check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

ULTIMATE FRISBEE GROUPS: (See also 580386)

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 10 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
16
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
4
Minimum Stay
3 - 10 nights

About the property

EACH FLOOR HAS 2 BEDROOMS, 2 BATHS, KITCHEN, FAMILY ROOM, WASHER & DRYER

This family residence has an upper and lower level with dead-bolt locks on entrances to each floor. There are two kitchens, each fully equipped with side by side refrigerator/freezers, microwaves, clothes washing machines, dryers and 50' flat screen TV with WiFi.

The floor plan for both Upper and Lower levels are nearly identical.

One bathroom in the Lower Unit has a shower and bathtub with overhead shower. The other unit has two bathrooms, each with a shower. Furnishings in the Lower level include a King bed with dresser in one bedroom and a double bottom-single top bunk bed and a single bed in the other. The Upper level is identical except the Master bedroom has a queen bed. Each level will sleep 6 in beds and 2 more on a Queen sleeper sofa. The total occupancy for each level is 8 and for the Whole House it is 16. The living room on each level has an 84 inch floor to ceiling mirror, chairs, queen sleeper sofa, love seat, side tables and a 50 inch flat screen TV.

The walls are solid wood newly painted. The floors are cream colored tile. The property is 150 yards from the beach and from Boulineau's grocery/hardware and variety store in town center. Duffy's and Flounder restaurants/bars are even closer.

RENTAL POLICIES VARY BY SEASON

SPRING, SUMMER AND FALL- WHOLE HOUSE RENTED TO A SINGLE GROUP

WINTER - LEVELS RENTED SEPARATELY - USUALLY INDIVIDUALS OR COUPLES.

VIEWING THE VIDEO: The Drone was about 100 feet above my house and next to one of our houses: VRBO Listing #580386 - the two story "Green" house. The Drone camera turns 360 degrees to show the area. Our house has an umbrella on the "widow's walk". We were milling around while the video was recording. It doesn't take much to entertain us. Our other house VRBO Listing #580510 appears about 2 minutes into the video. It is the two-story "Green" house on pilings.

More Details

Owner
Al Danielsen
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 18, 2017

About Al Danielsen

I am a retired Professor of Economics (University of Georgia) interested in historic preservation. This property is an example. Three years ago the house was a beach-front duplex on a foundation. It was gifted to Habitat for Humanity so we purchased, moved and renovated. Houses two blocks from the beach are in a flood plane so we had to raise it 14 feet, build a "cradle" under it and install pilings. North Myrtle Beach building codes are very strict so we were required to make it a single family dwelling. We did so by connecting the Upper and Lower floors with an indoor stairway. However, we also installed new doorways on each level with dead bolt locks to ensure privacy for groups that desire some privacy. The house has all new windows, siding, electric wiring, pluming and two additional bathrooms. There are very few empty lots in Cherry Grove so new construction and major renovations like the one we undertook usually require tearing down older and usually smaller houses. This was a major project but preserves some of the "old style" beach houses. We have also renovated VRBO Listing #580386 which is a classic example of houses built in the 1950s..

Al Danielsen purchased this house in 2013

Why Al Danielsen chose North Myrtle Beach

RENTAL INFORMATION:

The House is now located two blocks from the Beach and 'Downtown' Cherry Grove where there is a full-service grocery and hardware store. It is ideal for groups of close friends, extended families and family reunions. The upper and lower floors are connected by an interior stairway but each level has a door that can be locked from the inside with a dead bolt. Bunk beds are being installed in one of the bedrooms to increase sleeping capacity to 8 on each level. The maximum capacity for the house is 12 at present and will be 16 by next Spring and Summer. Each Level has 2 full baths with showers. The Lower Level has a bathtub with shower. Central heat and air conditioning as well as energy efficient windows and added insulation make this historic house better than new.

What makes this house unique

An outstanding feature of this property is the ability to provide privacy for two families or groups by locking the entrance doors to each level. Another special feature is its location and proximity to the beach, restaurants and shops. In addition, special care has been taken to restore and upgrade the property. If you believe in 'PRESERVATION' you will love what we have done.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

ULTIMATE FRISBEE GROUPS: (See also 580386)
average rating of 4.357143 based on 14 reviews
4

Great location!!!

  • 4 of 5

The location of the property is 1 mile from boardwalk of North Mrytle beach where a little fairground is located and some shops and also 8 mins from the main street where you can find grocery stores, IHOP and other shops. The best part, is only a 5min walk to the beach and it's great! I was with my family and my kids didnt complain about the distance! Fabulous.

Now, the house needs some TLC and new furniture and pots and pans ( we had to go buy one )but overall it was great. The owner was great at responding quickly and I had no issues at all.

Overall 4 stars .

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

BOYS Trip

  • 5 of 5

Great accommodations for a whole bunch of boys. Had a blast

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Griffin. Glad you guys had a great time. What's not to like about Cherry Grove Beach? Love to have guys like you so come back anytime. Al
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Relaxing and Fun

  • 4 of 5

Our stay over New Years was relaxing and fun. The weather was perfect! Because the house is very close to the beach, we were able to walk with our dog Herbie at least twice a day. The house had everything that we needed: a large kitchen for cooking and comfortable sofas and beds. We also enjoyed having our coffee on the outdoor balcony. The upstairs tenant was very nice and hopefully when we visit again in the future, our dogs can have an opportunity to play together!

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlotte, NC
5

Annual Guys Beach Trip / Reunion

  • 5 of 5

This property is perfect for a large group and has a prime location. Many restaurants are close by and the grocery store is only a couple of blocks away. Beach access is very close as well. Came to this house for our second annual trip and plan to return annually as our group's schedule allows. Owner is very accommodating and the whole process is a breeze. Favorite part about this property: double balconies.

  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Cole: Look forward to your annual visit. You guys are a pleasure to know. Guys like you and many others we have gotten to know are what makes renting our property worth while. Best wishes Al
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Greenwood, SC
4

Golf Trip

  • 4 of 5

Great place, Great Price!

  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Ken. Happy that you had perfect weather for your visit last November. We like Glen Dornoch, Heather Glen and Long Bay. Hope you got to play at least one of them. We look forward to your early return. Best wishes Al
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Perfect house if you want to eat out all the time and sleep on the beach!

  • 2 of 5

We took all the supplies for a nice traditional family Thanksgiving meal and 4 day stay (6 adults and 2 children) and thought we had rented the perfect house since there would be 2 kitchens, 4 bedrooms and we could take our dogs.(We rented both levels.) The house's lay-out is fine but the furniture is old, stained and needs updating badly. I contacted Al, the owner, on our arrival and asked him to meet us at the house since we were not sure that the house had been cleaned or if the sheets had been changed. Al acknowledged the fact that the house was not up to "my par" and offered us a $200 refund on our rental fee. That seemed fine at the time. Little did we know then that the "well stocked " kitchen was certainly not that and we would have to purchase pots, pans, and dish towels in order to prepare our Thanksgiving meal. The oven in one of the kitchens did not work and the oven in the other kitchen had to be cleaned before we could use it. Not all the eyes on the stove worked. There is no dining table on one level and only a table for 4 with 4 bar stools on the other level. We took advantage of the picnic table in the carport area and had our Thanksgiving meal there, which was very pleasant.The mattresses are very hard and uncomfortable. Needless to say, we met with several challenges but were determined to work through them.

Obviously, this is a party house so if you do not care about the conditions it would be an OK rental. The location is excellent and in the heart of Cherry Grove with a short walk to the beach. Fortunately, the weather was wonderful so we did not have to spend much time in the house.

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your appraisal which is accurate for the most part. We appreciate guests like you who have extremely high standards. It helps us as we strive to improve our performance for future Guests. Turns out the house was clean but not to your standard. It was not "deep cleaned" prior to your arrival but it had been vacuumed and mopped and the sheets had been laundered. Your complaint about the quality of our mattresses is the first we have had. The King, Queen and two Single bed mattresses and springs are about a foot thick with "encasement" on both box springs and mattresses. The bunk beds do not have box springs and are not as comfortable. Sorry about that. Most of our guests are vacationers who enjoy the beach and atmosphere and rarely cook complete meals for sit-down dining. We have large pots that are suitable for 30 people enjoying a Low Country or Carolina Boil. They are available upon request. Large groups frequently eat informally under the house. Very glad you had an enjoyable vacation. Al
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Myrtle Beach
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Flounders, Duffys
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Eastport, Heather Glen, Glen Dornoch
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy 17
Nearest Beach
Cherry Grove Beach
Car: not necessary

NMB Acquatic and Fitness Center is a modern indoor facility about 3 miles away.

Fishing Pier is less than 1 mile.

Most other amenities are withing 5 to 8 miles.

Boulineaus just 2 blolcks away has everything a vacationer needs.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ocean Drive Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
RATE Per LEVEL Dec-Feb
Dec 31 2016 - Feb 25 2017
10 night minimum stay
$40
 
 
SPRING
Mar 2 2017 - Apr 1 2017
6 night minimum stay
$225
$1,350
 
 
Late Spring
Apr 2 2017 - May 13 2017
4 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
 
 
SUMMER
May 14 2017 - Aug 11 2017
6 night minimum stay
$350
$2,100
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 12 2017 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,800
 
 
FALL-WINTER - Each Level
Oct 1 2017 - Feb 25 2018
10 night minimum stay
$40
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning $200

Refundable charges apply to groups of more than 10. Extra cleaning is required when the house is left with unbagged liter, excessively dirty appliances and the like. We inspect the property and pay our cleaners more when extra work is required. An extra cleaning fee will be refunded if the property requires only routine and normal cleaning. We usually refund damage and extra cleaning deposits. Most of our guests leave the property in good order.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Ocean Drive Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Located in the lower unit
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , 2nd bathroom in lower unit
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Upper unit bath and shower with wash basin
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , 2nd full bathroom in upper unit
  • 2 full bathrooms on each floor
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 5 - 2 sleep sofa /futon , 2 Pullout Queen Sofas
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed
  • LOWER FLOOR - Bedroom # 1 - King - Sleeps 2 + Dresser + Night Stand. Bedroom # 2 - Sturdy Bunk Bed (Double bottom - Single top) + Single Bed - Sleeps 4. Sleeping Accommodations # 3 Queen Sofa Sleeper - Sleeps 2 UPPER FLOOR - Bedroom # 1 Queen - Sleeps 2 + Dresser + Night Stand. Bedroom # 2 - Sturdy Bunk Bed (Double bottom - Single top) + Single Bed - Sleeps 4 + Chest of Drawers. Sleeping accommodations # 3 - 1 Queen Sofa Sleeper.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Long term rental by a family that home schools their children would be ideal. The house is large enough to provide work places for a number of 'students'. Interludes at the beach and other spots would provide a very enjoyable learning experience.

Partner Offers