Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Peaceful Cabin in the woods, close to Wisp Ski Resort and Deep Creek Lake!

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,900 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Come relax at Bear Necessity, away from the hustle bustle of daily life. This cabin in the woods is all you could want to enjoy a vacation. Bear Necessity is located within 7 minutes from Wisp Ski Resort, 10 minutes to Deep Creek State Park and 14 minutes from Swallow Falls State Park giving you easy access to the amenities in the Deep Creek area. After a day of skiing, hiking, swimming or boating come retreat back to the peace and quiet of Bear Necessity. This cabin in the woods features 3 bedrooms and 3 full baths. The Master bedroom is on the upper level with a full bath, king size bed, soaking tub and small deck for privacy. The main level is an open layout making a wonderful area to entertain and socialize while making dinner or relaxing. We updated the great room furniture to provide more comfortable seating for our guests, in addition to a comfortable reading area in the loft with great views! The kitchen is fully equipped to prepare and serve meals on the dining table that seats 10, available are a dishwasher, electric coffee pot, crock pots, blender, and mixer. The great room and dining area over look the deck, woods and wood burning fireplace. To the rear of the main floor are two bedrooms, one with a queen bed and the other with a full/twin bunk bed and trundle, both have easy access to the full bath with tub. On the lower level is the game room with queen size sleeper sofa. This room has been recently painted and updated. Enjoy playing board games, watching TV or listening to music with the surround sound while playing a game on the pool table or dart board. The full bath has a tub and in the back room there is a washer and dryer for your convenience. Out the sliding glass doors is a hot tub where you can melt away the aches of the day while watching the chipmunks and birds frolic in the woods or if you are lucky have a deer pass through. The covered deck has a porch swing that is great for sitting and having your morning coffee. On the open deck enjoy barbequing on the new gas grill and dining in the outdoors. Bear Necessity is a pet friendly home and dogs are welcome, but you can never tell that a dog has been in the home due to the surperb cleaning and maintenance of this home. The house has Direct TV, wifi internet access, and state park access passes . On clear evenings a short walk up the road will give you a wonderful view as the sun sets into the mountains and is always worth the calorie burn. So if you are looking for the perfect mix of play and relaxation Bear Necessity is the vacation home for you.

Property Manager
Stacey Collins
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 24, 2017

About Stacey Collins

Our family lives in the Northern VA area. My husband, Jim, and I have 2 teenage boys who love being at Bear Necessity. Never once in the 11 years we have owned the cabin have either boys ever said, 'We don't want to go!' Both boys have grown up and spent many holidays and vacations enjoying the cabin, skiing at Wisp and hiking on the many trails. I am retired from the federal government and my husband, Jim still works, much to his chagrin. I am originally from Brooklyn, NY and Jim is from Parkersburg, WV. We find the DC area to be right between our families.

Stacey Collins purchased this cabin in 2004

Why Stacey Collins chose Oakland

We fell in love with the cabin from the first time we saw it. The original owners, who built our cabin, put so much of themselves into the cabin. From the first time we walked through the door, we knew that this was the vacation home for us. We love the privacy of the cabin, without losing any of the conveniences. On the night we met with the original owner to close the deal to purchase the cabin, as we were leaving and returning to our truck, a black bear stood up right at the hood of our truck. Talk about a surprise! It seemed only right to name our home 'Bear Necessity' to celebrate our first guest. While bears are still in the area, they don't wander through very often, now that we, and everyone else in the area, have a bear proof garbage container! Our neighbors are a distance from the cabin, you can see their homes in the winter, but they are mostly blocked once everything turns green again in the spring. I never feel bad about sitting on the porch swing in my bathrobe having my first cup of morning coffee! The house is big enough so that we can have friends and family gather here and not lose the cozy cabin feeling. We have celebrated many special family and friend weekends. We decorated our home with our comfort in mind, so everyone who stays here always comment on how at home they felt. We love hearing how much visitors enjoyed their stay and are always open to make improvements that are suggested. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation that allows everyone on the family to enjoy themselves, no matter what their age, then a vacation in Deep Creek at Bear Necessity is the place to stay.

What makes this cabin unique

Location, location, location! Bear Necessity is so close to the activities in the Deep Creek area, yet you still get to have your privacy in the cabin nestled in the woods. Our cabin has amenities galore to entertain guests when they are here. There is Direct TV, a pool table, dart board, and hot tub. Deer walk through on a regular basis so if you are letting your dog out, make sure you check before opening the door! The cabin is set up so you can cook just about any meal, with room for all to gather together to dine. There are ceiling fans and box fans available, which is all you really need to be comfortable up in the mountains surrounded by trees. We hope you love staying at our home as much as we do.


Oakland Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 1:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 full bathrooms
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 bunk bed , 1 murphy bed , full-twin bunk bed with trundle
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
Hope you come and enjoy your vacation at our home. We have received excellent reviews from previous guests. Our home is locally managed by Coldwell Banker Deep Creek Realty, which is local and can address any concerns that occur during your visit. We hope you give 'Bear Necessity' the opportunity to provide you with a wonderful vacation experience. And we look forward to hearing about your experience afterwards.


3.8/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
Peaceful Cabin in the woods, close to Wisp Ski Resort and Deep Creek Lake!
average rating of 3.8 based on 5 reviews
Bristow, VA


  • 3 of 5

My friends and I have been coming to Deep Creek for the last 10 years on President's Day weekend. We have stayed 4 different homes during that time. We only looked at a new property this year because the last house was incredibly difficult to get to when the winter weather was bad. I was very disappointed in this rental.

We have learned over our many years of renting, that most houses have (although never expected nor included in a rental) basic cleaning items and extra spices. The kitchen at Bear Necessity's was really the bare necessity's. . The dishes/glasses/etc were diligently labeled, but what was indicated as provided was not there. I needed to call the rental agency immediately to inform them of this so we would not be charged. Three of us had to sleep on the sofas, as well as, the couple that expected to sleep downstairs in the basement (sleeper sofa was broken).

The locks on many doors, including the front door, were not working, The description says the dining table sits 10 (house maximum occupancy) did not. There were only 8 seats. If more chairs were available, they would not have fit around the table. The house is for sale which was a red flag that the owners may not be invested in making the property attractive to renters. All I ask is that the home description be updated and true.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2016
  • Stayed: February 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Travelgirl, I am so sorry that you were unhappy with your stay at our cabin. I wish you had contacted us or addressed your problems to our manager during your stay so we could have remedied them. Our cabin is set up for 10 guests, and I clearly explain the sleeping arrangements, so that guests are not surprised. Our cabin is set up more for families with children, than for 10 adults with our bedroom that sleeps four. Our manager has thoroughly checked the cabin and all locks and the sleeper sofa are currently in working order. I am sorry your group had trouble fitting at the table for meals. We have had holiday meals there with 12 people and have never had an issue with crowding. True, not all of the chairs are from the same set, but there are plenty of chairs. I am sorry you felt that was an issue. I will make sure I clarify that with future renters. While it is true that we are testing the market and considering the sale of our cabin, we guarantee the continued maintainance our property with comfort and cleanliness in mind. It is still the favorite gathering place for our family and one where several renters return annually. Our local manager is available to address any complaints and concerns you, the renter, have so that you have a wonderful vacation and stress free experience in our cabin. Again, I regret that you did not provide us with the opportunity to leave our cabin with a favorable opinion. Sincerely, The Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York


  • 5 of 5

I must tell the world about your cabin "Bear Necessity's". We arrived Friday, just before sundown, and we were immediately impressed with the cozy secluded setting. I wanted to sit on that swing and listen to the wind blowing through the trees, but my husband thought I should help unpack the car! We brought everything in and we were even more impressed with the house. It is decorated with such care and thought. The kids spotted the bear on the beam with a shout that had me looking on the deck for a real one! The master bedroom and bath is gorgeous, I could have stayed up there the whole weekend, but the crackling fireplace, the clean well stocked kitchen and huge dining area for family meals, got me moving. Add to that, the basement for the friendly family pool and dart games followed by a movie and some popcorn, didn't get me back up to the jacuzzi till after midnight. The kids loved having their own rooms which were again, beautifully appointed and comfortable. We also loved that the hot tub is protected by the deck so the drizzle one morning did not stop us from enjoying it fully. Your cabin lived up to and beyond my expectations. The ad in VRBO actually didn't do it was all that and more. And, really convienent too, with the best of both worlds, away from the hub bub of the town and bigger roads for the peace and quiet, but 10 minutes from everything else you could want. Thank you so much for offering such a lovely get-away for us city folks to enjoy. We will certainly be contacting you again for a spring weekend.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2014
  • Stayed: September 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Pat, We are so glad you and your family enjoyed our cabin and all of its amenities! Deep Creek is a wonderful area to vacation and enjoy nature. We look forward to hosting your family in the spring and thank you for your lovely review of 'Bear Necessity's'! Sincerely, Stacey
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Pittsburgh, PA


  • 5 of 5

You forget, living in an area with much light pollution, that there are so many stars in the sky! I laid on the enormous wrap around deck and stared for hours. This Peaceful retreat was absolutely fantastic. Ample room for the 5 Adults, 2 Children and 3 Dogs that accompanied us. The living area was nice, the basement (pool table / surround sound / dart board) game room was better and the hot tub was a great way to come down after a delightful day hiking at the 3 State parks that are all within 10 minutes. The cabin was very clean and had everything you would need. We will definitely be back.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Chris, Thank you for your review of our cabin and I am so glad you enjoyed your vacation at 'Bear Necessity's'. We look forward to hosting you and your famly again in our peaceful cabin in the woods! Sincerely, Stacey
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Truly the BEAR Necessities

  • 1 of 5

The first thing you notice when I walked into the rental was the overwhelming musty air. Between rentals, they must turn off the air handling because it was a wall of must upon entry. Once you get the air flowing, the next thing you notice is the strong smell of chlorine. I'm not sure if there were other reviews here or on other sites, but, while I read those reviews and believed that the owners would've learned from those bad reviews, it seems that they had not. The smell of chlorine was profound. Chlorine, you'd expect, would likely signal cleanliness, but this place was NOT clean. Carpets were sticky. I guess the chlorine was a sign they "washed" the kitchen floor, because the basement floor was filthy. We rented two cabins; the other one was two homes up. The cleanliness of that home made this home look like a sty.

What else was wrong with this place? The pool table in the basement was in poor condition. Felt was pilling up. We opened the sofa bed in the basement to find, what appeared to be (and looked an awful lot like) mouse excrement. Needless to say, no one slept on that sofa bed and we kept it closed. The master bedroom is strangely configured, with a jacuzzi right in the corner of the room, separate from the bath. And the bath... There's zero water pressure upstairs. It sounds gross, but I would recommend that the upstairs toilet only be used for the first kind of evacuation, not the second. The shower door doesn't fully close unless you physically LIFT the door over the jam. The walls of the shower seem to be sheets of plastic nailed to the wall. The nicest room in the house? The laundry area. It was by far the cleanest area.

Everything in this place was old. Just about the nicest thing about the cabin wasn't even in the cabin; it was outside the cabin -- the barbecue grill (which we didn't use). They just put in WiFi earlier this year; it was serviceable. To be honest, this cabin needs a thorough housecleaning. Carpets need to be shampooed. Floors need to be cleaned, waxed and polished. Upholstery on furniture needs to be vacuumed and shampooed. Bathrooms need a thorough cleaning -- top to bottom. Nothing about the cabin seemed inviting. Basically, it feels like the owners have this place to collect revenue from renters because the lack of attention is obvious.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bernie, We are really sorry you and your family were not happy with your stay at “Bear Necessity’s” our peaceful cabin in the mountains. All of our current and past reviews have been extremely positive and provided suggestions on ways we can make the vacation experience better. We take our reviews and suggestions to heart and have implemented many of the suggestions, and is why we have had several repeat renters. We were very surprised to read your review today. I wish you would have called either our local manager or myself while you were there. We would have done everything possible to improve your stay at our home to include refunding your money and assisting your move to another home in the area. We realize vacation time is precious, which is why we do everything possible to present our home honestly through both our narrative and photographs, along with having an area manager to immediately assist our renters should anything happen while they are there. While we had recently stayed in our cabin in Deep Creek and did not personally observe any of the issues you raised, we are contacting our manager to go and inspect our cabin and correct any deficiencies they may find. Again, you have our apologies, client satisfaction is of utmost important to us, but we cannot repair or address problems that we are not made aware of. Our local manager was as surprised as we were when I spoke to them about your displeasure, as nothing was said or recorded upon your check out. My cell phone number and email is provided, so that renters can contact me at anytime both before and during their stay, along with our manager who is available 24/7. We strive to provide a pleasurable experience for everyone who chooses to spend their valuable time at our cabin and hope you will consider “Bear Necessity’s” again in the future. Stacey
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New york

House is beautiful

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at Bear necessity from 6/28/14 till 7/16/14. I was suppose to leave the 12th,, however extended my stay for two days because the place is beautiful and well decorated. The amenities are breathtaking from the soaking tub to the hot tub in the very private backyard. There is a nice size tv located in the basement along with a full size pool table, children toys, and books. Plenty of closet space and three bathrooms, which made everything easier for my family of nine. The owner was a delight to deal with and ready to answer any questions asked. Would love to rent again... beautiful wrap around deck, grill, and loved the swing on front porch. Owner also left a card and bottle of wine on table for us made us feel welcome. Plenty of towels.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2014
  • Stayed: June 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Melissa, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your vacation and staying at 'Bear Necessity'. Sounds like you had a great vacation and that our cabin enhanced your experience in Deep Creek. We hope you come back and stay with us again. Stacey
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0





Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Processing and Insurance $140
Tax Rate 12.0%

The Pet fee is $50.00/dog. To figure the cost of a 2 day visit whether mid week or weekend, multiply the nightly rate by 2. There is a discounted rate for any additional days added on to the 2 or 7 day reservation.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.