Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Book for Fall!! --Family And Pet Friendly - Find 'southbay54' On You Tube

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Space 1,225 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 1 - 6 nights


About the property

2 Bedroom, 2.5 Bath, Sleeps 4-6

Destin Beach Vacation Townhouse -- Freshly updated with great beach -- new on the market (so no reviews, yet) -- pet friendly

Southbay54 is a townhouse (no elevators to hassle with) that has spectacular views and is close to all major attractions in Destin. The private beach is a quick walk and offers plenty of room to spread out for your entire family. You can walk to awesome restaurants or cook in our updated kitchen and dine on our water-view upper deck.

We are family-friendly with lots of beach stuff and 2 kiddie pools; the big flat screen LED TV has connections for your video games and a BlueRay/DVD player. We are pet friendly and offer great facilities to exercise your dog.

Our beach is pristine and the Gulf waters are clear and warm; the sand slopes gently which makes it safe and more fun for kids (with your supervision, of course.) There is a beach bar that serves lunch and refreshments a five minute walk down the beach.

You’ll have access to all the amenities in our townhouse, including WiFi, HiDef cable TV, a new grill on the upper deck, outdoor dining, and lounges for sunning. The beautifully landscaped property has tennis courts, two sets of swimming pools (one kiddie pool at each location) including a heated set of pools.

Please watch our video tour by going to YouTube and entering “southbay54” (no spaces) in the search box.

The two bedrooms each have an attached bathroom and a flat screen TV. One bedroom has a king-size bed and a spacious private balcony overlooking our 5 acre lake. (You can fish from the balcony.) The second bedroom has two pillow top single beds. Both bedrooms have lots of closet space and bureaus for your convenience. Inflatable mattresses are available.

The upstairs floor is the Entertainment Level with a spacious Great Room (for dining, lounging and watching TV) plus the newly updated kitchen and a half bath. There is also a large deck for grilling, dining and watching spectacular sunsets. We have a sleeper sofa also for a few extras to sleep on.

Our goal is to make sure your vacation at Southbay54 is peaceful, worry-free and full of memories that will last a lifetime.

More Details

Property Manager
Lynda-Property Manager
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 14, 2018

About Lynda-Property Manager

Local owner and property manager on-site to assist you with any need, from cribs or inflatable mattresses to recommendations for activities or dining.

Lynda-Property Manager purchased this townhome in 2013

Why Lynda-Property Manager chose Destin

We chose this town home because of it's location and amenities -- 200 yards from the white sand beaches, 5 minute walk to a fun beach bar and short walking distance to awesome restaurants -- tennis courts and heated pools -- great sunsets to finish active days !!!

What makes this townhome unique

We love NOT being in a high rise, and NOT having to wait for elevators !!! You can enjoy grilling on the upper deck at sunset, fishing off the waterfront balconies, relaxing on the private lower deck and being able to walk everywhere.


Destin Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1225 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , Powder room on the Entertainment Level
  • Powder Room on Entertainment Level is convenient, bright and cheery Two Bathrooms on Ground level are tiled and have bowed shower curtain rods for roomy showers.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Suite - 1 king , Attached bath, walk-in closet, room for inflatables
    Front Bedroom Suite - 2 twin/ single , Attached Bath, walk-in closet and room for an inflatable
  • Both bedrooms are on ground level for easy access from beach and pools; Master Suite is carpeted with a King Bed (plus room for inflatable mattresses), updated bathroom, walk in closet, walk out to deck, and flat screen TV Front Bedroom is also carpeted with 2 pillow top singles (plus room for inflatable mattresses), attached updated bathroom, walk in closet and flat screen TV
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Tennis ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

53% Complete
33% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
Book for Fall!! --Family And Pet Friendly - Find 'southbay54' On You Tube
average rating of 4.266667 based on 15 reviews

Good location on the wayer

  • 4 of 5

Good location, short walk to the beach. Good Resturant’s for breakfast and dinner, within walking distance. Place is clean. Only small point is the bridge walkway light shines in the room at night, no blacken curtains.

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the reply. Thank you for letting us know about the black out curtains. There has not been that complaint before I guess because the bushes there kept the light out but they trimmed them and now I guess the light shines in. Hope you will be back to stay with us. Thank you Lynda
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Property needed some TLC

  • 1 of 5

I booked this unit for a long weekend. The unit over looked the lake and had very convenient access to the beach (across lake and through property). The unit itself needed a very deep cleaning. The bed sheets seemed clean but the shower curtain liner was mildewed, the space between the toilet and sink in main bathroom was dirty. The ceiling above the shower was black. The shower exhaust fan needed cleaned. The air conditioning vents were dirty and needed cleaned.

There was broken and falling ceiling plaster in the twin bedroom (looked like a past leak in kitchen above.) there were holes in the living room ceiling as well as blinds that didn't fully close. The curtain rod in main bedroom was broken as well as the kick panel in the main bathroom.

There were several light bulbs burned out too. There was a power outage while we were there so I could also see how dirty the upstairs ceiling fan was.

Like I said the property really needed DEEP cleaning and just a little TLC. I wouldn't book again because it looked better online than what I found in person.

  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry this unit did not meet your expectations. We do a deep clean at the end of each year and try to do extras along the way. So the dates you were there it was probably getting close to the deep clean time. I am sorry that you were not happy. I would hope that you could give us another try. We are working on fixing some of the maintenance items also. Thank you for your reply, this does help us make a better place for future guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Clean and comfortable! Hope to rent again!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful stay. Very comfortable and felt at home at the beach. Short walk to the beach and in close proximity to attractions. The property owner was very friendly and helpful!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review. I do try and make everyones stay as nice as I can. Hope to have you back again real soon! Thanks Lynda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Could be better....

  • 3 of 5

We thought we were staying on the beach side of the lake. Were surprised to see that it was on the other side of the small lake. Was not an ocean view as advertised. Several dishes were put up dirty and the furniture was not the same as the pictures. Overall could have been better.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that you had a disappointing time at the condo. The condo is definitely not advertised as being on the beach. Sorry if you thought that. It said that it was a short walk to the beach. Yes I do need to update the pictures of the sleeper sofas that have been added. Also sorry for the dishes that were put away dirty, sometimes renters do that and we do not catch that. Thank you for your feed back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Southbay 54 is a clean and convenient pet friendly property for a vacationing beach/dog lover.

  • 5 of 5

I was very thankful to have stayed at Southbay 54 the week of June 19th (June 17th – 24th, 2017). If you are unfortunate enough to book your weeks’ vacation at the beach the same time a tropical storm comes to town you want to have a great indoor place to “ride it out”. Southbay 54 is just that. My dog and I loved this unit that was completely full with all the necessities. Lynda is great! It is a great complex occupied with other dog lovers who certainly don’t mind you being outside walking your dog. The sweet lady across the street came running with a dog treat(s) nearly each time. This place is conveniently situated near great restaurants and grocery/liquor stores. There is plenty to do if you like to be on the move but also great if you are looking for a relaxing get-a-way with lots of downtime. Although I don’t have a family, Southbay 54 would be an excellent vacation stay for a family of 4+. I am looking forward to staying again soon – minus the 14” of rain and back to back tornado warning filled mornings. ;)

THANKS LYNDA! Libby (the dog) and I are grateful to have stumbled onto your rental via VRBO and had a great week away from Kentucky much because of your hospitality!!! Southbay 54 gets an A+, Tropical Storm Cindy gets a D-. ;)

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Amy for leaving a nice review. Hopefully the weather will be better the next time you come back to visit! Hope to see you again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 4 of 5

We had everything we needed! Clean, convenient to beach and restaurants.

  • Submitted: May 15, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. Hope to see you back again soon! Thank you Lynda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
18 Miles
Northwest Florida Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Island Wings (50 draft beers on tap)
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Mellow Mushroom Pizza
Nearest Beach
Destin Beach
Car: not necessary

Your vacation rental is close to all the fun stuff of Destin Harbor via the Destin Trolley, plus within walking distance of great restaurants, supermarkets, beach bars, Big Kahuna Water Park -- and we are pet friendly with plenty of room to exercise your dog


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
extra pet $50 + Tax
Cleaning $100 + Tax
Pet Fee $50
Tax Rate 11.0%

If you choose to book on line there are a extra fees that VRBO will charge you, but it does give you piece of mind. I do have a pay pal account also that you could use, which is secure and no extra fees. You have a choice of doing the insurance or the damage deposit you do not have to do both. Any questions just call Lynda property manager. Thank you

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties