Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Breathtaking water view, small beach area to launch our canoe, Cavendish nearby

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,700 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

This fully furnished property meets all of your needs away from home

Vacation on the beautiful North Shore of Prince Edward Island with world renowned golf courses, lobster suppers, Green Gables and deep sea fishing. This two storey cottage, with a Canada Select 4 star rating, has the main living spaces all overlooking a spectacular view of the New London Bay. Sit on the upper or lower deck and watch the boats head out to the ocean or take in the spectacular sunsets. Canoe on the bay, walk along the bay beach or bike a short distance to the Cavendish National Park. It is only 30 minutes to Charlottetown or Summerside from this ideal location.

A BBQ and fully loaded kitchen can accommodate meals at home. With 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, fireplaces, living room, family room and laundry room, it will be home away from home. There are plenty of games, movies, puzzles and books to occupy you on a day spent inside. A canoe and three bikes are available for your use.

Island Dream is our second cottage that we rent on this beautiful peninsula. Island Solitude Beach House is our other property.

More Details

Owner
Debbie Godfrey
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 4, 2017

About Debbie Godfrey

I was born and raised on Prince Edward Island. I presently live in Ontario but visit P.E.I. every summer and stay in a third cottage we own in Seawood Estates. My husband Glenn manages the cottages in the summer while I fly back and forth to work. All of my family live on P.E.I. and when you visit this beautiful island you will understand why they never wanted to leave! My sister Carol manages the rental properties for me. She is available to take care of any of our renters needs.

Debbie Godfrey purchased this house in 2004

Why Debbie Godfrey chose Stanley Bridge

This cottage was bought in 2004 as a newly built home. I fell in love with the area because of it's tranquil waterfront location. The peninsula of Seawood estates is shaped like a horse shoe and projects about one mile into New London Bay. Convenient footpaths provide easy access to the waterfront and two miles of shoreline around the peninsula. The sunsets in this area are spectacular especially from the deck of this cottage. I had to own a little piece of this paradise!

What makes this house unique

I fell in love with this cottage when I took in that beautiful view of the bay, the red P.E.I. cliff in the distance and the fact that I could see water from every living space in the cottage. Watch the boats head out to the ocean while you sit on the lower or upper deck. A 300 yard walk in front of the cottage provides a beach area to sit and lounge in the sun and allow the kids to make sand castles.

Amenities

Seawood Estates House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
  • Two bathrooms: one is a full bath and the other is full, minus a tub only a shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , 2 bunk bed
  • Three bedrooms: two with queen beds and one downstairs with two bunks where one bunk has a lower double futon.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 3 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
A free national park pass is provided. Enjoy our canoe with life jackets in the bay 300 yards from the cottage. Seawood Estates has over 6 km of private clay roads to explore with one of our three complimentary adult bikes and three kid's bikes. KITCHEN SERVICE: We would be happy to stock the kitchen with your preselected groceries, wine and beer so your kitchen is stocked and ready when you arrive. This service costs $150.00. The cost of the items on your list is extra. We also provide a ROMANTIC PACKAGE for two which costs $150.00. It includes Champagne, silk rose petals, gourmet chocolates and lit candles for anyone celebrating a special occasion!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

Breathtaking water view, small beach area to launch our canoe, Cavendish nearby
average rating of 4.7 based on 10 reviews
5

Excellent Location! Very roomy and clean!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our recent vacation in P.E.I. and this cottage was the perfect location from which to tour the entire island, from the north tip to the east point and still be back each night in our cozy beds. It is located just minutes away from all the Anne attractions which was also very convenient for our a

party. The cottage was nice and roomy, well furnished and very clean. I would highly recommend this property for anyone vacationing on P.E.I. and wanting to be centrally located. I would point out though that it would not be suitable for anyone who was disabled or had trouble doing stairs as to access the main living quarters you do have to go up a flight of stairs outside. This was not a problem for our group but could be for some travellers. There were also several good restaurants within a short driving distance from this location. All in all, this cottage was perfect for mother/daughter/granddaughter getaway!

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Rhonda for reviewing our cottage. We really enjoy hearing what you liked about it. It is true that you have to be somewhat fit to do those stairs!! Please come again in the future. It was a joy to have you. Debbie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Family Vacation!!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at this cottage. It was very clean and the perfect size for us with lots and lots of room for our family of 5. We biked around the neighbour, played soccer, had a bonfire, and enjoyed the wonderful view from the deck. The location of the cottage was also great because we were only a short distance to everything that Cavendish and the surrounding communties had to offer, deep sea fishing, parasailing, Beaches etc..I would definitely stay here again!! Great family vacation!!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I appreciate the time it took to write a review of our cottage and what you enjoyed about it and PEI.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This IS the place to stay! Spectacular view, perfectly located, and spotlessly clean

  • 5 of 5

We give this vacation rental our highest possible recommendation! When we go back to PEI we would for sure stay here. First it is perfectly located-just minutes from national park, live music, great restaurants, and the bay is your front yard! Second the owners could not be more wonderful-the place was spotlessly clean, they provide a national park pass, bicycles, canoe and were always available to answer any questions. We have stayed at several VRBOs from NY NY to Yosemite and can say this was the best!!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words Nelda. It was an absolute pleasure to have you come from such a distance. I am delighted you enjoyed our cottage and welcome you back with open arms.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Fun island

  • 3 of 5

Prince Edward Island is wonderful best vacation I've ever had. That being said the house was nice and in a great location. Adequate furnishings if a little old. My one complaint was after we were gone the whole rating system and deposit was a disaster. They docked us 30 dollars because they had to wash the rugs in front of the showers. It is nasty if that wasn't going to happen anyways. Then to take it a step further because of the rugs they gave us 2 stars for cleanliness. Mind you that was the only complaint. I was disappointed and felt like it was petty. The people who own the cottage seem nice and they are helpful with their info so I was a bit surprised. If you want your full deposit and a good review be ready to clean the house like a maid before you leave. Other than that no complaints.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Heidi, I am glad you liked PEI and hope you return some day in the future. I am sorry you were disappointed that a portion of the damage deposit was held. My sister Carol who cleans the cottage and husband Glenn, the property manager inspect the cottage when our guests leave. If they find the house requires extra cleaning and rug washing due to excessive dirt and food on the floors and large floor matts in the living spaces, as per or rental contract we deduct a reasonable amount to account for that. VRBO has just recently started a renter rating system: once a renter leaves, VRBO asks us to rate our experience with them: overall, cleanliness, communication and house rules.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Extremely neat and clean, both inside and out. Owners take great pride in their property.

  • 5 of 5

The property is centrally located, making it a great home base from which to tour the island. The neighborhood is quiet. We liked sitting on the deck inthe evening to watch the sun set. Peaceful and serene. Sunrise on the red cliffs on the opposite shore were beautiful. There is a small community park at the end of the street with breathtaking views of the harbor and dunes. A great walk, and another nice vantage point for watching the sun set.

The house has a great layout, and plenty of room. We had everything we needed for the week. Beds were comfortable. Plenty of storage and closet space. The chest of pamphlets of area attractions was very helpful, and the owners recommended a few places to us which were perfect. They also provided a national park pass, which was a great benefit, as were the bikes and canoe.

The first day we were there the internet wasn't working, and the owner took care of it right way.

The east end of the national park was less crowded than the west end, so we enjoyed that part of the park more. Gardens of Hope at the Preserve Company was beautiful, and the PEI potatoe pie they serve was excellent. The seafood at Carr's was even better than the owners claimed. The Ross Family ceilidh at Stanley Bridge was a high energy, rousing performance of Acadian and traditional music. Had a lot of fun. And our pilgrimage to Green Gables was fulfilling.

I would definitely recommend this home to anyone interested in a PEI vacation. The owners were very prompt in their responses, and gave a great deal of information to us prior to the trip in assist in our planning. I would rent this home again!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Emily for sharing what you liked about the cottage and the area. I appreciate all the detail you shared and the time you took in writing it! We would welcome you back any time. You left the cottage in excellent condition.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Prince George, BC
5

Island Dream House

  • 5 of 5

We appreciated the organization before the trip, the app providing all the info we needed and the ease of access to the house.

It was wonderful to be at the beach with no one in front of us, making for a fabulous view.

The use of the bikes and canoe wss a nice bonus and the jet skis/kayaks were super close to rent.

The house had everything we needed and was super clean.

The list of "to do in PEI" left by the owners was a great guide for us and we did it all!

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to tell me what you liked about our cottage. It was an absolute pleasure having you choose us for your vacation and I hope you return in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
26 Miles
Charlottetown
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Carr's Oyster Bar
Nearest Ferry
60 Miles
Wood Island Ferry
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Anderson Creek Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Carr's Oyster Bar
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Cavendish National Park
Car: necessary

Island Dream Beach House is in Seawood Estates (seawoodestates.ca), a private community located on the North Shore of P.E.I. adjacent to the world famous Cavendish National Park and Anne of Green Gables. This two storey home has all of the main living spaces overlooking a gorgeous view of the New London Bay.A minutes walk in front of the cottage is a shore/beach area. It lies on the west side of a peninsula of about 140 acres with two miles of shore around it. Enjoy 4 well renowned golf courses within a 10 minute drive, restaurants offering lobster suppers, seafood outlets and homemade bakeries, and plenty of activities in Cavendish for young and old. Being 30 minutes from Charlottetown or Summerside provides an excellent starting point to tour the island.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Seawood Estates House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
May/June 2017
May 13 2017 - Jun 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
$238
From
$256
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,098
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $7 per night, per additional guest
 
Peak 2017
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 1 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,354
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $7 per night, per additional guest
 
Sept 2017
Sep 2 2017 - Sep 29 2017
4 night minimum stay
$238
From
$256
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,098
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $7 per night, per additional guest
 
Peak 2018
Jun 30 2018 - Aug 31 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,390
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $7 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$238
From
$256
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $11 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $146.36

Cancellations made before 2 months of arrival are fully refundable. Within 1-2 months of arrival, a refund on the reservation deposit minus $250 is returned. There will be no refund on the reservation deposit for cancellations made within 1 month of arrival.However, all cancellations will have a full refund minus a $75 booking fee if the week can be rebooked.$75 can be applied to a future booking.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties