Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Great Reviews, Close to pool and tennis, freshly decorated, wonderful location

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

3 Bedroom 2 Bath, Sleeps six, With Great Kitchen And Beautiful Living Spaces

Traditional Roundette built in the Chalet Village style of the 60's. The entire house has been newly renovated with great attention to detail. House is situated on a quiet cul de sac in one of the most sought after areas of Chalet Village. Very close to the Chalet Village clubhouse and directly below the ski slopes of Ober Gatlinburg. Each bedroom has direct access to a bath and the bath on the main level has handicap features to assist the more mature traveler. Wonderful kitchen with everything you need to never leave. Inside the house you are surrounded by the beauty of the area as well as the construction of years gone by. The house has two wonderful fireplaces. One on each level. The master bedroom on the main level with no steps from the driveway has a king size bed, downstairs with a private entrance, one bedroom has a queen size bed and the other has a beautiful antique double iron bed. There is a sofa bed in the main level living room which is perfect if parent's have small children and do not feel comfortable with them downstairs. Off the lower level is a wonderful deck to simply relax and enjoy yourself. This is a great place to eat al fresco or to enjoy your morning coffee. The house has a living room on the main level and a den on the lower level. Both have entrances to the driveway. The house has flat screen televisions in every room and is equipped with high definition cable as well as WiFi throughout the entire house. There is a washer and dryer and you have all the comforts of home. The driveway will easily park four cars. There a slight slant to the driveway but it is easily maneuvered. This house is perfect for families that are coming to enjoy all that the Great Smoky Mountains has to offer. It is meant to be enjoyed for the surroundings and the close proximity to all the attractions that Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park have to offer. Please note when looking at this house that there is not a hot tub or a pool table. We wanted the extra space for families and multiple groups to be able to spread out and enjoy themselves. As an extra bonus, when you book at the weekly rate you are receiving one night free. If you need more room, check out our sister property, 'Mother's Condo' VRBO number 652915. This one is located two blocks from the Little Round House. The two houses together make perfect space for larger groups or family reunions. The Chalet Village Clubhouse is in between both properties. If both properties are rented there is a multi house discount. Due to the quality of renters that we have had we are no longer requiring the CSA non-refundable damage deposit. We have added a small totally refundable damage deposit that is fully refundable.. We have also added two larger homes if you are looking for something bigger, The Perfect House, 678279 and A Rivers Edge, 570067.

Russell G. Glasgow
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 27, 2017

About Russell G. Glasgow

I am a United Methodist minister serving in Birmingham, Alabama. Gatlinburg has always been a favorite vacation spot for our family and it has been for me since I became an adult. I never grow tired of the ever changing scenery and the wonderful events that the City of Gatlinburg is famous for. I have always felt that the worst of days is a good day in the mountains.

Russell G. Glasgow purchased this chalet in 2011

Why Russell G. Glasgow chose Gatlinburg

This house was purchased sight unseen from an older couple that had built the house. The original name of the house is 'Precious Memories' If you notice the tourist tag in the window it is the 32nd house that went on the rental market in the City of Gatlinburg. I had looked for several years and had contacted this couple some years earlier. They called one day and over the phone we settled the deal. It is amazing in the fact that I had looked for several years to find one in this area and near the five way stop sign. This house was the perfect size to get away from the business of the world and it holds all my odd collectibles perfectly. You will notice as soon as you step through either door that it is a house that we took treasured items, repurposed them, and made our vacation home from pieces and collectables that had graced our homes throughout the years. It was our desire to never have a house that had a 'Kit' look to the scheme of decorating. We wanted great mattresses, great linens and all the amenities it takes to have the ability to step back in time and simply relax. Our goal is something will remind you of your past and you will create memories that travel with you throughout your lifetime.

What makes this chalet unique

I love the history of the house and the fact that it has stood the test of time. I also love the fact that this house has not one but two of the original river rock fireplaces that were so common in the 60's. There is nothing prefab when you drive up to this house. It was also important to have the ability to have all living on one level which this house does.Nothing is prettier than when it is a cold winter night and the snow begins to fall and you have a wonderful fire in the fireplace. Modern fireplaces are lovely but this house has fireplaces of substance. It is just a nice place to be close to EVERYTHING but far enough away to feel secluded. All the roads are maintained, paved and plowed by the city and all utilities are city utilities which gives you a feel of safety when the weather makes a change. I love the fact that no matter how bad the weather becomes Ski Mountain road is always open, The best restaurants and night spots in Gatlinburg are at the beginning of Ski Mountain Road. The location is perfect as you can go back roads to Pigeon Forge, ride easily to Cades Cove and be in downtown Gatlinburg in a matter of minutes.


Chalet Village Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , features raised toliet and a walk in shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , raised toliet, for security
  • Both bathrooms are brand new. They are spotlessly clean and have wonderful towels. The walls in each bathroom are bead board to give you an authentic cabin feel. You step back in time but with very modern amenities.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Beautiful main level master with flat screen tv
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Lovely queen bedroom off downstairs den with flat screen tv
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , Antique iron bed with great view and a flat screen tv
  • All mattresses are new and we use only high tread count Egyptian cotton sheets. Extra pillows for sleeping comfort as well as heated mattress pads. Each bedroom has the ability to be self contained. Televisions with cable in each bedroom. Down and alternate down comforters are on all beds October through March. Each bedroom is private enough to hibernate and take a great afternoon nap. The evening temperature in the summer can easily be in the 50's so the beds have light cotton blankets throughout the summer. Each bedroom also has a full hanging closet with luggage storage.
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
This is a great vacation rental to simply relax. You will generally see bears and you will have wonderful places to walk and to simply unwind. If you are looking for a house that is a mini-amusement park with indoor pools and miniature golf this is not the house you need. It has been redone so that you can simply forget the stress of everyday life. One of the very best features is that it is quiet. Bears are frequent visitors and all forms of wildlife are in the vicinity. Great place to watch each of the four seasons change.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(45 traveler reviews)

Great Reviews, Close to pool and tennis, freshly decorated, wonderful location
average rating of 4.822222 based on 45 reviews

Charming, cozy Chalet

  • 5 of 5

Loved these few days spent in the little roundette! Beautiful setting, easily accessible, and uniquely furnished with antiques and vintage pieces. I felt like I was a visiting a dear friend's home.

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind review. We have not had much traffic since the tragic fires. Our side of the mountain you can really not tell that there has ever even been a fire. I am glad you had a good visit. This is a lovely house and most guests seem to be very comfortable. We hope you come again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Eden Prairie, Minnesota

Great Spot

  • 5 of 5

Great place to visit. Very close to Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. Great views of the mountains and surrounding woods. Very good size for my family plus my brother and sister in law. The beds were comfortable, especially with those nice warm electric mattress pads on the cool nights. Unfortunately we didn't see bears :( and was surprised to see the spiral staircase which makes it a little more tricky for the disabled (hard to tell it's there from the pictures). Other than that, everything went great.

Would definitely recommend it to friends.

Thanks so much.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not see bears as they are plentiful in this area, I am so glad you had a good trip. I am thankful that slowly but surely visitors are making their way back to the mountains. Thank you again for your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect mountain getaway

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time! The house fit our family perfectly. The location was very convenient, once we got the hang of the drive up and down the mountain. The beds were very comfortable as well. We had a fabulous long weekend.

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you had a great time. Many guests are hesitant since the fires but from this house you are not aware a fire ever happened. So glad you had fun. This is a great little house and makes being in the mountains fun. Thank you again for the kind words.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great property.

  • 4 of 5

Excellent location! Great layout for one large or 2 smaller families & kid friendly. All necessary amenities available for a comfortable stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. The seperation of space makes this a great house for families. We are glad you had what you needed. We are very lucky this area did not burn. Thank you again for your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect Cabin for Christmas in the Mountains!

  • 5 of 5

We had a fabulous time at the Little Round House. Everything was clean, cozy & comfortable... Plenty of space for our family of four and my mother! Would definitely visit again!!! Thanks, Russell!

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you had a great time. This is a wonderful house I am so glad that is was spared by the fires. I hope we can host you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great stay!

  • 5 of 5

It's our first time in Gatlinburg and it went great. This chalet has everything you need! The house was clean when we arrived. The kitchen is well stocked with all the things you need to cook and eat. You just need groceries and food, of course. There's a Chalet market close by to buy food and they have fliers on the counter for places that deliver food there, we haven't tried that.

The pictures really don't do it justice. It looks nicer in person especially in fall. We arrived at night time on our first night and would definitely recommend that you arrive before dark. We're not used to driving in the mountains so it was extra hard in the dark. Also, the parking was very steep. I've been warned from the reviews but I didn't realize it would be a challenge. But once you're able to park, the next time you do it will already be a lot easier. This place is close to downtown Gatlinburg and the Smokey Mountain Park. It was an overall a relaxing stay! Our full deposit was also back within a week. Will definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Gatlinburg!

  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you had a wonderful time. We try to provide exactly what our pictures show. We sort of overdid this kitchen and it one of our nicer ones. Someday if we are ever there I'd like to show you some horribly steep driveways. Ours is steep but I am glad you said after doing it once it is manageable. We extended the handrail all the way to where you park to make getting out of the car easier. I am so glad your trip was a success. I hope we host you again
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Tyson McGee Airport
Nearest Barpub
2.4 Miles
Smokey Mountain Brewery
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Gatlinburg Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
17 Miles
Interstate 40
Nearest Restaurant
2.3 Miles
The Peddler
Nearest Ski
1 Miles
Ober Gatlinburg
Car: necessary

Gatlinburg is the gateway to the great Smoky Mountain National Park. You are 2.4 miles from the main street of Gatlinburg as well as the entrance to the National Park.


Rates & Availability

Chalet Village Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Regular season
Jan 4 2017 - Jun 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
Summer season
Jun 16 2017 - Aug 14 2017
2 night minimum stay
Regular season
Aug 16 2017 - Nov 17 2017
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $85
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 12.95%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. No reservation is confirmed until deposit is made. This house is in an area that the City of Gatlinburg plows the roads should it snow. There is no refund if the weather prohibits you from traveling. Your deposit will apply if you rebook and stay within six months

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message

You might like these similar properties