About the property
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay2 - 4 nights
Beautiful Home, Excellent Location, Packed With Extras For Your Vacation
This Awesome Mountain Retreat that will be your favorite vacation spot after one stay. A Spacious 3 Bedroom plus loft area and 3 baths is packaged so nicely. The only trouble you may have is what to do first. Sink into the decadent waters of the hot tub on the covered porch overlooking the view or show off your wrist action at the Foosball table or cozy up in one of the two sitting areas in front of a fireplace or gather for a sing a long by the outdoor fire my!
During your stay in the community of Mill Ridge you will have access to swimming pool (seasonal), tennis courts, duck ponds, walking trails and Watauga River frontage.
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within two days
- Calendar last updated:
- May 24, 2018
Pool / Spa
Sports & Adventure Activities
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.
Property was very nice.
We had a great time with plenty of room. The rooms were warm and inviting. Only thing I didn't like was there was only 1 working tv with cable. The rest of the tv's cable didn't work. Other than that it was a great trip and would like to stay there again.
This was our first cabin rental. It was a nice cabin in a private location with parking enough for 3-4 cars. 3 bedrooms accommodated our party of 8 very easily. A few of the reviews on this cabin seem a bit harsh. We did feel that it could be an excellent cabin with a little more deep cleaning, a few small repairs, and new fire pit seating. Overall though, nice place.
I'd rate this cabin as fair.
We ended up having a great time. With just a few changes this cabin could rent for a higher price and be excellent! The whole thing needs a thorough cleaning. Carpet should be replaced. Outdoor furniture should be burned as firewood! Lots of cobwebs, lots of dust. Kitchen sink and bathtubs should be cleaned with bleach. Bed in bottom bedroom needs new mattress. This is a nice place, but has so much potential! Also, I tried to reach someone to get the door code. I left 3 messages on different phones. NO ONE called me back! The office was closed when we arrived. Glad we didn't have an emergency! Luckily a window was unlocked! We felt uneasy having to sneak in. I would definitely stay here again, but I would bring some cleaning supplies and some chairs to sit in by the fire.
We had a great time the cabin was the perfect size and had everything we needed.
CABIN IS NICE ON OUTSIDE AND WE ENJOYED THE HOT TUB.
ON ARRIVAL THE SCREEN ON FRONT DOOR WAS BUSTED, IN SUNROOM MANY WINDOWS WERE WITHOUT SCREENS AND WE COULDNT OPEN TO ENJOY A BREEZE. OF THE 5 TV's ONLY 1 WORKED. WIFI ADVERTISED BUT ROKU, TABLETS ETC WOULD NEVER CONNECT. DOOR TO BASEMENT HAD A HOLE IN IT. BASEMENT BEDROOM HAD A MUSTY/ MOLDY SMELL. CARPET THROUGHOUT WAS DIRTY WITH STAINS ALL OVER. BATHROOMS DIRTY ON ARRIVAL. COB WEBS NOTED THROUGH ENTIRE CABIN. BASEBOARDS BEAT UP THROUGHOUT CABIN. WE WERE SO DISPLEASED WITH RENTAL WE LEFT A NIGHT EARLY. I WILL NOT RENT THIS UNIT AGAIN.
Worst Vacation Ever!!!!!! Please don't waste or allow these people to take your money!!!!!!
When my family and I arrived on March 25, 2016 We first noticed that the pictures of the outside amenities they advertise for where in very poor condition(all lawn furniture was broken and not suitable for sitting). They advertised that there was a nice outside fire pit for fun with the kids. Lawn furniture was broken and dangerous to sit in. After inspection of the house it was filthy. There was dust all over everything as if it had not been cleaned in months. We continued our inspection only to find out that not only was there no cable because there were no cable boxes at all, we also were shortly aware that there was no heat on the bottom and middle leave of the home. We immediately contacted the company that we made the reservation through (VRBO.com/ Home away.com). Susan with VRBO secured us that she could make alternate arrangements for a pet friendly hotel in which she did at (Green Park Inn) in Blowing Rock, NC. We made our first phone call at 5:15pm on the 25th of March however, we had no response on alternate arrangements until 9:30pm that evening. We went with our four children and our dog to check in at Green Park Inn around 10:00pm that night. We placed our luggage in our rooms and left to feed our children before everything closed only to receive a phone call from the front desk person at the hotel to return to settle our dog. When we returned within 5 minutes of the phone call only to have my husband threatened with physically violence by the gentlemen in the next room. For our safety and because there was no intervention from staff we had to leave and return back to the original rental and group into the living room in the house and sleep on the floor in order to keep warm. At 6:00am the following morning we left the rental and drove two hours to stay with family on the way back home. We took this vacation to celebrate my daughters 14th birthday, to give three of my step children there first experience in the mountains. This situation not only ruined our vacation but also left us with no ability to have our money refunded for the second night after the hell we went through the first night. Concluding this review, in addition to the filth, the broken furniture, no working heat, the hellish experience at Green Park Inn, we are also dealing with a fraud complaint with our financial institution in order to help us retrieve a refund for the charges from the rental and now the hotel which was to be paid for by the travel company.
We want every renter to have an amazing stay with us. We are family owned and operated and a great deal of our renters are repeat visitors at our cabins. My assistant spoke to you a few days after you returned home from your stay. We did not get a call from you nor Home Away during your visit. We would definitely have moved you to another property if you were dissatisfied with the accommodations or sent emergency maintenance to take care of any findings. According to my assistant you said you did not receive a map to the home nor our contact information. We have looked at the correspondence with you on Home Away and it shows that the attachments were sent at the time of your reservation just as we send to all of our renters. You did tell my assistant that you did get the lockbox code by email but no other information. I hope you understand that we had no idea that you did not get the information you needed. We carry an emergency phone with us 24/7 so that renters can contact us after hours. We have printed out the evidence of the above mentioned and are mailing it to you along with a reimbursement to show our good business manners. I do encourage future renters to see other reviews of very satisfied renters. We also have a service walk through each cabin on the day of every arrival to hopefully prevent any negative findings by renters. We do appreciate you sharing your experience so that we can make any improvements needed.
GPS is not accurate for this home. This home's actual location is in Mill Ridge, a community of Foscoe, between Banner Elk, NC and Boone, NC. It is approximately 20 minutes from Boone and the campus of Appalachian State University.
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
One half of total rent due at time of booking. The balance is due 30 days prior arrival. Lodging fees include linens, cleaning, reservation fee and damage insurance.