Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Secluded Family Getaway

Bedrooms 7
Space 3,300 sq ft
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Very Private 7 Bedroom, 3 Full Bathrooms, In ground Pool And Pool Table

2 king beds, 2 queen, 2 full, 4 twin, 3 full bathrooms, large capacity table will seat 10, stainless steel appliances, wine cooler, garbage disposal, washer and dryer, dishwasher, microwave, stone fireplace with firewood provided(in season) 20 x 40 in ground pool with slide and diving board, beautiful 20 x 40 Koi pond in front, front and back porches, pool furniture and bar on back porch.

Barry Vance
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 9, 2018

About Barry Vance

My husband and I went to school in Adair Co KY but it wasn't until years later that we found each other. We got married in June 2010. We have 6 children and 2 grandchildren with one more on the way. We currently live in White House TN

Barry Vance purchased this lodge in 2005

Why Barry Vance chose Austin

This was my husbands dream home. It took 11 months to build and he used several trees from the property for the building material. One of the bedrooms is completely cedar as well as the stairs going up to the bedrooms. He used actual tree trunks as supports for the landing and for the fireplace mantel.

What makes this lodge unique

stone, wood burning fireplace, 22 ft ceiling in the great room, exquisite sunset while sitting on the back porch or relaxing by the pool. A very tranquil, peaceful place to come and relax! I'm sure you will love being here as much as we do!


Austin Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3300 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 18
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 6 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 7 - 1 double
  • The bed arrangements may change with the addition of the 7th bedroom. We will have a complete update soon. Please call or email for more information on this.
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • tennis


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

82% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful Secluded Family Getaway
average rating of 4.7647057 based on 34 reviews

Family vacation

  • 4 of 5

This beautiful secluded family getaway was perfect for our family of 17. We all loved the swimming pool. There was plenty of space for everyone. Barry was great to work with.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for spending some time with us! Come back and see us anytime Barry Vance
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We all a nice time enjoyed the pool a Lot the beds could be better for some people ,a course we had the king room down stairs not a problem the beds was supposed to be queen don't think so the other couples were disappointed but they made it through we are coming back next year if everything goes well and safe for all of us Thanks !

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad your group had fun! See you next year Barry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful, secluded, peaceful, comfortable, relaxing

  • 5 of 5

It was a perfect setting for our family of 14. We had plenty of room, beautiful setting, spacious home, and refreshing pool.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay- Come back and see us again Thank You Barry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great family vacation

  • 4 of 5

Cabin was organized and well supplied with linens and kitchen tools. Pool was clean, and we enjoy the light for night swims. The charm and beauty of being tucked into nature but close enough for family to go shopping, horseback riding, fishing, beach swimming, and to Dino museum made this a perfect spot for our family vacation. Kids loved swimming and diving, grilling out, sitting by the pool, and fire pit at night. Grandchildren keep asking "We going to Kentucky next year?" Great place to build family memories.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed our cabin retreat! Look forward to seeing you again soon Thanks Barry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Louisville, KY


  • 5 of 5

Again this year, our fourth, everyone enjoyed a wonderful family vacation!! The cabin provides a space for everyone and the pool provided plenty of family fun. There is also an area for a friendly wiffleball game. We always treasure our time with family at the cabin!

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Barbara So glad you enjoyed year four at Cabin- Thanks so much for coming! See ya next year Barry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The pictures of the pool area are outdated. The pool was cloudy from the moment we got there.

  • 2 of 5

The price is high for not having a clean pool and back deck. The inside was nice. The pool was cloudy the entire time. The bottom of pool was full of leaves. I couldn't find a pool vacuum to clean it myself. The pool furniture loungers were dry rotted. The back deck had an old freezer and fridge that was full of mold. The bar on the deck was filthy, used as storage for tools and just completely unusable. The inside was clean. The kitchen sink faucet didn't work and was rigged to only use the sprayer with a hair tie The back patio needs completely cleaned, and the pool needs work to get cleaned.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Patrick I apologize for any inconvenience- Our pool was cloudy and we had some other things going on- I had a plumber scheduled and pool guy but they have things that keep them from coming- Since your stay we replaced a toilet, pool pump and light- new kitchen faucets-pressure washed deck and pool deck and put new roof on house- First week of August the cabin will be restained If I can be of further assistance call anytime Barry Vance
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
80 Miles
Nashville Tn
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Barren River State Park
Nearest Motorway
25 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Barren River State Park
Car: necessary

30 minutes to Bowling Green Ky , 15 minutes to Glasgow Ky, 15 minutes to Scottsville Ky, 35 minutes to Mammoth Cave National Park and 80 miles to Nashville Tn.

When you turn right from Hwy 87 onto R Whitlow road you will be on a blacktop road. There will be a mailbox on your right with 313 on it and a gravel road going to the right. Follow the gravel road. The location of the house is at the end of the gravel road, not the middle as shown on the map.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

insurance/damage fee $89

14 day cancellation notice insures deposit refund less $50 fee.
There is an additional charge for number of guests above our maximum limit.

A stay of 3 nights or less, one night rental fee of $500.00 plus tax on one night rental of $50.00 and one time ins. fee of $89.00 for a total of $639.00 is due at time of reservation.
A stay of 4 nights or more, two night rental of $1000.00 plus tax on two night rental of $100.00 and one time ins. fee of $89.00 for a total of $1189.00 is due at time of reservation. Bal is due morning of check in.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.