Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Year Round Lake Home with Crystal Clear Sand Bottom Lake

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,700 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

4 bedroom plus loft that sleeps 12

Open Year-Round! This property is located in the Blue Diamond Recreation Area 15 miles southeast of Chetek and 6 miles east of Highway 53 on Salisbury Lake. Built in 2005, this is a very clean home decorated with a cabin decor. It has 4 bedrooms, plus loft that sleeps 12 with approximately 2700 square feet of living space. There are two full bathrooms. Lower level has a family room with an electric fireplace and main level has a gas log fireplace. A large patio offers a view of the lake 70 feet away. There is a bonfire ring, new gas grill, paddle boat and row boat included. Also a pontoon and kayaks available for rent. Salisbury Lake has bass, northern, and pan fish. There are several golf courses near by. The Chippewa County Forest is near including the Dave Obey Ice Age Center where you can have hands-on activities like holding a snake, petting a turtle or digging for fossils. You can visit the rain garden or the wildflower and fern gardens. There are hiking trails, xc ski trails and snowmobile trails. The 4 bedrooms all come with 5 queen beds, queen futon in loft, two full bathrooms, two fireplaces, air conditioning, two TV's located in living room on main level and family room on lower level with satellite TV. 3rd Tv located in loft for movies and gaming. Video library and games too.

Kathy Prissel
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 19, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you so much!! This is our second time back and we already reserved next years spot. This is a perfect place for families. It's quiet and we love how clean and organized you keep your place. Looking forward to next year!!! 😊
Jul 2016
  • 1 of 4


New Auburn House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Main Level
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Lower Level
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Main Level
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Main Level
    Bedroom 3 - 2 queen , Lower Level
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Lower Level
  • 4 Bedrooms plus Loft, Sleeps 12, Beds for 10 plus futon with inner spring mattress.
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

Year Round Lake Home with Crystal Clear Sand Bottom Lake
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 16 reviews
Eau Claire WI

Winter get away - outstanding!!!

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a spot where my whole family could get away and relax. I had heard a lot of good things about this house so my expectations were pretty high. The "cabin" exceeded my expectations.

It is extremely clean and well laid out. The owners have very thoughtfully made sure that you have everything to make your stay enjoyable. We went in the in winter time so we could not swim or anything but we did enjoy a nice skating rink they had plowed for us on the lake as well as some ice fishing.

They had wireless internet and dish service so we could get a technology fix if we wanted it but most of the time we just relaxed and enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere. The WIFI is password protected so if you want to keep the password from your teenagers you can. ;)

The first morning we were there we woke up to the kids outside in 20 degree weather wearing PJ's and boots, they wanted to take a picture of beautiful sunrise.

Bottom line: Great Place. Great people. Very Clean. Very well supplied.

If your going to stay in the New Auburn area, it is a no brainer to stay here.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a wonderful time with your family. Winter time is a fun time to go skating and ice fishing. Thank you for staying at the lake house.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Property!

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful home with plenty of space. We weren't sure what time we were going to arrive, but Kathy was there waiting for us to show us around when we got there. The house was spacious, well appointed, and everything you could possibly want was provided. We were an older group so didn't swim, but we sure enjoyed the fire pit, the outside patio, and cooking. Kathy was kind enough to recommend some shopping destinations and eateries in the area, and many other places were listed in the book at the house. We enjoyed shopping at carpe diem in Chetek and close by King's Inn for a local bar and eatery. This is a very friendly area and we had a lot of fun exploring by day and just hanging out at the house by night. This was a large, gorgeous place with lots of space. It was beyond clean, and the bathrooms had an abundance of towels, great bedding on the beds, just overall a very class act. Kathy was a joy to work with, and I am very glad we chose this place for our get away!

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for all the kind words.. we try hard. We appreciate our guests so much... please come and stay again some time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Family get together

  • 5 of 5

We arrived a little early, and they had the house ready to go! The owners were friendly and outgoing and very easy to get a hold of and communicate with. The house was gorgeous, clean, and roomy. The house was very new with updated windows and upgrades in the bathrooms. The house was well supplied with anything you would need to make your vacation comfortable. They even had a supply of sugar, flour,, and other necessities.Our group had NO complaints about anything in the house or the grounds. The sandy beach was great for swimming, big beautiful yard with plenty of seating around the patio table, and around the fire pit. I would like to Thank Greg and Kathy for a great experience at a great vacation home!

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing to stay at the lake house. It was also nice to meet you and your family.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Love it!

  • 5 of 5

We go up to that area every year and this was a new place for us to stay! We always go with a large group and a lot of expectations for fun. Although the weather didn't cooperate for us to be able to swim much we still had an absolute blast. These owners really did think of everything. If it says anything I'd love to give them a bad review just so that I don't have to compete to book again. We really love this and are so looking forward to going back in 2016!

  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quiet Cabin Experience

  • 5 of 5

Greg and Kathy really have a nice place. Exceptionally clean and so many little amenities and thoughtful touches to this cabin, I won't be able to list them all.

The lake is beautiful. It's smaller and 1/2 of it is on county land, so there are not many other cabins on it. When you look across the lake, towards the sunrise, you don't see cabin after cabin; all you see are the Northern Wisconsin woods and maybe some waterfowl. The view of the sunrise from the great room, loft, or patio are wonderful.

Beds in all rooms were very firm and felt very new. Showers in both bathrooms were very comfortable and featured really nice shower heads with both fixed and wand sprayers. Lots of fluffy towels and washcloths.

Since we stayed with a large group over Thanksgiving, we leveraged the kitchen extensively! The kitchen was well stocked with cookware, serving ware, and small appliances. Everything we needed or wanted was available and even well organized. Even included a few staples like flour and sugar. Only disappointment were no icemaker and the kitchen sink was shallow with no dish sprayer, making washing large items somewhat difficult. Everything else was excellently appointed.

The place is so well stocked than when we wore the older coffeemaker out, there was even a brand new spare available in the basement laundry room! LOL

Kathy and Greg keep a great property and are a pleasure to work with.

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at the lake house and we were thankful that we had the new spare coffee pot. 😀
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The Salisbury Lake Retreat Experience

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was absolutely beautiful and the beds were unbelievably comfortable. There was plenty of room inside and outside to play, laugh, and relax. My favorite part of our trip was to get up early, make some coffee, turn on the fireplace, and watch the sun rise across the lake. I took 100's of pictures. The views of the lake were breathtaking. The pontoon was also a big hit. We took rides around the lake every night just to enjoy the views and relax. The water was clear and there were no weeds to fight with. The fish were definitely biting and when we come back in a couple of years I expect to catch a few very large bass.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at the lake house. The sunrise is the best part of the day and it is so relaxing to cruise the lake at sunset.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
King's Inn
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Sioux Creek Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
Highway 53
Nearest Ski
12 Miles
Hickory Ridge Recreation Area

You will love to watch the eagles and loons on the lake. The lake is quiet and beautiful. Sunrise is great.


Rates & Availability

New Auburn House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
May 27 2017 - Sep 4 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
Off Peak
Sep 5 2017 - Dec 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
Off Peak
Jan 1 2018 - May 23 2018
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
May 24 2018 - Sep 3 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
Off Peak
Sep 4 2018 - Dec 31 2018
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposi $300
Tax Rate 5.5%

Cleaning charge is $100.00 per stay for nightly rentals only.
Pontoon rental is $550.00 per week plus sales tax.
Change over day during peak is from Saturday to Saturday.
Children are considered guests.
$300.00 fee if cancelled less than four weeks.
$100.00 fee if cancelled prior to four weeks from check-in.
We do not accept credit cards.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties