Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

June Specials! Sticks In The Sand 4A, On The Beach! 2 Bdrm, 2.5 Bath Slps 8

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Oceanfront Townhome 2 Bedroom, 2.5 Bath Sleeps 2-6 Directly on the beach

(Listing Note.... I have multiple almost identical 2 bedroom properties listed on VRBO so if your dates are not available try these Listings #586496, #639885, #838156, #586497. I also receive multiple inquires on the same day and travel for a living so please click the "SEND A MESSAGE" button to confirm availability and price for your dates instead of the "Request To Book" button otherwise our listings get dropped in the search rankings for declining your request and VRBO puts a hold on your payment amount that takes 48 hours to clear. )

The allure of Beaches of Miramar is as clear as our shoreline. We feature perhaps the best Florida beaches. Escape to a refreshing hideaway where you can unwind and rejuvenate. Admire the beauty of some of the best Gulf beaches. Marvel at the diverse architecture that defines our vibrant communities. Or learn about the area’s rich history, culture, and wonders. We promise you an experience filled with lasting memories.

In the Heart of Old Destin. Sunchase town-homes are the original highly-desired beaches of Destin, and you can't get a better seat. You will be within walking distance to some of Destin's favorite Restaurants. 1 block from the Whales Tale There's no pool here, but the ocean is all yours. Just step off your deck onto your own beach.

A 5 min drive of outlet malls, many restaurants, and other retail shopping. Want to go to the Destin Harbor, then give yourself ten minutes driving time, and you're there.

Close to everything, comes with everything.

Purchased in 2013 this newly remodeled unit is a 'no smoking, no pets. It has 2 Bedrooms which sleep between two to eight people. The unit comes fully equipped has a King Size master bedroom overlooking the ocean with a private balcony. The guest bedroom has a queen bed and twin bed with trundle bed. The guest bedroom also has its own full bath, lastly, a foldout queen in the living room with half bath provides three separate private sleeping spaces. There is a full kitchen and 2.5 baths. It comes with a 3 Flatscreen TV's including a 55' in the living room and a DVD Player. The Full Kitchen is equipped with appliances, dishes, silverware, and cookware. There are linens, towels, and a private Washer / Dryer for your convenience in the master bedroom for your convenience.

The two private balconies are equipped with chairs for a relaxing evenings in the breeze. A gated private staircase allows all renters direct access to the beach and first floor balcony with an outdoor shower and beach chairs to take to the beach, The scenery is complete with both a breathtaking view of the Gulf and the sounds of the waves breaking on the beach.

The Master bedroom is next to the ocean so you can hear the waves even with the doors closed.

There is one designated parking spot for this rental that accommodates 2 cars, and it is directly in front of the unit.

Beach Time

The scenery is complete with both a breathtaking view of the Gulf and the sounds of the waves breaking on the beach. Play in the beach all day and rinse off in the outdoor shower.

Lastly, enjoy privacy since the unit owns all the beach to to the water. No more looking for the perfect beach spot!

More Details

Owner
James Slatton
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2017

About James Slatton

We are not professional renters. This unit was originally purchased as James's home on the beach and for years he rented out the first floor. We call it Sticks in the Sand because it is on pylons on the beach. Now married with 3 children we are moving to a larger space and converting the whole unit to a rental. It has 2 individual units A and B, so we can rent it 3 ways Due to the success of the original Sticks in the Sand, We now have 4 townhomes to rent and continue to hope to provide our homes for families to enjoy.

James Slatton purchased this townhome in 2013

Why James Slatton chose Scenic Gulf Drive East

walking distance to a bar/restaurant and directly on the beach with private ownership all the way to the water. It can be rented 3 ways, a 2 bedroom, studio unit or both. So it was perfect to maintain all my renters in one location.

What makes this townhome unique

Centrally located between Destin, Baytown and Sandestin. I provide everything you need from child toys, chairs and your own piece of private beach to enjoy. There is an outdoor shower to rinse off in and two flat panels to relax indoors. Perfect for a couples getaway, a small family or group of friends. Sleep where you can hear the waves and not see the cars!

Amenities

Miramar Beach Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Guest bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    half bath - toilet , toilet and sink
    Outdoor shower - outdoor shower , outdoor shower with hot and cold water
  • 2.5 baths. Each bedroom has its own private bath. The half bath is located on the main floor with the kitchen and living room.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Guest - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , Twin with Trundle
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Mater king size bed, 2nd bedroom is queen with twin bed and trundle. The sofa pulls out to a queen as well. The property sleeps 8.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Sticks in the Sand is located directly on the ocean there is no better way to experience the beach. Our steps from the beach is actually a staircase in to the sand! This is a non smoking non pet unit. I do this in order to be able to rent to high allergenic customers and do not make exceptions. I provide the beach chairs but do not provide beach towels or umbrellas. Those can be rented from local vendors and set up daily.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

June Specials! Sticks In The Sand 4A, On The Beach! 2 Bdrm, 2.5 Bath Slps 8
average rating of 4.388889 based on 18 reviews
Birmingham, AL
5

Location was amazing! Owners were great.

  • 5 of 5

Couldn't have been better! The views from every balcony was amazing. The owners were helpful. Has everything you could need. Perfect location with no crowds

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying at Sticks In The Sand we enjoyed sharing our home with you and hope to see you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Your own private beach!

  • 4 of 5

We loved how we were right on the beach! No packing, rounding up kids so we can all walk together to the beach... we only had to open back doors & let kids play on the sand while the adults enjoyed coffee on the balccony :)

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location and the views are amazing

  • 5 of 5

This property was perfectly located directly on the ocean! We stayed a week and LOVED it. The place was clean and as described. We didn't have everything we needed, they only start you off with a started set of supplies, toilet paper, laundry detergent etc. But there is a circle K across the streets and a Winn dixie down the road that met the needs. Umbrellas were not provided but they were sold across the street and we were able store them in the beach closet. Overall a great stay and we will be back!

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco, CA
1

BUYER BEWARE

  • 1 of 5

Ridiculously poor value and customer service. I have some photos if interested.

Safety

The property is not well secured. The front door does not have a deadbolt to be used only from the inside, as a result, if one has a code to the front door outside locking mechanism, one can enter the unit. This happened during our stay - the owners gave the same code they had given us to another renter, who walked in on our Thanksgiving dinner! The owners gave the proper code to the other renters that day but could not change the code to our unit until the next day so we had no way to secure our unit overnight. Additionally, the smoke alarm upstairs where the bedrooms are located is missing.

Cleanliness

The refrigerator in the unit was not clean – there was sand and hair inside the refrigerator. Additionally, the floors had sand all over and swept into the corner and along side the walls.

Deceptive Marketing

The description and photos of this unit on VRBO fail to properly set expectations regarding the true condition of the unit. To identify a few items that convey the poor condition of the unit: (1) the ceiling has brown/black stains around the vent in the living room, (2) the popcorn ceiling layer is coming off the ceiling around the vent in the half bathroom, (3) the fan in the bathroom sounds like a jet engine, (4) the refrigerator door is scratched and is rusting, (5) the coffee table is scratched, (6) the toilet seat is dinged, (7) the living room sliding glass door is corroded, (8) the kitchen faucet leaks, (9) the sofa is scratched, and (10) the living room sliding glass and screen door are rigged for the locking mechanism.

Unscrupulous Business Practices

I emailed the owners regarding this discrepancy in their marketing vs. the actual condition of the unit and asked for a 20% discount. The owners responded they would have a look at the items after I check out and let me know. After the owners inspected the unit, instead of acknowledging the poor condition, they accused us of damaging their microwave and informed me they would be deducting the cost of a new microwave from my deposit. My party did not damage the microwave; unfortunately, we didn’t take a picture of the inside of all working appliances to defend ourselves.

Their lease is tight so think twice before you sign for this unit.

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The reason this review is being posted a full 6 months after her stay (Thanksgiving to March) is because CINDY YOUNG has so far asked for a discount on a holiday week(for a loud bathroom fan motor and because my furniture had scratches? ..It is a rental and people use it! ) After staying the complete week she left me with a burned up microwave. (I also have photos that I provided to your bank!) I then refunded her entire deposit minus the cost of the microwave. She then disputed the ENTIRE RENTAL AMOUNT with her financial institution (after I had refunded her deposit! So CINDY YOUNG then had her money and my money!) Once I corrected that attempt she then tried to shut down my listing and call VRBO to have them refund her money? I have spent so much time responding to her attempts to steal from me and damage my business that I do not wish to spend a second more responding to this nonsense. Ridiculous is the correct word! For those interested in Sticks In The Sand please take a look at the other Fifteen 4 and 5 star reviews over the last 2 years since I have owned this property or look at the hundred plus on my other properties and compare those reviews to CINDY YOUNG's. We are not perfect, but when notified of an issue we try and correct every issue during your stay to try and make every vacation enjoyable and memorable.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Okay

  • 2 of 5

My husband and I honeymooned here and both agreed views are the best part of this place, the price was overall not bad for being right off the water but the whole apartment was dirty and in need of a good THOROUGH cleaning along with other upgrades that are needed. The dishwasher doesn't work right either. The owner was helpful and easy to get ahold of.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your feedback, We are sorry the cleaning was not up to our standards. I reviewed my notes and did not see you report any issue upon check in or during your stay with either the cleaning or the dishwasher? We can not fix what we are not alerted too? The maid service guarantees their work if an issue is reported in the first 24 hours they will come back and clean it again. Deep cleans are done twice a year (Nov and Early May) Our biggest challenge is even though we ask everyone not too people like to leave the door open to hear the ocean which leaves us with a lot of dust and usually a frozen air conditioner. I will check in to the Dishwasher ASAP. In regards to the upgrades needed the photos are accurate to what you rented, so not sure how those expectations were not met? Thanks again for staying at Sticks in the Sand
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location!!!

  • 4 of 5

Wonderful stay and great value. Nice condo not brand new, unit needs some maintaining for sure. Dishwasher did not work correctly. Unit has pretty upgrades though. We were still happy for value and location. We would stay there again.

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Wendi, We enjoyed hosting you. Sorry about the confusion with the dishwasher. It actually worked correctly but the handle gets jammed on that model. If you just closed the door without holding the handle it worked fine. We dispatched appliance repair and for $100 they said they fixed it? However, it appeared to be a re-occuring issue with some guest so we just swapped it out for a new Bosch quiet unit. Look forward to seeing you next time at Sticks In The Sand. James and Shari
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
13 Miles
Fort Walton Beach
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Whale's Tail
Nearest Golf
0.1 Miles
Seascape
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Whale's Tail
Nearest Beach
Miramar Beach

Golf: Moments for dozens of great golf courses like Regatta Bay, Kelly Plantation and the Sand Destin Courses. Coupons available in the unit for 2 for 1 play!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Miramar Beach Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring
Apr 8 2017 - May 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$150
From
$175
Fri,Sat
$1,350
 
 
Memorial Weekend
May 26 2017 - May 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$1,175
Flat fee
 
 
June Special
May 29 2017 - Jun 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
$225
From
$250
Fri,Sat
 
 
First Week
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,995
Flat fee
 
 
Peak Summer
Jun 10 2017 - Jun 30 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,195
 
 
July 4th
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,395
Flat fee
 
 
Peak Summer 1
Jul 8 2017 - Aug 18 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,295
 
 
Back to School Specials
Aug 19 2017 - Sep 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$200
From
$250
Fri,Sat
$1,350
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 1 2017
1 night minimum stay
$300
Flat fee
 
 
Fall Specials
Sep 2 2017 - Nov 10 2017
3 night minimum stay
$195
From
$225
Fri,Sat
$1,350
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$315
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $400
Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.5%

We recommend E-Check to book online without the 3% VRBO transaction fee being deducted from your deposit. Holiday rates vary. Your deposit will be refunded 7-14 business days after checkout. 4pm check in -10 am check out. All our calendars are kept offline until all Sticks In the Sand Properties are booked.

WE DO NOT rent this property to those under 25 during spring break, however we do rent in to them in other seasons but require special terms and conditions, additional deposits and insurance. The owner must be notified if you are under 25 at the time of inquiry or you will be considered a falsified reservation and cancelled in accordance with our terms and conditions.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable