Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Log lodge great for relaxing and enjoying nature

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms7
Half Baths1
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Surrounded by woods and backs up to small lake.

Ideal facility for large or small gathering. Log home has 6 bedrooms, 7 baths and finished walk-out lower level. Fully equipped kitchen, front porch with swings and rocking chairs. deck and patio off back of lodge overlooking the lake. Perfect for family reunions, retreats and social events. Each bedroom has twin beds and a private bath. There is a TV on main level and also lower level. There is a pool table/ping pong table, corn hole, basketball goal, canoe, trampoline and water floats for swimming in the lake. Lake has been stocked for fishing. Close to Fuzzy Zoeller golf courses, casinos, antique shops and about 45 minutes from an outlet mall. Close to Louisville, KY and Indianapolis, IN.

Please check rates for increase in prices for 2017

More Details

Owner
Susie Sheehy
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 20, 2017

About Susie Sheehy

This is property I inherited from my parents but, I had not seen it since I was a child. After revisiting it, I decided it was so beautiful, I wanted to make it available for other people to enjoy. There is a lake that is approximately 5 acres and can be used for swimming, boating and fishing. I also built a 6 bedroom log lodge which can accommodate 12 adults and possibly more with using 4 window seats for children. I also have 3 sofa beds. I hope you will consider Heavenly Hills Lodge as your peaceful getaway.

Susie Sheehy purchased this lodge in 2007

Amenities

Underwood Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 7 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , shower
    Main level off great room - toilet
    Lower level full bathroom - toilet , shower , Extra large shower with two shower heads!
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 twin/ single , Each Bedroom has their own private bathroom.
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Each Bedroom has their own private bathroom.
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Each Bedroom has their own private bathroom.
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Each Bedroom has their own private bathroom.
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single , Each Bedroom has their own private bathroom.
    Bedroom 6 - 2 twin/ single , Each Bedroom has their own private bathroom.
    Bedroom 7 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Two handicapped-accessible bedrooms on 1st floor. Four bedrooms on second floor and each has a window seat that can also be used for a child's sleeping area.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
Located in driving distance of Louisville, KY and Indianapolis, IN and several other major cities. There is a shooting range nearby, run by the Clark State Forestry, which is available for target shooting. Guests must register at Forestry Office before using it. There is a noise level and if it becomes too distracting, your rent will be returned upon written request.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

Log lodge great for relaxing and enjoying nature
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 6 reviews
5

Year 3 A SUCCESS... Counting the days til number 4!!!

  • 5 of 5

I just wanted to pop in and say thank you!!! We just completed year three of visiting Heavenly Hills and it was such a joy!!! We arrive before everyone else so we can unplug the wifi and tv's then hide the remotes. The family knows it's a technology-free vacation and everyone has such a blast using all their time to play, read, rest, talk, restore & rejuvenate. It is such a peaceful, glorious and fun week for us. We bring all our kids, their spouses, grand children and one greatgrandparent too! The retreat you have created is an adventure and a retreat all wrapped into one! Thank you again for opening Heavenly Hills and making it available to us. God Bless you and we'll be back next year!!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Georgeous secluded property in beautiful area of the state

  • 4 of 5

We were a group of 4 dads and 6 young sons staying for a few days to hike, fish, and swim. We made the perfect choice. The boys were so excited when we drove up the long secluded path and saw the beautiful home. They were in the water jumping on the water trampoline in minutes. It was a perfect setting for us. Lots of fishing, canoeing, basketball and playing ping pong and pool in the basement. The location by the Clark State Forest and Knobstone Trail provided us with very challenging hikes. If you are looking for great hiking you must check this area out. The gun range was not an issue and though there were periods with a fair amount of gun fire, there were many more stretches of serene silence (not sure how it would be on the weekend). We knew to expect gun range noise so it wasn't a surprise. The home was very clean. Hot showers were always available. You might want to bring your own pillow and blanket for extra comfort. DSL service is provided but while we were there it didn't work very well. But, the internet is not why we were there anyway. Our phones had limited reception which was a slightly bigger deal. The owner was great to work with.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Beautiful home, sadly in need of repairs and updates!

  • 1 of 5

We stayed at this home for a family weekend getaway, hoping to relax and spend time together with cousins, sisters, grandparents, etc. It is in a beautiful location... unfortunately the shooting range is within close distance and the sounds of guns firing reverberated all around the lake and home ALL DAY LONG! The home is under new "management" and we personally met managers Russ and Ruth (a retired couple who live on property in a separate home) who had to come to the house several times for problems that needed addressed during our stay! They are a lovely couple, but it appears there is ALOT of work that needs done for this house, way beyond what one couple can do (in between rentals, no less!!) The heating/cooling for upstairs (where 4 of the bedrooms are located) was broken, which we found out during our very first COLD night there! Russ came over to show us how to use the two portable heater units, which he placed in the upstairs hallway, in an attempt to heat the bedrooms. Only one of those two portable units actually worked! He felt bad for us and the next day went to get smaller space heaters, one for each bedroom upstairs (which we used the other 2 nights.) The beds, bedding and pillows were old and worn, and some of the pillows were made of plastic material, which I'm sure is easier for clean up but not very comfortable for sleep (they crinkle!!) There were bean beetles (looked similar to lady bugs) everywhere, which I can understand they are hard to get rid of, but they also draw the eye to the ceilings, windows, and lots of places where cobwebs and dust covered most of the home! The beautiful, large, scenic windows on either side of the fireplace were grossly dirty and the bright sunlight every afternoon only highlighted that fact!! (Again, I think it will take a "team" of cleaners to get in there and make things properly ready for future renters!) The fireplace itself was wood-burning, but no firewood on property that could be used for burning! We did cut up some of the fallen trees/limbs for wood in the firepit, but I would expect wood to be supplied if you have a wood burning fireplace. There are many other smaller details that made our stay more than a little disappointing, but I will suffice it to say that I cannot recommend this property for other renters unless there are some major repairs and cleaning done.

  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I just read your review and I must admit I was SHOCKED. I rarely read them because most of my guests sign my guest book and because their comments are so complimentary, I didn't feel I needed to read any of the reviews. However, a potential new renter called me this week to make sure the problems, stated in your review, had been corrected, before they made a decision to rent it. I had no idea what they were talking about but, told them I would read it and get back to them. In the 9 years it has been open, this is the first negative review I have ever received. If you read the rental agreement and welcome sheet, you would have seen a notice that there was a gun range nearby that is run by the forestry. It is available for target shooting for anyone who registers at the Forestry Office and some guests actually use it. My information also states that if the noise level becomes too disruptive, upon written request, your rental fee will be returned. It also states that firewood and propane gas are not furnished but, for a fee, depending on your need, the Property Manager will have them available. I try very hard to keep the property clean and safe. I cannot do anything about the beetles and they only come a couple of times a year but, you just happened to be there at the wrong time. It is impossible to guess when they will appear. As far as the bedding, the plastic on the pillows and mattresses are protection against bed bugs. I have NEVER had any and as long as the plastic covers remain on the pillows, I shouldn't get them. I have also put protective covers on the mattresses and box springs, which is over-kill but, I want to be sure I have done everything I can. I strongly recommend that people bring their own pillows for their comfort and peace of mind but, please leave plastic covers on the pillows. This is a log cabin surrounded by woods which makes It very difficult to keep as clean as a home in the city. I try very hard and will continue to do so but, if this is not good enough then you probably need to rent some place else. For those of you who can't decide, please let me know and, I will give you 100's of names of previous renters who have continued to come every year. p.s. I had NO available weekends last summer.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1
Hartland, WI
5

Great time at Heavenly Hills

  • 5 of 5

My large family had a wonderful time at Heavenly Hills (our second time). Bill the property manager fixed a minor problem very promptly. Susie called prior to our stay to let us know the big rains they had received only affected the roads a tiny bit, but otherwise everything was good to go. Overall we had another excellent time. It's really nice to have all the separate bedrooms, bathrooms and living spaces; enough room for all of us to get rested and play a bit.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Excellent!!

  • 5 of 5

My family and my children's friends have stayed here numerous times during the summer. Great place to relax, swim in lake and slow down. Hard to imagine you are in Indiana when you are here. Very relaxing and remote.

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5

Was invited to a birthday party here and I LOVED it!

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Standiford Field, Louisville,KY
Car: necessary

This log lodge is located adjacent to the Clark State Forestry in Henryville, IN. It is surrounded by woods and backs up to a 5 acre man-made lake stocked for fishing and also suitable for swimming. It is approximately 35 minutes from Louisville, KY. It is also located within driving distance from Indianapolis, IN and Cincinnati, OH. There is a gun range nearby for target shooting which is run by the Forestry and can be used by the public by registering at the Forestry office. There are many quaint shops for antiquing in many small towns nearby and also nice family restaurants. It is in driving distance of 2 Fuzzy Zoeller golf courses. It is also in driving distance to Holiday World which is an amusement park in Santa Claus, IN and Kentucky Kingdom in Louisville, KY. Too much to list that is available for your family enjoyment.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Underwood Lodge Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$600
$2,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $100
Pet Fee $50

Check-in is 4:00 p.m. and check-out is 10:00 a.m.
Reservations to be made at www.heavenlyhillslodge.com. There you can download a "Rental Agreement" and "Welcoming Sheet." Please mail a signed "Rental Agreement" to Susie Sheehy, 5200 Moccasin Trail, Louisville, KY 40207. Rent to be mailed to Susie no later than 7 days prior to arrival. Please bring "Welcome Sheet" with you at time of arrival and give to property manager. VRBO website #561308 is for obtaining general information and viewing calendar only. I handle my own reservations and rental collections and do not charge any service fee. I do not take credit cards. Rent to be sent to Susie Sheehy, 5200 Moccasin Trail, Louisville,KY 40207 approximately 7 days prior to arrival. The fee for over 12 people is $50/night per person. Children under 10 are free. I do NOT require a deposit. If you send one I will write VOID and keep it with the rent agreement.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties