Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Special REDUCED RATES for April and May!

Bedrooms 2
Space 840 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6

We welcome you to our lovely 109 year old home in historic Golden Hill, San Diego. We think that you will find this to be a perfect getaway to feel pampered and just a little bit special. Relax in your own private backyard while sitting outside on the patio with a cup of coffee or tea.

The house sleeps up to 6 people ( 2 bedrooms and a sleeper sofa in the living room), seats 6 at the dining room table, with additional dining space on the deck, or on the patio in the garden below. You will also have your own private driveway.

The neighborhood has many good restaurants and cafes within walking distance. Enjoy a cappuccino and a fresh pastry, or sandwich on their own homemade bread at Influx coffee house. Head up the hill on Broadway to the lively Humbertos for some Carne Asada burritos, fish tacos and great local flavor. Or, go to our favorite quaint bar, Counterpoint, that serves wonderfully creative dishes, a variety of wines, and taste the draft beer from some of our local breweries.

Taste of our nightlife, with it's live music and nightclubs, many wonderful cuisines and restaurants to choose from, less than a mile away to be a part of the scene at the Gaslamp Quarter of downtown San Diego. If you're a sports fan, enjoy the Padres. Ever visit Comicon at the Convention Center? It's all right here!

Are you bringing your furry companion (species 'dog'/ 'canine') along? Make sure to visit 'dog beach' on beautiful Coronado Island for some romping in the surf. He/she will thank you! The best dog park in San Diego is also nearby. Head up to the Grape Street dog park with your pooch, and sit outside while you enjoy a warm scone with jam at Rebecca's. You will thank yourself!

The beauty of the Golden Hill neighborhood is being so centrally located. The bus line stops half a block away from your home and you have easy access to all the major freeways.

Do you like Pandas, or fantastic colonial Spanish architecture, fountains, museums, beautiful sweeping landscapes and vistas? You're in luck, only 5 minutes away is the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park.

Don't hesitate to kick off your shoes and sit back to watch something on the flat screen TV in the comfy living room, or chill listening to your favorite tunes that you can stream from your phone. Swing open the french doors off of the dining room , and feel that perfect weather that San Diego is all about!

Everything that you could need in a kitchen is at your fingertips, whether you're making a piece of toast, or grilling a gourmet dinner on the charcoal grill. Good thing there is a washer and dryer, a good hot shower, and plenty of fluffy white towels to dry you after a very busy day!

More Details

Anne and Richard Kastanias
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 13, 2018

About Anne and Richard Kastanias

Anne is a stay at home mom for her 16 year old daughter.

Richard is a psycho-therapist for Kaiser Permanente and has a small private practice.

Both grew to love San Diego for it's unique weather climate, beaches and mountains.

Anne and Richard Kastanias purchased this house in 1999


Golden Hill House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 840 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , All toiletries, soap and towels provided.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • *The master bedroom has a queen size bed, sheets, blankets and pillows, and two end tables and two lamps. *The second bedroom has a full size bed, sheets, blankets and pillows, and one end table and lamp. ****The THIRD BED is a queen sized sofa sleeper with an added foam mattress topper in the living room. In the living room is a queen size sleeper sofa with a pillow top mattress.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • zoo
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(64 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
15% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Special REDUCED RATES for April and May!
average rating of 4.75 based on 64 reviews

Lovely home

  • 5 of 5

Great location, very homey, amazing yard for kids and dogs..I will definitely recommend this place to friends and family visiting San Diego!

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2

Nice house close to everything in San Diego

  • 4 of 5

Our family of four enjoyed our stay in San Diego. The house is close to everything we wanted to do. It is about five minutes from San Diego zoo, 15 minutes from sea world and a 20 minute drive to Coronado. We found the house clean and well stocked for our visit. The yard is big and great for the kids. We made good use of the kitchen and laundry. Easy access to Trader Joes, Whole Foods and any other amenity you need during your stay.

The only reason I’m giving this a four out of five is that on the weekend, the tattoo parlor across the street decided to have a huge party. The music was so loud that the floors were vibrating. Apparently, someone on the street called the cops who showed up and shut it down around 11 PM. The owner has no control over this and said that they do this every few months. It was just unfortunately when we were visiting. Otherwise, the neighborhood is pretty quiet.

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have spoken to the owner of the tattoo parlor who was very understanding about our concerns for the noise level. He said that there are now very few parties to promote his business. He also added that he would close the doors to block any excess noise. The owner went onto explain that the police came to the area that evening because there was an accident next to the main street that intersects ours. The fire /paramedic station is several blocks up on that main street. They did not come because of a noise disturbance. Normally our neighborhood is pretty quiet but like anywhere in an urban setting one can have noise at times.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful house for our month long stay in San Diego

  • 5 of 5

My colleague and I had a wonderful stay at this house. We were working downtown and could be at work in minutes. The location of the house could not be better. We could walk to coffee shops, restaurants, yoga and the park. My dog was very happy at the house as well. We would 100% recommend this house!

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cozy comfort

  • 5 of 5

Very convenient location with just the right amount of space for our family of 4 (which includes 2 teenagers).

  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A nice, clean, convenient place to stay

  • 4 of 5


Our family of 5 (12, 10 and 6 yr old girls) stayed in this house for a week. We brought an air mattress for our 6 year old who slept in the same room as our other two who shared a bed. It was a little tight for us but not bad for a week. Overall a good experience and we can tell they really work at trying to make the place be a nice one to stay.

The good:

1) Cleanliness

2) Loved being able to open up the back doors to the dining room in the mornings

3) Well furnished and fairly up to date

4) Master bedroom has good space

5) Living area was nicely set up

6) The house is located in the 'Golden Hills' area. You can drive to anywhere in the area (Balboa park, Coronado, downtown, embarcadero) in less than 10 min.

7) Driveway parking is very helpful because street parking is tough to find at night

Info you should know:

1) There isn't central a/c. Bedrooms and living room have window a/c units. They will cool down the house and rooms but the kitchen and dining room can get a little warm in the September evenings.

2) We are not sure about how quiet the area is because we were using the a/c units which provided a lot of white noise.

3) They have directv with the basic package (no ESPN). There also isn't an input to the tv for a camera or other device. (This isn't a criticism just an FYI)

Things that could be improved (but not worth dropping the rating):

1) Master bed was squeaky

2) Bathroom fan was loud and didn't work well.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Not what the pictures show

  • 3 of 5

Was looking forward to this rental,did hours of research in the area before choosing this property. The pictures on Home Away sight were obviously taken when the house was in the beginning of the rental history. A lot has change since then. The furniture in living room is warn and cushions uncomfortable to sit on,the TV has many channels at night blocked due to a parental code but 183 channels were offered which has been installed text owner to have blocked remove answer no the kitchen is another story all the pots and pans were teflon based and mared to the point you couldn't or wouldn't want to use them called owner they had new cookware sent within a few days which I must say that to was an issue since owners have a block on the mailman delivering anything to the rental had to chase mail person down to get the box. The back yard is not esthetically looking as the picture indicates also.One thing this rental has done for me I will not let pictures fool me for future rentals.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hosting this guest was a difficult and unpleasant experience. The first interaction was an alarming phone call complaining about the pots and pans saying, "how do you expect me to cook with these?" After being told there would be no immediate resolution, she hung up on my husband stating, "you'll pay for this!" We were put off by her reaction, but decided to have new stainless steel pots and pans sent quickly to the house. We have had other mail deliveries to the house so I'm unclear as to why she had to run down the street after the postman, which she also told us about. Then there were rude texts regarding the television stating that she was an adult and not a child and could make her own choices. Unfortunately, we had just installed Direct TV, and there were some unintended parental blocks that angered her. Oftentimes the only way of knowing about a problem is when a guest brings it to our attention. We then took care of the situation, and were reminded brashly on two separate occasions that she had "paid good money" for the rental. Before posting this review I saw that she had one review for another host. She had also not liked their pots and pans and was irritated that a winter storm had knocked the power out, etc. I was surprised to find how similarly the review read like ours. In my experience most of our guests are great and understand that sometimes things don't always go ideally. We do our best to respond quickly to take care of problems. I am convinced that nothing we could have done would have made this person happy.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 1


Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
2 blocks
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
1 mile away from house.
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
All major highways a few blocks away.
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
2 blocks away.
Car: recommended




Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Housekeeping fee $90

Housekeeping: $90.00

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties