check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Your Oasis In The Stunning Wilds Of Mt. Hood

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
7
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

About the property

Gorgeous 3+ Bedroom, 2.5 Bath Riverfront House With River-Rock Fireplace

Breathtaking house on Mt Hood with a full up and down river views of the Sandy River from inside the house. Renovated open concept with many amazing amenities. Come enjoy the peace of the woods with the luxury of modernity!

Amenities include outdoor hot tub, luxurious copper tub in main bath, stone fireplace in living room, stainless steel appliances, gas cooktop, covered BBQ, wireless internet, and cable television. 2 king beds (1 Tempurpedic), 1 queen bed, and 1 queen pullout in the tv room. Protected views with houses nearby but none in sight! Beachfront and private access to the river is part of the full mountain experience. Check out our website for pictures!


Owner
Chris Martin
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 16, 2017

About Chris Martin

I found Mt. Hood in my 20's when I ran away from Ohio and came across beautiful, historic Timberline Lodge (and a job at the ski resort). After meeting my beautiful wife in Seattle in 2001, we moved down with our baby girl to escape the big city. In many ways it was like coming home and the river is now like another family member. We still split our time between here, Portland and Central Oregon because we believe this is one of the most magical places on earth.

Chris Martin purchased this house in 2001

Why Chris Martin chose Mt. Hood, The Gorge

We traveled all over and have looked at hundreds of homes and believe still that there are only a handful of houses in the world that have this view/proximity to a dynamic mountain river in a modern, updated house. And our proximity to the playground outside our doorstep (and in the welcoming towns of the Villages of Mt. Hood) and being only 40 miles from Portland make it one of the most exceptional places to get away, relax and play outside.

What makes this house unique

We love open concept. And open concept with a view was a dream. The river rock fireplace is amazing ~ we loved it for its look right away but now realize how much it makes you feel like you're in a mountain retreat.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

Your Oasis In The Stunning Wilds Of Mt. Hood
average rating of 4.928571 based on 14 reviews
5

Wonderful place to spend Thanksgiving!

  • 5 of 5

We had five adults and two young children (3 generations) in our party, and spent 3 nights over Thanksgiving 2016. The kitchen was so well-appointed, we had everything we needed to cook our Thanksgiving meal (even a Crockpot!). There was plenty of space for all. It was nice to have the upstairs/loft TV room for the kids to play Legos in. We truly (and daily!) enjoyed the hot tub and fireplace, and spent hours (when it was not raining) playing basketball in the driveway. There were some beach towels available for the hot tub, but I would recommend bringing flip flops for when walking to and from it. We also took a lovely hike on some nearby park trails Thanksgiving morning. There were grocery and liquor stores not too far away for last-minute items. The beds and couches were very comfortable, and there were plenty of extra blankets and pillows. The owner and his neighbors were very responsive and easy to work with. We didn't have any problems or issues with our stay. It was great to have the river in the backyard, and to see it at all times through the generous windows. I would definitely return again!

  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Honokowai, Maui, Hawaii
5

This was by far one of the nicest homes we have ever had the pleasure of staying.

  • 5 of 5

The home is absolutely beautiful the Riverview is just stunning the decorations are amazing the fireplace is warm and cozy and we will be back

  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much, really appreciate you coming!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

We love the Riverhouse!

  • 4 of 5

We had three generations with us, ranging in age from 5 to 77 years old. And every single one of us fell in love with the house! Being on the river was wonderful, the kitchen well supplied, the beds comfortable, everything clean and beautifully maintained. We did not expect to see snow when we booked the trip, and happily it came anyway, so we had snow ball fights in the yard, and steamed in the hot tub as we watched the snow melt! The one thing to note is that the private road and driveway are a bit steep, and we did NOT have 4 wheel drive, so we parked at the neighbor's house and walked our things down. But that would only be an issue in snow with the wrong vehicle. It certainly would not stop us from coming again! Many thanks to Chris, the owner, and John, the neighbor, for being such wonderful hosts!

  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi there, thank you so much for coming and sounds like you had a good time. Our apologies with the snow issue. Once in awhile December snow storms get a little tricky and sometimes guests parking at the neighbors above the Riverhouse is safer. Thank again don't hesitate to let us know if we could have done anything better. Cheers, Chris
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

WOW! Just WOW!!! Such a beautiful property! We were sad to leave!

  • 5 of 5

My family needed a little space to vacation in the mountains while living in luxury. And our needs were more than met. The home is gorgeous! It is literally on the Sandy River. We had a great time. I highly recommend the Riverhouse! It was very clean- and I am a clean freak! The beds were wonderful- and I am a bed snob! Fully stocked house. Open concept was great for family socials and yet we all had our own room to retreat to.

The only downside to our stay was the house had new hardwood floors and the out-gas of the new install created headaches and yielded unpleasant odor. But, we just kept the windows open and the fire burning - It was fine. The good news to that is- that was a one time thing. I am sure your stay would be amazing; as was ours!

Chris, the owner, was great to work with. Straightforward, pleasant, and professional- yet personable. A few of my family members said we should stay here every year!

Simply amazing!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi there. My sincere apologies on the hardwood curing issues. Perhaps the river location etc just taking too long to dry. After our small house fire, truly 15 different firefighters marched through the house tracking soot everywhere unnecessarily, requiring refinishing. Thanks again for coming and the floors should be fine if you consider coming again!, really appreciate you giving us a chance!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Private Riverside Vacation home near Mt Hood

  • 5 of 5

We LOVED our stay at this beautiful home! It sits tucked right next to the river. It is surrounded by towering mossy trees, beautiful landscaping, and big river boulders. Though homes are nearby, it feels completely private and cozy. It is lovely to sit on the deck overlooking the river in the cool morning air with a cup of coffee. We watched bald eagles swoop low over our heads with a fresh catch of fish in their talons. We watched a beaver swim by as it played in the rushing current. There were beautiful geese and ducks that frequented the river, and it was so pretty to look up at the mountains blanketed in the early morning fog. The house is well stocked with firewood, books, games, and Legos for cool rainy days. It has an outdoor firepit that was perfect for evening smores and long talks as we listened to the river and played rock stacking games with the kids. The home was well stocked with everything we needed...it was just missing a dustpan for the broom!

The home is near to many beautiful hiking trails, and isn't too far for a day trip the Multnomah Falls. We spent a day at Ski Bowl that was well worth the time and money! The kids LOVED the Alpine Slides and bungee jumping!

Highly recommend. Book it!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Summer visit at the Riverhouse

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful experience at the Riverhouse! My family spent 9 lovely days at your home and cannot express enough how comfortable and pleased we were with the experience. Surrounded by tall trees and the rushing river - we found it very difficult to leave to travel around the area. We have family in Gresham and they came up for a few visits for wine and sitting next to the fireplace. On our last day we felt a sense of sadness leaving - wishing we could stay longer. For anyone planning on staying here - you will find all of the comforts of home, creative spots to just reflect and plenty of positive energy to lift your souls during your visit. Thank you for sharing your place with others - it was a great time!

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Portland international Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Brightwood Tavern
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
The Resort
Nearest Train
40 Miles
Amtrak Union Station
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
HWY 26
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
The Rendevouz, Burro Loco
Nearest Ski
12 Miles
Ski Bowl
Nearest Beach
75 Miles
Seaside
Car: necessary

We are at the base of Mt. Hood. We have 3 ski resorts nearby (one with a adventure park with sledding, zip lining, etc.) and we sit between 2 of the best fishing rivers in Oregon (Sandy/Salmon). The house feels very secluded, but you're only a 5 minute walk to our local spots or a 3 minute drive to fantastic restaurants, grocery/liquor store and resort amenities (golf, spa). Great hiking trails very close by in National Wildlife areas and Timberline is only 30 minutes away (a national historic monument with museum, shuffleboard, etc.) The house itself is a delightful respite from hustle and bustle and is decked out to be a great place to cook, sit in the hot-tub, relax by the fire or watch a great movie.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Brightwood House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
May 26 2017 - Jun 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
From
$299
Fri,Sat
 
 
4th of july
Jun 29 2017 - Jul 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
$349
 
 
Summer 2
Jul 10 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
From
$299
Fri,Sat
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$349
 
 
Christmas new year
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
$349
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$299
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $99
Cleaning fee $120
Tax Rate 7.0%

$5,000 insurance optional and available through VRBO. If you don't have this, we will charge a damage deposit. The wood usage is only if it is excessive (some is included).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Brightwood House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Copper soaking tub looking out over the river.
  • Walk-in showers in both bathrooms.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Guest Room 1 - 1 king , TempurPedic Bed
    Guest Room 2 - 1 queen
    Entertainment Room - 1 queen , Queen pullout bed.
  • Master has en suite bath. All bedrooms have blackout curtains. TV with pullout has a half-bath and wet bar sink. Mattresses, bedding and pillows of excellent quality (good sleeping house).
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
Notes:
The Resort at the Mountain has a new spa and there are local massage therapists who will come to the house. Very near a new mountain bike park (Sandy Ridge). Walkable to local Brightwood Store and Brightwood Tavern for basics.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers