Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Great Lake Front Home On Green Lake-Interlochen

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,100 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedroom Lake Front Property On Green Lake

4 bedroom Lake Front Home Sleeps 7

Great 4 bedroom Lake Front Property on Green Lake. This home has breathtaking views of Green Lake and is across the lake from the Interlochen Center for the Arts. You can enjoy the concerts from your back porch. This Northern Michigan cottage is the perfect summer retreat. Enjoy your summer nights next to the fire or summer sun on the lake or boat dock. This is a perfect place to enjoy Northern Michigan life. The beach area is lawn/grass right up to water, very shallow sandy bottom at first then gradual depth, perfect for little ones to swim. Enjoy the lake in the small row boat or 2 kayaks for guests use.

This property is located near Interlochen State Park which is located on two fishing and swimming lakes: Green Lake and Duck Lake. The park was established as Michigan's first state park by the Michigan Legislature in 1917, as a 200-acre public park created to preserve one of the last virgin pine stands for the people of Michigan.

If you love biking, hiking, and jogging, there are miles and miles of trails in our area. Paved, unpaved, through the towns, or through the woods. Traverse City is 20-30 minute drive, check out the Traverse Area Recreation Trails offers trails throughout the Leelanau and Traverse City areas. Bring along your doggie to give them a workout too.

Chums Corners or Cherry Bowl Drive-In is 20 minutes away with The Sleeping Bear Dunes a 40 minute drive.

Shop ’til you drop! If shopping is your thing, there are many quaint downtown areas offering fun shops to pick up one of a kind gifts, clothing, art, and more. Elk Rapids, Suttons Bay, Glen Arbor, and (of course) Traverse City offer blocks of shops to find those perfect items.

When all else fails–drive until the map turns blue! Wherever you are in northern Michigan, you are only 5 minutes to a body of water. Kayak or Canoe the Platte, Crystal, or Boardman Rivers. Plan a day on one of the gorgeous inland lakes boating, swimming, or fishing. Big and Little Glen Lakes, North and South Lake Leelanau, Long Lake, Silver Lake–these are all popular. But, don’t forget to visit the smaller lakes like Lime Lake, Little Traverse Lake, and Lake Skegemog. And, they don’t call it a Great Lake for nothing. Lake Michigan and its Grand Traverse Bays boasts miles of sandy beaches and sunsets that will take your breath away. Great fishing lake as well catching perch, blue-gill, bass & pike..

This home does not have air conditioning. It is an older home with comfortable lived in furnishings, families love this home. Come make some memories.

If you stay with us please consider leaving us a positive "comment" we appreciate the time you take to do so. Thank you!

More Details

Property Manager
Michelle - RMO
-
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2018

Guestbook comments from the manager

Hi - we had a wonderful time at your cottage! We left at 4 PM to beat the storm coming in as opposed to leaving at 5 AM to get back for work. I left a note for housekeeping. We had 2 bags of trash which we put in the trash bin. We brought our own propane tank.

Thank you again for renting to us.

Kathy & Andy
Jul 2017
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Interlochen House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
  • No excessive garbage left No fireworks Quiet time midnight No parties
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - .5
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 4 bedroom Lake Front Home Sleeps 7
    Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single , 4 bedroom Lake Front Home Sleeps 7
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 4 bedroom Lake Front Home Sleeps 7
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , 4 Bedrooms sleeps 7
  • 4 bedroom Lake Front Home Sleeps 7
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
Great 4 bedroom, 2.5 Bathrooms. Lake Front Home. Listen to concerts across the lake, enjoy gorgeous sunsets by a fire. All sports lake with boat dock. This home is fun for the hole family. Also, this property is near Interlochen State Park which is located on two fishing and swimming lakes: Green Lake and Duck Lake. The park was established as Michigan's first state park by the Michigan Legislature in 1917, as a 200-acre public park created to preserve one of the last virgin pine stands for the people of Michigan.

Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

37% Complete
37% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
Great Lake Front Home On Green Lake-Interlochen
average rating of 3.875 based on 9 reviews
5

Lovely place to stay

  • 5 of 5

We loved our four-night stay at this lake house. We would definitely come back. It's in a peaceful, quiet and beautiful spot. The lot is large, so you aren't super close to the neighbors. The kitchen, dining room, picnic table, grill and firepit worked well for making and eating most of our meals at the house. We enjoyed the two kayaks and the inflatable water lounge chairs. The house is on a small cove, so it's removed from boat traffic (there wasn't much anyway), but that means the water is shallow for quite a ways out, so you have to swim out quite a bit to get over your head. The cove has some marsh in it, so we saw some interesting birds. We enjoyed day trips to Lake Michigan. Having four bedrooms and three bathrooms was great.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed your time here at our property. Hope to see you next season. Enjoy the rest of your summer! Rental Management One
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Perfect location, we had a great time but... all matteresses should be upgraded

  • 3 of 5

The location was perfect! (20 minute drive from Traverse City) The beach/water were just a few steps off the back deck and we could see and hear music playing from Interlochen across the lake every day. The layout was perfect for 4 adults. 2.5 baths and 4 bedrooms we never felt like we were tripping over each other. The water pressure and temp were amazing! I love a strong hot shower! There were 2 kayaks, a row boat and several floaties we were able to use and the water was very shallow for several feet into the lake so it was perfect for lounging. We didn't use the fire pit (too hot) but loved the deck chairs, lounging chairs and picnic table.

Our chief complaint are the mattresses. Both size and comfort was an issue for most of the adults staying. My 6ft 1ich husband had his feet hanging off of a full mattress the entire week and I was forced to sleep in another room since there wasn't much room. My MIL ended up sleeping on the recliner (which wouldn't stay reclined) since her full bed was about a soft as a plywood board. Coupled with no breeze at night (and no AC and very few fans) most of us slept very little.

Each bedroom celling light should be converted to a celling fan/light especially when the breeze dies down. And, although the oven worked, the oven door would not shut completely. This just kind of freaked us out and made the house unnecessarily hot. Also the refrigerator is probably on it's last leg and should be relegated to a garage "beverage" fridge only.

Finally, not really a complaint but just a suggestion. There were A LOT of the homeowner's personal items through out the rental. Having that much "stuff" around made it hard to find places for our stuff and was difficult when we packed up to ensure we had everything. The kitchen, laundry room, garage, and living areas were almost overstocked. I also noticed some valuables that probably should have been safeguarded a bit more. Again just a suggestion not a complaint at all.

Overall, My husband and I would return to this location again (with more fans). My MIL probably wouldn't unless the mattresses we updated. (we all really had a tough time with the sleeping choices)

Perfect location and layout! Thank you for sharing your home.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Had a Great Time

  • 4 of 5

Our family had a wonderful stay at the cottage. The beach was great for our children (5yr and 3yr olds) and it was a nice to be so close to the Traverse City area as we took many trips to swim in Lake Michigan. We had a very peaceful stay on the lake and enjoyed using the fire pit to roast marshmallows. Yes, the house furnishings were a bit outdated, and the kitchen appliances looked like they were original to the house being built, but all in all, our stay was enjoyable. Some of the mattresses were uncomfortable for us, but that is to be expected when you leave the comfort of your own home. If you plan to cook here, I would suggest bringing a favorite pot, pan, knife, etc., as it is not well equipped with nicer/newer things. For us, these items were not make or break things for us, and we plan to return sometime in the future.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Summer Rental on Green Lake, MI

  • 1 of 5

Our first impression was not good at all. A shabby, old, not well maintained cottage with a musty smell as soon as you walk in the door. Dead bugs spattered on windows, house, in frames of windows, requiring us to clean them so we could see the lake. My husband washed down back of house because of all the bugs. The carpeting was dirty, the throw rugs dirty, the bedding and towels were threadbare. The mattresses were terrible. All plumbing fixtures - sinks, tubs, toilets, washing machine, laundry tub with permanent rust stains. We washed our sheets since they didn't look as though they had been changed and ESPECIALLY when we found dead insect shells on one of the bottom sheets on the bed!!! Towel rods were not secure on bathroom walls on main floor and upstairs, refrigerator door big crack on lower shelf. Then the discovery that a red light was on the sewage tank upon our arrival which had to be cleaned right away. Headboard on upstairs bed unstable with broken piece - used a pillow between headboard and wall so it wouldn't move and hit wall.

I don't know who you use for a cleaning company, but you should visit the property to check on its cleanliness. We were so disappointed because we paid so much money for the cottage - It was a long ten days, that's for sure!! But we did leave the place a lot cleaner than when we arrived. The owner has considerable updating to do - I would not recommend this property in its current state.

You should not advertise this as "Beautiful Lake Front Home on Green Lake". It is totally misleading!!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, I'm sorry about your experience here at this home. This home is marketed just as it is, it is older with older furniture, which the Owners will be changing over the next season, its always been clean and our families love it and come back every season as its affordable for this major vacation area, the home is clean, lived in, we allow pets and the beach/yard area is wonderful. We know that we cannot make every person happy as we all have different standards. Red light on septic is a great system proactive, it means its ready to be pumped but has a second tank if you cant pump right away. Thank you for mentioning the headboard we were not aware of this, we will repair or replace right away. Feel free to come back next season as we have no problem offering a discount knowing that this home is a wonderful place to spend time. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ferndale, Michigan
5

Great location! Nice House

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay here. There was plenty to do at home and close by. Lots of room for everyone to enjoy. We would love to have a repeat vacation here next year.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, We are very happy to hear you had such a great time. We are looking forward to seeing you next season! Thank you Michelle Rental Management One
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

We had a great time. Beautiful view right on the water. Fire pit and water toys were very fun.

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful street. Beautiful view. We had a great time

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at this home making memories and having fun. Hope to see you next season. Thank you Michelle Rental Management One-TC
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Gorgeous 4 bedroom Lake Front Property on Green Lake. This home has breathtaking views of Green Lake and is across the lake from the Interlochen Center of Arts.

Beautiful downtown Traverse City just miles down the road with incredible dining, arts, theatres, shopping, beaches and great places to just hang out for the day.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $200

Terms and Conditions: Managed By Rental Management One
Payments can be made by:
Visa or Mastercard or Discover

Deposits will be returned 7-10 days after departure. Please be sure to RETURN the KEY to the lockbox.

Reservations and Deposits:
All reservations require a 50% down payment to hold chosen dates.
30 days prior to arrival all of the remaining balance is due
Cancellation Policies:
Moderate: If a traveler cancels up to 60 days before their stay, they are given a 100% refund and are not charged any booking fees. For the bookings cancelled up to 30 days in advance, the traveler receives a 50% refund and is charged booking fees on that portion. Holiday reservations are non-refundable.
Reservation Prices do not Include:
Expenses and items not mentioned, including, but not limited to: transportation, tips for personal services, meals, insurance, telephone calls and other items of a personal nature.
Responsibility:
Tenant hereby assumes all risk of damage to any and all personal property of Landlord and Tenant, including household furniture and goods during such use and occupancy.

Tenant hereby assumes any and all risks associated with the foregoing and agrees to hold Landlord harmless from and indemnify Landlord against the same.
Use:
It is agreed that the Premises shall be used only for residential purposes, and for no other purpose whatsoever.

Tenant in the possession, use and occupancy of the Premises agrees to observe and comply with all restrictions, laws and ordinances affecting the Premises or occupancy thereof.

Tenant further agrees that no use shall be made of the Premises, or acts done which will increase the existing rate of insurance upon the Premises, or will cause a cancellation of any insurance policy covering the Premises.

Smoking is not permitted in any residence. A $300 fee may be charged for ionization, if smoking in the property is detected. If utilizing a boat or pontoon boat, you are using it at your own risk.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.