check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

IN THE HEART OF THE FRENCH QUARTER, ONE BLOCK FROM JACKSON SQUARE, CAFE DUMONDE.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
condo
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 - 4 nights

About the property

THIS APARTMENT OVER LOOKS A COURT YARD. IT SLEEPS 4-6 PEOPLE: ONE BATH, ONE BEDROOM WITH QUEEN BED, ONE PULL OUT SOFA SLEEPER FOR TWO, LOFT UPSTAIRS THAT WILL SLEEP TWO PEOPLE, THIS LOFT IS ACCESSIBLE THROUGH THE PRIVATE BEDROOM AND OVER LOOKS THE FAMILY ROOM. THERE IS LIMITED HEAD ROOM AND MUST CLIMB "FIRE ESCAPE" TYPE LADDER TO ENTER. (NOT RECOMMENDED FOR YOUNG CHILDREN OR ANYONE WITH MOBILITY ISSUES) . IN THE KITCHEN THERE IS A RANGE/OVEN, MICROWAVE, WINE COOLER, ICE MAKER, COFFEE MAKER, PLATES, BOWLS, GLASSES, SIVLER WARE . FULLY FURNISHED WITH SHEETS, TOWELS AND BLANKETS. WOOD FLOORS, HIGH CEILINGS AND GRANITE COUNTER TOPS. IN THE HEART OF THE FRENCH QUARTER ACROSS FROM CAFE' DU MONDE. ONE BLOCK FROM JACKSON SQAURE, SHOPPING, RESTAURANTS, ALL KIND OF ENTERTAINMENT....


Property Manager
Debbie Burns
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 15, 2017

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

IN THE HEART OF THE FRENCH QUARTER, ONE BLOCK FROM JACKSON SQUARE, CAFE DUMONDE.
average rating of 4.2222223 based on 18 reviews
4

Clean and bright, fantastic location, with a couple of limitations

  • 4 of 5

When you first open the door from the street, you may be slightly disheartened. Don't be. There's a charming apartment waiting for you at the end of the hall and up the stairs. It's spotlessly clean, with lots of natural light and comfortable lounging furniture and bed. It worked extremely well for two of us.

As other reviewers have noted, the stairs to the loft are steep. I didn't make it beyond the second step. However, the ladder works very well as a towel bar (and there isn't one in the bathroom). I don't recommend staying in the French Quarter in order to cook dinner and, indeed, you would be hard pressed to do it here. The kitchen is set up to allow you to eat breakfast in your pjs and bring in carry out food for other meals. Worked fine for us.

Here are the limitations. There is, essentially, no WIFI. Yes, you will find possibilities on your laptop, etc., but when you try to connect they disappear. The owner has not installed a secure internet connection. Next, we were unable to make the big flat screen TV work at all, or the TV in the bedroom work properly. Perhaps it was a TV malfunction. Perhaps we weren't working the remotes correctly. In case it was the latter, instructions would have been really helpful. As others have observed, the refrigerator is a wine cooler. There is a separate ice maker, but there was no ice in it. Again, instructions would have been nice. A dorm sized under the counter frig with a freezer would have been even better. All that said, the location cannot be beat. It is hands down the best VRBO spot I have stayed in for being close to the action in the French Quarter. I would take that in lieu of WIFI, TV and ice any day.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

I would stay here again.

  • 4 of 5

Let me first say that we had a great time and enjoyed the location. It was clean and comfy with 6 people. With that being said there we a few things that could have been better. There was no wifi in the unit. We were told it would be fixed the next day and never heard back on it. I posted alot of pictures while we were there and ended up using most of my data plan. If you plan on cooking while you are there bring your own pots and pans. There were only cookie sheets and pizza pans provided. also bring a cooler for cold foods and drinks. The wine cooler that is in the unit does not get cold enough to keep these things cold. The room is stocked with plenty of towels and having a Keurig for my coffee made it better. Having to climb the "fire escape ladder" is not as bad as it sounds. It would be cool if there was a slide to come back down. :)~ Being across the street from Cafe Du Monde.............no worries you can walk it off. Beingets at midnight was awesome. The good outweighs the bad. Thanks for renting to us.

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

The Good, The Bad and The Ugly

  • 2 of 5

The Good: The location of the property is great. It is right on Decatur which is walking distance from almost anywhere in the French Quarter. The condo itself has been renovated and the kitchen and the bathroom look nice. We enjoyed the surround sound speakers built into the walls.

The Bad: The building is very old and the stairs are a bit treacherous if you are older but this is typical of New Orleans. The stairwell smelt of urine. There are 3 locked doors on the way to the unit and sometimes the codes didn't work or the doors were stuck to the point where they would not open. Sometimes we had to literally throw a shoulder into the door to get it open. There is no fridge in the kitchen aside from a mini cooler built for wine.

The Ugly: We traveled from another country and desperately needed WiFi to stay in touch with our friends. Although the unit boasts that there is WiFi, the signal barely worked in the bedroom and sometimes not at all. If it connected it was painfully slow. There was no router in the condo so it is likely coming from another unit.

There loft is very difficult to access as you must climb a ladder that is right in the middle of the bedroom. This allowed for no privacy in the bedroom and isn't realistic for two couples.

The owner was not responsive when asked questions and at one point when the front door wasn't opening, offered no assistance. We definitely would not stay here again.

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Charlotte, NC
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5

Terrific location. Clean and uodated inside. Walkable to all French Quarter attractions but quiet enough to sleep at night. Owner was responsive to all messages. Wireless only worked sometimes for some of us, but we didn't ask the owner to fix it. This was great for our girls weekend. If you plan on using the loft for sleeping understand it is a steep ladder straight up, not recommended for small children or those that have limited mobility.

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Pros and Cons

  • 4 of 5

Pros: Excellent location, very secure entry, clean modern space

Cons: Was not told about construction in the unit below that started at 7AM every morning, broken ice machine which caused an issue since the mini fridge is actually a wine cooler so drinks don't stay cold. Also the ladder to loft is ROUGH. It's super steep and the iron hurts to climb.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
2

Location was the only good thing

  • 2 of 5

Great location, terrible service. The ad states TV, WIFI and a microwave. There is no microwave ,the manager, Debbie Burns, was apparently not aware of this. It took her 2 days to get the TV and WIFI working. She works, as she informed us 24/7 and could not come to help us. The sleeping arrangements are odd, no privacy for anyone. Sofa sleeper very uncomfortable. Refrigerator was stocked with high priced drinks and the ice maker was broken. The manager claimed she would make it up to us but that never happened.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We aim to provide superior customer service to all of our guests and it is extremely important our guests are happy. In response to the television and wi-fi problem, there was actually no problem with the connections at all. I called the guest and tried to troubleshoot over the phone however, the guest could not comprehend how to work the television/direct tv, that the modem needs to be on, and upon arrival I even had to go into their personal computer and set the device to use the on-site wi-fi. I spent 15 minutes going over how to operate the remote controls for the television. As far as the microwave, the guest is correct. There is no microwave in this particular unit however it does have a full service kitchen with a cooktop and oven.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
LOUIS ARMSTRONG INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
CANAL STREET/ALGIERS FERRY
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
ENGLISH TURN GOLF AND COUNTRY CLUB
Nearest Train
10 Miles
AMTRAK
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
INTERSTATE 10
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
TUJAGUE'S, GALATOIRE'S COMMANDER PALACE, LA PIZZA
Nearest Beach
45 Miles
MISSISSIPPI GULF COAST
Car: not necessary

CAFE DU MONDE, RIVER WALK, HARRAH'S CASINO, NATIONAL D-DAY MUSEUM, AQUARUIM OF THE AMERICAS, AUDUBON ZOO, STEAMBOAT NATCHEZ, JACKSON SQUARE, ST LOUIS CATHEDRAL, FRENCH MARKET, ENTERGY IMAX THEATRE

Photos

Rates & Availability

French Quarter Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
SPORTS, FESTIVALS, SMALL EVENT
Jan 6 2017 - Feb 22 2017
4 night minimum stay
$249
 
 
MARDI GRAS
Feb 23 2017 - Mar 2 2017
4 night minimum stay
$450
 
 
SPORTS, FESTIVALS, SMALL EVENT
Mar 3 2017 - Apr 5 2017
4 night minimum stay
$249
 
 
FRENCH QUARTER FEST
Apr 6 2017 - Apr 10 2017
4 night minimum stay
$400
 
 
JAZZ FEST
Apr 27 2017 - May 8 2017
3 night minimum stay
$450
 
 
SPORTS, FESTIVALS, SMALL EVENT
May 9 2017 - May 24 2017
3 night minimum stay
$249
 
 
SPORTS, FESTIVALS, SMALL EVENT
May 25 2017 - May 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$299
 

Additional information about rental rates

CLEANING $145
Refundable damage deposit $300
Pet Fee $200
Tax Rate 9.0%

RATES ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE WITHOUT NOTICE: RATES FOR SPECIAL EVENTS VARY. FOUR NIGHT MINIMUM. PET DEPOSIT IS NON-REFUNDABE AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE DEPENDING ON THE BREED OF ANIMAL. AN $89.00 NON-REFUNDABLE CHARGE WILL APPLY FOR DAMAGE PROTECTION. CLEANING SERVICE IS REQUIRED FOR EACH APT. RATES VARY. THE FIRST PAYMENT IS DUE AT THE TIME OF BOOKING AND IS NON-REFUNDABLE.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

French Quarter Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • HAS A WALK IN SHOWER WITH GLASS DOORS AND CERAMIC SURROUND
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Loft - 1 queen , 1 double
  • ONE QUEEN BED IN BEDROOM, ONE DOUBLE SOFA SLEEPER IN FAMILY ROOM AND A LOFT THAT SLEEPS TWO. BEDROOM AND FAMILY ROOM HAS FLAT SCREEN TV'S
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
Notes:
NEW ORLEANS SAINTS FOOTBALL, NEW ORLEANS PELICANS BASKETBALL, THE NEW ORLEANS ZEPHYRS BASEBALL

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties