Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Incredible Sandy Beachfront in Sodus Point!

Bedrooms 1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Small Cottage in Sodus Point on Beach.

This lovely little gem is an ideal spot for couples and small families. Directly behind the owners cottage this boat house/converted Guest cottage has a water view and lovely small deck. Everything is located in walking distance. Take a walk on the beach in the morning. Hike to one of the many restaurants or the light house museum and much more. Easily keep a boat within walking distance as you have the bay on one end of your street and the lake at the other. Ideal spot for sun, sand, boats and many outdoor activities.

Property Manager
Jan Ferry-Axman
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 21, 2017


Sodus Point Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Village ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • One bathroom with sink, standing shower, toilet & mirror
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • One Large Upstairs Area Serves as sleeping and lounging area. One Queen Bed and two Twin beds. Downstairs has a Futon for extra sleeping.
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • churches
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
This cottage sits directly on Sodus Point one end of the street is the sandy beach the other end is the Great Sodus Bay ideal for boating.


Good! 3.9/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

Incredible Sandy Beachfront in Sodus Point!
average rating of 3.857143 based on 21 reviews

This property has great potential but suffers from a good deal of neglect.

  • 2 of 5

This cottage is a charmer and the location is excellent. Out the door and onto the sand beach. My grandchildren thoroughly enjoyed swimming, rock picking, walks to the pier and playground as well as beach fires and s'mores.

Due to circumstances at the rental, I was in frequent contact with the rental agent, Jan. She was available, responded promptly and did her utmost to take care of issues. I feel she did above and beyond.That being said, there is only so much she could do. I truly thought of leaving but did not want to disappoint the kids. They came all the way from Minnesota.

The rental is certainly "rustic". It has some great potential but needs some immediate investment into it's condition. There is siding missing from the exterior. Some of the windows upstairs could not be opened. There are too few electrical outlets to operate the fans required to make the sleeping loft comfortable. The bathroom floor needs to be replaced. The refrigerator, which was dorm sized, was not functional. It was replaced the next morning. The agent spoke with the owner and they will be installing a full sized refrigerator. There were pots/pans but many are not usable due to condition. They, as well as the toaster are to be replaced. The TV quit night three. I was assured it would be replaced by the owner. That never happened. Overall, the place lacked cleanliness.

Again, I want to thank Jan for her attempts to make everything right for me and for the family. This owner appears to be difficult to deal with as far as her requests for maintenance and upkeep on the property. It's too bad as this is a charming little place in a great location

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We enjoyed our vacation tremendously!

  • 5 of 5

The open upstairs with all beds was fun and comforting to small children in a strange environment. Access to lake was very convenient. Everything needed to sweep sand out and keep kitchen clean was provided. Short walk to restaurants and shops at the Point. Very friendly neighbors. Quiet during the week. Fun time.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Needs a LOT of TLC---we cut our trip short

  • 1 of 5

Let me begin by saying that location was neat. Right on the beach, and despite Sodus Point apparently recently having received some flooding (lots of pumps & sand bags all around town), the walking & biking options were OK.

However, this place needs a complete overhaul. We camp a lot and are not opposed to "rustic" accommodations. This went beyond rustic, however, and was really quite filthy. I have used much nicer bathrooms at campgrounds & state parks. Toilet leaked with every flush, bathroom was VERY tiny and difficult to maneuver in. Flimsy shower enclosure screwed directly into studs and I wouldn't have depended on the grab bar to support any weight if needed. Floors, ceilings, and fixtures were filthy with dirt and cobwebs. We did not feel comfortable putting our baby on the floor to play. Ants in the kitchen. Found huge chunks of glass in sand directly outside. Tons of bricks randomly scattered in the sand behind the house in front, which is directly in front of our entrance. The provided small propane grill has not been maintained and was disgusting---we left it outside for the duration of our stay due to the odor. Had to use hangers to prop the windows open upstairs in the sleeping area. If we hadn't been able to keep the windows open, we wouldn't have even been able to stay one was VERY stuffy and hot upstairs otherwise. Box fans helped cool it off only little bit.

It truly disturbs me that this is marketed to families when it is clearly not a safe or comfortable accommodation for small children.

Corners were most DEFINITELY cut and shortcuts taken in preparing this place as a rental. We left 1 night early, cutting our trip short due to the conditions described. Jan was apologetic and did refund some of our money.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The two serious and valid concerns of leaking toilet and messy outside Sand area have been corrected, as soon as we were made aware of the issue. "IF"we had been told of the leaking toilet at anytime other than with a call saying you were leaving early, disappointed and would welcome a refund. We would have happily sent a handyman over immediately to replace the toilets wax seal, which was fixed immediately and sand raked/repaired completely right after your departure. IF we had any indication you were unhappy we could have explained some other items you were unhappy with as well. Sorry some windows need a prop. But there are 14 windows upstairs and only 2 need to be held open w/ a prop, 10 are fine (2 stationary). Yes the bathroom is small. Showers are always attached to the wall studs so they do not slide around? Also if you had replied anything but an affirmative “Yes we are” when asked by the owner, if you were enjoying your trip we could have clarified how things work or made repairs. BUT I really think this was more a perception and communication error than anything else. Our cleaner was shocked and when informed the guests were not happy with cleanliness the last trip, and promises to maximize cleanliness going forward. No mom is happy with summer beach efficiency to put a crawling walking 1yr. old down on the floor. We understand the level of cleaning desired by a new mom for a toddler are very high. So we agreed to refund over half your stay after 2 nights when you called upset. We are truly sorry it went this way. We agree the toilet should not leak and sand should not be so messy. And as soon as we knew we fixed it. All else was personal perception. I can only encourage guests to look at all our reviews. We are a beach efficiency cottage, reasonably priced in a great location. Another cottage may have been a better choice for this family. But unfortunately I think they desired a more high end home for a budget price and did not communicate the issues until they were checking out. Lastly we welcome and invite any who desires to...Please contact us for a pre trip visit of the home. We like people to know the true situation and what they are getting. Nobody likes last minute surprises, owners or visitors. We do care! Please feel free to contact us anytime with questions or to arrange a visit at 585-802-3494. We want happy guests who know what to expect and do let us know immediately if there is any issue when in residence.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time. We have also referred your property to others!!!! We would definitely do it again.

Thank you

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A great location but extremely "rustic".

  • 3 of 5

This renovated boathouse is located directly on the beach in scenic Sodus Point, NY. It is truly only steps to the beautiful shore of Lake Ontario. The water is clean and refreshing and the week after Labor Day we practically had the beach to ourselves. The area surrounding Sodus is known for growing apples and the trees on our drive up were heavy with fruit. There is a farm market only a couple of miles up the beach road where you can load up on local produce. We had a wonderful visit here. The rental does have a few draw-backs, especially for the price. The rental is behind and may belong to a poorly maintained cob-web covered, old beach house that is flanked by two lovely homes. If you wish to park near the boathouse you will need a 4 wheel drive vehicle as the sand in the driveway is deep and soft. You enter the unit into what was the boat storage area, as you can see by the 2 garage doors that form one wall. There is a small seating area with a very old TV and a small kitchen that is not well suited for cooking at home. The bathroom is extremely tiny and roughly finished. The entire area has old linoleum flooring but I am sure it is very hard to keep clean with all of the sand that is tracked in. The sleeping area is reached by a steep and narrow stairway that has been added. The loft upstairs has a great high ceiling with 2 large windows at either end. Daylight sun comes in the east window and afternoon sun in the west. Don't plan on sleeping in. The bamboo blinds on these large windows only minimally reduce the amount of light (and heat) coming in. There are smaller windows all the way around this large room with old, faded curtains. These windows are hard to open and keep open because of worn mechanisms. With no insulation or air conditioning, this upstairs space got extremely warm during the day. There is one dresser, a movable clothes rack, 2 day beds and one larger bed with no headboard. It may be good for a small family or 3 extremely close couples. All in all, Sodus Point is a great location for a waterfront vacation and we had a good time on our visit. Pets are welcomed and no one will hassle you if you have a night-time fire on the beach. Finally, this boathouse is in a great location but it is extremely rustic and seems like only a small step up from camping.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your thoughtful review. Sodus Point is lovely and the area very nice. The little boat house is an efficiency and is a converted boat house. Over the years we have worked to upgrade the little home, but it remains a small converted boat house. It is a seasonal location for a great visit. I find that standards expectation vary hugely. This makes it difficult to meet everyones expectations for what a cottage should be or provide. We will continue to work to improve the location and do hope people have a clear idea of what to expect. Thank you for your personal assessment of your stay overall. And I do hope to see you back in the future. I do rent several properties in the area and have several full homes with dishwashers, huge decks and extensive amenities. Keep us in mind it may be that one of these places better meets your desired needs and expectations. Check out- Ferryland Cottage Rentals on Facebook to see them all.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Low-key, low-stress beach cottage on Sodus Point

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful time at this property which sits directly on the beach at Sodus Point. Jan, who manages the property was extremely attentive and accomodating. We especially appreciated that we could bring our dog along! In fact, that was the major attraction of this particular house. There were many other dogs "living" close by, and the neighbors were very friendly and helpful. It was fun to make fires on the beach, and walk to the near-by lighthouse museum, where there was a Sunday afternoon concert. We even spent a day on the Seneca Lake Wine Trail, visiting many dog-friendly wineries.

We had a throughly enjoyable and relaxing experience! Thanks so much, Jan....

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so very glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to have you back again. I love Sodus and the village of Sodus Point is charming and walkable. A great place for a week or weekend get-away!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Barpub
0.3 Miles
Sodus Point WALKING distance
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Sodus Bay Heights Golf Club
Nearest Train
45 Miles
Rochester NY or Syracuse NY
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
Sodus Point -Walking
Nearest Ski
12 Miles
Brantling NY Ski Hill
Nearest Beach
Car: necessary

Sodus Point and Sodus Bay in the Fingerlakes of NYS, is a recreational paradise. The best of a Great Lake AND a small Lake in that Sodus Bay is like a fingerlake in itself due to its large size. Enjoy the sandy beach, hike out the pier, take a trip to the Sodus Light House Museum or a hike in a premier Park like Chimney Bluffs State Park. The area is also home to winerys, adorable shops and a short dive to theme parks, amusment parks and so much more.


Rates & Availability

Sodus Point Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
Summer end Early Fall
Aug 26 2017 - Sep 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
Early Fall
Sep 15 2017 - Oct 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $40
Refundable damage deposit $250

Prefer Full week Rentals in summer.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager