Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Enjoy an Amazing Historic Home In Lafayette Square, St Louis (downtown) Missouri

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Enjoy an Amazing Historic Home In Lafayette Square, St Louis Mo

Welcome to beautiful LaFayette Square … If this is your first time here, you are in for a treat! The area has a rich history dating back to the mid-1800’s; this wonderful historic home was built in 1880 in the Victorian style. You will enjoy the old-world architecture with the classic two parlors separated by pocket doors, a beautiful formal dining room, and the two staircases, one in front along with the back spiral staircase by the kitchen. The home is within easy walking distance to many outstanding restaurants, specialty shops, and the oh-so-beautiful and historic Lafayette Park. There is so much to enjoy within walking distance, but don’t miss out on the other treasures of St Louis – The Gateway Arch, Busch Stadium, the Missouri Botanical Garden, Fox Theatre, Powell Symphony Hall, St. Louis Art Museum, Forest Park, the St Louis Zoo, and so much more, all within a 10-15 minute drive from this home. Enjoy cocktails on the top-floor deck overlooking the city before enjoying a sumptuous night on the town in Lafayette Square, then return home to the luxurious three bedrooms on the second floor. Longing for a night in? Enjoy our fully stocked kitchen to create a delicious feast, to be savored in the luxurious formal dining room. The pantry is stocked with staples and spices to make your stay extra welcome. Winter, Spring, Summer or Fall… each season offers a unique charm that will make your stay captivating and memorable. To learn more about the home and area, please feel free to visit our website found under 'Manager Info.'


Owner
Rachel Harbour
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 7, 2017

About Rachel Harbour

Our Father, Joe Fitzgerald, purchased the home in 1979, shortly after it was renovated as part of a focused effort to resurrect the beauty of the neighborhood that had fallen into disrepair. Dad was a twenty year military man, with multiple degrees in psychology, engineering and business, and who spoke three languages. He passed away in November, 2012, just a few weeks short of his 80th birthday.

We decorated his home to honor its history while preserving Dad’s personality and his rich life experiences. Our Father deeply loved this home and often said, “I feel more like a steward than an owner of this home. It is my job to preserve it for generations to come.” We were blessed to inherit this home from our Father and we feel the same sense of responsibility. We are happy to share this treasure with others to enjoy as we have. Cynthia and Rachel (Joe's Daughters)

Rachel Harbour purchased this house in 1979

Why Rachel Harbour chose St. Louis

This home is a true treasure that was built in the late 1800's. If you enjoy a taste of the historic in a walking neighborhood with excellent restaurants and a magnificent park, this home is for you.

What makes this house unique

Roof-top deck overlooking the city and the St Louis Arch, a Foody-inspired fully stocked kitchen, great classic Victorian architecture, exquisite luxury, along with 21st century technology. The home is within walking distance of Park Avenue, the main street in Lafayette Square that has many wonderful restaurants, little shops and bars.

Amenities

Lafayette Square House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Guest Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Downstairs Bathroom - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen
    Asia Room - 1 queen
    Forest Room - 1 double
    Parlor Room - 1 twin/ single , A perfect 'over-flow' room for a single adult.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
Notes:
Please note, this house is not "child-friendly" and is not recommended for walking children under the age of 7 years old. There are numerous steep stairs, including a spiral staircase, that makes the home dangerous for little ones. Thank you for your understanding.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

Enjoy an Amazing Historic Home In Lafayette Square, St Louis (downtown) Missouri
average rating of 4.9666667 based on 30 reviews
Council Grove, Kansas
5

Our family enjoyed staying in this beautiful home.

  • 5 of 5

This home is very comfortable. We are a family of 5 and we were all able to stretch out at the end of the day. The neighborhood is well lit, close to shops and restaurants and a beautiful park. I can't say enough about Park Avenue Coffee, sooooo good. We loved this home, it's history and how welcoming it was. We would recommend this Historic home to anyone wanting to be within minutes of everything, in a historic area, set up and ready for your visit to explore St. Louis.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Gem

  • 5 of 5

This home is a gem. We loved the community as well as the home. The house was conveniently located and had easy access to the highways. Safe neighborhood. We really enjoyed our evening walks. The house was well furnished and provided for our family of four adults and three kids. We loved our trip. Thank you for sharing your home.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location, nice property, and very clean

  • 5 of 5

The property was wonderful and the perfect gathering place for the six of us. The location is convenient to Busch Stadium, the zoo, Soulard farmer's market, and much more. The deck/garden on the side of the house is beautiful and was a great gathering place for our group. Thank you for sharing this beautiful home with others; your father did a marvelous job maintaining this home and it was a pleasure to stay there.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Illinois
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved the location - very walkable to our favorite area of StL. The house is enormous - bigger than we thought it was going to be. Lots of little details and you can see the history and love this family has here. Rachel was our contact and this was her father's home - she was very helpful, pleasant, knowledgeable and always responded quickly.

The beds were comfy, sitting areas were nice, kitchen had everything you needed, the two outside areas were wonderful, and the layout was spacious and in places, quirky but functional.

My only caution is to say that you must be able and stable on your feet to stay here - I probably wouldn't have noticed enough to comment otherwise but my mom injured her knee right before coming, so that made us conscious of all the stairs in this home (15'+ ceilings on the main floor, so there is a large flight to get up to bedrooms plus another set to get up to third floor and entry) and also the very uneven brick sidewalk in front due to old growth trees in the neighborhood. I'm definitely not complaining - we thought everything was lovely and had so much character, I just wanted to point this reality out to potential renters.

Overall - lovely home and we had a great stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Dana, Thanks so much for the kind review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the home so much! Yes, the stairs and choppy front sidewalk can be a challenge for little children and elderly. Unfortunately, the city owns the sidewalks, and as you mentioned, the roots of the beautiful large trees have made them quite wavy. Yours is a good cautionary reminder. Thank you again, Rachel and Cynthia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful home in historic neighborhood

  • 4 of 5

Our family really enjoyed our stay. Lots of stairs! Be mindful if you have children or elderly members in your party. House had plenty of space and included everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. It's an historic home; so, it was a little dusty in some areas but wasn't too bad. Loved the gorgeous stained glass on the front door and all of the character. My son really enjoyed having the 3rd floor all to himself. It was a really great space for us to spend time together, while still providing privacy for each of us as well. The neighborhood and surrounding area was terrific. Neighbors were all friendly and welcoming. Good rental for families.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Tamika, We are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the home. Yes, dust is an ongoing challenge for a home this size. I've passed your information on to our property manager so we can get a little extra attention towards dusting. We look forward to your next trip to lovely St Louis! Rachel and Cynthia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

May 2017

  • 5 of 5

This couldn't have been a better choice!!! The house was stunning and so conveniently located for our wedding party taking place in Lafayette Park.

I would recommend this VRBO rental to everyone.

The little patio on the right of the house was just lovely to hang out with a few relatives and friends.

Thank you.

  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Guillemette, Thank you for the kind review. We are delighted you and yours enjoyed your stay, and that the wedding went well. We look forward to seeing you next time! Rachel and Cynthia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
18 Miles
Lambert–St. Louis International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lafayette Square House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Standard pricing
3 night minimum stay
$250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
One time cleaning fee $100
Service fee $25

Extra $50 per night per person for more than 4 adults.
3 night minimum
AARP, AAA and Military Discount available at $240.00 per night for 4 adults. Please advise owner when making reservation.
Enjoy one night free with a 7 night stay at $1500

Inquiries requesting discounts off the rates posted above are not considered at this time.

Please note, this house is not "child-friendly" and is not recommended for walking children under the age of 7 years old. There are numerous steep stairs, including a spiral staircase, that makes the home dangerous for little ones. Thank you for your understanding.

Cancellation Policy: Deposit 100% refunded if the cancellation is prior to 30 days of reservation. If within 30 days of reservation, deposit will be refunded, minus $50 administrative fee, if an alternate renter is identified for the same time period. Owner will use best efforts to re-rent the property should the reservation be cancelled.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties