check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Stunning Estate on exceptional Trout Lake Perfect for Vacation/Family Reunion

Bedrooms 4
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
4 - 7 nights


Boulder Junction Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Spruce log, 4BR/4BA Home located on 2+acres/200ft+ sugar sand frontage

Trout Lake Treasure is located on 3800 acre Trout Lake, a Class A Musky lake and renowned for outstanding walleye fishing. This fabulous home is nestled on the North basin of one of the finest lakes in the State of Wisconsin! Trout Lake is 85% state owned which provides incredible privacy and vistas. The late afternoon/ early evening Pontoon Boat cruises commencing on the North end, through the wide channel to the South end are memorable and relaxing. There are world class views from the 2+ acre property with over 200' of sugar sand lake frontage which is outstanding for swimming, water volleyball, water skiing, and other water sports.

House Features:

Inside & out this home is a visual masterpiece with custom designed handmade full cedar log interior woodwork, hardwood floors, beautiful tile, unique slate flooring and equipped with WIFI. Beautiful scenic views from every room in the house!

Great Room Features:

An open concept room with a 2.5 story vaulted ceiling and a fieldstone fireplace with a wall of windows overlooking the patio and fabulous Trout Lake. There is a surround sound system with speakers through out the lower level and on the patio. Cherry wood floors, Entertainment Center, and a gas fireplace for those cooler nights.

Kitchen Features:

The gourmet kitchen is a chef's dream with high end commercial grade appliances, granite countertops and slate flooring. If you desire to stay in and cook you have a 48' Viking Professional natural gas stove complete with grill and griddle, Subzero side by side freezer/ refrigerator, dual stainless steel ovens, warming oven, dual dishwashers, and a stainless steel microwave. A wood table that overlooks the flower garden and man made pond is a place where you can enjoy a morning coffee and watch the deer run through the yard or the frogs jump in and out of the pond.

Dining Room Features:

A large dining room adjacent to the kitchen with beautiful hydronic heated floors and a dining room table large enough to seat eight people. Surrounding windows allows one to enjoy the nature outdoors while enjoying their favorite catch of the day or a succulent steak.

Master Bedroom & Bathroom Features:

The gorgeous rustic Master BR upstairs has vaulted ceilings, walk out balcony with a swing to enjoy the beautiful lake views, and a gorgeous stone fireplace to keep you extra warm on cold Winter nights. Huge two person spacious shower, rock surrounded whirlpool tub with rock waterfall, two vanities and makeup desk highlight the magnificent Master Bathroom. The bedroom floors are fabulous cherry hardwood and the bathroom floors are marbled along with the counter tops. The bed is rustic log with a high quality mattress and linens. In addition, there are two large walk in closets with ample room for your clothes and suitcases.

Upper Two Bedrooms and Bathroom Features:

One bedroom has a queen size bed with a log frame, big screen TV and large closet. The decorating is tastefully done with beautiful high end quality carpet. There are two sets of windows one facing East that allows you to lull yourself to sleep with the sound of the pond running and one set North which fosters a cross breeze for those warm Summer nights. The other bedroom located directly across the hall features two twin beds, large closet, high end carpet and windows that open up to the South/ lakeside providing fabulous views and a cool lake breeze.

First Floor Bedroom Features:

We have a large lower level bedroom for those that do not want to climb the exceptional spruce log staircase. A king size log bed, two full length mirrors with hard floors will provide you with a comfortable, peaceful night of sleep.

Patio and Yard Features:

The patio is located lakeside and features high end stamped (copper color) concrete, a wood table with wood benches and additional chairs for overlooking the lake or to sunbathe on warm sunny days of Summer. The lot lines are heavily wooded providing the ultimate in privacy and seclusion. There is a nice sized fire pit for roasting marshmalllows, reminiscing, and telling fish stories all while looking at up at the stars and the moon. In addition, there is an outstanding covered area of the patio with a commercial grade Viking grill and exhaust to grill the catch of the day or steaks from the supermarket. Also, we have a hot tub on the patio that seats comfortably six people. There is an attached garage with room for 2 cars and additional parking for 6 vehicles. There is also a grass side yard for tossing the football, horseshoes, badminton or playing catch baseball.

Den/ Study features:

Wood floors and spruce log walls provide comfort to those that want to curl up on the couch with a good book or sit at the wooden desk to get some leisurely work done. The home is equipped with WIFI for those who need to get online to stay current with the day's events or check on their investments.

Lower Level Features:

The amazing lower level area is equipped with a full wet bar and stools, large screen television, bathroom and shower, modern laundry room , love seat and full couch. The room is soundproofed for those that want to take in a movie or their favorite video game. Additional area with two bunk beds that sleep up to four is perfect for the kids.

Other Features:

The house is meticulously maintained and quite frankly barely used. My wife and I travel extensively and unfortunately never get to enjoy the home as much as we would like. We have decided to open up the house for those with discriminating tastes and enjoy some of the finer and simpler things in life. Once you open the door and smell the distinct scent of the spruce logs you will know that you have arrived for your best vacation in the Northwoods!

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
James & Daphne Herrick
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 14, 2016
Call Manager

About James & Daphne Herrick

After vacationing as a kid on North Trout Lake and having fond memories of the smell of towering pines, swimming and of course the outstanding fishing, we decided to purchase our dream home. Both my wife and I are Wisconsin natives and met while in college at the University of Wisconsin. We reside in River Hills, WI, and unfortunately our schedules and work lives have changed dramatically over the past five years and we just don't have the time to use the cabin. When you see the place you will be shocked that the place does not looked 'lived-in'!

James & Daphne Herrick purchased this cabin in 2004

Why James & Daphne Herrick chose Northeast

Prior to purchasing our Trout Lake home we bought a place on Lake Minocqua in the heart of the city of Minocqua. Although we created some fine memories it felt as we were not 'getting away' to relax as the activity levels on the lake and in town were too much for our liking. We started looking for another place and I kept thinking of my childhood and renting a cabin on Trout Lake. Trout is the King of Lakes in the Northwoods with its fine fishery, 3870 acres of crystal clear water and a shoreline that is 85% state owned land. You definitely feel that you are getting away from the stress and hustle and bustle of your daily lives. Trout is an extremely exceptional lake with great fishing, and more than ample space for waterskiing and all other water sports. In addition, the pontoon boat cruises are remarkable and our sandy, shallow shoreline is great for water volleyball and small children. Our location is perfect as we are only three miles South of the quaint village of Boulder Junction which has outstanding shops, wine bars, coffee shops, convenience stores and restaurants. Ten miles South is Minocqua, a 'larger' Northwoods town which has fitness centers, taverns, restaurants, a zoo, horseback riding, go cart rides, golf courses, and shopping at larger grocery stores. In addition, there is a Walgreens and a Walmart.

What makes this cabin unique

We fell in love with our house the minute we saw it. The view is amazing and the house was constructed by the best builder in the area, Steve Weber. The house is located on a private 2+ acre lot and we have 200+ ft of sugar sand frontage. As you walk down the steps to the lake you will be amazed with the sandy bottom and the pristine shoreline...simply beautiful. When you walk in the house and smell the spruce you feel like you have arrived and it's time for relaxing and enjoying the Northwoods! The yard is private with towering pines and a tranquil pond and a private patio. The views from the house and patio are tremendous. It is simply paradise.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

Stunning Estate on exceptional Trout Lake Perfect for Vacation/Family Reunion
average rating of 4.769231 based on 13 reviews

great home

  • 5 of 5

house was as advertised--beautiful---worth the money-lake is beautiful-pontoon boat

a nice add on. only complaint is that I have not received my deposit as of the writing

of this review which is a little annoying

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the 5 star review! James I checked on your security deposit and it was refunded two weeks ago to your credit card. Thanks
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful log home for your up north experience

  • 5 of 5

Definetly five star property. A beautiful log home, well appointed. The view is spectacular of this very pretty , Northern WI lake. The sand shore was perfect for our little ones. We had a wonderful week , enjoying every thing you could hope to have "up north."

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect Northwoods Vacation Spot - You Won't Be Disappointed!

  • 5 of 5

In October 2015, my family and I began planning this vacation to return to the Minocqua, Wisconsin area which I had not visited since 1971 when I was 17 years old. My grandparents had lived there and I had spent the first 17 summers of my life there, creating many wonderful memories. I found this magnificent home which was located only 10 miles away on quiet and beautiful North Trout Lake. Now my family has their own wonderful memories of Wisconsin. The home is everything it is described to be and more - scenic lake view with swinging porch on master balcony, peaceful pond and waterfall to breakfast by, open fire pit to roast marshmallows for s'mores and make pie iron pizzas, outdoor hot tub to relax once the evenings cooled off, comfortable beds and pillows, truly luxurious master bath, large well-equipped kitchen where 6 adults could all participate making their own breakfasts without bumping into one another including 2 coffee pots (Keurig and regular) both of which were needed by my family. Even the 2 rainy days spent putting puzzles together and playing board games were beautiful to spend in the Herrick's home. They are very generous...allowing us to use their pontoon boat which was so relaxing. We did bring our own tow rope and tube for a little water fun. We found the nearest town Boulder Junction to be very quaint with interesting shops and surprisingly good food. The Tuesday morning flea market was a blast! We rented kayaks & a paddle board & was disappointed by Coontail Sports since they wouldn't rent them face-to-face but told us to go back and get online (so we rented from the Chequamegon Adventure Co). Phone service was sketchy unless you went outside and internet was slow but we didn't care. The landlord not only allowed me to pester him with emails mostly in the month before we left to Wisconsin, but he encouraged calls on his cell phone & I almost always reached him immediately. His housekeeper greeted us and helped us become familiar with the home and was close by if we needed anything we just texted her. We found the hot tub not working the first day and the landlord paid extra to get them out to repair it the same day which looked like only a filter. This house was clean & immaculate and we did our best to respect this beautiful home. Our family felt immediately comfortable & we will remember this vacation for years to come. The stereo sound system was wonderful but we never once put on the TV...hallmark of a truly great time!

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You all were great guests and hope you all decide to come back again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sun Prairie, WI USA

Vacation Rental

  • 3 of 5

We booked the rental for a family vacation with our grandson and adult children and their spouses. The house is beautiful but we found several unpleasant surprises that impacted our vacation. As we turned down the private road to the rental, we encountered lots of huge 12 foot long deep pot holes filled with water and mud. Thankfully we drive an SUV but we had to call our daughter (who was on her way in her Camaro), to tell her to take the truck instead because the Camaro would have bottomed out in the holes. Unfortunately every time you left the property you had to navigate the maze of pot holes.

The listing was incorrect regarding the size of beds in the rental. The listed stated two king beds, one queen and two twins. Unfortunately the rental only has one king bed on the first floor, the master bedroom on the second floor has one queen bed, and the other two bedrooms upstairs have a full size bed and the two twin beds.

Before we made the reservation for the property, we emailed the owner on 7/24/14 and asked how many stairs were there down to the lake, because it is difficult to tell from the photo on the listing. The owner replied was “Umm there’s 20 steps w/railings”. Unfortunately this was not true, actually there are 50 very steep stairs down to the pier and last 6 steps do not have railing to hang onto. This was an issue for a member of our family who has a heart condition, she was not able to go down the stairs to go swimming, fishing or boating with the rest of the family, a huge disappointment. Also there are no lights down the stairway to the pier, which meant no one could safely go up or down the 50 stairs after dark.

There were other things that need attention – for instance –there are a lot of bees nesting outside in the logs of the home on the patio, the upstairs porch and swing are covered in pollen, so if you go out there to use them your clothes and shoes are covered in yellow pollen, and the grill outside needs to be replaced. The listing states that a fishing boat and pontoon boat are included, but what is not stated is the poor condition of them. The fishing boat is totally covered in bird droppings, and the pontoon boat cushions are covered in duct tape that is rolling up and fraying.

For the price of this rental we expected more and at the very least accuracy in the listing and from the owner.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am baffled and shocked by this review as I did not hear from the guest (s) once during their stay and if I had I would have certainly tried to address their concerns.. To address the concerns: yes the entry public road did have a large pot hole and was not in great condition, however, that road has been completely redone by the neighbors and me by a professional grading company. The road was fine for cars to drive on. The outdoor grill is a Viking Industrial Grill that is in great condition and quite frankly has had limited usage over the years as we as owners did not use the house often. The comment that the grill should be replaced is utterly absurd. The bees and pollen "issues" are common Northwards issues that can be easily remedied by a call to our two caretakers and were not issues with any other guests. In terms of the pontoon boat and fishing boat we are one of the few owners that allow guests to use boats( that is included in the rental) at no charge. In addition, I pay for the insurance rental of the boats and do not pass along that charge to the guests. Yes the boats are not brand new but certainly in good shape. The stairs issue could have been addressed by the guests prior to making the reservation because if I hard known that a guest had a heart issue I certainly would have had the exact number of steps down to the lake. I appreciate constructive criticism and quite frankly wasn't going to respond to this review but felt the need as I believe I was blind sided. We have always been responsive to our guests and I spoke to this guest post stay and not one concern was mentioned. Based on all the positive reviews we have received over the last two years and the wonderful phones calls and messages I have personally received I am extremely confident that we are doing our best to create exceptional memories for our guests at a reasonable rate in a beautiful home and on one of Wisconsin's finest lakes.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pensacola, FL

A fabulous North Woods getaway

  • 5 of 5

I rented this house as a tenth anniversary gift to my husband who loves the North Woods and all of its activities, including canoeing, kayaking, and fishing. The owners were extremely responsive to any questions or concerns. We invited family and friends to join us and had a week full of lifetime memories from evening cruises on the lake to s'mores around the fire pit at night while enjoying the exceptional view of Trout Lake. The pictures actually do not do the house and grounds justice. The house was exquisitely furnished in a way that was both elegant and cozy, and the yard was well-manicured and provided a great play and adventure area for the younger kids in the family. Our only wish is that the lake were a little more accessible and swimming-friendly. The stairs can be a bit of a trek for younger or older visitors, and the swimming area is shallow without an easy walk-in entrance. Still, we had an unforgettable time and would highly recommend this house, which is clearly one of the best, if not the best, property on Trout Lake.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Des Moines, Iowa

Outstanding cabin in the Northwoods

  • 5 of 5

We recently returned from a week at this wonderful cabin on Trout Lake. The cabin has to be the nicest, or one of the nicest, in the Northwoods; and the north end of Trout Lake is beautiful and quiet. The pristine sandy bottom is perfect for dipping and swimming. The pair of loons that nest and swim on this end of the lake added to the perfect Northwoods experience.

The cabin is ideally located - close to Boulder Junction for provisions, restaurants, bars, shops, whatever your desire. The proximity to the paved bike trail system is another bonus. Several golf courses are nearby also.

The cabin itself was exactly as pictured and described - no complaints. Large, comfortable, clean and very well appointed. All of the upstairs beds were comfortable. We had plenty of towels in every bathroom. The washer and dryer was a nice bonus for all of the dirty clothing. While we didn't cook much at the cabin, the kitchen had everything we needed for our breakfast, lunch and hors d'oeuvres needs. There are many great restaurants within a 5-20 minute drive of the cabin.

Our favorite feature of the cabin was the outdoor fire pit. The housekeeper brought wonderful dry wood for our use. We had fires every night with beautiful views of the lake and listening for the cry of the loons.

The owner was very easy to work with, and the housekeeper and her husband were accommodating.

All in all a real treasure in the Northwoods. We will definitely rent again, and I have no hesitation about recommending Wilderness Outpost to anyone.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind review!!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Lakeland Airport
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Boulder Beer Bar
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Trout Lake Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
County Hwy- M
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
The Guide's Inn
Nearest Ski
50 Miles
Big Powderhorn Mountain Resort
Nearest Beach
12 Miles
Torpy Park Beach
Car: recommended

Our property is conveniently located three miles South of Boulder Junction and ten miles North of Minocqua in the heart of Wisconsin's Northwoods. Outstanding fishing, swimming, water skiing, shopping, boating,snow mobiling and relaxing in the clear, clean air of Vilas County. Paved bike trails and snowmobile trails to surrounding communities. Exceptional restaurants, wine bars and local watering holes. Quaint shops, galleries and antiquing. Tennis courts, baseball diamonds and paved sidewalks through the state forests nearby. Numerous lakes within the Boulder Jct. and Minocqua area to catch perch, bluegills, bass, trophy Musky, Northern Pike, crappie and Lake Trout. Trout Lake is the King of them all with Walleye, Musky, Northern Pike, Bass, Lake Trout. In fact, many have speculated that the world record Musky resides in Trout Lake!

We will be more than happy to assist you with any of your travel needs and to provide suggestions to make your trip more enjoyable.


Rates & Availability

Boulder Junction Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
All Seasons
May 27 2016 - Dec 31 2016
7 night minimum stay
Jan 1 2017 - May 20 2017
4 night minimum stay
High Season
May 26 2017 - Sep 23 2017
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $250
Refundable damage deposit $1,000

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Boulder Junction Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Village ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
  • Bathroom one has a double shower and jetted tub and double sinks with makeup table, bathroom two has double sinks. Other bathrooms are full bathrooms.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • All bedrooms are tastefully decorated with wood floors, high end carpet, fine furniture, linens,
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties