Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Our Lovely Hillside Oasis

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,750 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 30 nights


About the property

Beautiful Ocean Views From Almost Every Room. 3 Beds-3 Baths, Chefs Kitchen

Better rates available for multi-month stays. This beautiful light filled home has ocean views from almost every room. This house has been upgraded to a very high standard with Italian plaster and limewash on every wall inside and out, creating a wonderful ambience of color and natural beauty. The house has 3 bedroom, 3 baths, (2 en suite) and an outside shower. The master bedroom is 15' W x 18' L. There is a gourmet kitchen with Wolf Range, Viking Oven, Sub Zero Refrigerator, Microwave & enough counter space for 6 people to prep at the same time!

Spacious living room (23 x 17).

More Details

Fiona FitzHerbert
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 25, 2018

About Fiona FitzHerbert

We too are travelers. We have traveled all around the world and have lived on five continents. Having spent many months and years living in different parts of the world, we know the importance of our vacation rental being beautiful, luxurious and feeling like HOME.

Fiona FitzHerbert purchased this house in 2009

Why Fiona FitzHerbert chose Eucalyptus Hill

It's utterly beautiful! We wake in the morning and just go ahhhh... We step out on the decks and are continually captivated by the beauty of our home. We are health enthusiasts and have created our oasis to be just that. An ozonated hot tub to relax in pure warm water without the need for chemicals to toxify our bodies. An outside infrared sauna under our giant pepper tree, to sweat out the impurities. Fountains and gardens and views and privacy – just lovely! All the walls of our home inside and out are covered with natural old-world Venetian plasters, stucco and limewash. Walls that are natural and actually breathe. We love color, and as you can see in the pictures, we brought a whole slew of them into our perfect retreat property. We welcome you to come and experience our taste of ‘wonder’ and comfort when you come to Santa Barbara. We just had a recent guest from a competing website that had to say... 'Fiona's Santa Barbara Hillside Oasis is spectacular in every way. The posted description is accurate, but does not begin to describe the beauty of the home- the architecture, the decor, the landscaping, the neighborhood; the house is 5 star hotel clean, comfortable with silky sheets and fluffy absorbent towels, lovely scented body wash is available in all bathrooms. It is so pleasurable to sit outside on one of the many patios, balconies and terraces and just take in the splendor of the terraced gardens on the property. The house feels quite remote but is only a 5 minute drive to great hiking, the best beaches and the downtown Santa Barbara shopping and dining district. Fiona was wonderful to work with prior to our booking, providing prompt and comprehensive responses to our many questions. The welcome basket...'

What makes this house unique

This is just a stunning location. Close to the beach and town with everything that you can possibly need and more. Beauty, Ocean views, Island views, Harbor views, City views... it's all here to just enjoy. And our 5 year creation to make this home such a wonderful retreat for us, and for those that we love sharing it with.


Eucalyptus Hill House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2750 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub , 2 sinks, 6' Kohler Tub, fantastic views, very bright.
    Hallway Bathroom - toilet , shower , One of our green bathrooms with lots of style!
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , bidet , part of the on-suite of the back bedroom
  • All the bathrooms are beautiful. See the photos to get an idea about their unique individual looks. The master has a great Kohler bath and the adjacent glass enclosed shower all have wonderful views of the ocean and the islands beyond.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , Beautiful. deck, fantastic views, Dux bed.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 double , Smallest BR, fantastic view thru majogany arched windows
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Lots of light with own separate entrance to house.
  • With 3 bedrooms in the house, there are many luscious choices for sleeping everyone. A spacious master bedroom with stunning ocean views, large balcony, Brazilian mesquite floors, mahogany windows, California king bed, cable hdtv... very, very comfortable. Two other bedrooms in the house, one with its own attached full bathroom, and the other with great views and its bathroom directly across the hallway, about 3 steps away, or maybe just 2. This space is so very special for creative people and romantics. It is always a special place to spend time. Friends want it to just sit and meditate, others want it to write their books, or play their music. You feel like you have made it to somewhere very special indeed. Some just can’t bear the idea of leaving
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

93% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
Our Lovely Hillside Oasis
average rating of 4.8125 based on 16 reviews

RAIN, STORMS, and Santa Barbara

  • 2 of 5

Our stay consisted of mostly rainy days. Thus, for us, it was not a satisfactory trip. The property has many outside sitting areas with wonderful views. We rarely got to enjoy this because of all the rain. We were stuck inside. The home itself is quite run down. We didn't use the main shower because we didn't want to clean the glass after every shower. The living room had white carpet, so we didn't use it because we had 2 dogs and the mud from the rain was impossible to avoid. And the driveway was a challenge. We parked one car at the bottom along the road. The owner, Fiona, was lovely. Bottom line, we left 7 days early.

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In response to Valerie's comments: We were very sorry to hear that Valerie didn't have a good time during her stay. We take our guests very seriously and truly want everyone to have a good time. Although we desperately need rain in Santa Barbara, we were very sorry it happened during Valerie's stay. February this year had 160 percent of its usual rainfall, including one day when it rained 6 inches, so I do understand the weather was very challenging. As it had been quite rainy before Valerie's arrival, I purchased child gates to put on both interior entrances to the kitchen so Valerie could leave her dogs in there to dry when they came in from outside, but apparently she chose not to do so. As for the shower, I don't really know what to say. While we do respectfully request that our guests use the squeegee provided to clean off the glass shower enclosure after use, of course we can't enforce this, and it's not a deal breaker for us. We included our housekeeper twice a week during their stay, and I'm sure she could have handled the shower glass. Despite many communications during her stay, unfortunately Valerie never mentioned this to me. As for our home being run down, I'm not quite sure what she's referring to. All the walls inside and out are covered in Italian plaster, to give them an older look. We also collect antique furniture and other artifacts from all over the world, so it's true, these are not necessarily in pristine condition, because they're quite old. We keep the house to a very high standard, and each year before we go away, we redo the floors, clean the rugs, upholstery & windows, address any chips to the plaster, etc. All the bedding has been bought fairly recently and is only used a few months a year. Because we live on a hillside we do have quite a steep driveway, and I'm very sorry Valerie found this a problem. However, in four years of renting our home, this is the first complaint we've had about the steepness of the drive or the state of the house. Prior to this, we've only have five star reviews. But again, we're very sorry Valerie was unhappy and we will try to be more clear in our description of the property in the future. Clearly from her review, Valerie wasn't happy, and for this I'm very sorry. However, it sounds as if this may have been as much to do with the weather than our home. And yes, Valerie was also very nice to deal with.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Concord, MA

The perfect family retreat location

  • 5 of 5

This property is very well named, as it was indeed a hillside oasis. We brought together our family of four California-based children, spouses, significant others (and ourselves from the East Coast) for an end of summer get together. We couldn't have imagined a better place to do this. Everyone in our group was taken in by the location, beautiful house, and the tranquil outside spaces. The listing is very accurate but cannot capture the extraordinary ambience with pictures or words.

Everything was in perfect order,and we felt very much at home from the start. It was easy and enjoyable to cook meals for a group of eight and enjoy them in the delightful dining room, and in the outdoor seating area. Although we had plenty of activities planned, no one wanted to leave, and we found ourselves instead relaxing and enjoying being together on this picturesque hillside.

Most of all we hope to return to enjoy this entrancing place in the future.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We all loved the house, the location and overall, everyone raved about my selection. We had some minor issues that were immediately taken care of. My only complaint would be the steep driveway and the stairs to the Love Shack. Everyone wanted to sit up there for the view which for Texans is a real treat. The steepness didn't bother anyone else except me and the Uber drivers at night. At the age of 78 it was a little more challenging, but I did fine and took 45 minute walks with my kids every morning up and down the hills.

Everything was just as appeared on the wesite. I was familiar with Montecito, so I had some favorite Haunts and found more. We loved Lucky's for dinner, the Honor Bar and the Four Seasons for cocktails, and Janine's for breakfast and lunch. We also had a good breakfast at the Montecito Village Pharmacy and and found an Italian restaurant in the same area of upper Montecito. Brophy's is my favorite for seafood .

I most definitely would recommend this house to my family and friends and rate it five stars. The views are gorgeous.

Thank you Fiona for sharing your beautiful home with us.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very special house, views, and owner

  • 5 of 5

Terrific house in the hills that surround Santa Barbara. The views, obviously a focal point, look DIRECTLY down to town, the harbor and the sea. The house is perfectly situated in a way that takes advantage of this position but is itself a destination. It oozes character and is clearly very well taken care of. The house works well for a group of people with a variety of options. We ended up staying in the "Love Shack" due to the views and treetop feel. I would encourage you to also reach out to the owner who is readily accessible and accommodating.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Redwood City

Santa Barbara Riviera Bliss

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I (& Boston, the dog) rented this property for my birthday week. It's centrally located on the Santa Barbara Riviera with relatively easy access to downtown Santa Barbara. The views from this property are stunning, especially from the top of the property at the Love Shack. Upon arrival, we arranged for a fantastic masseuse to set up on the deck overlooking the ocean. It was the perfect temperature to have an outdoor massage. We utilized the spacious kitchen to make meals with our Tuesday afternoon farmer's market goodies. We also took advantage of the hot tub. This home has 3 large bedrooms in the main house, with a lovely "Love Shack" bedroom at the top of the property. Spacious kitchen, ample bathrooms, outdoor living rooms galore, great dining room. We loved the ornate decor that spoke volumes from the owner's trips all over the world! Only trick was managing a steep, narrow driveway everyday. Fiona answered all my questions and made me feel very welcome at her gorgeous home. Worth the visit! We'd love to return.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Newcastle California

A lovely and most enjoyable retreat

  • 5 of 5

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely hillside retreat. I can't give enough kudos to Fiona and the property managers who went to great lengths to ensure we had all we needed. Everything is as advertised on VRBO - the kitchen is amazing and the bedding is first class.The ocean and surrounding views are stunning - one could sit on the balcony and gaze at them all day.

The house itself brings the lovely setting indoors. The furnishings and layout are eclectic, mixing a Santa Barbara lifestyle with other cultures - truly charming. It is also very private. I've used VRBO to stay in many places, and if I have the chance again, I'll come back to this one. We loved it.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
13 Miles
Santa Barbara
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Many Bar/Restaurants Coast Village Rd, Montecito
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Montecito Golf Club
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Amtrak Santa Barbara Station, State Street, SB
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
101 at Hot Springs Rd, Montecito
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Many in Montecito & Santa Barbara
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Biltmore/Butterfly Beach, Montecito
Car: recommended

As well as being very close to the beach, the property is 2 minutes from world famous Lotusland, and minutes from many nearby natural parks and hiking trails.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,000
cleaning fee $190
Property Damage Protection $99
Pet Fee $150

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund