Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

The BatCasa . Most popular on the House & Garden tours.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

This Art Home is Spectacular in its curves and form.

This Art Home is Spectacular. The house and designer have been written up in many Art & Architecture magazines. Families with children, love to stay at the Bat Casa, full of wonder and imagination. The House & Garden Tour SMA. Great views & Wonderful sunsets. Full kitchen, 2 bedrooms, WiFi, Netflix. . A very safe quiet neighborhood. The BatCasa is a $3 taxi ride into the centro. It is 15-20 min walk into centro.


Owner
Steven Feldman
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, My local SMA number You can text me
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
September 17, 2017

About Steven Feldman

I am a 3D designer for visual effects for film and television. I have worked on 2 Harry Potter films for IMAX and many commercials over the years. Between 2007- 2012 I was teaching 3D animation and design in both China and India. Now, the design projects are houses in San Miguel.

Why Steven Feldman chose San Miguel de Allende

This Art Home is Spectacular. The house and designer have been written up in many Art & Architecture magazines. Families with children, love to stay at the Bat Casa, full of wonder and imagination. The House & Garden Tour SMA. Great views & Wonderful sunsets. Full kitchen, 2 bedrooms, WiFi, Netflix. . A very safe quiet neighborhood.

What makes this house unique

This Art Home is Spectacular. The house and designer have been written up in many Art & Architecture magazines. Families with children, love to stay at the Bat Casa, full of wonder and imagination. The House & Garden Tour SMA. Great views & Wonderful sunsets. Full kitchen, 2 bedrooms, WiFi, Netflix. . A very safe quiet neighborhood.

Guestbook comments from the owner

It was really wonderful having these guest stay at the house. I would have them back anytime.
Mar 2015
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Olimpo House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 1:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - shower , And Urinal.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • There is a loft queen bed, and a queen bed in the lower area of the cave room. If you have more guests, the lower suite in the house is available. Have a look at http://www.vrbo.com/662211
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Notes:
Casa Artistica Gaudi has the most wonderful views and sunsets experienced in San Miguel Allende. The neighborhood is very safe and quiet, with stores and the main bus station close by. It will be easy for you to get to the center square 3 minute ride on the ATV Quad, which comes with the house. Minutes to the center square.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
The BatCasa . Most popular on the House & Garden tours.
average rating of 4.375 based on 9 reviews
4

February and March in San Miguel de Allende

  • 4 of 5

To say this house is different would be an understatement. The listing fairly describes the property so there were no surprises regarding the accommodations.

The pluses:

Fantastic views. The mountains, lake and surrounding area present a pleasant panorama when enjoying wine and cheese on the covered terrace.

Easy access to public transportation The bus stop and taxis are a short walk from the house.

Having access to the ATV was a huge benefit. Short trips to the grocery store, tennis courts, etc. were a snap.

The house is full of sunlight, and we were always warm.

We made many friends in San Miguel and they all wanted a tour of the Bat Casa. It was the topic of many conversations.

The neighborhood is quite safe, and the neighbor was very nice.

Minuses:

We were without water for about 4 days. This was not the fault of the owner since it was due to construction. However, the owner should have had a water storage system in place to cover such situations. This is Mexico and interruption of water is not uncommon.

We were without hot water for two days. The propane tank ran dry and was not filled by the owner before he left town.

Since we ate all of our meals outside the house this was not a problem for us but the kitchen could have been better supplied with pots, pans, dishes, etc.

Overall:

San Miguel is a fantastic city to visit. The weather was almost perfect, the restaurants are great, there is a lot to do both in the city and within 200 miles of the city. The intercity bus service is excellent; and if you don't speak Spanish, like us, you will not have any problems. The house does take some getting used to, but if you are looking for something different then this is definitely the house for you.

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: An improved backup system for the water is now in place. The hot water system was newly installed during the time of this clients stay . I had to leave the country 2 times on family emergencies, So it made it made it difficult to monitor the water system fix the system shortcomings during this time.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Epic, Artful, Whimsical home in a beautiful town that is a must if you have a sense of humor!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Batcasa for Day of the Dead 2016. We took our two sons and they completely freaked out! They loved being at the casa as much as the festival! It is amazingly functional, too! Steven was a great host as well. He went above and beyond to give us an amazing experience. Steven offered us use of the ATV, but a 24 hour parking facility on Pila Seca in the city centro was so convenient and affordable that it wasn't needed. 250 pesos for the day and you come and go as much as you want. The house is in a very safe neighborhood, close to the nearby main road into town and has amazing views of the lake and mountains. Steve has Netflix on the TV and the WiFi works great. We will be back!!!! Thank you again Steve!

  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tiffanie and her family were wonderful guest to have at the house. They took care of the house, and enjoyed it to the fullest. You want this family to stay at your home. A full 5 stars for this family.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Toronto Canada
5

A truly artistic casa in San Miguel

  • 5 of 5

Steve is a wonderful, generous host and the imaginative mind behind this Artista Casa. It was a wonderful experience to stay in such unique accommodations. Visionary architecture aside, there is a full kitchen, lots of hot water for showers after a long day exploring San Miguel (walkable from the casa or on one of Steve's ATVs), comfortable beds, terrific rooftop patio with gorgeous views of the town and beautiful sunsets and wifi. Steve supplied the kitchen with yogurt, cereal and delicious coffee to get us started and was available to answer questions about San Miguel. Not to be missed!

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have been blessed with such wonderful people staying at the house. It is always great to meet the next person passing thru San Miguel.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Better than we could have imagined

  • 5 of 5

To begin, Steven is a great host- very helpful, warm, and inviting. The house is something else, definitely even cooler than the pics can show, very artistic, and with all the comforts you want in a home. The beds were very comfortable, I think they are new too, slept like babies every night during our stay. Very safe neighborhood, with all the amenities within a 10 min ATV ride- tops! Having access to the atv was the icing on the cake, we used it to explore areas you would never get to by taxi, and at the same time were able to drive it downtown for a nice dinner every night too!

  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excellent choice in San Miguel Allende

  • 5 of 5

I was drawn to the house from the design and to get my 10 year old excited about traveling to Mexico..again. Was not disappointed - neither was my daughter! New beds were very comfortable as well as new sofa style seats. Great hot water shower pressure. The quad came in very handy and could always park a block or two to the Jardin. Steve was very helpful with Cereal / Yogurt and more blankets upon request.

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is a 5 star family to have as guests in your home. They were very easy going, looked after the house, and really nice people to talk to. You want to have them stay at your home. They a certainly welcome back to the Casa Gaudi house, any time. Regards Steven
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Cool house but lacking comforts

  • 2 of 5

Loved this cool set up however it wAs so overly lacking in any comforts, no couch or chairs that were comfortable and horrible horrible beds.

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The lounge area was just redesigned. We were waiting for the custom cushions to be finished. Then we will post the new photos of the lounge. 2 new mattresses were just put into the suite, Nov 12. These 2 mattresses are the highest quality mattresses in San Miguel, you will sleep like a baby. I guarantee it.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $32.58

You must have a valid drivers license and passport in order to drive the ATV. And a liability waiver and contract must be signed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.