will all fresh meats. The bacon, steaks, hamburgers and brats were so fresh. We enjoyed driving to upper Door County and taking in all the small towns. This was one of the most relaxing vacation ever. Fishing was so much fun.

Ricky and JoAnn

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Green Bay
Nearest Ferry
60 Miles
Washington Island Ferry Line
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Many swimming beaches all over Door County!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Brussels Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Autumn
Sep 5 2017 - Nov 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,025
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$250
$1,445
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 11.0%

100% refund if canceled within 30 days before arrival date. Check out time is 10 a.m. Check in time is 3 p.m.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable