Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

LUX Ohana memory foam King w/ 800 sq ft lanai. Awesome Place for You! (AirCond)

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 450 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4, huge private lanai, and bonus hottub

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Click "SEND EMAIL" under the orange box to avoid booking/reservation fees.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No booking fees required . Keeps rates as low as possible for you.

Book with confidence as we have been renting homes for 11 years.

New Tile in Bathroom December 2016

New Paint November 2016

New Sofa Sleeper September 2016

New A/C May 2016

Any quotes provided directly that are different than published rates are valid for 2 days.

Luxurious Ohana with a memory foam king bed in a 450 sq ft studio with 12 feet ceilings which lets the heat rise. Private entrance. Private covered parking. Private 800 sq ft lanai with 180 degree ocean view. New Kitchen. For that matter, new almost everything. Let your island experience begin here where the royalty of old walked. Enjoy the peace and serenity of this quiet 11/2 acre property in the heart of Kealakekua Bay. Range and fridge are outside to keep the heat and bugs outside as well. Door and windows are sealed to keep it a bug free zone. Peaceful, no frogs or dogs to bug you at night.

You can call 303-946-3010.

Queen sofa sleeper now allows sleeping up to 4.

We've been renting our vacation homes for 11 years and this is our newest. We are always open to any suggestions or ideas.

Rented this short term then rented long term and now back to short term for you!

Home facts: Giant King comforpedic bed. One full bath, huge 800 sq ft lanai, full on ocean and bay views. kitchen, all appliances. High speed internet, 1 mile to the ocean, diving, snorkeling with the dolphins, whales. 1.5 acres of coffee, banana, papaya, avocado and more.

The Area: The luxurious area is located at 850 feet above sea level in the beautiful Kealakakua Bay where the whales give birth and the dolphins sleep and play. This is where the royalty of old Hawaii lived and for good reason. Its the best views and the best weather.

The estate sits on 1-1/2 acres where you

will enjoy privacy, peace and the sound of cardinals singing.

10 minutes from the most famous and only preserved Place of Refuge on the island. A visit there will give you insight into the fascinating ancient Polynesian history and the place where the royalty of old made their home. You are also 5 minutes away from the botanical gardens where you can view the ancient petroglyphs or walk in the historical park where Captain Cook first landed on the

Island and eventually lost his life. You are also just minutes from Kona coffee farm tours where you can taste the smoothest coffee in the world.

Avocados, papayas and bananas on the property and make yourself a refreshing smoothie or go enjoy the many excellent restaurants. Visit the farmers market on Sunday where you can enjoy live music, try the tropical foods, and buy local arts and crafts.

Aloha!

Always find me here: conevacationhome@gmail

More Details

Owner
Rebecca
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 11, 2017

About Rebecca

From Nebraska and living in Evergreen, Colorado. Hope to move to Hawaii

Rebecca purchased this house in 2014

Why Rebecca chose Kona Coast

Spectacular views. Privacy, Safety. Quiet. Peaceful. Did I mention our views. We know why the royalty of old lived hear with the perfect weather.

What makes this house unique

Easy access to everywhere. 10 minutes to grocs or several restaurants. 5 minutes to the ocean with free parking in our bay.

Amenities

Captain Cook House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 450 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Spa
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master as it overlooks the ocean
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Covered Lanai is 792 sq ft

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

57% Complete
28% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
LUX Ohana memory foam King w/ 800 sq ft lanai. Awesome Place for You! (AirCond)
average rating of 4.142857 based on 7 reviews
Bay Area
5

Had a Great Stay!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this nicely updated newer home, the place is even nicer than the pictures. My wife and I love the Big Island, this is our sixth stay. We plan to return here because we like it the best. Perfect views, privacy and phenomenal king bed. Extra bonus: we saw no bugs in the house and the A/C was wonderful when needed.

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Terribly rude hosts

  • 1 of 5

Driveway scary steep older driver and dangerous drop off with no railings from small, very hot concrete lanai which anyone could fall off onto rocks below. Nowhere to sit comfortably inside as sofa almost touches bed. Impossible to cook for 10 days with refrigerator outside and tiny kitchen inside with no counter space. Old furnishings and Not very clean. Owners were very rude and unhelpful when we could not stay because of driveway and car bottoming out. They suggested my 85 yr husband walk up and down to main road. We had to find and pay for another place and owners offered no help at all. A big financial loss for senior citizens visiting grandchildren at xmas.

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The last thing my wife is is rude.. Far from it. Susan has already visted the house for a showing - makes no sense. Susan arrived and said, My grandkids cannot play out here, I said, they could but they are not on the reservation so this cannot be a day care for them. Then she said her son's subcompact cant do the driveway, and we said it could (she drove it) but that we don't recommend subcompacts anywhere in Hawaii. Then she said she can't use her cell phone but proceeded to call Luana Inn which is 350 per night. We gave her 2 nights refund on a 7 night Christmas reservation which is very generous for an inexcusable cancellation. Her husband is a dear guy. I really liked him. They have multiple vrbos in Aspen, Colorado.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice

  • 5 of 5

This is a nice little studio. The bed is gigantic, and the hot tub is nice to relax in at night after a day of adventuring or what have you. The view is pretty great too.

The owners were very responsive and flexible. Due to an issue with the condo we were going to stay in, I had to scramble to find a replacement last minute and they were very helpful getting it booked and answering my questions. The deposit was returned promptly as well. Would definitely recommend booking this rental.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Waialua, HI
5

Awesome view and hospitality

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I were looking for a place last minute to stay for a few days. Keith and Rebecca were very quick to respond and provide details on how to get there and check in. The unit was spotless, spacious (for a couple) and air conditioned, and the lanai and view are as amazing as the listing describes. Not only that but our dog was allowed to stay here too! It was easy to get to Puuhonua o Hōnaunau and the ocean so we made lots of short trips. It would've been great if the indoor portion of the kitchen (sink and cabinets) were in the outdoor lanai along with the fridge and stove but other than that it was perfect. Oh and did I mention the view? :-) We will definitely be back to stay here if its available. Thanks Keith and Rebecca.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great couple. Fun to get to know. Glad you found our little slice of paradise. We look forward to your return to the best island. ;-)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Tranquil place

  • 4 of 5

A wonderful place to stay in Captain Cook with expansive views of the ocean. Rebecca was a great host and made us feel welcome. She even brought us fresh bananas from her garden during our stay. The room is located under the main home but has high ceilings so feels very spacious and has direct access to a large outdoor patio. Included was a laptop which was handy. The place was neat and clean, and felt very peaceful and serene. A wonderful little getaway!d

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Alice! I'm glad you two enjoyed your busy stay in Hawaii. Cant wait for you to come back and see how everything changes!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Tacoma, WA
5

We had a great time!

  • 5 of 5

My girlfriend and I are glad we picked this enjoyable place, it combines stunning views with quiet spacious accommodations. Just left, writing while it's fresh. House was very new, unlike some of the other properties on the island.

Pros: This spacious condo is the private lower level of a huge house. The property is close to Kealakekua Bay. Sunsets were best I've ever seen, even the "green flash". Private lanai is just out the door and there is covered parking (great when the rain comes). King Bed was sweet. Never ran out of things to do in Kona.

Few cons: one picture here is dated, there is a different tropical themed sectional couch.

I can see the pad for a hot tub, no hot tub (read: fleeting excitement)

No laundry facilities on the level, but the owners allowed us to use the ones upstairs.

Driveway was interesting at first... but we were used to it after the 2nd time.

TL;DR: Book it already, we were bummed to leave.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to write. Appreciated spending a little time with you. Glad to point out a few options for your stay. To my future guests: Upgrades are in the works! Washer is in the garage waiting to be installed. Hottub is in the works as well. Countless other upgrades; we're always doing something.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Nearest Airport
19 Miles
KOA
Nearest Ferry
3000 Miles
Lees
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Mamalahoa - highway 11
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
L & L BBQ 2, Annies Burgers 3 miles.
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Several
Car: recommended

Boogie boarding

Photos

Rates & Availability

Captain Cook House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall 2017
Sep 30 2017 - Oct 17 2017
7 night minimum stay
$119
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$94
 
Notes: Rates are based on 1 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Weekly Cleaning Fee $50 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 13.42%

Ironman, Thanksgiving Christmas & New Years are 7 night minimum. After 7 nights, regular rates apply.

Cleaning fee is +5 per night after 7 nights.

Cancellation fee is $80 until two months before arrival, then 1/2 the reservation until one month before arrival the the full reservation is at risk. (non-VRBO) trip insurance is the key to a worry free reservation. Deposit reverts to rent if rent is not paid.

Reservations are not guaranteed if rent is not paid on time.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties