Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

January Special - Oceanfront Villa, Pool, Exceptional View, Beach Access

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 5)

'Sur la Mer' is a delightful cottage situated on the Caribbean coast of Saint Lucia in the Marisule section of Gros Islet. The cottage is located very close to East Winds Inn. The cottage is approximately 20 minutes by car from George F. Charles airport (SLU) and approximately 1 hour and 15 minutes from Hewanorra airport (UVF).

The cottage offers privacy, yet it is still close enough to enjoy the hustle and bustle of the Rodney Bay area with its fine restaurants and nightly entertainment. Enjoy a fabulous view of the Caribbean Sea from the cottage’s covered verandah, take a swim in its swimming pool or take a walk along the ocean’s edge through a wooded path to the beautiful beach at the world-famous Windjammer Landing Hotel. If you are looking for a truly relaxing experience or for a fun-filled vacation, this is the cottage for you.

The cottage overlooks Choc Bay the gateway to Castries harbor. Castries, the capitol of Saint Lucia, is the main center of commerce on the island. Cruise ships arriving in Saint Lucia tie up at the docks in Castries harbor. From the cottage’s verandah you can watch the cruise ships, as they arrive. Or, you can daydream about days gone by, as you watch the tall-ship Brig Unicorn sail past making its daily trip from Rodney Bay to Soufriere.

'Sur la Mer' is designed to take full advantage of its seaside location. All major living areas open onto a large, covered verandah, which faces the pool and the Caribbean. The cottage offers the best of outdoor living. Take in the views of the Caribbean, as you eat a wonderful candlelight dinner either on the verandah or in the living and dining room. Relax and savor your favorite tropical drink while enjoying the sun setting over the Caribbean.

The cottage offers two bedrooms, each with French-style doors that open onto the cottage’s verandah. A third bedroom is available, which is ideal for one person. The master bedroom affords the comfort of a private bathroom, while the other bedrooms share a bathroom. The two main bedrooms each have twin beds, which are made up as king size beds. The two main bedrooms have ceiling fans and air-conditioners.

It is your vacation! We want to help to make it one of the most enjoyable and memorable vacations of your life. 'Sur la Mer' has maid service five days a week. If you want to feel pampered, shopping and cooking services can be requested. Other services, such as automobile rentals and day tours, can also be arranged. Just let us know what it is you want!

'Sur la Mer' is ideal for a couple seeking a romantic getaway, friends wanting to relax by the sea or a family just looking to spend some quality time together.

Additional photos upon request!

Contact owner for Extended Stay and Family pricing.

Keywords: villa, private villa, pool, infinity-edge pool, large pool, oceanfront, verandah, large covered verandah, Saint Lucia, St Lucia Villa Rental, Caribbean Sea Views, Windjammer Landing

More Details

Owner
John De Young
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 17, 2017

About John De Young

Dorothy and I have been retired since November of 2006. We now spend our time traveling. We just love traveling, but we are always glad to return to our home in Saint Lucia. We have made so many friends in Saint Lucia, and every time we return it is like coming home. Sur La Mer is a very special place. We are always so pleased to share it with our guests, and we hope that all our guests will have the same sense of joy that we have. It really doesn't get any better than a day at Sur La Mer. We hope that we have the opportunity to share our little piece of paradise with you.

Dorothy and John De Young

John De Young purchased this house in 2004

Why John De Young chose Gros Islet

When we would Sur La Mer in 2004, we were instantly taken by the view. There was no pool then and the house and grounds were in desperate need of care. Once we walked through the front door and looked to the sea, we knew that all the work needed to bring this wonderful property back to live would be totally worth it. We were up to the challenge, so we took the plunge. We have not regretted it.

What makes this house unique

Exceptional View, large pool with infinity-edge, short walk to beach, fantastic verandah, private (but not remote) location, close to shopping and night-life, well equipped villa

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear John,



A belated email to say what a truly wonderful time we had at your perfect house in St Lucia. We just loved every minute and were devastated not to get marooned there due to any volcanic ash cloud! What a special place - sitting on your verandah with nothing in sight but the Caribbean Sea is truly magical and feels like there is no one else around. We also had some wonderful meals in Rodney Bay (Buzz was especially friendly and great food) and a fun day out to the Pitons, Volcano etc. We would just love to visit again next April...



All the best and a big thanks for your wonderfully helpful team in St Lucia. Luenda was lovely, Robert hugely helpful and the car hire lady just brilliant.



Caroline
Mar 2010
  • 1 of 3

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
George Charles at Vigie in Castries
Nearest Barpub
350 Metres
Windjammer Landing Beach Bar
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
Calabash Cove Resort
Nearest Beach
200 Metres
East Winds Inn and Windjammer Landing Beach
Car: recommended

Amenities

Gros Islet House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • King size beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Air Conditioning (bedrooms), Golf nearby

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

95% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
January Special - Oceanfront Villa, Pool, Exceptional View, Beach Access
average rating of 4.952381 based on 24 reviews
4

Great stay & perfect for getting off the grid!

  • 4 of 5

We recently stayed at Sur La Mer from 9/10 - 9/15. The location is very much off the beaten path and I would highly suggest using the driver (Mr. Paul) to get you to the villa. We stopped at the grocery store on the way to the villa and underestimated what cooking supplies would actually be there (there was salt and that's it). Aside from that, the villa is very spacious & clean and we spent the majority of the time lounging by the pool which is lovely. The only other thing that was a let down was the bed/pillows definitely need updating - the beds are very firm and pillows are worn too thin. East Winds Inn and Windjammer were both closed at the time, which we learned after walking over to them for lunch one day but since the beaches are public, we were able to use them if we wished. Luanda - the house keeper - came and tidied up the house for us and was very kind. I would suggest renting a car for a day or two to explore the island and see the area - we went to Cap Estate and hung out at smuggle's cove for a day where we had a fabulous meal at the Naked Fisherman. Overall, I would stay here again but would be sure to buy enough groceries beforehand and perhaps bring my own pillow!

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Right Choice for Active Family of Four

  • 5 of 5

Sur La Mer was a perfect accommodation for our family (ages 55, 51, 11, and 13) on our recent visit to St. Lucia. We found it to be spacious, quiet, and nestled in a beautiful setting overlooking the Caribbean Sea. We used all 3 bedrooms. The third one, which is not pictured on the sites I have seen, includes a single bed with no air conditioning. My son found it comfortable nonetheless as fans kept the breeze moving. Luenda (the housekeeper) offered to move the bed into one of the bedrooms that was air conditioned - there would have been plenty of space but it was not necessary. We traveled in late June, so the weather was quite hot and humid with occasional rain showers. As a result we used the pool in the morning and later afternoon to cool off. The pool is a generous size and depth and provides an amazing view. We visited the beach at East Winds via the walking trail and drove to the beach at Calabash Cove (could have walked) where there was easy parking. The beaches are nice for swimming; you can snorkel but there is no reef here. Recommend beach shoes due to sea urchins that are here and there. You cannot eat at East Winds; we could have at Calabash Cove which has an amazing view but is expensive (and with kids wasn't worth it to us). We cooked quite a bit and Luenda prepared two meals for us which were very good - her Curry Chicken was our favorite. We did not go out at night to dinner much as driving in the dark on the opposite side of road was a little intimidating for us. We were transported from the airport (we flew into Hewanorra) to the house by taxi - about a 90 minute scenic drive Mr. Paul who was recommended to us by the owner's rep is a lovely gentleman. He took us to the grocery store on the way to the house so that we had provisions in advance of our rental car arriving at the house the next day. From the house we drove to Rainforest Adventures in Babonneau (highly recommend) and made two day trips south to snorkel at Anse Chastenent and Anse Cochon (great beach bar lunch here). Also snorkeled along the south end of Reduit Beach and had lunch at Marie's Fish Shack. I used google maps on my phone to get around and it was as reliable as it is in the US (which means you sometimes get off track). The trips south took about 60 to 90 minutes as the roads are up and down and curvey so your pace is slow. I would highly recommend Sur La Mer for people who prefer quiet, self-catering accommodations.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review! It is always a pleasure to hear from guests about their time at Sur La Mer and on the island of Saint Lucia. We are glad that you enjoyed Sur La Mer's pool and the view. We agree with you that Mr. Paul is a lovely man and that Luenda tries very hard to insure that guests have a wonderful stay at Sur La Mer. You were great guests. When you return to Saint Lucia, we hope that you will once again consider Sur La Mer for your stay. All the best to your family and you! John and Dorothy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fun in St. Lucia

  • 5 of 5

Great Vacation!

Nice house, staff was great - very helpful.

The pool overlooking the ocean was fantastic.

We actually spent more time in the pool than the ocean.

Favorite restaurants - Big Chef Steakhouse and Tapas on the Bay - make sure to go when they have live entertainment.

Would highly recommend you make arrangements for transportation from the airport - Paul was very helpful.

Also, travel around the island by boat instead of driving.

Very pleased, would definitely return.

  • Submitted: May 23, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Cindy, Dorothy and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Sur La Mer and on the island of Saint Lucia. It sounds like you did a lot during your stay, and we are pleased that you found our staff very helpful. Luenda, George and Ena all loving sharing their with our guests, and we think that this makes for a nicer experience for our guests. You were great guests. It was a pleasure to work with you to put together an enjoyable vacation for your family and you. When you decide to return to Saint Lucia, we hope that you will choose Sur La Mer again for your stay. All the best to your family and you in the future. John and Dorothy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful, private, convenient, a real gem

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from a week long stay at Sur La Mer. The house is spacious and clean. and the St. Lucian staff are warm and friendly, from Ena who acts as the local property agent/concierge to Luenda, Paul and George who keep the place clean, drive you places if you desire and keep the grounds groomed. Luenda will cook a meal for you is desired and she is an excellent cook.

The property is very private, sitting on a hillside overlooking the ocean with woods on both sides. The infinity pool is large, kept clean and offers a beautiful view of the bay. You have the place to yourself.The staff comes at prearranged times to take care of cleaning so you have no worries.

The master bedroom has an ensuite that is large with a big shower. The second bedroom is actually larger but the bath is across the hall. Both have doors that can open to the veranda running across the entire back of the house. All are air conditioned for night time sleeping.

We spent most of our time on the veranda or in the pool, taking all our meals there.

This is the tropics and it will get warm and humid. It was wonderful to take a quick dip in the pool for an instant cool down. Bugs are a fact of life in the tropics. Mosquitos were not a huge problem but if you go to St. Lucia and stay anywhere, you will get bitten. We went on a catamaran excursion with people from the most exclusive resorts and they had as many mosquito bites as we did. Bring bug spray.

This was the most restful vacation we have taken in years. The only sounds at night are the chorus of tree frogs and cicadas. In the morning we awoke to a symphony of bird calls.

We hired a car but you can manage without one. Most of the companies doing tours will pick you up and Paul can take you places like the grocery store for supplies. There are two resorts with nice beaches within easy walking distance. We liked the one at Calabash Cove just to the south. All the beaches in St. Lucia are public. There is a small fee ($20) for resort facilities. We used the car mostly for dinner trips into nearby Rodney Bay or grocery runs for breakfast and lunch. I highly recommend having Paul pick you up at the airport and take you back, even if you rent a car. Sur la Mer would be hard to find on your own the first time and the drive from the airport is about 90 minutes through mountain roads. Ena can arrange a rental for you with a local company that will deliver the car to the property and pick it up as well.

You will not be disappointed.

  • Submitted: May 21, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Michael and Sandra, It sounds like the two of you really enjoyed your stay at Sur La Mer. We are so glad that you enjoyed the verandah and pool. When we bought Sur La Mer the verandah was half its current size and there was no pool. We extended the verandah and added the pool, because we felt that both would really enhance the enjoyment of Sur La Mer for ourselves and our guests. Your comments really confirm our thoughts. Thank you for the description of the bedrooms and bathrooms! With the layout of the bedrooms as it is, we feel that Sur La Mer is ideal for two couples wanting to spend a leisurely vacation on Saint Lucia. The AC in the bedrooms is wonderful for those hot summer days. However, during the winter months we seldom use it, because the fresh air is just so nice. We are glad that you found your way over to the Calabash Cove resort. We like the beach at the resort and the view from the dining room, especially at sunset. Although, we think the sunset view at Sur La Mer is better. I am sure that Luenda, George, Ena and Paul enjoyed having you stay at Sur La Mer. They will all be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. You were great guests. It is always a pleasure to have people stay at Sur La Mer who really appreciate how great Sur La Mer and Saint Lucia are. We hope that you do have the opportunity to return to Saint Lucia and that you will stay again at Sur La Mer. We wish you well for the remainder of 2017 and into the future. Thank you for staying at Sur La Mer! John and Dorothy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Wonderful place to stay

  • 5 of 5

This place is amazing. It's very comfortable and relaxing. The view of the Caribbean is great. Having a private pool is the best! John and his local staff are wonderful. They will take care of whatever you need. John answered all our questions and made our trip easier. We rented a car which was delivered right to the villa. We were close to great restaurants, beaches and Rodney Bay Marina. If you're looking for something quiet and with privacy, this is it! We ate breakfast every morning on the veranda with an amazing view of the Caribbean. Also, the sunsets are gorgeous whether your relaxing in the pool or lounging on the veranda. The housekeeper Luenda and on island agent Ena are very friendly and very helpful. Luenda will even cook you a meal or shop for you. We even arranged for a couples massage on the veranda which was so relaxing. This place has incredible charm and is the perfect place for that romantic trip where you can avoid the masses. Overall, this was an incredible honeymoon for my wife and I. Thanks John for having it available. It was truly a vacation of a lifetime.

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our little piece of paradise. Sur La Mer is a very special place on a special island. It really sounds like the 2 of you had a great honeymoon. Watching the sunset is also one of our favorite things to do at Sur La Mer, and watching it from the pool is best place of all. Although the verandah is quite nice too! We are very pleased that you found Ena and Luenda helpful during your stay and that you were able to enjoy Luenda's cooking. You were great guests. We were so pleased to share Sur La Mer with you. Thank you for choosing Sur La Mer as a destination for your honeymoon! We hope that when you return to Saint Lucia, you will once again choose Sur La Mer. All the best to you in your future, John and Dorothy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Bern, Switzerland
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5

We, two couples in our forties, escaped from the last kicks of winter in Switzerland to this paradise where you can stay all the time in shorts and t-shirt.

In the process of booking the two last weeks of March 2015 it was great how fast the owner, John, responded to my mails. He was also very helpful and gave very good advices. His on-island-agent Ena was also very helpful and gave great advices for sailing, horseback riding and a hike up the gros piton.

The house is located in a beautiful, remote area. It is at the end of a dead end street and pretty quiet. You hear the noises of the birds, frogs and insects more than anything else. :-)

Nevertheless in 10-15 minutes you can be -by rented car or taxi- in Rodney Bay or Castries with all its restaurants and supermarkets.

The size of the house felt just right for the 4 of us. It was neither too big, nor too small. Having the wonderful pool to ourselves was better than we expected. Many times a day we would go for a short swim to cool off a bit and refresh. We ended up going less to beaches and staying more around the wonderful house. Reading, sleeping...just relaxing.

The view of the ocean from the house and especially from the infinity edge pool is breathtaking. Sipping on a cool Piton or Heineken in the pool while the sun is melting into the ocean is something I can highly recommend. ;-)

Even from the bathroom of the master bedroom you can see the ocean.

The whole stay even exceeded our already high expectations. Everything was as described. I can highly recommend booking a stay at this wonderful house in paradise.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2015
  • Stayed: March 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased that your party enjoyed their stay our little piece of paradise. Sur La Mer is a very special place on a special island. It really sounds like the 4 of you had some quality time relaxing by the pool. Watching the sun set is one of our favorite things to do at Sur La Mer, and watching it from the pool is best place of all. Although the verandah is quite nice too! You were great guests. We so enjoyed sharing our knowledge of the island and Sur La Mer with your party. Thank you for choosing Sur La Mer as a destination for your holiday! We hope that when you return to Saint Lucia, you will once again choose Sur La Mer. All the best to you in your future, John and Dorothy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

High Season: Rates start at US $290 for 2 people in one room.
Low Season: Rates start at US $225 for 2 people in one room.
Nightly rates vary with time of the year, duration of stay and party size.
Rates include villa rental, utilities, housekeeping services, concierge services and all taxes.
C
A booking form outlining all terms will be supplied.
Contact owner for extended stay and family rates.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund