Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

High standard Paris apartment in Marais, near bars and restaurants

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Space 613 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

2 Bedroom, 1 bathroom, sleeps 4-6 people

Bright, stylish 57 sq. meter apartment is located steps from the bustling Marais district. Located on the second floor of a 19th century building with elevator, original parquet floors, tall Parisian windows, and warm colored walls and furnishings, make this a pleasant and convenient base for exploring all Paris has to offer.

The open dining/living room has a sofa bed sleeping two, glass coffee table, a small Parisian café table by the windows, and dining table seating six.

The kitchen has a window facing the courtyard, tile floor, bright red cabinets. Well-equipped with a washer/dryer combo, refrigerator with a freezer, traditional oven, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, and all the cookware and dishes that are needed for a hassle-free stay. There is also a desk in the entry area, WIFI, phone with free domestic and international calls to fixed lines, flat screen cable TV, DVD player, and stereo.

The apartment has two bedrooms, each of which can sleep 2. The living room sofabed sleeps two.

In December 2015 "Airport grade" , highest quality money can buy, sound insulating windows were installed in the bedrooms which has eliminated any street noise from the bedrooms. Feedback from tenants after December 2015 confirm a quiet night sleep.

More Details

Gregory Shideler
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, french, russian
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 3, 2017


Folie-Méricourt Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 613 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Town
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Broadband Access
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Safe
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet
    Bathroom 2 - shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 twin/ single , sleeps 2
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , sleeps 2
    living room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , sleeps 2
  • New sofa bed in living room is comfortable
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • suitable for elderly or infirm


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

63% Complete
26% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
High standard Paris apartment in Marais, near bars and restaurants
average rating of 4.4736843 based on 38 reviews

Wonderful apartment, great location

  • 5 of 5

We loved our second time at this apartment. Sabine, the apartment manager, is so welcoming and helpful. Great location, close to the metro, very spacious and convenient to restaurants and grocery stores, along with a wonderful coffee and pastry shop. The washer- dryer was so nice to have during the week. We would all recommend this apartment to others.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
New Westminster, Canada

A good choice for 2 couples or a family.

  • 4 of 5

We are veteran Parisian vrbo-ers, so the apartment's few shortcomings were not a surprise or a problem. Toilet room is very claustrophobic. Kitchen needs a set of decent knives (chef knife, bread knife, etc.) and large drinking glasses. The usual larder (leftover oil, salt, etc., from previous guests) was very meager; be prepared to buy everything you want or need. Wi-fi was frustratingly spotty; needed several complete reboots (power and ethernet cables). We had cool and inclement weather, so we had the excellent triple-glazed bedroom windows closed at night, but in warm summer weather, with the windows wide open, the noise from the four street-level bars directly opposite might disrupt your sleep.

That said, on the whole we enjoyed the place a great deal: layout, location, nearby amenities. The beds were comfortable. The shower and hot water in general were fine. The dining room table seated six. We didn't use the telephone, but calls to North American landlines are free. We used the in-house washing machine to wash our clothes but went up the street toward Republique to dry them at a coin laundry (only 2 euros for a whole load). Way faster and way dryer than the apartment machine.

Metro stop and several bus routes right outside.The Carrefour on Rue Amelot is the best, nearest large grocery. The boulangerie that placed 3rd in the Best Baguette in Paris competition for 2017 is just down the street (Boulangerie Dupain, 20 Boulevard des Filles du Calvaire). There are excellent markets nearby, especially the Bastille market on Thursdays and Sundays.

ONE CAVEAT: Do not use the HSBC cash dispenser on the street below. The ATM is corrupted; two of us had our debit cards invalidated by our home banks after using the machine.

  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Olympia, WA

Very comfortable with an excellent locatin

  • 5 of 5

Even though our flight was two hours late the very gracious apartment manager, Sabine, was there to greet us and gave us a very thorough run down of the apartment. When she learned that my wife and I were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary she went to the store and purchased a bottle of champagne. The apartment is very spacious and very comfortable for us and our two adult daughters. Prior to trip I was in communication with the owner, Gregory, who responded very quickly to my communications. Even though the apartment is on a very busy street, Blvd du Temple, if you close the windows you shut out the sound. The back of the apartment is across the street from an extremely popular restaurant, Clown Bar. The owner has put in very thick windows that completely shut out the noise that goes well into the night. From our perspective one of the greatest aspect was the location to the Metro which is just outside the front door of the apartment. After a long day in Paris it was very welcoming knowing that our apartment was only steps away from the Metro stop. We would stay in this apartment again if we ever have the opportunity to visit Paris again.

  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Denton, Texas

Location, location, location!

  • 5 of 5

I just returned from eight days in Paris. I traveled with my daughter and my granddaughter (almost 14). We rented this apartment from VRBO and it worked out very well. Sabine, the leasing agent, called me before we left for Paris to see if we had any questions. She was in the flat when we arrived. She returned at the end to make sure everything went well and that we did not have any problems. And . . . she remembered it was my daughter’s birthday . . . nice!

Our flat was on the second floor (third for us Americans) and the building did have an elevator. We had two bedrooms and one bath, a toilette, kitchen, and living room. One bedroom had a full and the other had two twin beds . . . both rooms had mirrors and armoires. The bath had a nice, glassed-in shower with plenty of hot water and good pressure. Our bathroom had a small sink with surround and shelves to the side of the shower. Two hairdryers and a flat iron were furnished. There were multiple plugs in every room in case we needed to charge anything. In addition, there was a binder provided with info on the flat as well as where to eat, shop, visit, etc. There were several stacks of guidebooks by the telephone.

The kitchen had everything we needed . . . stove, micro, coffeepot, and a washer/dryer.

The living room had a large dining table/chairs, sofa bed, coffee table, side table and chair, TV, stereo. There was a desk in the hall with a telephone that we could make free calls to land lines anywhere. Oh, we also had strong wi-fi. The apartment was very comfortable. The apartment had heat (we did not need) and two fans (also not needed). I can’t think of anything that we really needed that was not provided. The owner had installed triple-paned windows so metro noise was not a problem. We had a balcony off the living room with a table and two chairs.

Now here is the best part . . . location, location, location! The Filles du Calvaire metro stop was right in front of the apartment . . . an ATM was 18 steps from the front door . . . a small café was next door . . . a small convenience store was about five doors away, a bakery was across the street, a big grocery store was a block away, and the huge Place du Republique was one stop on the metro or about five minutes walking. I’ve rented a lot of apartments and this one was the best situated.

I most likely will be returning to Paris next year and as soon as I know my dates, I will be emailing Sabine to see if this unit is available.

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Convenient and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

The location is fabulous. The metro and cashpoint are right outside the door. Excellent brasseries within a short walk. The apartment is quieter than most, with washer/dryer, and small kitchen. The two bedrooms had comfortable beds and plenty of closet space. Thw manager, Sabine, was extremely helpful. We stayed for a week, and I would not hesitate to rent the apartment again.

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Nice apartment, lacking service

  • 3 of 5

The positives - this apartment was large enough to comfortably accommodate 4. We enjoyed the location and the metro station outside was convenient. The outdoor space was great for morning tea or coffee. It was also nice having wifi and a hair dryer provided. The owner, Gregory, was generally good with communication.

The negatives - the furniture was a little dingy and the property manager was awful. Late for both check in and out with ridiculous excuses and rude to my friends and I as we needed to leave for our international flight. Good luck getting your deposit back, she inspects to find any small issue to blame you for and keep the money. We also had to buy the basics like paper towels, toilet paper, dish soap, trash bags, etc. Luckily there are markets within walking distance to pick up any groceries you may need.

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We did hold the security deposit at moment of departure,, as the upholstery on the couch was ripped during tenants time at apartment. After review of damage, we did refund 80% of security deposit. Also, we have had 500 rentals in this apartment in 12 years, and this tenant was 2nd person we did not refund 100% of security deposit, and I hope this is indication of the kind of tenant who wrote this review. Gregory Shideler/owner
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
25 Kilometres
Charles De Gaulle
Nearest Train
3 Kilometres
Gare du Nord
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties