Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

SPECIAL 7-8 - 7/15!!! Spacious 6BR Two-story Ocean View Condo Steps to the beach

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Space 2,250 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Spacious 6BR 2nd row condominium with 2 balconies and 2 oceanview master suites

Located in the heart of beautiful Cherry Grove, this condo accommodates up to 14 people. Perfect for larger families or parties who appreciate easy access to the ocean and the historic Cherry Grove fishing pier. Pier Watch has 2 pools; one oceanfront and one 2nd row which are available to all renters. The unit has a balcony on the main floor as well as on the 2nd floor which is shared by the 2 master's suites. Full size kitchen and washer/dryer are provided. New flat screen TVs in Living Room and all Bedrooms in 2016. All weekly rental rates include bed linen rental. The property has a dedicated local handyman who lives only 10 minutes away. You will have both his and our phone number to ensure all your needs and expectations are met.


Owner
Donald Hirs
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
July 5, 2017

About Donald Hirs

The owner is an experienced real estate investor with multiple properties in Myrtle Beach. Your ultimate satisfaction is our goal.

Donald Hirs purchased this condo in 2009

Why Donald Hirs chose North Myrtle Beach

We purchased this property because we watched it being built after purchasing our first Myrtle Beach property. We attended open houses for several of the units when they were new. When we were presented with the opportunity to own a unit, we jumped at the chance.

What makes this condo unique

There are only 2 condo complexes in Cherry Grove that have 6 bedroom units. This unique feature allows larger parties to find accommodations that are right next to the beach without paying the high price of renting 2nd row beach houses.

Amenities

Cherry Grove Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2250 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 13 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • First Floor Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Large vanity with twin sinks
    2nd Floor Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Large vanity with twin sinks
    Master suite 1 bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Master Suite 2 Bathroom - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Large vanity
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • 1st floor Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    1st Floor Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    2nd floor Master Suite 1 - 1 king , Ocean view balcony
    2nd floor Master Suite 2 - 1 queen , Ocean view balcony and jetted tub
    2nd floor bedroom 3 - 1 king
    2nd floor Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Queen size pull-out in Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen size sleeper sofa in Living Room sleeps 2 -New in 2015
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

28% Complete
42% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
SPECIAL 7-8 - 7/15!!! Spacious 6BR Two-story Ocean View Condo Steps to the beach
average rating of 3.7142856 based on 7 reviews
Louisburg NC
4

Good!!!

  • 4 of 5

My stay was wonderful, my family and I enjoyed or vacation. The location was perfect and the view of the beach was beautiful.Mr. Hirs was very easy to work with and he took care of our minor needs. We will use his unit again .....April 2017

  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Large condo for a family.

  • 4 of 5

We arrived to a very cool condo. The condo has six bedrooms with six very comfortable mattresses. The maid service came and cleaned everything except the oven. We cooked most of our meals in a very good kitchen. We could have used more skillets and dishes. We had a TV in every room and were very close to the beach. Very nice location for our family. We will return again.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

great for large family

  • 5 of 5

nice play with unexpected amenities in the unit. utensils and kitchens tools were great. good pressure on the showers with plenty of hot water for a large group. had trouble with the TV in the living room and another couch or live seat would be nice, but this was minor. nicest place we've stayed in at cherry Grove in 10 years. parking is tight.... plan for it.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5

Great area, great condo for multiple families or large group. The location is great and just across from the pier which our grandchildren and adult children enjoyed. Ample parking. When we arrived Rob, the property manager was there with our keys and parking passes. The condo had just been cleaned and there was no problem there. Rob was very nice and said if we needed him to just give him a call and he would take care of whatever we needed. We had no problems so we never had a need to call him. Mr. Hirs, the owner was easy to communicate with and very helpful when we were making plans for our vacation and was very prompt in answering any and all questions that I had. It was a pleasure working with him. The only reason that I did not give 5 stars is because there were a few minor things that need to be fixed (such as missing drawer knob that needs to be replaced). In my conversations with Mr. Hirs earlier he had told me of some things that were in the plans to upgrade and change which can only be done during the off season. We were very pleased with the condo and had a wonderful time there. I am sure we will stay there again in the future if it is available.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review was received the week after the 1 star review. This review is fair and honest unlike the other one.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Akron, Ohio
1

Unacceptable

  • 1 of 5

We lost power in our condo 4 days after arriving. It was 96 degrees outside. We had no air conditioning, no fans, no lights...nothing for 30 hours. Even after power was restored (ours was the only condo affected) it took 12 more hours for the air temperature to get down to 74 degrees. Our entire condo was covered with a film of water from the humidity. 3 of the 4 children in our group could not walk the floors without falling. It also took over 8 hours for other accommodations to be offered. We had to pack by cell phone light at our end of the condo because the rooms were so dark, even in the daytime hours. Our food in the refrigerator and freezer had to be packed in coolers with ice we had to buy. We ended up going from a 6 bedroom, 4 bathroom condo to a 4 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo without a pool or walking access to the beach. We did have a "hot" tub at the 2nd condo, but the water was cold. The second condo had kitchen cabinet that fell off every time you opened it. The first condo was filthy. Our tub did not drain. After 24 hours of standing water, I (a 56 year old woman) unplugged the drain with my fingers. I pulled out tons of hair (not ours) and multiple pieces of plastic, including a women's razor cover (also not ours). There was also unemptied trash in our bathroom that included used feminine products (again, not ours). We were also missing hardware on our bathroom cabinets. The floors were so dirty and stained and the tubs were so dirty, I wore flip flops or slippers constantly, including while showering. Our mattresses were old and worn out. No matter how I laid, I ended up rolling toward the middle of the bed. If the owners of this condo are paying someone to clean this place, I advise you to fire them because they are not!

We did NOT get what we contracted for; a 6 bedroom, 4 bathroom, ocean access condo for the week. We are legally entitled to at least 2 days refund because we had no reasonable access to the condo in our contract. I have documented almost everything I mentioned above with pictures. If the owners would like to see them, I would be happy to send them to you.

If these issues are not addressed and corrected, I would not recommend to anyone to stay here. Ever.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's troubling that this renter decided to write this review. The power did go out which was out of control of anyone. The main breaker fuse failed for the unit which is located outside the unit and is the responsibility of the HOA to fix. Because the owner was (and always is) sensitive to the experience of the renters and wanted to make things right as quickly as possible, he spent $2,100 of his money to have a new breaker shipped overnight from California and installed the next day. Within 2 hours of notice of the issue, a new unit was found to move the renters for that night. The owner paid for that unit for 2 nights. The owner was in contact with the renters throughout the issue (not the renter who wrote this review). The renters were offered either a full refund of their money for the days they had left in the week or an alternate place which the owner spent several hours on the phone from Pennsylvania. The renter elected to temporarily stay in the unit I found them and said he was "very happy with everything we were doing for them and understood this was out of our control".. The condition of the condo they were moved to is out of my control and it does not belong in the review of my property. I politely request that future renters ignore this review and look at any others which are much more fair and honest. We always strive to provide what we advertise and have a dedicated handyman for the property who goes above and beyond for all renters. This is noted in several other reviews. We have received feedback from most renters that their stay was above and beyond what was advertised. We also take action on their recommendations for what can be improved for the next rental season.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
Greensboro
3

Good Location

  • 3 of 5

Location is good..loved being so close to the pier. Layout of villa worked well with multiple families. Parking was ample and provided easy access to unit.The kitchen/dining/living area was very nice.The handy man was helpful and dependable. I will say, however, that the cleaning crew needs to do a much better job. There was caked on dust and dirt on every ceiling fan...louvered closet doors had the same issue. The windows and sliding glass doors were all filthy. If the cleaning issue was addressed, I would consider staying here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The feedback is appreciated. The deep cleaning is an issue we've tried to address several ways over the past 2 years. Things like ceiling fans and louvered doors can only be done off-season because the unit is occupied all summer with only 4 hours to clean between renters. I personally cleaned all ceiling fans myself in December of 2014 when I saw the same issue. Clearly, we'll need to address the fans and doors again this off-season but I'm surprised they were dirty so quickly after I addressed them. The replacement of sliding glass doors is on the list of upgrades this off-season and we'll add cleaning of the windows to that effort. My family stays here at least once a year and we're dedicated to making certain that the unit maintains the level of quality that we expect for our own family.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Cherry Grove Beach Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Late Peak Summer
Jul 15 2017 - Jul 28 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,995
 
 
Late Summer
Jul 29 2017 - Aug 25 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,145
 
 
Early Summer
Jun 2 2018 - Jun 15 2018
4 night minimum stay
$375
$2,595
 
 
Summer
Jun 16 2018 - Jun 29 2018
7 night minimum stay
$2,750
 
 
Peak Summer
Jun 30 2018 - Jul 27 2018
7 night minimum stay
$2,950
 
 
Late Summer
Jul 28 2018 - Sep 1 2018
7 night minimum stay
$2,245
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$275
$1,150
$3,995
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Departure Cleaning $150
Tax Rate 11.0%

Check in and check out for weekly in season rentals is Saturday. The check in time is 4:00 PM and check out time is noon.
100% refund on reservations cancelled at least 90 days prior to check-in.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable