Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

'THE BLUE MERMAID' 2 BR/2 BA+ Large Loft. Aug 12 Cancellation

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Townhome, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

CAPE SAN BLAS. THE BLUE MERMAID is a whimsical, fun 2 BR(both with queen size beds), 2 BA on main floor and large loft with two double futons. TV in every room (including loft).

Screened fish cleaning station under house, private shower outside under unit, covered parking for four vehicles. Large covered screened front porch has view of Bay, Master bedroom has a large deck and the loft has a balcony deck with a view of the gulf. Short walk (2 MINUTES) to two dedicated boardwalks (1 MINUTE on boardwalk to beach)within the complex. More pictures on request. REGISTRANT MUST BE 25 YEARS OF AGE.

Keywords: Townhome/DuplexA

More Details

Owner
BARBIE EVERETT
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2017

About BARBIE EVERETT

My husband and I built this unit in 2005 and have successfully rented it out ever since. We have another family home in the community and are down there almost every weekend from May until October and always New Years Eve. We have been coming to the Cape for almost 30 years and have as many friends that live there as we do in our hometown of Tallahassee (2 hours away). I am very fortunate to have a good friend who lives right down the road, Glenn, who does my cleaning and maintenance.

We love to fish, snorkle and go boating in the bay as often as we can. We love the beach, especially in the fall and early spring but scalloping is our favorite sport and we do it every chance we get during season, July to September.

BARBIE EVERETT purchased this townhome in 2005

Why BARBIE EVERETT chose Florida Main North West

Affordable for the small family that does not want to share a more expensive house with a ton of people in order to pay the weekly rate.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi, Barbara. I meant to send you an e-mail once we returned, but work intervened. We had a great trip. The weather was wonderful and the location perfect.



The house is in a great location. Close to both beach and bay. The house is very clean and well-maintained, not your typical rental house. The screened-in porch is a great place to have coffee in the morning, with a distant view of the bay. Furniture is comfortable and linens are nice quality and in good supply.



We met Glenn (?) after we arrived and he said to call him if we needed anything. It was good to know that there was someone there, nearby, if we had a problem (which we never did).



I was a little apprehensive about staying in a "pet friendly" house, as you never know what you might find. But, we didn't need to worry. Everything was fine -- you would have never known that a pet had been there. We made sure we left it just as we found it. Our dog had a blast -- a non-swimmer before her trip, she ventured into the gulf several times during our week-long stay. She met several other dogs who loved to run, play, and swim and she just had to fit in. We were all disappointed when we had to leave on Sunday!



Although we usually pack a lot of kitchen supplies, it was nice to find the basics already in the house.



We loved the area and will be returning. Kayaking in the bay, hiking in the state park, walking on the beach, eating oysters............what a vacation!
Nov 2011
  • 1 of 10

Amenities

Port St. Joe Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Loft - 2 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (3) ONE SMALL PULL OUT SOFA IN LIVING AREA AND TWO FULL FUTONS IN LOFT
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
All New Appliances, Double Door Refrigerator with Large Ice Maker, Micro Hood Above Range, Toaster Oven, Stack Washer and Dryer, Professionally Decorated, Supplied By Owner: Sheets, Blankets, Towels, Beach Towels, Limited Supply of Paper Towels, Toilet Paper, Dish Detergent, Salt, Pepper, Sugar, Coffee Filters, Cleaning Supplies, Beach Supplies in Storage Below, Beach Chairs, Rolling Cooler, Crab Nets, Buckets, Beach Umbrella

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(48 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
'THE BLUE MERMAID' 2 BR/2 BA+ Large Loft. Aug 12 Cancellation
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 58 reviews
4

Great place to visit with the family and dogs!

  • 4 of 5

Great place! Very affordable and convenient location to our favorite restaurant, Indianpass Raw Bar. Also, a great beach spot mostly away from the crowds. Kids enjoyed it and dogs and so did we. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for coming again this year, glad you missed IRMA but then she didn't come us after all.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Canada
5

Super friendly place

  • 5 of 5

The description was accurate, it was clean and well maintained, the owner was fantastic, friendly and kept us informed as to what was in the area, eg restaurants etc. We have already recommended this listing to other friends. We loved the restaurants in Port St. Joe and also Apalachicola, we went to Wakalla Springs and had a great day, we also went to the Dixie Theatre in Apalachicola which was great, we golfed and the golf course was good. This listing was well equipped, and had everything we needed and felt like a home and comfortable.

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
5

Best Stay Yet

  • 5 of 5

Love this place. Miss it already!

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Deana, glad I finally got to meet you in person. Glad you made it home safe. I'm returning your deposit today.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Thanks for a lovely place!! We had everything we needed, and hope to come back again in the future.

Barbie, thanks for spending some time with us!!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying, glad you got to spend some time with our mutual friends and me as well.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Marietta, GA
2

Disappointed

  • 2 of 5

We really enjoyed the cape. Our beach house was adequate yet not great. Some of the problems were minor and probably due to the fact we stayed at the end of the summer season. The condo was in need of some love. Screen doors broken, hand rail on spiral staircase broken, leak under the kitchen sink, broken TP holder in master bedroom. The 2 things that disappointed us the most, the screened in porch was right next to the road, making it very difficult to relax out there and ALL of the furniture, except beds, was very uncomfortable! Including the porch furniture. The porch furniture had gross, bug filled, stained cushions on the rickety rusty chairs. The beach equipment supplied was not nice. Had I known, I would have brought my own. Again, the beds in the bedrooms were very comfy and had nice linens. The owners were nice and easy to work with. The house just needs some tlc.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. Yes you were the last renters before my blocked maintenance week. This unit has been rented solid for most of the year and my top priority is to get it cleaned in the four hour window time frame and there is simply not time to do some all repairs. The leak under the sink happened while you were there or at least nobody let us know prior to that. As soon as you left I had the disposal replaced and all the screens have been repaired. The living room furniture was just replaced with brand new furniture earlier this year and my repeat Canadian tenants loved it and commented on how comfortable it was and I have not had one complaint before this. The road I can do nothing about but I think if you check prices, this unit is one of the more affordable ones you will find and that is due to location. The units on our gulf front community homes are $3,000 per week because they are much larger. My goal is to fill a need for the small family that does not need four bedrooms. I always try and shop for new beach chairs after summer on clearance and inventory and switch out in September. Most rentals that use property management companies do not even supply beach chairs, or toilet paper, or paper towels, garbage bags, etc., all of which I supply enough to get you started. I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Burns,TN
4

Peaceful

  • 4 of 5

Had a nice time with family.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Peppers
"Great food, very fast service and cheap. If you want seafood try the seafood burrito, it's ..."
Indian Pass Trading Post
"This is only 4 miles from the unit (on the way to Apalachicola). This is where the locals h..."
Joe Mama's Wood Fired Pizza
"Not your normal pizza place. Very eclectic pizza, great salads, good wine, cozy atmosphere"
Cone Heads
"At the very end of the Cape, right before State Park. Good food, especially if you just wan..."
Cape Trading Post
"GROCERY STORE About 4 miles from unit towards end of Cape. Owners are GREAT! Also has a li..."
Piggly Wiggly
"BIGGER GROCERY STORE IN TOWN."
Owl Cafe
"Excellent food, little on the high end but worth it and check out the Little Owl tap room ne..."
Bowery Station
"New fun, fun place to hang for happy hour. Live music almost every afternoon but only open ..."
Papa Joe's Oyster Bar & Grill
Nearest Airport
55 Miles
Panama City, Florida
Nearest Barpub
3.5 Miles
Indian Pass Raw Bar
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
BBQ

Charter Captain: Capt. Earl Middleton, Congo Charters (850) 229-8034, Happy Ours Kayak 1/4 Mile Away (Directly on the Bay), Beach is usually pretty empty. New rule of LEAVE NO TRACE so please do not leave chairs or tents on beach due to turtle nesting but you are welcome to leave your items at the end of the boardwalk, Ride Horses on the Beach (1/4 Mile Away), St, Joe Golf Course (5 Miles Away), Panama City (40 Miles Away), Apalachicola (18 Miles Away), Port St, Joe (10 Miles Away), Joe State Park (7 Miles Away)

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Additional Guest Fee $10 per person per night
Pet Fee $50
Damage Deposit $100

The $100 damage deposit is not deducted from the rent. Your deposit will be refunded after your departure. For parties more than 4 there is an additional $25 added to the cleaning fee. Also if bringing a pet there is an additional $25 added to cleaning fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties