Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Northwest Nook is your perfect getaway to the Olympic Peninsula

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 600 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, 2 Sleeps

Our One Bedroom Guest House With Swimming Pool And Hot Tub Access Is A Gem. It Comfortably Fits Two And Can Easily Expand To Four, And We Are Pet Friendly. This Quiet And Quaint Get-away Has Many Nice Features; It Has One Bedroom With A Queen Size Bed, A Living Room with a fold out Futon, Direct Satellite TV. The Kitchen Dining Room Table Seats Four And The Kitchen Has Microwave, Stove Top And A Small Convection Oven. It Has It Own Washer And Dryer For Those Longer Stays. The Bathroom Is Nice But No Tub, Shower Only. Outside You Have Your Own Paved Area With A Patio Table And Umbrella.

You Have Shared Access To The Main House Back Deck With A Propane Bbq And Table And Chairs. This Deck Is Off An Enclosed Solarium That Houses A Heated Pool And Hot Tub, Very Nice For The Cool Northwest Evenings. You Also Have Access To A Meditation Garden With Water Fall And Comfortable Chairs.

More Details

Owner
Glen Douglas
Member since: 2014
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 24, 2017

Map

Amenities

Port Angeles Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets considered
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
28% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
The Northwest Nook is your perfect getaway to the Olympic Peninsula
average rating of 4.6 based on 25 reviews
Edgewood, Wa
4

nice little home

  • 4 of 5

We loved the neighborhood and property was clean. We didn't realize there is a larger home on the property where the hot tub and pool are located. If there was another family renting that home at the same time that might have been awkward when sharing the hot tub/pool.

The pool was cold, not heated at the time we were there so I didn't use it.

The owner was responsive in helping us with the code to unlock the door. Would definitely stay here again and refer our friends.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely house

  • 5 of 5

The house is depicted correctly in the pictures: spatious living space with all the required amenities. We were out exploring the area most of the time, so we didn't get a chance to use the jacuzzi or the pool. The house is located really close to a trail/corridor and gave us plenty of options to walk our dog. Communication with Glen was really easy and we didn't have any problems. We recommend the house to anyone interested in exploring The Olympic Park.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Cheaply furnished, Spartan and uncomfortable.

  • 2 of 5

Desperately needed actual nightstands and a real sofa. No place for second guest to put down eyeglasses or a book by the bed, and using an oversized end table for other side made getting in and out of bed awkward. Bed and futon were hard as rocks. An actual sofa instead of a futon doesn't seem unreasonable. Clock in bedroom broken. Flat was clean, but floral scented laundry soap triggered asthma. Bar height table trendy but unusable for short people. "Patio" is a driveway. "Cottage" is half a garage. Pool is attached to main house and awkward to share. Literally no place to sit and write, do a puzzle, or check email. Small windows with views of neighbors' parking spaces. One neighbor who likes to use power tools in driveway at 7 am every morning of our stay. Lack of path to pool and no outside lighting. Very disappointing, especially at inflated price plus numerous fees.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Greetings from the Owner When I read your review and rating of our Cottage I was a bit shocked to say the least. Mary and I strive very hard to provide a great experience for our guests and though we do not always do everything perfect we always work to make it right with our guests, and our reviews and ratings reflect our efforts. My first response to your review was shock, as I never received a call, email or text as to your concerns, I have my contact information clearly identified on the welcome sheet and I do respond quickly to any issues, with that said I do want to respond to some statements that are not true. First we just completed a major remodel of the Cottage and everything in it is of excellent quality and very nice. How hard or soft beds and Futons are is subjective but I can assure you that they are medium in firmness. Table height is also subjective, but there is great Wi-Fi and tables to work on the computer and play games. Patio is a nice and secluded area and the Pool Deck is available for our guests use as well. From the spacious windows of the Cottage you cannot see any neighbors drive, only the entry drive to the Cottage. The pool is accessed by a 50 foot graveled walk way and is well illuminated by a security light at the Cottage and a use light on the pool deck.The clock in the bedroom was found to be unplugged. If you would have informed me of your allergies I could have the sheets and towels laundered in an unscented detergent prior to your arrival. As far as a neighbor making noise at 7 am, a call to me would have solved the problem, but I received no communication from you until this review. I feel bad that you had a less than desirable experience and a simple call, I believe could have resolved your concerns. I believe our Cottage is an excellent value for the rental fee. We are people who value our guests and some communication with us would have allowed us to serve you better. Respectfully Submitted, Glen and Mary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good location for Olympic National Park visitors

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I stayed at Glen Douglas' cottage for a few days when visiting Olympic National Park. The park is large, so we still had 1.5+ hour drives to reach the Hoh Rain forest and the beaches, but Port Angeles was a good location all things considered.

Glen and Mary don't live in the area anymore, but he was available to answer any questions and had everything set up for our arrival. We found the place easily and got in without a problem, even though we arrived well after dark. Glen called while we were driving and checked in to see if we had arrived and to answer any questions, which we thought was very thoughtful!

Our only complaint was that the cottage felt pretty sparse, especially the bedroom with bath mats for rugs on either side of the bed and a bedside lamp that flickered whenever you moved on the bed (maybe we just needed to crawl under and plug it in better?). But the price was good and everything functioned well and seemed clean--which is what mattered to us the most.

Thank you, Glen and Mary, for letting us stay at your place!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect size for the 2 of us

  • 5 of 5

Had every thing we needed & hot tub a plus

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Quiet and clean

  • 4 of 5

This guest house is exactly as described. It was just what we were looking for to get a rainy/snowy weekend retreat. It cleared enough at night to see the lights of Victoria across the water. The internet was not working, but the owner was very responsive and helpful in trying to get it fixed.

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $60
Property Damage Protection $59
Pet Fee $15

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties