Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Awesome Lake Superior Vacation Home With Sand Beach

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

4 Bedroom, 2.5 Bath Vacation Home On Your Own Sand Beach

Step out the front door, down the few steps and you are sitting on your own sand beach on the most beautiful Great Lake.

This home sleeps 10 people comfortably in the 4 bedrooms:

Bedroom 1: 1 King

Bedroom 2: 2 queens

Bedroom 3: 1 king

Bedroom 4: 1 king

2.5 bathrooms provide enough privacy for all in your family:

Bathroom 1: toilet, shower

Bathroom 2: toilet, whirlpool tub, shower (connected to bedroom 1)

Bathroom 3: toilet

The home also features the following amenities:

Full kitchen with new stainless steel appliances including dishwasher


Sauna (electric)

TV with Dish Network


Gas Grill

Family room

Great room with gorgeous Lake Superior rock gas fireplace

14 x 14 deck overlooking Lake Superior

More Details

Claudia Hart
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 8, 2018

About Claudia Hart

My dad purchased this land when he returned to the U.S. after serving in WWII. His dad and brother thought he was crazy for wanting to buy property 25 miles from home (Marquette) - keep in mind this was in the late 1940's! Thank goodness my dad didn't listen to them! When I was a child, all we had was an outhouse and a picnic table on the property. How we loved to get in the car on hot summer nights and take pasties to Big Bay to sit on the beach and have our supper. It wasn't until the 1960's when my dad built a small camp. By that time, I was in junior high and all my friends loved coming to my camp for the weekend. We would waterski all day and my parents welcomed all of my friends. Dad spent most of the day back then in our small boat pulling us around the lake on waterskiis - how he loved that we all loved his beloved Squaw Beach property. The small camp was added on as the years went by. As my parents aged, they deeded the property to me (my sister moved to the East coast and chose not to have ownership). By 2007, a major remodel or I should say, complete rebuild, took place. I practically leveled the place with my dad's blessing and built what is now our 2-story vacation home that you see in the pictures. This is where my two children enjoyed their summers and weekends with grandma and grandpa. In fact, my 28 year old daughter, who now lives in Seattle, has such special memories here and love for her grandfather, she was married on the front lawn on what was her grandpa's 89th birthday on September 26, 2015. Our family celebrates Christmas there every year with our 15' tree. I am so thankful that my wonderful dad had 3 awesome years enjoying the new home before he passed. This was his pride and joy throughout the years and he would be so happy that we are able to share it with all of our guests from around the country. I know you will enjoy it as much as our family has for the past 70+ years.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had such a great time at Big Bay this past week. Our family of 7 was overwhelmingly happy with the accommodations! The property was immaculate, well stocked, updated and more than comfortable. Two big sectional couches with 4 built in recliners and one "Ubercliner" that only the most deserving was allowed to be in! Everyone was relaxed and happy from the moment we walked in. The beach was easily accessible and clean, the views were beautiful from all angles. The back deck and area around the fire pit was where we spent most of our time taking in the breathtaking views of Big Bay. The kitchen was fully functional and very well stocked with pots pans small appliances etc. Bathrooms with towels provided and plenty of hot water. The house felt like a home and not a "rental". Our host, Claudia, was accessible, responsive and very helpful.You really could feel there was a lot of tradition here. We didn't use the sauna this time around but will next year. What a great place to stay! If you can't relax here you don't deserve a vacation!
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 1


Big Bay House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 queen , TV, chest of drawers, large closet
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Chest of drawers and large closet
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
  • tennis


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
13% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Awesome Lake Superior Vacation Home With Sand Beach
average rating of 4.6086955 based on 24 reviews

Winter Wonderland

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed over the holidays with our dog. The house is very nice with a great view of the lake. We really enjoyed our stay and would love to return one day!

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Buchanan, MI/USA


  • 1 of 5

While this house is beautiful and the beach is absolutely awesome, the owners are absolutely horrendous! The owners built a beautiful home for themselves but, decided to rent it without the slightest thought for the comfort of their guests, furnishing it as if it were an old cabin. The furniture in each living room consists of a very old, dirty and stinky couch. Both were too disgusting to sit on without covering them with a blanket. They boasted of a jacuzzi tub in the master bath but, the plug was broken so it was unusable. They made a really big deal about the sauna but, the door was broken so, we were unable to use it as the steam escaped. They requested that we rinse the sand off of our feet before entering the home but, the faucet leaked so badly that we couldn't leave it on with a sprayer and the handle was broken requiring pliers (which we had to borrow from the broken air conditioner) to turn it off and on. The home is advertised for sleeping up to 12 yet, we only found 5 small, thin towels and a few washcloths. I bought sponges from the local store so we could use the dish cloths as wash cloths. The bed my son used was broken and he had to pop the headboard back in place over and over. The pots and pans were barely usable. There was only one frying pan that you could actually cook with, the rest were like a child's toy, making cooking for our large group very difficult. Also the glass stove top was filthy with rings of crud around each burner. Upon our arrival, we were informed that we would have to remove the trash and there was no wood for campfires. Overall, this rental was portrayed as a high end property with lots of amenities but we did not get the quality that we expected for the price we paid. The entire home needs a very deep cleaning and the owners need to make repairs and upgrade their furnishings with the comfort of their guests in mind. To top it all off, the owners accused us of damage that we did not do. The accusations were over the top. Most of them were petty; for example, sand on the stairs, VCR cords messy, and microwave dirty even though we paid a cleaning fee. The most serious accusation was that we scratched their new floor. It did get scratched while we were there because the feet of the chairs were not properly protected. As soon as I realized one of the chairs was scratching the floor, I removed it. They filed and claim on the insurance they required us to purchase and still refused to refund our deposit.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have rented home for over 4 years and this is only negative review ever; we are heartbroken at these accusations. We attempted many times to contact this family to resolve the issue of their security deposit. We spoke on the phone and tried to call many times, but they never called. When they arrived, they called telling us that the home was in immaculate condition but weren’t going to spend their vacation cleaning (rental agreement says to please leave home in same condition as when arrived). We explained intent of statement was that nothing be broken or missing. The cleaning fee was for that and they didn’t have to clean. They were upset that (1) no firewood provided for bonfires and (2) suggestion to bring garbage to waste management once a week (only way to dispose of garbage in the area). We immediately delivered firewood for their 2-week stay and said that if garbage was inconvenient we would do it. Nothing was said about towels, washcloths, etc. On the day they left, our cleaning crew was distraught over issues with the home that they had never encountered with previous renters. Enough towels and washcloths had definitely been left for their extended family; all of our linens are new, quality and not cheap, flimsy items indicated in the review. We are so hurt by their comment about the need for a ‘deep cleaning’. Last spring the entire home was painted and new flooring, bathroom and kitchen installed. The couches were all deep steam cleaned so we are perplexed by their comment about the couches. The bed was not broken prior to their arrival, but was totally destroyed and a new bed purchased. The sauna door closes and they must have left it open so that all the walls in the sauna changing room were seeping with steam marks. New floor was scratched even tho every piece of furniture had pads. The stove was a year old and did NOT have food residue. We are VERY particular about cleanliness. There is not enough room to address other accusations but we are happy to explain to future renters. We don’t know how we could be accused of all of this when the renter indicated how immaculate the home was upon arrival. Their insurance covered only $1500 of the $3800 damage and is why the $300 security deposit was initially not refunded, but eventually we did give them full refund. We have families who return year after year with NO negative reviews. If you have any questions, please ASK! We are happy to speak with you on the phone and make a personal connection.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
Puslinch, Ontario, Canada

Truly Awesome Get Together at Superior Hart

  • 5 of 5

This vacation home exceeded our expectations from the time we arrived, throughout our annual get together with the Michigan Backcountry SAR Team. It has ample bedrooms, large kitchen for preparing meals, meal sitting for all (2 tables of 6) and 2 living/sitting areas, one with TV and one with a fireplace, though we didn't need a fire, since it was so warm. The owners were great to deal with, would definitely consider this home again!

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Amazing home

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at the Hart home. This is by far the nicest VRBO home I’ve stayed in, everything you would possibly need. The owners are extremely nice, we hated to leave.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Relaxing in Big Bay on Lake Superior

  • 5 of 5

From the moment we pulled in the driveway we were in awe. The house is bigger than it appears in pictures. Once we walked in the door we were in love! From the clean, spacious, beautifully decorated home to the gorgeous view of Lake Superior. Everything we needed was provided including washer/dryer - very much appreciated. The sandy beach allowed for nice long walks with eagle sightings both directions. The kayaks and croquet were thoroughly enjoyed by our group. Outside of the property we took in Big Bay by sight seeing and eating at the Inn and tavern. We went to Munising and did the Pictured Rocks tour - worth the drive. The highlight of the trip would be the two nights of Northern Lights we were treated to. The huge windows provided inside viewing while the deck provided outside view of the lights and plenty of falling stars.

Beautiful place, location and Claudia made herself very accessible if we needed her. Thank you Claudia, for sharing your home. We made lots of memories during our stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

What a great week, this home offered lots of views and great areas for a large family!

  • 5 of 5

Our first family vacation with all 3 families was perfectly hosted by the space provided. We loved kayaking on the sunny days, and sight-seeing on the not so sunny days. Loved the beach, deck, and fire pit. Marquette was close by for anything we forgot and there were lots of trails for 4-wheeling. The beds were comfortable, and with 6 kids along we appreciated the laundry available. Loved the historical pamphlets to learn about the area. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Cleaning Fee $150
Property Damage Protection $99

Rates are subject to change until confirmation. A personal check for $300 for a security deposit is to be mailed to homeowner upon reservation (and first payment online). This security deposit is to cover minor damage/replacement of items such as breakage to minor items, missing pillows/bedding, etc. This check (or portion if damage/replacement) will be returned to you within 15 days of checkout. The check should be sent with a signed copy of the rental agreement.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties