Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cozy Creekside Retreat

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,250 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bed, 1 bath, sleeps 6

This secluded cabin, located in a small quiet area is within easy walking distance to the Village of Shaver Lake. Enjoy the breathtaking view and listen to the creek from the back deck or enjoy Mother Nature on the front patio's bistro table. Just steps away, enjoy the sunset, city lights, and evening stars at Indian Rock. A community park, library, and church are a short walk away. The property is blessed with hills for sledding and relatively even terrain for Grandma. Enjoy a comfortable nights rest in either of the two memory foam queen beds or the queen sofa-sleeper that even has memory foam. Kitchen is well equipped. Cabin includes 3 Large HD flat screen TVs, a DVD player, stereo, games, puzzles, horseshoes, selection of movies for kids, foosball table, Cornhole, and plenty of room for outside fun. Enjoy the warmth from the fireplace while you gaze out the large picture window into the forest. Parking is available for 3 vehicles and water toy. For those that need to stay connected, there is cell phone coverage.

Area Activities: Boating, Sledding, Skiing-China Peak Resort, Water Skiing, Basketball, Cross Country Skiing, Snowboarding, Sight Seeing, Snowmobiling, Rock Climbing, Hiking, Kayaking, Mountain Biking, Jet Skiing, Fishing, Wildlife Viewing, Sailing, Swimming, Horseback Riding, Hunting, Restaurants. Absolutely No Smoking!

More Details

Owner
Nick
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2018

About Nick

We want to provide an affordable vacation destination for families.

Nick purchased this cabin in 2012

Why Nick chose Shaver Lake

We provide the linens (basic set of sheets, towels) at no additional cost unlike most other vacation rental properties.

What makes this cabin unique

Close to Shaver Lake Village and seasonal creek in backyard.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a fabulous time at Shaver Lake. The cabin was exceptionally clean and well-stocked. Nick, the owner, was very thoughtful with regard to the amenities and checked if we needed anything, etc. It was so appreciated.
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Shaver Lake Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1250 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • No outdoor fires at this time due to drought. BBQ with gas supplied.
  • Pet: May be OK with fee. (Restrictions-message owner.)
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
19% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
Cozy Creekside Retreat
average rating of 4.5384617 based on 28 reviews
1

Not able to stay, too much smoke

  • 1 of 5

We weren't able to stay at Shaver Lake because of the smoke from the fire in Yosemite. We went there hoping to be above the smoke but it was bad enough to restrict visibility and burn our eyes. I think if we stayed inside the house we might have been alright but why go to the mountains to stay in a house without a/c and no air filtration system. So we went back home where we have both. We asked for a refund but have not heard back from the owner.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am puzzled on how you would rate this way since you did not even stay. I have no control over the fire/wind direction. When you called, I provided some alternatives locations for a hike, lunch, etc. until the winds shifted back to normal. I even tried to work with you on alternative dates but you were adamant you wanted a refund. The last I heard from you was you were going to call me back after you had lunch….you never did. VRBO offers travel insurance for situations such as this and you elected not utilize. I guess your review is just a reflection of some people in our society that can’t take personal responsibly for their actions or lack of actions. I am very fair and accommodating but this is ridiculous. BTW-the wind did shift back and the smoke was cleared.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Comfortable cabin in beautiful surroundings

  • 5 of 5

My family and I visited this cabin to get away for a weekend. The cabin was clean, easy to locate, and had everything we needed to enjoy a relaxing weekend. The creek behind the cabin was super fun to explore with my two young boys. I would definitely stay here again. The owner was very easy to deal with and available to answer any questions we had during our visit.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind words. We have tried to maintain the rustic cabin feel and still provide a comfortable stay. We take great pride in having a clean, comfortable, and affordable family cabin. We look forward to having you back! Thanks again.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Nice, cozy cabin in the woods. Very clean. We had fun with the kids. Thanks.

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time in the cabin. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words. We take great pride in having a clean, comfortable, and affordable family cabin. Thanks again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Thanksgiving getaway

  • 5 of 5

We were lucky to find this available for a Thanksgiving retreat. The cabin is tucked away in a small cluster of older cabins. The little enclave has a historic feel to it. The cabin itself was perfect for our family of four. The bedrooms are upstairs and adjacent. The downstairs has a large living room area, dining area, and a good kitchen area if you are doing any meals. It was a great base for exploring the Shaver Lake area and beyond. We found lots of great hiking nearby for an unseasonably warm holiday. Especially some trails near Rancheria Falls, McKinley Grove, and Wishon Reservoir. Stopped at Cressman's on the way up for a recommended Bumbleberry Pie. That did NOT disappoint. And we had sandwiches from the Shaver Lake Coffee and Deli, which were pretty good. Ken's Market was pretty good for off-season with a good range of gear and groceries.

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We take great pride in having a clean, comfortable, and affordable family cabin. We look forward to having you back....hopefully with snow next time! Thanks again.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Martinez, CA
5

Cleanest vacation home I have ever stayed

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful cabin! Adorable inside, good kitchen, lots of space in living room for my children to play. It is the cleanest vacation home we have ever stayed in, I was very impressed. It's very well kept! Our family cabin (old and small for our whole family) is right next door but my husband, kids and I will likely rent this place again in the future.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words. We have tried to maintain the rustic cabin feel and still provide a comfortable stay. We take great pride in having a clean, comfortable, and affordable family cabin. We look forward to having you back! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks again.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Excellent value minus the 100 dollar cleaning fee

  • 4 of 5

great spot but a little tricky to find. Would have been nice if cable was working. 100 dollar cleaning fee is way to much, given we cleaned up after outselves pretty well.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We take great pride in having a clean, comfortable, and affordable family cabin. The cable was out for a couple of weeks due to the Drought Tree Removal Program. The cleaning fee is a standard fee in the area and helps maintain a consistent level of cleanliness and accountability. Most other cabins charge more and also charge a linen fee. We include a basic set of linens. Thanks again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Fresno Yosemite International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Shaver Lake Bar
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
168
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Shaver Lake Deli
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
China Peak Ski Resort

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Refundable Damage Deposit $350

This is our family's retreat and we expect our guests to treat the cabin and neighborhood with the utmost care and consideration. Please be respectful of noise levels and mother nature. Thank you for your stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties