Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Creakmore - A great family getaway on Lake Burton

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

(Please be advised that Creakmore is currently listed for sale. Although we will do our best to minimize any interruptions, there may be a time during your stay when a real estate agent needs to show the house to a potential buyer.)

Escape to relaxation at scenic Lake Burton. Unwind in this comfortable home that is great for both families and couples. The views can’t be beat from Creakmore – situated on the main body of the lake and facing Charlie Mountain. To the south, you can make out Burton Dam, and to the north, you can see the low-rising mountains of North Carolina. Enjoy the views from the new (June 2016) elevated deck at the house or from the dock of the boathouse.

This three bedroom, two bath house is ideal for families or couples looking to slow down for a bit. It is easy to sleep late in either the master bedroom on the main floor or in the downstairs guest bedroom. The upstairs sleeping loft can accommodate four.

The comfortable living room, cooled by a large ceiling fan, features a stone fireplace and a recently upgraded audio-video system for those times when you want to watch a movie, catch a game, or listen to some music. DirecTV, Netflix, Roku and a blu ray player are available for watching on the 46” flat screen, and you can wirelessly connect your tablet or iPod to listen to your music both in the house and on the dock. You can stay connected with wi-fi throughout the house and down at the dock and boathouse.

The galley kitchen features a new, quite-running dishwasher, microwave, and a full size refrigerator. A door to the parking area makes unloading groceries a snap.

Downstairs features a guest bedroom with its own full bathroom, another living room with a flat screen tv and dvd player, and a laundry room with another full size refrigerator.

While the house is NOT AIR CONDITIONED, all windows and sliding glass doors have screens. Ceiling and other fans plus a very shaded lot help keep things comfortable.

Sets of stairs connect the downstairs to both the floating dock and the boathouse and its stationary dock. Bring your own or rent a boat from a local marina for skiing, tubing, wake-boarding or just cruising the lake. The available slip in the boathouse measures 108" wide by 244" deep. There is plenty of room on the stationary dock for getting sun.

There are many activities within 30 minutes of the cabin. Enjoy kayaking and whitewater rafting on the world famous Chattooga River, mountain biking, or golf. If fly-fishing is your thing, enjoy world class fly-fishing on any number of crystal clear streams in the Chattooga watershed all the way up to Highlands or Cashiers North Carolina. If you are interested in hiking, Tallulah Gorge State Park and the lake’s own Hemlock Falls are just two of the numerous options available to you. There are also a number of dining options on the lake as well as in the nearby towns of Clayton and Helen.

When your visit is over, we’re sure you’ll already want to start planning your next visit to Lake Burton!

More Details

Mark Hardy
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2018


Clarkesville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • Monument View
  • Mountain View
  • Family
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Downstairs bathroom - toilet , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master bedroom - 1 double
    Sleeping loft - 4 twin/ single
    Downstairs bedroom - 1 double
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • festivals
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Georgia law places restrictions on boat and PWC operation for those under 16 years of age. Please see our link to the Georgia Boating Handbook for more information.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

67% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
Creakmore - A great family getaway on Lake Burton
average rating of 4.483871 based on 31 reviews
Atlanta, Georgia

Comfy family residence right on the lake.

  • 4 of 5

We were very happy with our stay, the house is exactly as depicted in the photos.

There are two flights of stairs from the house down to the dock. There is a nice-sized swim dock with two Adirondack chairs on the right of the boathouse and a boat dock to the left where a canoe is stored which renters can use. The view is big water - lots of boats going by. We enjoyed paddling the area in the canoe. If you want to rent a boat LaPrade's is the closest marina that rents - but call early! They booked up 3 months in advance this year.

We brought our own fishing tackle (there seemed to be some at the house but not sure if it was meant to be used by renters). Off the dock we were only able to catch a few small fish, too small to keep. We saw some larger bass but none of them were biting.

The loft has four beds, we were somewhat concerned about a child sleeping in the fourth bed which is close to the edge of the loft. We were also concerned about the youngest stumbling in the night and falling on the stairs. Of course he was fine, but something to consider with younger kids.

The loft is open to the living room area and kitchen.

Kitchen is small and functional - nice to eat on the upper deck where there is a table and chairs.

The stove is a vintage electric push button stove - toddlers kept pushing the button and we had to keep checking that it was off! Plug in the toaster before you use it.

Pretty well stocked house we found everything we needed from towels to salt and pepper and trash bags.

We weren't exactly how to use the vacuum cleaner.

The only thing that could have been improved: the downstairs bathroom had a bit of a funky smell to it (not clear what it was), leave the doors propped open (there is a stopper to prop it) or use the one upstairs.

Beautiful place to spend a weekend - really feels like a get-away!

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Amy!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

What a lovely lake house

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at Creakmore was extremely lovely. The home had comfortable feel to it and looked exactly like the pictures. It was spacious enough for me and my 6 friends. Mark was extremely easy to communicate with and resolved any issues we had effectively.

The drive to the home was pretty easy. The driveway to the home is quiet steep but we had an SUV, which wasn't that big of a deal. The lack of AC was also not a factor because the weather was cool during our stay. We were about 20 minutes from the wineries and restaurants we attended and the drive to them were fairly straight forward. Overall, our stay was amazing and waking up to the lake views were more than amazing.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Just what we were looking for!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the cabin, location and seclusion. The view of the lake from cabin is gorgeous. We would have loved to have the canoe advertised, but it was lost during a storm and pending replacement. Owner should update listing noting so. Cabin had everything we needed for our stay. We felt back in our young years. It has a 70’s feel. We really enjoyed our stay. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Etienne. We will update the welcome booklet about the lost canoe.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice and cozy

  • 4 of 5

It was nice to be isolated in a cozy warm lake house!

  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Karolyne. Visiting Lake Burton during the winter is very underrated!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta, GA, USA

Amazing lake front house with everything we needed!

  • 5 of 5

Went here with several friends for a weekend and we had an amazing time! The porches and docks were perfect with beautiful views and the kitchen had everything we needed to feed 8 people! Have no complaints and would definitely recommend this place (and would stay here again)!

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words Kathryn. Y'all are welcome back any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Rustic Lake Cabin

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I stayed here for an eclipse viewing experience. This cabin was close to perfect. The lack of A/C was never an issue. 8 people slept comfortably and it never felt too overcrowded. The Lake was beautiful and the house gets full shade all day. The only problem we had, and it was very minor, was the handle to the grill broke off while we were using it. Time for a new one. I would definitely recommend this place to others. 5IVE STARS!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Paul, A replacement grill handle has already been ordered.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Damage Insurance $59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties