Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Falling Leaf Retreat - Cozy Cabin in beautiful Ellijay area

Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

Great Ellijay Cabin Rental - 3br plus loft with lots to do and explore nearby. Enjoy tubing on the Coosawatee, mountain biking at one of the many local trails, fishing at Carter's Lake or just chilling at the cabin.

The cabin is cozy and perfect for a couple using only the master and common areas on the main floor, but with 2 more bedrooms and a loft upstairs, there's plenty of space if you need it!

A full rocking chair front porch, as well as a smaller back porch for grilling and/or watching the sun rise, help you enjoy the peace of the outdoors in north Georgia.


- 3 bedrooms all w queen beds

- Futon that converts to additional queen

- Linens provided (extra blankets & throws)

- Modern fully stocked kitchen

- Washer and Dryer on main floor

- New hand made farm table (thanks Dad)

- DVD player and lots of DVDs

- Hot Tub

Coosawattee River Resort:

Coosawattee River Resort (as the name suggests) is on the Coosawattee River in Ellijay, Georgia just an hour and a half north of Atlanta. Walking down the road a bit, you can hear the river as it meanders toward Carter's Lake. Deer, numerous birds and even turkey can be seen on every walk.

The community has various common areas and miles and miles of gravel roads great for walking. At the Eagle Mountain entrance, the quaint General Store and the animal refuge add to the country flair.

But never fear, you won't be too far from civilization if you discover there's something you forgot or if you decide to head to town for dinner. A quick 10 minute drive and you'll be in East Ellijay.

The community also does tubing trips from the general store and there are several access points to the river.

More Details

Member since: 2014
Speaks: russian
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 15, 2017

About Christa

An international traveller from Atlanta who has lived overseas on multiple occassions. My style of travel doesn't involve hotels as I like to meet the locals and stay in 'real' homes/flats.

Now, I have a cabin/vacation home of my own that I would like to share with others. Please reach out to me if you have any questions.

Why Christa chose Northwest High Country

Love the Ellijay area which is only an hour and a half north of Atlanta. The area has lots to offer with Carter's Lake, the Coosawattee and Cartecay Rivers, the Apple festival, numerous trails and much more.


Ellijay Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master bedroom is on main floor. Upstairs there is another large bright bedroom as well as a smaller bedroom and beautiful loft area with a comfortable queen size futon.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • festivals
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • water tubing


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

Falling Leaf Retreat - Cozy Cabin in beautiful Ellijay area
average rating of 4.652174 based on 23 reviews


  • 5 of 5

Cabin was super clean which is the most important item on my list. Husband loved the downstairs bed. Lots of smores and hot tub time with the kids! I liked that it was in a gated "neighborhood" but still far enough back on gravel roads that we still felt like we were outside of civilization.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The cabin was beautiful but bath and hot tub was not up to our personal standards!

  • 1 of 5

The cabin owner was not available when problem arose. She was on vacation herself but when someone has a rental they should be available or leave someone in charge 7x24 in the event of emergency. We were locked out of the cabin the first night and was forced to go to a motel with no clothes, meds and insulin and had a 9:00 event to attend the next morning. Many calls and text to the telephone # that was supplied to us in booking Info was not answered until approx 9:30 the next morning. Although she returned $100 to us she did not give us an additional night as we requested. The cabin was available/not booked but she preferred returning a $100 than to accommodate our request which we felt was just spiteful!

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Renter locked herself out after 11:00 at night. Unfortunately, I was traveling and had already gone to bed and did not hear the phone vibrate. Somehow it became entirely my fault that she locked herself out. When she "demanded" an extra day because I "owed"her for the lockout, I contacted my cleaner to see if she could accommodate the change. She could not due to an upcoming vacation herself, so I explained the situation to the renter and indicated that I would refund her for the troubles. I would never again rent to this person. From the very beginning she couldn't work the website, didn't understand how to pay, etc. I mean no disrespect but there are some people who should stick to full service hotels.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful Cabin and Great location -2nd stay

  • 5 of 5

We returned to Falling Leaf for another spring break trip to the mountains! We like the location and amenities, and the cabin is well stocked and maintained. Our boys love the hot tub and the rec center. We built a fire, went kayaking with Cartecay River Experience, and watched movies and played games. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ellenton Florida

Very nice

  • 5 of 5

Lovely cabin and very clean. We had a great stay, the hot tub was nice and the kids enjoyed the rec center.

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Spacious, comfortable, and relaxing.

  • 5 of 5

Everything was just right. We hope to come again!

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful inside and out

  • 5 of 5

When we walked into the cabin we were taken back by the beautiful kitchen and living room. The cabin had all of the amenities to make you feel at home. We are already planning our return trip to Falling Leaf Retreat.

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary

Rentals no longer come with access to Coosawatee River Resort Amenities. Unfortunately, the association has decided to SEVERELY limit guest access to amenities and it is no longer possible to offer access to guests.


Rates & Availability

Ellijay Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Oct 2 2017 - Oct 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
Oct 13 2017 - Oct 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
Oct 20 2017 - Oct 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
Oct 23 2017 - Nov 13 2017
3 night minimum stay
Thanksgiving Holiday
Nov 21 2017 - Nov 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
Christmas Holiday
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 2 2018
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $75
Refundable damage deposit $125

VRBO does not allow an additional set fee for parties over 4. However, it takes the cleaner an extra hour when there are additional linens to wash. Thus, I reserve the right to retain $25 from the refundable deposit for additional cleaning costs. Using the deposit funds is more accurate as I can charge the additional amount only when it is charged to me rather than charging an additional per night rate for larger parties.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties