Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

That 70's Cottage on beautiful spring fed Big Cedar Lake

Sleeps18
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,700 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2,850 sq ft, 3/3 with basement apartment; beds sleep 12, 6 more using sofa beds

Two story cottage with basement apartment overlooking beautiful (269 acre) Big Cedar Lake near Marcellus in southwest MI. Boathouse with large deck is perfect for afternoon or sunset grilling. With a public access for launching most ski and fishing boats, the private dock, boathouse and beach make this getaway cottage perfect for water sport enthusiasts. Big Cedar Lake is popular with fishermen and sportsmen of all ages. You will find yourself with just 5 and 10 minute drives to Marcellus and Lawton MI., which offer a variety of restaurants and pubs. Take quiet walks or bike rides down the rural roads and listen to the bull frogs croak their song under the moonlight.


Owner
Jane Harvey
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
July 22, 2017

About Jane Harvey

My sister and I have spent every summer of our lives on this beautiful Lake. Our mother lived in Chicago and her parents were Vaudeville performers, who didn't work in the summer (no air-conditioning) so they bought the cottage next door to this rental, as a fishing getaway from Chicago. My father's family, who lived in Marcellus, happened to own the cottage next door and as teenagers, my mother and father met. Soon after WWII was over, my parents married and inherited the cottage my mother's parents owned. My sister and I grew up in Lansing IL. and spent weekends and our summer vacations at Cedar Lake. There is no other place in this world that I love more. The people, beautiful Cedar Lake and all the area has to offer, never fails to amaze me. Some of my closest and dearest friends make regular visits back here. We hope you enjoy this area as much as we have, and will also want to return year after year!

Jane Harvey purchased this cottage in 2013

Why Jane Harvey chose Southwest

We bought this cottage next door to our own, because for over 60 years the people that have lived there have become family to us. When it came time for my 'Aunt' Dorothy to sell, (she had always wanted to live in downtown Chicago and at age 90, best, not to put it off too much longer) we offered to buy it. Down the road, when our family has expanded, we feel we will need the extra living space for all our extended families to live peacefully. My sister and long time lake resident and family friend, Joe Weist, have done a fabulous job up-grading many appliances and amenities.

What makes this cottage unique

The beauty of this Lake and area is hard to explain. Sometimes it can be as little as having breakfast on the outside deck while taking in the sights and sounds. My mother and I would sit out there and listen to the birds chirping and squirrels chasing each other up the massive oak trees. Just looking up and seeing the wind blowing the leaves is almost therapeutic. The nights are even more spectacular. Playing games with a cool breeze blowing through the back room while you hear the Bull Frogs croaking is a summer ritual for us. Moonless nights are the best for watching falling stars from the dock or boat, or dog fishing at midnight while just staring at the stars. Skinny dipping is a must on very hot nights! On stormy nights I will lay in bed and listen to the thunder as the wind picks up speed and the flashes of lightning light up the room. The sound of the rain coming through all those trees that surround the house is so wonderful. In resent years, my morning ritual is to ride my bicycle around Gravel Lake about 4 miles away. I have seen deer, turtles, rabbits, snakes and all kinds of butterflies and birds on nearly every ride. Most of the roads are paved, so bikers will enjoy the ease of riding while taking in the rural charms. As kids, my friend and I made many trails in the woods for our minibikes. Sadly nearly all are overgrown now, but you are still able to explore the woods and find all that nature has to offer. All that said, nothing compares to Cedar Lake when the water is warm and the sun is shinning. As a good friend of mine would always say the minute he stepped on the pontoon boat and cracked open a beer...... 'Blood pressure plummeting!' Enjoy!

Amenities

Marcellus Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 18
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 16 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • Basement apartment has a new travertine bath with 3 inch step to enter shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 queen , Lake view with balcony. Large walk in cedar closet.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 1 queen , Woods view with balcony
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sofa is a queen with thick memory foam topper. Very comfy
  • 900 sq ft basement apartment with a king Murphy bed and queen sofa bed with memory foam topper and queen futon.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Cedar Lake in the summer will usually have a water temperature in the mid to high 80's. The crystal clear warm waters are the reason good people come back time and time again for fun in the sun and the unmentionable under the moonlight!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

That 70's Cottage on beautiful spring fed Big Cedar Lake
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 18 reviews
4

Great weather + Great Place = Great Family Fun

  • 4 of 5

That 70s Cottage was a great place to join together my three kids and seven grand-daughters for a sunny and warm weekend of pure fun, relaxation and excitement. The house and accommodations were fantastic with plenty of room to spread out. We will certainly consider returning to That 70s Cottage in the future.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Grand Ledge
5

Amazing House!!!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great the 70's Cottage. There was plenty of room for our large group and the house was stocked with everything we needed. The lake was great and warmer than we thought it would be. We would definitely recommend the house to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place right on the lake. Plenty of room for family and extended family get together

  • 5 of 5

Great stay at this well-stocked cottage. The grill was great. It had a large cooking surface and seemed brand new. Beautiful view of the lake. Had fun using the paddle boat. All of the neighbors were very friendly! Really enjoyed creating memories here.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Exactly as described and perfect for our large group

  • 5 of 5

The property is exactly as described on the website, 70's all the way right down to the green shag carpeting. It was perfect for our large party of 14 people, everyone was comfortable and there was more than enough living space on the main level for all of us to come together and play games and enjoy each other's company. The cottage features an updated TV setup which allowed us to sync our devices to it to play videos and games on it which was a bonus. The lake is beautiful and the location was ideal for feeling far away from it all, but close enough to order pizzas and make a trip to downtown Kalamazoo. The owners are great to deal with, super easy going. The kitchens and bathrooms were clean, as well as the linens and towels, but a good deep cleaning to address the cobwebs in the corners and the sauna would have brought the cleanliness up to my high standards. Obviously easy fixes that didn't impact our stay at all though, and we would definitely rent it again and highly recommend the cabin to anyone looking for a lake getaway at a great price!

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Washington
5

Fantastic Visit! Would Repeat in a Heartbeat!

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was an absolute perfect place for our family. With a wedding happening in Schoolcraft and lots of our family convening, we were hoping to find a place that could accommodate out large group. This cottage was the perfect fit for everyone. The beds were comfy and numerous, the kitchen was accessible and well used during the trip, and the general layout of the space was truly comforting and effective. Additionally, having the unit in the bottom was especially great because it allowed for some of our family to have a bit more of a private time away from the crowds upstairs.

The hosts were attentive and helpful all along the way, from initial reservation to moving in to moving out. They are so sweet, and provided a great atmosphere for us to enter.

The house was in great shape, with furniture in good condition and the space was very clean. The kids loved the dock in the back, and we got to enjoy the sunny Sunday on the lake!

I would come back to this place in a heartbeat!

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
3

Overall or stay was fine, but...

  • 3 of 5

Overall That 70's Cottage was as advertised. It meet our needs when we had the large groups there, but there were 2 aspects that were really not happy about. First - the water quality. Iron in well water is common in Michigan, but it is easily correctable with a water treatment system. Having the ability to do laundry during our visit was one of the selling points on this unit. However, several articles of clothing were stained beyond use in the first load we did, so we were relegated to washing our clothes in the Lawton laundromat for the balance of our stay. That was a real disappointment and significant extra work.

Next is the outdoor grill. The bottom of the one at the unit, was completely rusted thru and I could only get 2 of the burners to work at all. In addition to being a pain to light, it was also a dangerous endeavor. You know renters are going to want to grill out during a summer vacation, so having to use that grill, in that condition, was beyond disappointing. Grills don't cost that much and an actual working unit in good condition would have been the minimum I would have expected.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very saddened to know that your stay at That 70's Cottage was not all you hoped it would be. It is particularly disheartening because had we known about the problems you were having, we could have and gladly would have immediately fixed them. The grill is just over 2 years old so we did not expect it to be worn out and admittedly, we only check to see that the grates are clean and the tanks have gas. Guests have used it all summer and never mentioned any issues. Rust is a problem in our water. Water softeners do not backflush well with iron loaded water as the metal ions tend not to release from the resin during regeneration making the softener progressively and due to our high level of iron, rapidly ineffective. More importantly, softened water is not healthy to drink because of its added salt and tendency to leach metal from pipes and faucets. Softened water is also very hard on the environment. These are the reasons why, although we have a softener, we use filters. Changing them is a 5 to 10 minute process but the house water must be turned off during it. Finding the right time to do this while scrubbing 3 bathrooms, 2 kitchens, running dishwashers and washing linens and towels is challenging. Just as dogs scratching through the apartment door side screen, the gnome lamp breaking and your nephew crashing the sailboat into our docked wakeboard boat are examples of accidents happening, likewise we probably missed changing the water filter. Your review was our first time hearing of these issues but as soon as we read it, we got a new grill and changed the filter. We are so sorry not to have known to do these things for you while you were here. We do appreciate your feedback and will make changes accordingly. We are now in the process of plumbing a bigger and better filtration system. We will post a sign in That 70s Cottage that says "PLEASE TELL US IF YOU HAVE ANY PROBLEM!!! We WANT to know" with our telephone numbers. In this electronic age, maybe it is more comfortable to text than to walk next door. I so wish I had known about the stain problems on your clothes. We do laundry in that cottage and rarely have any iron problems but they are easily fixed with iron removers, even on colors, and I would have gladly done that for you. You may have been battling not rust but the pink stains around collars and sleeves caused by a new chemical in sunscreen. Thank you for staying with us. Wish we could have fixed the problems for YOU
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
28 Miles
Kalamazoo / Battle Creek Airport
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Drop Anchor, Marcellus
Nearest Golf
9 Miles
Ole Mill Golf Course
Nearest Train
25 Miles
Kalamazoo
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
I-94
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
The Rock
Nearest Ski
13 Miles
Swiss Valley
Nearest Beach
11 Metres
Your very own

Kalamazoo, just 25 minutes away, offers the Air Zoo, which is a family favorite of ours on rainy days. Fabulous antique aircraft and modern marvels. Kazoo also offers movies, miniature golf and much more.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Marcellus Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall
Oct 1 2017 - Oct 15 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,550
$5,000
 
 
Summer
May 20 2018 - Oct 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
$350
$2,100
$7,200
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$350
$2,500
$5,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $400

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable