Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Exquisite Oceanfront Views From King-Bed Suite

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 750 sq ft
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Large One Bedroom, King-Bed. Great Room, Cathedral Ceilings, and Central Air!

Sweeping panoramic scenery from large glass-railed deck. Watch the sun rise over Frenchman's Bay with your morning coffee, and set behind the western hills with a glass of wine. This front-row setting on the Thomas Bay Salt Pond is an Audubon experience: eagles soar and teach their young how to dive for fish, blue herons patrol the shores, and seasonal migratory birds stop over to rest and feed on this protected pond. Walk the marsh deer path to the reversing falls dam, or rent kayaks to explore the bay and coastline. Our garden paths are lined by native beauties, and English roses bloom all season long.

Bayscape has over 1000 square feet of space, including the king-bed suite, great room and private deck. High vaulted ceilings, and cool north-facing windows look to the water. Down the stairs from your second-story retreat is an arched stone patio, charcoal grill and outdoor dinette.

The large kitchenette has daily dish-washing service! Appliances include a hot & cold water dispenser, full-sized refrigerator, microwave/toaster oven, coffee maker and kitchen prep utensils.

The property is 6 minute drive to Acadia National Park Visitor’s Center, 4 minutes to Salsbury Cove (and MDI Biological Lab), and 10 minutes to downtown Bar Harbor. Conveniently located on Route 3 with easy access to all of Mount Desert Island and downeast Maine.

The Bayscape Suite is attached to our home, with a separate entry area. The great room sofa converts into a futon bed. Maximum number of occupants for the suite is 3 people, although it is not childproofed for young ones. Please note that there is a $25 per night fee for third person occupancy.

More Details

Owner
Bill & Sherri
Member since: 2014
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 13, 2018

About Bill & Sherri

We love Maine, the land, the water and all four seasons! Bill and Sherri have made Mount Desert Island their home for the last 25 years. Bill works in organic agriculture, helping local farmers bring their produce and dairy products to market. Sherri is a marine biologist, studying humpback whales in the Gulf of Maine.

Bill & Sherri purchased this apartment in 2000

Why Bill & Sherri chose Bar Harbor

Built in 2000, our large home on the shore of Thomas Bay was designed to share a close-up experience with wildlife on the edge of a salt pond. The suite has its own entry area, is separate from our living quarters. Everyone loves the view from the glass-sided deck, it's like being in a live Audubon painting!

Amenities

Bar Harbor Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , there is also a queen sofa-futon in the great room
  • very comfortable king bed
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snowboarding
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
10 minute drive to downtown Bar Harbor. Hot-cold water dispenser, and kitchenette set-up. Note: no stove, oven or kitchen sink. Also note: walk-up access only.

Reviews

4.6/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Exquisite Oceanfront Views From King-Bed Suite
average rating of 4.6 based on 5 reviews
Pittsburgh, PA
5

Gorgeous Views

  • 5 of 5

It could not have been more beautiful or comfortable. The views from the suite were spectacular. Furnishings and supplies were all that we could have possibly needed. Quickly adjusted to not having a kitchen sink so it was a non-issue.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so glad you enjoyed the beauty of Maine from our vacation home. It was a pleasure to have you here.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Underimpressed!

  • 3 of 5

We were less than impressed with our stay at "Exquisite Oceanfront". Starting with the title, the view is pleasant, but it is not oceanfront. It is a salt water pond that follows the tide. None of the Ocean sound I was anticipating. And the mosquitoes drove us off the balcony, so we never used the outdoor furniture. Supposedly there was laundry facilities, but when we asked we were told that was only by special arrangement and not available when we needed it. The second time we requested laundry access, we never even got an answer to our email. Also the refrigerator was broken, so we had no frig while we were there. We were expected to use a refrigerator on a different floor! And of course we were not compensated for any of these shortcomings! Would not go here again.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry to hear the property did not meet your expectations. Our pictures show the salt pond, bay and marsh along the protected ocean inlet, where waves are absorbed by the salt grasses on the shore. There are all kinds of oceanfront, perhaps you'd prefer a rocky shoreline? In the 17 years we've lived in the house, mosquitos have only been on the raised deck after sundown in June and July. It is surprising that you were bothered by them in September, since they were already gone in when I was there in July. Regarding the laundry: when you first requested access I called that evening, but you refused saying, "that's okay, we don't really need it". It is unfortunate that the refrigerator broke during your stay, but we made another available to you and until the new refrigerator was delivered 2 days later. Had you let us know you were in any way unhappy, we would have returned funds for the remainder of your stay, to complete your vacation elsewhere. We love the property and strive to present our guests with a unique experience of beauty and comfort on the coast of Maine.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Iowa
5

Great Location!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay. The view is fantastic, with restaurants and Acadia within easy driving distance, and the rooms were clean and well stocked.. Bill and Sherri were great hosts.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Wilmington, Delaware, Mid-Atlantic, USA
5

A real gem!

  • 5 of 5

Comfort, quiet, location, view! If these are what you're looking for, look no further. Just the place to stay for enjoying the Acadia/Bar Harbor area.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Indianapolis, IN
5

Excellent Hotel Alternative!

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bayscape Suite. The rooms were spacious and clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The Owners did a great job stocking the Unit with everything to fit our needs – plenty of linens, dishes, utensils and comfortable seating throughout the Unit. We especially enjoyed sitting on our private balcony overlooking Frenchman’s Bay while enjoying the sunset.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2014
  • Stayed: September 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Bar Harbor
Car: necessary

Acadia National Park is just 6 minutes from your shorefront suite! Bring your kayak, bike, and boat shoes! Whale watches, summer beaches and fall leaf-peeping.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 9.0%

Add extra days before or after your mid-July reservation - see calendar. Can also add after your reservation is confirmed.

Rates are based on double occupancy. $25/night for third person. Maximum occupancy is 3 people.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties