Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

A Beautiful, Accessible House With A 50' Lap Pool

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths2
Space 3,200 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights


About the property

Four Bedrooms, Four And 1/2 Baths Including A Studio Apartment

The main house has three bedrooms and three and one half bathrooms. Upstairs there is a party room with a four-person bar and dining for eight. The attached studio apartment has a bedroom, a full bath, and a small kitchen area. Three of the four bedrooms have direct access to the pool and ocean views. There is one king bed and two queens. The garden room has two single beds that can be used as a king. This is particularly good for children, as it is the only room without a door to the pool and patio.

The patio, surrounding the lap pool, is over 1,000 square feet. It includes a wood-fired BBQ and seating for eight.

The pool has two lanes, each 50' long. The depth is about three feet on one lane and four on the other.

The main floor of the house, including all bedrooms, is wheelchair accessible. The driveway is paved with stone, with ample covered parking for two vehicles.

More Details

Property Manager
Don Hutchison
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 24, 2018

About Don Hutchison

Don and Claudia met in Portland, OR in 1975. They bought a home in the Mt. Tabor neighborhood where they raised four children. Don taught mathematics for thirty years, most of it at a community college. Claudia worked in adoption, recruiting families for special-needs children.

The children are now spread out in four cities, Portland, Seattle, San Francisco, and Richmond, VA. Don and Claudia have six wonderful grandchildren. They still live in the Mt. Tabor area.

Don Hutchison purchased this villa in 2005

Why Don Hutchison chose Playa Hermosa

We first came to Costa Rica for our 20th anniversary. We loved it. Subsequent trips convinced us that we wanted to spend much of our vacation and retirement time there. We bought this property only after spending two months as VRBO guests in Playa Hermosa. We loved the multicultural aspects of the town. If you speak English, Spanish, or French, it is easy to communicate with most people in town. We built the house in 2005, and have made improvements to the house and property every year since then.

What makes this villa unique

Although the villa is beautiful and comfortable on the inside, Costa Rica is a place in which one lives outside. With warmth and sun for 12 hours every day, few restaurants or hotel lobbies even have inside seating. With music through the outdoor speakers, the lap pool, the grill, and outside seating, there are few reasons to be inside until after dinner. Even then it is comfortable out side nearly all year.


Playa Hermosa Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 3200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Master - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub
    Central - toilet , shower
    Garden - toilet , shower
    Apartment - toilet , shower
    Pool - toilet , outdoor shower
    Upstairs - toilet
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master - 1 king
    Central - 1 queen
    Garden - 2 twin/ single , Can be set up as a king bed
    Apartment - 1 queen , Includes a small kitchen/sitting area.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
A Beautiful, Accessible House With A 50' Lap Pool
average rating of 4.8421054 based on 19 reviews

You've got to stay here!

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect and the staff was extremely helpful. It was our first time to Costa Rica and I would highly recommend staying at this beautiful home. Very close to the beach and a general store. The views were amazing and we felt at home from the first day. It easily accommodated the 8 of us with room to spare.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Was unable to use the 50' lap pool for almost our entire vacation in CR

  • 2 of 5

When my family and I first arrived to Montebello, Kenya, one of the reps from Zindis gave us a quick tour of the home, which at first glance seemed very nice. As we made our way out to the pool, we noticed there was a thick green film in the pool and Kenya assured us that she would be calling someone to clean asap, although she was unsure how quickly they could respond since it was a Saturday. If Zindis knew that we were checking into Montebello on Saturday, why wasn't the pool cleaned and ready for us prior to our arrival? Needless to say, nobody came to clean the pool; Saturday or Sunday. On Monday, finally someone came to see the pool, he immediately looked as us and said, this pool is bad, it needs to be drained an cleaned and refilled. He assured us that we would be able to use the pool the next morning, Tuesday. We are now on the 4th day of our vacation. Tuesday morning, the pool man reappeared and told us that we could swim in the pool by 10am. We were able to use the pool on Tuesday, but then again on Wednesday, the pool had a film and algae growing on the bottom. A new pool company was called and after cleaning the pool again, we were told on Thursday that we could use the pool. One of the main reasons we chose this house, was for the pool and unfortunately we were only able to use the pool 2 days out of our 7 days in CR. Additionally, we had hundreds of bugs in the house. We understood that it was CRs rainy season and to expect some bugs, but there were hundreds; in the home, outside the home, dead and alive and no sooner did we sweep them outside, more returned. The small studio room had 50 bugs in the bathroom each morning, both dead and alive. When I contacted the rental company, I was told that the 'bug situation' was to be expected. I don't think that any renter would have expected this many bugs, rainy season or not. I counted 38 dead bugs in my bathroom on Friday morning. There was also an issue with the dishwasher. It did not work. We informed the rental company, Zindis and we were told that someone would be coming out to fix. No one showed ever showed up to fix the dishwasher during our stay. Montebello is a nice home with a beautiful pool; however it was clear to us that there were no preparations made for our arrival to Montebello on July 15th. The owner was very responsive to our concerns which we appreciated very much; however the rental company, Zindis was very disappointing. Get a new rental company.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We felt bad when we were contacted two days into this stay with the information that something was going wrong with the pool. Our property managers (Zindis) had the pool team on site that afternoon. Unfortunately the treatment didn't work. The problem was in the pump and it would take a few days to get the part from San Jose. We immediately extended a 50% refund to the renters. I was surprised that this was not mentioned in the review. The reviewer was upset about insects in the house. Zindis tried to explain that July in the tropics will include insect encounters. They are not biting insects, and the amount of insecticide needed to totally eliminate them would be unhealthy for humans. This led to a scathing review of Zindis. In all of our previous 19 reviews, there has been nothing but praise for Zindis. The pool is great now, and Zindis continues to get stellar reviews. Don
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Private, comfortable and beautiful views

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I just returned from Playa Hermosa recently after staying at Monte Bello 43. Located a couple of minutes from the beach (not walking), this home sits on a hillside in a gated community overlooking Playa Hermosa and the Pacific Ocean. Great Sunsets. Four very comfortable bedrooms each with full bathrooms. Nice living area with really large kitchen facility. The outside terrace with its 50' lap pool is wonderful (at least 15 ft wide). Depth in the pool is 3 to 5 feet depending on which half of the pool you are standing. Clever. This is where we BBQ'ed, had cocktails and dinner. Lovely. Only negative was a noisy HVAC wall unit in the master bedroom. We let Zindis (the property manager) know this so it could be repaired or replaced. Probably fixed by now, but check. Should not be a problem. When we go back to Playa Hermosa, we will stay there again. Enjoy.

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Spectacular setting.....Wonderful accommodations!

  • 5 of 5

I cannot say enough about what an extraordinary time I had staying here. The pool is beautiful, inviting, and huge!. The view of the beach and coastline from the pool deck leaves you wanting to do little more than stare in contentment. The sunsets are endlessly gorgeous, each one seeming more exceptional than the last. The property is extremely well maintained, inside and out. Everything you could possibly need for a comfortable stay has been made available. It is a setting that is perfect for relaxing or entertaining. It is only a short walk downhill to town and the beach. There are a number of restaurants in town ranging from casual to fine dining. It is a half hour drive to Liberia Airport.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Fort St.John

Amazing Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the Monte Bello home for 2 weeks, there were 7 adults. We could not have asked for a better accommodation for us. I did extensive research prior to booking and have no regrets for the choice we made. The home is laid out very well for a large group, there are 6 bathrooms and 4 bedrooms, not to mention the pool house, at no time did we feel cramped. The home has great Air Conditioning, WIFI, cable TV, and large well set up kitchen. We spent many days in the pool. The area is very safe and in a gated community. After touring the area Playa Hermosa is a very nice area to stay in, we were always glad to return here after our day trips. Dealing with Property Manager and the Owner of the property could not have been more of a pleasure, at no time did I have any hesitations during the booking process. In addition the home is an easy 30 minute drive from the airport. I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking, and I hope that I get to visit it again very soon.

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

THE view

  • 5 of 5

We just had the family vacation at this house and it was great. The house is very large and accommodates 10 people with no problem.

The view is amazing, and it makes hard to decide if you want to stay all day at the house or go to the breathtaking beaches all around.

We spent NYE there, and had a very nice view of the fireworks. Next day, January 1st, the beach was VERY crowded, so we spent the day at the house and it was very relaxing.

I can't recommend this place enough. Dealing with the owner was nice and easy, he was flexible and also he had this great property managers.

The house is near everything, supermarket, drugstore and beach. And you can also go to the next beach Playas del Coco (about 15 mins away), which has more development, night life and restaurants.

Property managers recommended very cool places to go, if you like a little adventure don't miss Playa Cabuyal. It's about 40 mins away, white sand, blue ocean beach.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
LIR (Liberia)
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Nearest Golf
9 Miles
Papaguyo Golf
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles
Playa Hermosa
Car: recommended

Have a sunset massage on the beach followed by a great meal in one of several world class restaurants within a mile of the villa.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Damage Deposit $300

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.