Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cool Paradise In The Oaks And Pines on the East Verde River on 3.5 Acres

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedroom 2 bath home on the river with mountain views also

2000 square foot home on 3.5 acres - extremely private. First floor has 2 bedrooms, 2 baths with 3rd 500 square foot loft/bedroom. 2 masonry fireplaces, Beautiful views overlooking the seasonal East Verde River from a huge redwood deck. Surrounded by pines and oaks. Approximately 20 minutes from Payson near the base of the Rim. Fishing, hiking, swimming.... Ideal for romantic or family get away. Very well maintained, free wifi.


Owner
Craig Crane
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, spanish, russian
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 24, 2017

Amenities

Payson House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

Cool Paradise In The Oaks And Pines on the East Verde River on 3.5 Acres
average rating of 4.6 based on 20 reviews
Phoenix, AZ
5

One of the most magical houses we've ever experienced

  • 5 of 5

Craig's house and property are stunning. This house is essentially a treehouse, as it's vaulted about 20-30 feet off the ground and, more or less, in the middle of the forest. You're surrounded by the sounds of nature – the running stream in the back and wind through the trees – and you can't even hear (or see) any nearby cars. The nearly-wraparound porch provides great views all around, and almost all available outward-facing walls of the house have floor-to-ceiling windows. If you're looking for a place to get away and relax and recharge, and I truly can't think of a better option.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Williams. AZ
5

An absolutely gorgeous property in beautiful surroundings

  • 5 of 5

We are very glad we booked here, it is like having your own private beautiful tree house. The house is very nice, clean and very roomy. Even inside the house you are spoiled with the most beautiful forest views. It is very private and one feels like you are in your very own beautiful piece of paradise. We were spoiled by nature and the gorgeous surroundings. We had several animal visitors; elk, mule deer, squirrels and numerous birds. The biggest treat was when a herd of 7 elk slowly passed right by the main bedroom window on their way down to the river below. The river passes right through the property and it is an easy (very short) walk down if you approach the river from the start of the driveway instead of walking down straight from the house. We spent most of our time relaxing on the huge deck, looking out for animals and at the beautiful view. If you need to get away from it all and just relax; this place is the therapy you need to restore calm to your soul. It was an incredibly relaxing holiday for us. We stayed for 5 nights and were very heartbroken to leave. The aircon system is excellent, we did not feel the Payson heat at all. All the appliances you might need are available and all are in good working order. All the utensils we needed were also available. We had no problems with the wifi (good strong signal) or tv and there is a large dvd collection to choose from, as well as numerous toys for the kids. There are also extra blankets and sheets if you need them. The couches, chairs and beds are very comfy. The cabin is centrally located, easily found and it is a short drive to Payson and Pine. There are numerous beautiful hikes available in the area; the hikes at Water Wheel Falls and Washington Park are very close to the cabin and Tonto Natural Bridge is only a short drive away. There are numerous places to eat closeby in Pine and some interesting antique shops and small art galleries. The owner is very nice and professional and answered all questions promptly. We have been to Payson a few times before and have booked many cabins over the years, but this is the one we will rebook and we look forward to staying here many more times. Thank you for sharing this amazing place with us! We highly recommend others to book here!

  • Submitted: May 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Much to like but . . .

  • 3 of 5

A lot to like about this place including the location and setting plus the big wrap around deck that is kid friendly. Bed in master was comfortable and as others have said, window coverings leave a bit to be desired. Be aware though that there is no cell phone service at least from AT&T and no TV service either. No satellite or cable or antenna. There is a TV and DVD player and a big DVD library. And there is wifi. That's not necessarily a complaint, just a fact. Overall a good place, not great.

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry that you were not able to understand how to use the chrome cast on the television to give you more television choices. So between Netflix, Amazon prime and the DVD collection, this is usually enough television for most guests on a weekend. I am also sorry you did not know how to use Skype or any of the free internet telephone services with our wifi to supplement your cell phone. Cell reception at most places along the river is spotty for many cell services because we of course are surrounded by mountains. Please remember I offered to refund your money in full when you complained about the cell service and that you missed a football game on tv. But thank you for trying us out. Our place was not for you, but it has been a wonderful experience for many others.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Beautiful, secluded location

  • 4 of 5

The location and seclusion were amazing. Easy to get to yet private.

The views from the living room and the balcony are wonderful!

Decor is a bit dated and the furniture is not comfortable which is a shame considering all of the good points.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Epic views and location

  • 5 of 5

The location, scenery and the owner make this rental a gem. If you are there to enjoy Payson's natural beauty this is it.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect weekend getaway.

  • 4 of 5

We are a couple with a new baby and found this to be an almost perfect weekend getaway. The owner was very responsive as we booked this property at the last minute.

It was a little big for our family, and we wish we had brought some extra people. The internet password did not work (but we decided we didn't need it anyway).

The creek runs right behind this property and can be heard from the porch and master bedroom with the windows open (how peaceful).

Everything is clean and stocked. Only small complaint there is lack of good cutlery (if you like sharp knives, being your own). Otherwise, there are plenty of place settings and pots and pans for cooking almost any dish. Plenty of everything, especially for those with children > 2yrs. Lots of stuff to see within walking distance. Central AC works well.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Payson House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$840
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$180
From
$210
Fri,Sat
$900
$3,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Cleaning Fee $125
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 6.6%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties