Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Great Reviews, Close to pool and tennis, freshly decorated, wonderful location

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom 2 Bath, Sleeps six, With Great Kitchen And Beautiful Living Spaces

Traditional Roundette built in the Chalet Village style of the 60's. The entire house has been newly renovated with great attention to detail. House is situated on a quiet cul de sac in one of the most sought after areas of Chalet Village. Very close to the Chalet Village clubhouse and directly below the ski slopes of Ober Gatlinburg. Each bedroom has direct access to a bath and the bath on the main level has handicap features to assist the more mature traveler. Wonderful kitchen with everything you need to never leave. Inside the house you are surrounded by the beauty of the area as well as the construction of years gone by. The house has two wonderful fireplaces. One on each level. The master bedroom on the main level with no steps from the driveway has a king size bed, downstairs with a private entrance, one bedroom has a queen size bed and the other has a beautiful antique double iron bed. There is a sofa bed in the main level living room which is perfect if parent's have small children and do not feel comfortable with them downstairs. Off the lower level is a wonderful deck to simply relax and enjoy yourself. This is a great place to eat al fresco or to enjoy your morning coffee. The house has a living room on the main level and a den on the lower level. Both have entrances to the driveway. The house has flat screen televisions in every room and is equipped with high definition cable as well as WiFi throughout the entire house. There is a washer and dryer and you have all the comforts of home. The driveway will easily park four cars. There a slight slant to the driveway but it is easily maneuvered. This house is perfect for families that are coming to enjoy all that the Great Smoky Mountains has to offer. It is meant to be enjoyed for the surroundings and the close proximity to all the attractions that Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park have to offer. Please note when looking at this house that there is not a hot tub or a pool table. We wanted the extra space for families and multiple groups to be able to spread out and enjoy themselves. As an extra bonus, when you book at the weekly rate you are receiving one night free. If you need more room, check out our sister property, 'Mother's Condo' VRBO number 652915. This one is located two blocks from the Little Round House. The two houses together make perfect space for larger groups or family reunions. The Chalet Village Clubhouse is in between both properties. If both properties are rented there is a multi house discount. Due to the quality of renters that we have had we are no longer requiring the CSA non-refundable damage deposit. We have added a small totally refundable damage deposit that is fully refundable.. We have also added two larger homes if you are looking for something bigger, The Perfect House, 678279 and A Rivers Edge, 570067.


Owner
Russell G. Glasgow
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 19, 2017

About Russell G. Glasgow

I am a United Methodist minister serving in Birmingham, Alabama. Gatlinburg has always been a favorite vacation spot for our family and it has been for me since I became an adult. I never grow tired of the ever changing scenery and the wonderful events that the City of Gatlinburg is famous for. I have always felt that the worst of days is a good day in the mountains.

Russell G. Glasgow purchased this chalet in 2011

Why Russell G. Glasgow chose Gatlinburg

This house was purchased sight unseen from an older couple that had built the house. The original name of the house is 'Precious Memories' If you notice the tourist tag in the window it is the 32nd house that went on the rental market in the City of Gatlinburg. I had looked for several years and had contacted this couple some years earlier. They called one day and over the phone we settled the deal. It is amazing in the fact that I had looked for several years to find one in this area and near the five way stop sign. This house was the perfect size to get away from the business of the world and it holds all my odd collectibles perfectly. You will notice as soon as you step through either door that it is a house that we took treasured items, repurposed them, and made our vacation home from pieces and collectables that had graced our homes throughout the years. It was our desire to never have a house that had a 'Kit' look to the scheme of decorating. We wanted great mattresses, great linens and all the amenities it takes to have the ability to step back in time and simply relax. Our goal is something will remind you of your past and you will create memories that travel with you throughout your lifetime.

What makes this chalet unique

I love the history of the house and the fact that it has stood the test of time. I also love the fact that this house has not one but two of the original river rock fireplaces that were so common in the 60's. There is nothing prefab when you drive up to this house. It was also important to have the ability to have all living on one level which this house does.Nothing is prettier than when it is a cold winter night and the snow begins to fall and you have a wonderful fire in the fireplace. Modern fireplaces are lovely but this house has fireplaces of substance. It is just a nice place to be close to EVERYTHING but far enough away to feel secluded. All the roads are maintained, paved and plowed by the city and all utilities are city utilities which gives you a feel of safety when the weather makes a change. I love the fact that no matter how bad the weather becomes Ski Mountain road is always open, The best restaurants and night spots in Gatlinburg are at the beginning of Ski Mountain Road. The location is perfect as you can go back roads to Pigeon Forge, ride easily to Cades Cove and be in downtown Gatlinburg in a matter of minutes.

Amenities

Chalet Village Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , features raised toliet and a walk in shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , raised toliet, for security
  • Both bathrooms are brand new. They are spotlessly clean and have wonderful towels. The walls in each bathroom are bead board to give you an authentic cabin feel. You step back in time but with very modern amenities.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Beautiful main level master with flat screen tv
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Lovely queen bedroom off downstairs den with flat screen tv
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , Antique iron bed with great view and a flat screen tv
  • All mattresses are new and we use only high tread count Egyptian cotton sheets. Extra pillows for sleeping comfort as well as heated mattress pads. Each bedroom has the ability to be self contained. Televisions with cable in each bedroom. Down and alternate down comforters are on all beds October through March. Each bedroom is private enough to hibernate and take a great afternoon nap. The evening temperature in the summer can easily be in the 50's so the beds have light cotton blankets throughout the summer. Each bedroom also has a full hanging closet with luggage storage.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
This is a great vacation rental to simply relax. You will generally see bears and you will have wonderful places to walk and to simply unwind. If you are looking for a house that is a mini-amusement park with indoor pools and miniature golf this is not the house you need. It has been redone so that you can simply forget the stress of everyday life. One of the very best features is that it is quiet. Bears are frequent visitors and all forms of wildlife are in the vicinity. Great place to watch each of the four seasons change.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(47 traveler reviews)

82% Complete
17% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Great Reviews, Close to pool and tennis, freshly decorated, wonderful location
average rating of 4.8297873 based on 47 reviews
5

Wonderful experience

  • 5 of 5

The chalet is so charming and the location is so close to the park. We felt like home. We even saw bears there. My children were so happy to meet the neighbors next door who let them see more bears in their backyard. They even named them Hoodie and Howdie. We want to say thanks to Mr. Glasgow to help us to make this event more memorable and enjoyable.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you had a great time. Thank you for the kind words. People have been hesitant to travel to this area since the fires. Thank you for mentioning what a good time you had. I'm glad your children saw the bears. It makes for a wonderful memories. Thank you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great owner and great location!

  • 5 of 5

I like the location very much. It's well out of the way of the busy-ness of Gatlinburg, but easy to get down to everything. The location is perfect for trips to the national park to hike, or to head towards Pigeon Forge. The area is quiet and the house is well furnished and equipped. We had to leave earlier than planned and the owner was gracious to accommodate our changed plans.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You were a pleasure to host. I'm glad our paths crossed and hope they do again in the future. Your kind words are most appreciated.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
5

Great Spot

  • 5 of 5

Great place to visit. Very close to Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. Great views of the mountains and surrounding woods. Very good size for my family plus my brother and sister in law. The beds were comfortable, especially with those nice warm electric mattress pads on the cool nights. Unfortunately we didn't see bears :( and was surprised to see the spiral staircase which makes it a little more tricky for the disabled (hard to tell it's there from the pictures). Other than that, everything went great.

Would definitely recommend it to friends.

Thanks so much.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not see bears as they are plentiful in this area, I am so glad you had a good trip. I am thankful that slowly but surely visitors are making their way back to the mountains. Thank you again for your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Louisville
5

Perfect mountain getaway

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time! The house fit our family perfectly. The location was very convenient, once we got the hang of the drive up and down the mountain. The beds were very comfortable as well. We had a fabulous long weekend.

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you had a great time. Many guests are hesitant since the fires but from this house you are not aware a fire ever happened. So glad you had fun. This is a great little house and makes being in the mountains fun. Thank you again for the kind words.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming, cozy Chalet

  • 5 of 5

Loved these few days spent in the little roundette! Beautiful setting, easily accessible, and uniquely furnished with antiques and vintage pieces. I felt like I was a visiting a dear friend's home.

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind review. We have not had much traffic since the tragic fires. Our side of the mountain you can really not tell that there has ever even been a fire. I am glad you had a good visit. This is a lovely house and most guests seem to be very comfortable. We hope you come again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great property.

  • 4 of 5

Excellent location! Great layout for one large or 2 smaller families & kid friendly. All necessary amenities available for a comfortable stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. The seperation of space makes this a great house for families. We are glad you had what you needed. We are very lucky this area did not burn. Thank you again for your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Tyson McGee Airport
Nearest Barpub
2.4 Miles
Smokey Mountain Brewery
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Gatlinburg Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
17 Miles
Interstate 40
Nearest Restaurant
2.3 Miles
The Peddler
Nearest Ski
1 Miles
Ober Gatlinburg
Car: necessary

Gatlinburg is the gateway to the great Smoky Mountain National Park. You are 2.4 miles from the main street of Gatlinburg as well as the entrance to the National Park.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Chalet Village Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer season
Jun 16 2017 - Aug 14 2017
2 night minimum stay
$179
$900
$3,000
 
 
Regular season
Aug 16 2017 - Nov 17 2017
2 night minimum stay
$169
$800
$2,800
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$169
$800
$2,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $85
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 12.95%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. No reservation is confirmed until deposit is made. This house is in an area that the City of Gatlinburg plows the roads should it snow. There is no refund if the weather prohibits you from traveling. Your deposit will apply if you rebook and stay within six months

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties