Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

A 2 bedroom & 1 bathroom plantation style home close to the beach.

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

The family friendly home with a big mango tree in the yard

Sunset Beach Rest House invites you to stay with us during your visit to the North Shore of Oahu. We want to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We provide full kitchen amenities with laundry machines on site. Two bedrooms and one bathroom. A queen bed in one room and a double bed in the other room. Sleeps 1-4 guests (or a family). This duplex house is located close to a grocery store, Ted's Bakery, botanical gardens, Waimea Valley and Falls, Kahuku motoX track, zumba and yoga classes nearby, hiking trails, great beaches for snorkeling in the Summer and surfing in the Winter. Two bicycles available for use for cruising around the north shore. House is by the main road and bus-stop is close by to catch a circle-island bus ride for a day trip to explore other parts of the island. Designated parking spot on property. Residential area, quiet-time law applies from 10 pm to 7am. Please feel free to call or email us if you have questions. Aloha.

Josephine Hoh

Hawaii Tax ID W43380914 01

(808)551-5605

More Details

Owner
Josephine Hoh
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 31, 2017

About Josephine Hoh

Rory and I raised our kids here at our home. We love that the beaches and the mountains are next our home. They are our playground!

Josephine Hoh purchased this house in 1992

Why Josephine Hoh chose Haleiwa

A special place by the sea

What makes this house unique

+It's a cozy home away from home

+Across the street to an awesome family-friendly beach

+Close to famous surf spots

+Great shopping at the historic Haleiwa town

+5 min walk to a local bakery for breakfast/lunch/dinner

+Easy access to the bike path. Trails for mountain biking, motoX, and hiking behind the house.

+Safe family environment

Amenities

Haleiwa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Bedroom #1 8' x 9' Bedroom#2 12' x 12' We can add a futon in the living room for a family of five.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We may be able to accommodate you with other amenities. Please contact us.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
21% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
A 2 bedroom & 1 bathroom plantation style home close to the beach.
average rating of 4.695652 based on 23 reviews
Brisbane Queensland Australia
5

Lovely traditional cottage feel. Enjoyed the homeliness and feel.

  • 5 of 5

Josie and her sons were very welcoming. Although an older cottage had a better feel than a more upmarket condo. A home away from home. Location was great but the main road through North Shore was quite busy and at some times, noisy but that is the way it is in the North Shore. A stone wall like the beach front properties would help to combat the noise. Would definitely recommend staying there for families particularly with children.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Watsonville, CA
4

Affordable way to live like a local on the North Shore

  • 4 of 5

We recently stayed at this rental for 4 nights in April/May.

Here are the pros:

** Josie is a gracious hostess. She welcomed us and made sure we were comfortable. She has "connections" at Waimea Falls so we were able to enjoy a pre-breakfast walk there on her recommendation. The dog and cats were a nice addition to our stay, although we rarely saw them.

** It was nice having two separate bedrooms since we were traveling with my parents. The second bedroom is smaller but my 6'3" husband had no issues there.

** the beds were very comfortable.

** the bedrooms each have their own air conditioners, which were necessary since it was hot. When we got home in the evening we would turn them on and close the doors so the bedrooms would be comfortable for sleeping. There is no air conditioning in the main rooms.

** location! It was nice to stay in the country and not be surrounded by tourists (even though we were one of them haha). It was still easy enough to get wherever we wanted to go on the island without too much of a drive.

** the property is a short walk to the beach.

** the internet speed was really good.

** there's a nice patio outside that you can use when it's too hot in the house.

There were a couple cons. And I'm only including them so all are fully aware of what they will get before they rent this property.

**you are right off Kamehameha Hwy. While that is good for location, it's not so good for noise. The traffic noise is quite loud. This is nothing Josie can control of course, so no fault of hers. But if you are hoping for a quiet place to hear the ocean, this is probably not the best place for you. At night there is less traffic and if you keep the fan running on the ac you may not notice the traffic. But at times it was loud enough to drown out the TV in the living room.

** there were a lot of ants. Again, not Josie's fault. Maybe it's an island thing? I don't know. But it was kind of a pain to have to be so, so careful about never leaving anything out. And not even leaving anything in the garbage too long.

So definitely more pros than cons. We enjoyed our stay and had a great vacation! Mahalo!

  • Submitted: May 17, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great hosts great location

  • 5 of 5

Got to see the Pipe Masters right down the road.

  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Please come stay with us again, you are welcome anytime! Great to have locals come stay with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Property

  • 5 of 5

Everything was wonderful during our stay. The condo was very quiet and clean. The location was close to everything we needed and the family is very friendly and helpful. We loved our stay and will definitely be using this property for any future visits.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay and your friend's wedding was beautiful. You and your friends were great guests and left the place very clean. My family tries our best to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Mahalo and please do come again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
3

Not what we were looking for

  • 3 of 5

First off, I should say that many people have posted great reviews for this property, and while it was quite inexpensive, it did not offer the level of comfort that we usually look for our holiday accommodation

However, I should point out that the owner was very accommodating and friendly and the apartment provided everything that you would need for a pleasant vacation. It is located just a short walk from the beach which was very handy and only a short drive to the Foodland and the attached Coffee Shop. It's just that we found a few aspects that did not meet our needs.

The apartment is attached to the main house and provides sufficient space to easily accommodate a small family, although the second bedroom was a bit cramped with the double bed, but no real problem for our adult son.

The two bedrooms each had air conditioners that were quite old and somewhat noisy, but not unbearable so. When in Hawaii we would normally just keep the windows open to get relief from the heat. The apartment got pretty stuffy during the day, but we could not keep the windows or doors open due to the noise from the road traffic. We stayed in most nights and watched TV but we couldn't hear it unless we closed all the doors and windows.

All the appliances worked well enough but they were quite old and the carpet and lounge looked like they could do with a good, deep steam clean. We also like to sit outside at night to relax in the cool, rather than go out and about, but there was only a shared area outside and not one that was dedicated for visitor use.

The washing machine was also quite old but worked OK and there was limited, but sufficient room to hang our clothes to dry under the verandah. Wi-Fi was quite good also.

For these reasons I wouldn't book this apartment in future but as it is probably what most might regard as typical and reasonable on the North Shore, it could be quite suitable for many visitors to this part of Oahu.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking time to do your review. We apologize that it did not accommodate your needs. Our plantation home was built in the 1950s so it is somewhat outdated when compared to a modern look. We have to change our amenities quite often, our TV lasts usually an average of 3 years and our microwaves don't last long as well, we assume it is due to the corrosion from salt air since we are close to the ocean. Our bicycles are a year old but they look like 5 years old! We have since purchased a new washing machine. Our A/C are actually only 3 years old but we will check if they are noisy as we were not aware of it. Mahalo.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

Look no further - the 'one of a kind' you want to find!!

  • 5 of 5

Josie's home was perfect for our family of 4 while we were on vacation here for the first part of our stay on Oahu. We would love to return and would definitely check Josie's listing first to see had room at her Inn again! The accommodation was clean and perfectly tended to; we lacked nothing as far as kitchen appliances, amenities, or comfort go. Josie checked in on us to see if we were fine.

The location can't be beat and is only a walk to Ted's bakery and is located across the street from beach access. Our kids loved staying here and the older kids would stay together and walk over to the beach together. We hope that they don't grow that much more (lol) so that we can keep coming back as a family! We realised that we made a mistake in staying on the east part of the island immediately after we checked in to our next destination and got rained on :( .....the North Shore totally rocks! The drive at night took us about an hour from the Honolulu Airport.

Bonus if you're dog people: We were missing our doggies, until Josie allowed her beautiful golden retriever, Lanie, to visit us; thereafter, we all looked forward to her visit and the kids invited her in when she was available! if you're not dog people, then she won't visit you- pretty simple :).

Josie is a gracious host and this home suited our needs to a "T" - we came with our 4 children who still speak fondly about our stay!

Blessings to you, Rory and your family, Josie!

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Tamara, I am glad to have met you and your family. I hope all is well, and please come visit us again (soon!). Have a great year!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Honolulu International Airport
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Surfer Bar at Turtle Bay & the Proud Peacock
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Turtle Bay Resort
Car: recommended

We live in one of the biggest surf spots on Oahu. The beaches are close by and the mountains are in our backyard where you can take your mountain bike, dirt bike, or just hike up. The beach has a lagoon like area where my kids learned how to swim when they were little. Velzyland surf spot is across from our home. In the north shore the winter season is surf season. In the Summer is when the ocean gets calm - a great time for snorkeling and swimming. Since the house is located close to the main road you can bus around if you decide not to rent a car. It takes a two-hour bus ride to downtown Honolulu and Waikiki from the house.

There's a small movie theater 15 min drive away in Laie town. A grocery store 5 min drive away at Pupukea. Ted's bakery is just a 5 min walk from the house. They serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Opens from 7:00am to 8:00pm. There are a few restaurants at the Turtle Bay Resort located 5 min drive from the house. The historic Haleiwa town is 15 min away where you can shop and do your banking.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $80
Tax Rate 13.96%

Location is possible for no-driving, but car is recommended. Walking distance to the beach, bakery, and access to public transportation as house is located close to main road. Car noise is to be expected. Location is close to bike paths, mountain biking, surfing, snorkeling, strolling, walking, botanical gardens and the Waimea Valley waterfall.
Check-in time is 3:00pm and check-out time is 11:00am.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.