Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Heavenly Hana Tropical Oasis

Bedrooms 2
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

2 Bedroom / 1 Bath With Lanai And Ocean Views, Sleeps Up To 6 People

Located in the heart of Hana, come enjoy our family home that we have owned for over 25 years. Come experience the Aloha of Hana , and the lasting memories it will impart on you.

Relax in paradise and a bit of ancient Hawaii.

Wake up to birds singing and a beautiful Hana sunrise from your king size bed, or from your spacious lanai. Fall asleep to the gentle sounds of waves from Waikaloa Bay.

The furnishings are casual, comfortable, with a Hawaiiana feel.

Well maintained grounds with large yard gives you an opportunity to just relax and enjoy the quiet of Hana. Conveniently located close to Hana Bay, the famous Fagans cross, Travaasa Hana Hotel, and world famous Hasegawa’s and the Hana Ranch market. Hana has so much to offer and we are here to make your time most enjoyable, whether its directions to that beautiful waterfall, gorgeous beach, or simply a massage at the end of your day by a licensed massage therapist.

Relax, and enjoy our hospitality .

2 bedrooms, one king bed ,one queen bed, and a fold out sofa sleeper.We have a fully equipped kitchen,washer/dryer,and outdoor shower.Other amenities include 40 inch flat screen TV with Direct TV, blue ray DVD player,WiFi, gas BBQ, wrap around lanai with ocean views, yard/garden area, beach chairs, towels, boogie boards, and stand up paddle boards. With advanced notice we can also supply food and drinks for an additional fee.

More Details

Joni Meadows/ Jim Meadows
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 20, 2017

About Joni Meadows/ Jim Meadows

Jim Meadows and Joni Meadows are brother and sister who grew up in San Clemente, Ca. I moved to Maui in 1987 and the family came to visit a year later. While on vacation the family spent time in Hana and fell in love with it. Shortly after vacation our Mother Jackie as well as my brothers all moved to Maui. We bought property in Kihei as well as Hana. Mom lived out the rest of her life in Hana, and we got to enjoy the family property over the years. Now, Jim and I are managing the property and I live here in Hana full time. We are blessed to call this our home and look forward to sharing this wonderful part of Maui with many.

Joni Meadows/ Jim Meadows purchased this house in 1988

Why Joni Meadows/ Jim Meadows chose East Maui

This was always our 'getaway' from the other side of the island, and to spend time with our Mom. A beautiful property with a stunning ocean view and the quiet serenity that Hana always has. A family home with a lot of love.

What makes this house unique

This property is know around town as the house with the bridge! It sits on a half acre full of tropical flowers, fruits, and singing birds. Across the street is the Hana ranch and we see cows grazing and pheasants nesting. A huge banyan tree across the street shades the driveway as you pull into the property.


Hāna House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , outdoor shower , outdoor shower, indoor shower hot and cold
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , queen bed with sunrise view
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , master bedroom has ocean/sunrise view
  • master bedroom has king bed, sitting area, oceanview, massage area. 2nd bedroom queen bed with sunrise view.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Bicycles
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 bicycles
  • wheelchair accessible
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • botanical garden
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • mountain biking
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(81 traveler reviews)

Heavenly Hana Tropical Oasis
average rating of 4.6419754 based on 81 reviews

Beautiful spot, just a five minute walk or bike ride too Hana bay!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful spot, super cool well informed property managers, ping pong table, bikes and surfboards that can be borrowed upon asking ( get advise from property manager on beaches that are good for surfing; Hana can sometimes have wild ocean conditions not suitable for novice surfers). Five minutes from Hana bay ten minutes from kokee and homoa beach park, right in the middle of Hana town. All around good vibes!

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Sweet Hana Stay

  • 5 of 5

Our time in Hana at Joni's place was very special. So warm and welcoming; comfortable rooms; great location. We want to come back!

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful. The bed was awesome as well as the outdoor shower!!

  • 5 of 5

Great place. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great property and location with everything you need!

  • 5 of 5

Joni and Ha were great and so hospitable, we were lucky to have such great hosts

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Clean and Charming with ocean views

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at the property for 2 nights with my 9 month old, and our nanny. The master bedroom is spacious with beautiful views in the ocean. The second bedroom is only separated by a curtain so there is some privacy but may not be suitable for all travelers. For us the ceiling Fans were adequate for cooling the house, however we were tracy in may and in hotter months the fans may not be enough to stay cool. Our hosts were responsive and helpful. They live upstairs. Hana is a beautiful small town and worth the visit. It's a good place to stage yourself to see the surrounding sites- red sand beach, seven sacred pools, black sand beach- and a nice place to end your day after a typical journey on the road to Hana.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Mountain View, CA

not very aloha

  • 2 of 5

I wish we had a better review to give. The positive: cute yard and outdoor shower, large master bedroom with sunrise view, and gear for borrow, such as boogie boards. And it is great to stay in Hana and have the time to explore the beautiful surrounding nature. However, we did not find this house to be any sort of "Heavenly Oasis". The house was dirty- bath towels smelled horrible, kitchen sponge ratted and also smelling so bad we boiled it as there was no replacement sponge. Dried coffee in the pot, spiderwebs, house dusty, bathroom floor dirty. Owners if you are reading this, look at the area around the one working light behind the couch. When was this last cleaned? Master bed very soft and some pillows lumpy. The owners live right upstairs and were home the entire time of our stay, but never even came to say hello. We did not ever even met them. We arrived late afternoon and found the living room ceiling light was burned out. We called upstairs and they said they would replace it tomorrow, which is not very helpful when lights are needed at night. They never replaced it and never said anything about it. So two nights of a dim living room. The fridge water filter is completely past its life so that water only trickles out of the spout, so we had to drink the tap water which tasted quite bad (we never buy bottled water to avoid plastic waste). In our two phone conversations, Joni was terse and unfriendly. We have been to Hawaii numerous times. On this trip, Hana was days 8 and 9 for us, and we had to this point only had friendly interactions and a lot of "aloha", so this home was quite a disappointment for us and we would not recommend staying here.

  • Submitted: May 23, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, I do apologize for your experience here. Normally we like to greet our guests, give you a tour of the property and make sure all is well. I normally will do a walk through of the unit after it is cleaned by my gal to make sure all is well. Unfortunately my household was hit with a terrible flu the week of your stay and we were all sick in bed for days. When I spoke with you on the phone I literally was in a Nyquil induced daze so I again apologize for my "terse and unfriendly" manner. We did resolve the kitchen light issue(dimmer switch) and the ceiling fan light in front room did need to be changed. If I wasn't sick I would have come down that evening to fix it. As far as the cleanliness of the unit, I have no excuse. We take pride in our home and want our guests to have a great experience.I appreciate your review so we can make the necessary changes and improvements. Most of our guests really enjoy our cozy bed, sheets, and linen but bed firmness is definitely a personal preference. Again, thank you for your review. Aloha, Joni
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Rates & Availability

Hāna House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 14.18%

Please be honest when booking in regards to how many people will be staying. We like to provide enough linen and towels for our guests and we do charge an extra $25 per person per night for parties over 4. we do live on property so we will know how many people are in your party

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties