Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Villa with Private Pool, Panoramic Ocean Views, 2-5 Bedrooms, Acre of Grounds

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

2, 3 or all 5 bedrooms, with Views of Atlantic and Caribbean, & Private Pool!

5 bedroom Vieques Villa divided into two units, one 3 bedroom/2 baths, one 2 bedroom/1 bath: rent either or both! Panoramic views of BOTH the Atlantic AND Caribbean from Villa and private pool. Pergola for shade and screened sunning deck poolside. Cooling hilltop breezes and terraces for early morning coffee, evening cocktails or BBQ, or just escaping the heat during the afternoon. Fenced grounds feature tropical flowers, coconut and royal palms, mango, papaya, lime, breadfruit and avocado trees, flamboyan trees, tables and a swing!

What recent guests had to say: "Beautiful - Better than expected!" March 2015. "Had a fantastic time! The house fit the 8 of us so easily." Feb 2015. "We have to leave today and it is too sad. We loved our stay here at Quinta Vagabundo Pequeno. An easy drive to everywhere on the island. Loved the roof top, loved the open airiness and sunny-ness. The pool was awesome!" March 2015.

The Quinta is decorated with original local art throughout. Ground floor has 3 bedrooms and two baths: a large master with queen bed and dressing area and a private 'garden shower' bathroom, two bedrooms with 'glow light' walls (one with queen and one with two twin beds), and a bath with shower. It opens onto an enormous private garden terrace. Upstairs apartment has two bedrooms and one bath (shower). One bedroom has a queen and one can be set up as either a either queen or two twin beds. The second floor unit has a unique a covered outdoor living room, where it is always shady and usually has a gentle breeze, and an eating area with views of flowers and the Caribbean. Both apartments have full kitchenettes, living areas, pull out sleeper sofas, AC in all bedrooms, satellite TV, WiFi, BBQ grills, and ceiling fans throughout. We also have a roof-top glass enclosed outdoor shower with (what a!) view, and a cool water shower at the pool. Lovely (and vigorous!) walks or runs along the Los Chivos ridge start at the front door, with terrific views North and South. Centrally located in a residential neighborhood conveniently close to literally everything on the island. On site manager for information, assistance or in case of issues or problems, whom you will rarely see if you prefer it that way! Beach chairs and towels provided.

More Details

Property Manager
Rick L
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 16, 2017

About Rick L

The Quinta is a family retreat shared by two couples, the two husbands both named Rick - thus two apartments and the two Ricks! The Ricks were executives running a large home building company, so comfort and reliability are important to us! We are world travelers who visited Vieques several times before we finally decided this was the best island in the Caribbean - and several travel publications have now agreed with us several times!

Rick L purchased this villa in 2008

Why Rick L chose Vieques Island

The Quinta is relaxed, clean and comfortable - a very unique retreat, truly convenient to virtually everything on the island. You have the privacy and security of over an acre of fenced grounds, with panoramic island and ocean views to north and south, and your own private pool. On Vieques, you really must have a car to get around, and soon you will appreciate the Quinta's central location, 5 minutes to just about anything - but on a hot afternoon, you might find yourself sticking around the Quinta enjoying the cooling tradewinds! Feel the flavor of island living in a friendly local neighborhood still the way "the Caribbean used to be." Passing traffic as likely to be horses as cars. So many beaches so close: white sand, golden sand, black volcanic sand, with/without surf, shallow, deep, Atlantic or Caribbean, only a few with buildings, most just palm trees and sea grapes - you choose! Horses wander anywhere they please (which is why our quinta is fenced - leave the gate open and you may find a horse by the pool in the morning! We don't keep out the snowy egrets, though!) If there is a traffic jam, its caused by two things: horses in the road or a line at the gas station, which sometimes close without notice. Roosters and chickens roam the streets, mongoose and iguanas run across them in front of your car. Want an excellent meal? No problem. Grill your own fresh fish or lobster picked up at the pescaderia by the ferry dock in Isabel, or pick up gourmet breads and cheeses and meats at Buon Provecho. Or dine out at restaurants from beach bars, to traditional local food to very, very fine dining. The minute you step off the ferry or the plane, you decompress - its island time! THE RATES LISTED ARE FOR UP TO 4 PERSONS IN THE 2 BEDROOM UPSTAIRS. INQUIRE FOR DIFFERENT NUMBERS

What makes this villa unique

Easy: the pool and the terraces. Every time we go (and of course, we go a there a lot), after a few days of salt water and sand, we find ourselves just relaxing at our own pool - having a cool drink and admiring the view of El Yunque. In the evening, bathing in the moonlight over cocktails on the roof top terrace - or maybe a hot cup of Puerto Rican coffee same terrace in the morning. Or on the off rainy day, reading a book and listening to music in the outdoor living room, discussing which beach is best, Caracas or Blue, or Playuela or Secret or Grande or Green, no maybe Black Sand, but what about Sun Bay, Navio or Media Luna, and hey what about Plata...? I like horseback riding in the surf on Playa Cocale...

Amenities

Vieques Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • children welcome ...
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master Suite Ground Floor - toilet , shower , outdoor shower , Extra large, open to air, also accesssibel from terrace
    Second floor bathroom - toilet , shower
    Ground Floor Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • 3 full bathrooms, two on ground floor. Master bath on ground floor is extra large and features huge garden shower, open to air, also accessible to terrace. The other two bathrooms each have showers large enough for two! Additional outdoor shower on rooftop terrace, incredible views! And a cool-water-only shower by the pool.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Queen second floor - 1 queen , upstairs: dresser, nightstand, AC and ceiling fan
    Twin beds ground floor - 2 twin/ single , ground level: dresser, nightstand, light wall, AC and fan
    Twin beds second floor - 2 twin/ single , Upstairs: dresser, nightstand, AC and ceiling fan
    Queen Ground Floor - 1 queen , first floor, glow light wall, dresser, AC and ceiling fan
    Master Suite Ground floor - 1 queen , Master suite, large private bath, garden shower, AC and fan
  • Rent two to five bedrooms, divided into two suites: 2 bedrooms upstairs: one with queen and one that can be set up as a queen or two twins. Both have dressers, mirrors, places to hang clothes and set up luggage, reading lights. The apartment also has a pull out sleeper sofa suitable for 2 adults. AND/OR 3 bedrooms downstairs: a master suite with large private bath and a queen bed; a second bedroom with glow light wall and queen bed; and the third also with glow light wall and two twin beds
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There are gates on the stairways, the balcony and the terrace. Electricity is expensive on Vieques. AC is for bedrooms only, when guests are present. It is best to turn on 15 minutes before you retire at medium cool and medium fan, with doors and windows closed. AC left running when nobody is present or with doors and windows left open will incur additional rental charge. Laundry is available for longer term (one week or more) guests. For short term (less than one week) at an additional charge

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
40% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Villa with Private Pool, Panoramic Ocean Views, 2-5 Bedrooms, Acre of Grounds
average rating of 4.6 based on 10 reviews
5

Gorgeous Property!

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for our big group! Jenny from Rainbow Realty met us at the ferry to take us to the home with one of the publicos. We kept the same publico driver for our stay, as he knew how to find the house and there aren't many addresses on the island! Our stay was short, and we all wanted to stay for much longer. The two units do not connect on the inside, you have to take the stairs on the side of the house to access the upper levels. The outdoor rain shower in the downstairs master was fun, we didn't have too many bug issues. The house had plenty of sleeping spaces and having two kitchens was very nice. Most of our time was spent on the rooftop swinging in the hammocks and staring at the GORGEOUS stars! The pool was perfect, cold but perfect after working up a sweat laying out in the sun. Could have used a clean, which was noted upon arrival but we were not there long enough to mind. Be prepared for some loud roosters on the surrounding properties, but our group didn't mind one but and it added to the island feel. The two dogs and cat were friendly and nonintrusive, our group enjoyed having them around. We never needed the AC as the breezes and open windows were enough. The house had a cooler and beach mats to use if we had more time on island. A car would definitely be recommended for staying on this island!! We decided not to rent one as our group was so large, and used the publicos which worked well but prices added up as they charged per person. Additionally if you want to go to father beaches in the reserve, some publicos will charge a higher price. This property was gorgeous and we definitely would return here!!

Quick note for recommendations: We spent our nights in Esperanza, we loved eating at Duffys and Bananas, there was a green convenience store we hit up as we didn't have time for the grocery store, and La Chiva and Pata Prieta were the beaches we found and LOVED! We reserved BioBay and snorkeling through Abe's and had amazing times!

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Celine - Thank you for such a lovely review. We enjoyed having you as well, and when (not if!) you return to Vieques, we will try to be around to show you some of the special secrets the island has to offer. Rick L
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

I Highly recommend this place!

  • 5 of 5

The property was beautiful and the pictures don't give it justice. The place and rooms were spacious and comfy. The outside amenities are great! Beautiful view of the island on the roof top with, swinging chairs and an outdoor shower! After a couple of hours at the beach, I loved relaxing by the infinity pool, my book open. Tsepo, the house manager was really friendly and was always there when we needed help. I Highly recommend the house, you won't be disappointed!

  • Submitted: May 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Come back again! :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wadsworth Ohio
5

Another amazing vacation in Vieques!

  • 5 of 5

A little late with our review but had to let you know that we had another amazing vacation at your property! The accommodations were great and the location on the island was perfect. Having an infinity pool to ourselves for a week is a dream. We beached by day and pool partied by night. The garden shower topped it off. My grandsons hate showers but they loved playing in the sprinkling rain!

  • Submitted: May 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So funny that your grandson thought the garden shower was raindrops! I guess that's why they call it a rainforest shower head! Wonderful that you had another good time and we hope to host you again next year! Repeat visitors are the best endorsement!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Convenient and comfortable, in a noisy location

  • 4 of 5

This property had everything my family of 5 and I needed: ample beds, full kitchen, beach paraphernalia, grill, etc. The location is right in the middle of the island - convenient to all beaches as well as Isabel II and Esperanza. We stayed on the lower level. The home is not luxurious, but it is adequate and comfortable. The roofdeck view is spectacular.

As another reviewer noted, it's not advisable to shower in the garden shower at night as the light and dampness attract mosquitoes. Daytime showering in the garden shower is quite pleasant - you feel like you are outdoors and the rainshower head is awesome.

Having visited Vieques five times, I like to make sure that my location is as peaceful as possible. For this reason, I inquired ahead of time with the owner as to how noisy the roosters and dogs were in the area. It can be tricky to avoid properties with them, but far from impossible as I have stayed in several. The response that I received was: "Roosters are in the area and do crow in the morning...barking dogs not really a problem."

We were quite disappointed when we arrived at 4 p.m. and noticed the 25 or so roosters literally directly next door. They crowed constantly 3 a.m., 6 a.m., 2 p.m., 6 p.m. (dinnertime was not outside for us), etc. We didn't enjoy the rooftop or pool because the roosters were simply too loud to have a peaceful time outside. There were additional roosters a few houses down the street, so we renamed the home "360 Roosters."

The road is also fairly busy and there is a lot of road traffic. You are at the top of the hill, and typical PR style is to beep to warn oncoming cars of your presence. This, combined with the roosters made this a less than peaceful location.

Fortunately, we spent most of our time at the beach and adjusted our time at home accordingly. Vieques is gorgeous and it's hard to be unhappy there no matter what! If noise is not an issue for you, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is hard to be unhappy with a 4 star review, but the exaggerations about roosters create an inaccurate impression. We regret that your experience with the neighborhood roosters apparently marred your stay, even though you rated the Quinta (Country House) 4 star. We were not there when you arrived so we don't know exactly what transpired, but we have NEVER, EVER witnessed anything even approaching "25 roosters" in, around or even close to our property. 1 is rare because of Playa the dog. 2 maybe once in a while, but even as many as 4, never. The neighbors next door raise sweet peppers and plantains, which are not noisy at all but are fresh and delicious (and they will gladly sell some to you when they are ripe). I can assure you they don't want 25 roosters digging in their gardens. They sometimes have some chickens and a rooster, but 25? Not even close. There are roosters raised further down the hill, roughly 1/4 mile away, but not next door or even next door to next door (and next door to the Quinta means acres or cuerdas). As we advised you before you rented, roosters may very well wake you in the morning, and this may be more likely if you have the bedroom window louvers open and the ac or fan off. You may also sometimes hear them during feeding time, but we have neither experienced nor heard from other guests that they could not sleep at night. In fact, exactly to the contrary, some have told us the sound of coquis gently sends them off to sleep. To suggest one can't enjoy the rooftop terrace or the pool because of 360 roosters is frankly, well, ridiculous. We have families who come back to the Quinta as guests year after year, and obviously they would not if this were the case. Nor would the Quinta consistently receive its 5 star ratings. You seem to have had a very unique and unusual experience, maybe there was a rooster jailbreak from down the hill that afternoon, who knows? Regardless, we regret that whatever it was diminished enjoyment of your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Holiday in Vieques

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed the Christmas holiday on Vieques and it was one of the best family vacations we have ever taken. We were a party of 8; my husband and I, four young adults, and two grandmothers. The house is perfectly located on the island and had plenty of space for all. The views on the rooftop are impressive. We packed up every morning with the beach chairs, coolers, and boogie boards that were provided and explored a different beach each day. The beaches are glorious. We cooked breakfast each morning and prepared lunch on the beach every day. The downstairs kitchen is small and not well equipped. We seemed to always be looking for items or were bumping into one another. We rented both units. We were told that the bottom unit had the master/ensuite but later realized the 2 bedroom unit above was more spacious and seemed more comfortable. In hindsight, we should have prepared meals upstairs. The master bathroom is partially open to the outside and without screens, so if a light is on in the evening some bugs would come in. Also, every time it rained, items in the bathroom got wet. These were not major inconveniences, but I thought should be noted. Also, the resident dogs are very sweet. There were barking dogs during the night that do interrupt your sleep. I'm not sure if that could be avoided on the island. Arrangements were hassle free. Everyone was very accommodating. This was my first experience renting a property and we will do it again. It was very different than a resort experience but the kids preferred it. We all had an amazing time.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Annette- We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comment about the garden shower - we checked it out and discovered a leak which we are having repaired by the contractor today. VIrtually everybody has loved the openness and spaciousness of the garden shower and bathroom. Actually the downstairs is quite a bit larger than the upstairs, but the downstairs is divided into more rooms. Because of all the windows and the "great room" floor plan the upstairs is very light and feels roomier. The kitchens are equipped exactly the same and we have had professional chefs stay here who have complimented on how they are equipped, but with many cooks in the kitchen I can understand some bumping and confusion! As for the dogs, well, you are right, sometimes that is an issue anywhere in Vieques - as you know from your visit, horses, chickens, roosters and especially dogs are pretty much ever present e on the island. Thank you for your input. We are very pleased your family had such a great vacation here, and we gladly accept your 4 star rating and would welcome your return. The Ricks
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wadsworth Ohio
5

Vacation in Oaradise

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing stay on the island and mostly it was attributed to the house we rented. Arrangements were hassle free. The grounds keeper was extremely helpful. The house exceeded our expectations. All got home late Thursday and we rebooked for next March by Saturday. Although there are 40 beaches on the island, nothing beats having your own private infinity pool.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What can we say? We were so glad to have you, and even happier that you enjoyed yourself so much that you are returning next year! Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
6 Miles
Vieques
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Next Course Restaurant
Nearest Ferry
6 Miles
Isabel II
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Next Course and others
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Sun Bay
Car: necessary

Vieques is famous for its undeveloped white sand azure water beaches, wild life reserves, the best bioluminescent bay in the world (microscopic dinoflagellates that emit an electric blue light when the water is disturbed, making your skin glow in liquid light at night), water sports and its 'wild' horses roaming free. The horses are not truly wild, it is more that the entire island is an open range - horse back riding in the surf is another attraction! There is also an abundance of excellent restaurants, featuring traditional Puerto Rican food (think Caribbean with a Spanish flair!), as well as gourmet world fusion and New England oysters! Esperanza is a water front village full of beach bars where the 'action' is at night. There are many historical sites to explore, from the old fort (and museum) in Isabelle II to the sugar plantation ruins to the Taino Indian 'Puerto Rican Stonehenge' to the World War II Navy bunkers. Deep sea fishing, fly and bait fishing, sailing charters, deep sea diving and snorkeling, bicycling, hiking and trap shooting are all here. As are numerous art galleries and occasional musical events and art shows.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Additional Guest Fee $40 per person per night
Damage Deposit $500

RATES VARY BY THE NUMBER OF GUESTS, AND THE SEASON. THE ABOVE RATES ARE FOR UP TO 4 PEOPLE, depending on season. The Quinta is divided by floor, with 3 bedrooms on the first floor and 2 bedrooms on the second floor, each as complete, self contained apartments. They can be rented separately, or together for 5 bedrooms.
AIR CONDITIONING: The bedrooms are air conditioned and of course we expect you to use it, but this is NOT for the living areas, which have louvered windows and balconies for breezes, as well as ceiling fans. The bedroom AC should be left off, turned on 15 minutes or so before retiring, turned on at medium cool and medium fan, with doors and windows shut. AC left on while nobody is present, or with bedroom doors or windows open, will incur additional rental charges: electricity is very expensive on Vieques!
LAUNDRY: Is included one day a week for guests of one week or longer. In other circumstances, laundry service is available at $10/load, washing and drying (no folding or ironing).

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties