Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

A 2 bedroom & 1 bathroom plantation style home close to the beach.

Bedrooms 2
Space 600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

The family friendly home with a big mango tree in the yard

Sunset Beach Rest House invites you to stay with us during your visit to the North Shore of Oahu. We want to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We provide full kitchen amenities with laundry machines on site. Two bedrooms and one bathroom. A queen bed in one room and a double bed in the other room. Sleeps 1-4 guests (or a family). This duplex house is located close to a grocery store, Ted's Bakery, botanical gardens, Waimea Valley and Falls, Kahuku motoX track, zumba and yoga classes nearby, hiking trails, great beaches for snorkeling in the Summer and surfing in the Winter. Two bicycles available for use for cruising around the north shore. House is by the main road and bus-stop is close by to catch a circle-island bus ride for a day trip to explore other parts of the island. Designated parking spot on property. Residential area, quiet-time law applies from 10 pm to 7am. Please feel free to call or email us if you have questions. Aloha.

Josephine Hoh

Hawaii Tax ID W43380914 01


More Details

Josephine Hoh
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 28, 2018

About Josephine Hoh

Rory and I raised our kids here at our home. We love that the beaches and the mountains are next our home. They are our playground!

Josephine Hoh purchased this house in 1992

Why Josephine Hoh chose Haleiwa

A special place by the sea

What makes this house unique

+It's a cozy home away from home

+Across the street to an awesome family-friendly beach

+Close to famous surf spots

+Great shopping at the historic Haleiwa town

+5 min walk to a local bakery for breakfast/lunch/dinner

+Easy access to the bike path. Trails for mountain biking, motoX, and hiking behind the house.

+Safe family environment


Haleiwa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Bedroom #1 8' x 9' Bedroom#2 12' x 12' We can add a futon in the living room for a family of five.
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Bicycles
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
We may be able to accommodate you with other amenities. Please contact us.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
20% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
A 2 bedroom & 1 bathroom plantation style home close to the beach.
average rating of 4.7083335 based on 24 reviews

Exceeded our expectations

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay on the North Shore. Josie was very welcoming and made us feel at home. She even got us passes to the Waimea Botanical Gardens where she works. The one small issue we had (flat bike tire) was fixed immediately. The home was comfortable, clean, and was only a 1-2 minute walk to V-land beach. We cooked most of our meals and the kitchen had everything we needed. The patio and garden were really nice and we took advantage of the grill to bbq.

The house is right on the Kam Hwy, so there is some noise from the cars going by. It really didn't bother us, and it's just a matter of the house's location. Also, the second bedroom is much smaller than the other. Our friends were only planning to stay a few nights with us, so it was not an issue. But, if they stayed over a week like we did, it probably would have felt cramped.

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brisbane Queensland Australia

Lovely traditional cottage feel. Enjoyed the homeliness and feel.

  • 5 of 5

Josie and her sons were very welcoming. Although an older cottage had a better feel than a more upmarket condo. A home away from home. Location was great but the main road through North Shore was quite busy and at some times, noisy but that is the way it is in the North Shore. A stone wall like the beach front properties would help to combat the noise. Would definitely recommend staying there for families particularly with children.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Watsonville, CA

Affordable way to live like a local on the North Shore

  • 4 of 5

We recently stayed at this rental for 4 nights in April/May.

Here are the pros:

** Josie is a gracious hostess. She welcomed us and made sure we were comfortable. She has "connections" at Waimea Falls so we were able to enjoy a pre-breakfast walk there on her recommendation. The dog and cats were a nice addition to our stay, although we rarely saw them.

** It was nice having two separate bedrooms since we were traveling with my parents. The second bedroom is smaller but my 6'3" husband had no issues there.

** the beds were very comfortable.

** the bedrooms each have their own air conditioners, which were necessary since it was hot. When we got home in the evening we would turn them on and close the doors so the bedrooms would be comfortable for sleeping. There is no air conditioning in the main rooms.

** location! It was nice to stay in the country and not be surrounded by tourists (even though we were one of them haha). It was still easy enough to get wherever we wanted to go on the island without too much of a drive.

** the property is a short walk to the beach.

** the internet speed was really good.

** there's a nice patio outside that you can use when it's too hot in the house.

There were a couple cons. And I'm only including them so all are fully aware of what they will get before they rent this property.

**you are right off Kamehameha Hwy. While that is good for location, it's not so good for noise. The traffic noise is quite loud. This is nothing Josie can control of course, so no fault of hers. But if you are hoping for a quiet place to hear the ocean, this is probably not the best place for you. At night there is less traffic and if you keep the fan running on the ac you may not notice the traffic. But at times it was loud enough to drown out the TV in the living room.

** there were a lot of ants. Again, not Josie's fault. Maybe it's an island thing? I don't know. But it was kind of a pain to have to be so, so careful about never leaving anything out. And not even leaving anything in the garbage too long.

So definitely more pros than cons. We enjoyed our stay and had a great vacation! Mahalo!

  • Submitted: May 17, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great hosts great location

  • 5 of 5

Got to see the Pipe Masters right down the road.

  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Please come stay with us again, you are welcome anytime! Great to have locals come stay with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful Property

  • 5 of 5

Everything was wonderful during our stay. The condo was very quiet and clean. The location was close to everything we needed and the family is very friendly and helpful. We loved our stay and will definitely be using this property for any future visits.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay and your friend's wedding was beautiful. You and your friends were great guests and left the place very clean. My family tries our best to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Mahalo and please do come again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Not what we were looking for

  • 3 of 5

First off, I should say that many people have posted great reviews for this property, and while it was quite inexpensive, it did not offer the level of comfort that we usually look for our holiday accommodation

However, I should point out that the owner was very accommodating and friendly and the apartment provided everything that you would need for a pleasant vacation. It is located just a short walk from the beach which was very handy and only a short drive to the Foodland and the attached Coffee Shop. It's just that we found a few aspects that did not meet our needs.

The apartment is attached to the main house and provides sufficient space to easily accommodate a small family, although the second bedroom was a bit cramped with the double bed, but no real problem for our adult son.

The two bedrooms each had air conditioners that were quite old and somewhat noisy, but not unbearable so. When in Hawaii we would normally just keep the windows open to get relief from the heat. The apartment got pretty stuffy during the day, but we could not keep the windows or doors open due to the noise from the road traffic. We stayed in most nights and watched TV but we couldn't hear it unless we closed all the doors and windows.

All the appliances worked well enough but they were quite old and the carpet and lounge looked like they could do with a good, deep steam clean. We also like to sit outside at night to relax in the cool, rather than go out and about, but there was only a shared area outside and not one that was dedicated for visitor use.

The washing machine was also quite old but worked OK and there was limited, but sufficient room to hang our clothes to dry under the verandah. Wi-Fi was quite good also.

For these reasons I wouldn't book this apartment in future but as it is probably what most might regard as typical and reasonable on the North Shore, it could be quite suitable for many visitors to this part of Oahu.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking time to do your review. We apologize that it did not accommodate your needs. Our plantation home was built in the 1950s so it is somewhat outdated when compared to a modern look. We have to change our amenities quite often, our TV lasts usually an average of 3 years and our microwaves don't last long as well, we assume it is due to the corrosion from salt air since we are close to the ocean. Our bicycles are a year old but they look like 5 years old! We have since purchased a new washing machine. Our A/C are actually only 3 years old but we will check if they are noisy as we were not aware of it. Mahalo.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1


Hawaiian Island Cafe
Ono Steaks And Shrimp Shack
Steak House
Waimanalo Poke Shop
Seafood Restaurant
'Ai Love Nalo
Vegan Restaurant
What It Dough
Pizza Restaurant
Ruka Bowls
Ohana Karaoke
Bar & Grill
Dave's Ice Cream
Kens In Plus Out Plate Lunch
Takeout Restaurant
L & L Drive-Inn
Hawaiian Restaurant
Royal Hawaiian Bakery
Larry's Grill at Olomana Golf Club
Bar & Grill
Bellows Air Force Station
Sea Life Park
Makapuu Beach Park
Boston's Pizza Hawaii Kai
Pizza Restaurant
Fidel's Coffee shop
Thai Valley Cuisine
Thai Restaurant
Hi Fit Nutrition
India Bazaar Madras Curry
Indian Restaurant
Yen Yen Chinese Cuisine
Chinese Restaurant
The Food Company
American Restaurant
Waipuna Sushi
Sushi Restaurant
Saigon Noodle House
Vietnamese Restaurant
Hawaiian Restaurant
Maui Mike's Fire-Roasted Chicken
Chicken Restaurant
Kim Chee Restaurant
Korean Restaurant
Round Table Pizza
Pizza Restaurant
Yamas Mediterranean Cuisine
Mediterranean Restaurant
Lighthouse Restaurant
Queen's Beach Restaurant
Hawaiian Restaurant
Hana Sushi
Conveyor Belt Sushi Restaurant
Tokyo Noodle House
Japanese Restaurant
Ba-Le Sandwich Shop
Vietnamese Restaurant
L&L Hawaiian Barbecue · L&L Drive-Inn
Hawaiian Restaurant
Mexico Fiesta
Mexican Restaurant
The Shack
Sports Bar
Vietnamese Restaurant
Phoenix Chinese Cuisine
Chinese Restaurant
Taco Del Mar Hawaii Kai
Mexican Restaurant
Maile's Thai Bistro
Thai Restaurant
Sushi Restaurant
Ramen-Ya Hawaii Kai
Japanese Restaurant
Koa Pancake House
Breakfast Restaurant
BYO bowls
Hawaiian Restaurant
The Original Roy's in Hawaii Kai
Hawaiian Restaurant
Lanikai Beach
Sandy Beach
Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Honolulu International Airport
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Surfer Bar at Turtle Bay & the Proud Peacock
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Turtle Bay Resort
Car: recommended

We live in one of the biggest surf spots on Oahu. The beaches are close by and the mountains are in our backyard where you can take your mountain bike, dirt bike, or just hike up. The beach has a lagoon like area where my kids learned how to swim when they were little. Velzyland surf spot is across from our home. In the north shore the winter season is surf season. In the Summer is when the ocean gets calm - a great time for snorkeling and swimming. Since the house is located close to the main road you can bus around if you decide not to rent a car. It takes a two-hour bus ride to downtown Honolulu and Waikiki from the house.

There's a small movie theater 15 min drive away in Laie town. A grocery store 5 min drive away at Pupukea. Ted's bakery is just a 5 min walk from the house. They serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Opens from 7:00am to 8:00pm. There are a few restaurants at the Turtle Bay Resort located 5 min drive from the house. The historic Haleiwa town is 15 min away where you can shop and do your banking.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $80

Location is possible for no-driving, but car is recommended. Walking distance to the beach, bakery, and access to public transportation as house is located close to main road. Car noise is to be expected. Location is close to bike paths, mountain biking, surfing, snorkeling, strolling, walking, botanical gardens and the Waimea Valley waterfall.
Check-in time is 3:00pm and check-out time is 11:00am.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties