Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

STONE CREEK LODGE

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms4
Space 2,100 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

SECULDED PRIVATE HOME ON RUSHING MOUNTAIN STREAM

Private home located on 2 heavily wood acres in Marietta, Georgia. Five historic districts graced with antebellum homes and plantation 1843 Howell Sessions-Touchton Classical Greek Revival, Oakton Plantation 1838 and 55 additional self-guided walking or driving tours all across from and on surrounding streets. You are a five minute drive to the turn of the 19th century Marietta square where 22 restaurants offer culinary delights from gourmet to casual fare with more than 700 additional restaurants in the area.

Daytime activities include 5 museums, 1855 Marietta Museum of History, the Gone with the Wind Museum, Root House Museum c. 1845 and Marietta Fire Museum. Many antique and quaint shops line beautiful Marietta Square. Art Deco Strand Theater, home of Atlanta Lyric Theater which produce musical theater performance, also host classic film, concerts and stage productions thru out the year. Perhaps a picnic in Glover Park located in the center of the square where special events and music are offered along with art shows and weekly Farmers Market on weekends May 1st thru October. Additionally, large shopping malls are within 10 minute drive of the property. You will also find fabulous shopping in a 20 minute drive to downtown Atlanta.

Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield is within a 5 minute drive of the property. You will find a wonderful Civil War Southern museum. An overlook near the summit offers a panoramic view of northern Georgia and a Wizard of Oz view of the city of Atlanta in the distance. Park trails offer short walks and long hikes across the mountains. Also for history buffs the Southern Museum of Civil War and Locomotive history; both Union and Confederate cemeteries all within a 5 minute drive. Further recreation can be found at the White Water Park (2 Minute drive) and Six Flags over Georgia in less than 20 minutes.

For those who prefer to ride but not drive, Historic Marietta Trolley Company will take you on a ride thru history to explore Marietta historic districts and Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield Park. They also offer Pedi cabs Takeatour, wave one down or call for pickup.

You are a 5 minute drive to the County Seat court complex and the hub for the Wellstar Medical community featuring Kennestone Hospital, hospice care and maternity facility.

Cobb County Bus Transit is a one block walk to the stop. They offer local one way stop to Marta that will allow you to travel downtown or Hartsfield International Airport. The total cost to the airport is less than $5.00.

Our residence is available for daily, weekly or monthly rates. Ample parking.

More Details

Owner
George and Asenah Richeson
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 19, 2017

Map

Private home located on 2 heavily wood acres in Marietta, Georgia. Five historic districts graced with antebellum homes and plantation 1843 Howell Sessions-Touchton Classical Greek Revival, Oakton Plantation 1838 and 55 additional self-guided walking or driving tours all across from and on surrounding streets. You are a five minute drive to the turn of the 19th century Marietta square where 22 restaurants offer culinary delights from gourmet to casual fare with more than 700 additional restaurants in the area.

Daytime activities include 5 museums, 1855 Marietta Museum of History, the Gone with the Wind Museum, Root House Museum c. 1845 and Marietta Fire Museum. Many antique and quaint shops line beautiful Marietta Square. Art Deco Strand Theater, home of Atlanta Lyric Theater which produce musical theater performance, also host classic film, concerts and stage productions thru out the year. Perhaps a picnic in Glover Park located in the center of the square where special events and music are offered along with art shows and weekly Farmers Market on weekends May 1st thru October. Additionally, large shopping malls are within 10 minute drive of the property. You will also find fabulous shopping in a 20 minute drive to downtown Atlanta.

Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield is within a 5 minute drive of the property. You will find a wonderful Civil War Southern museum. An overlook near the summit offers a panoramic view of northern Georgia and a Wizard of Oz view of the city of Atlanta in the distance. Park trails offer short walks and long hikes across the mountains. Also for history buffs the Southern Museum of Civil War and Locomotive history; both Union and Confederate cemeteries all within a 5 minute drive. Further recreation can be found at the White Water Park (2 Minute drive) and Six Flags over Georgia in less than 20 minutes.

Amenities

Marietta House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 2100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • children welcome
Theme:
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • FULL BATH HAS DOUBLE VANITY AND LARGE TUB FOR SOAKING. 2ND BATH HAS LARGE WALK-IN SHOWER. 1/2 BATH IS CLOSE TO DINING AREA.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • ALL BEDROOMS ARE FULLY FURNISHED WITH LINENS AND BED COVERINGS. YOU ALSO HAVE A LARGE PRIVATE CLOSET FOR YOUR PERSONAL BELONGINGS
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
41% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
STONE CREEK LODGE
average rating of 4.25 based on 12 reviews
5

Awesome home away from home!

  • 5 of 5

This property was the perfect home away from home. We needed an extended place for a baseball tournament and quite a few teenagers. The house has lots of room, great kitchen and outdoor patio with grill for cooking in, its very clean, and the creek out back provided lots of entertainment for the kids and adults like. George and Asenah are so nice and even left fresh flowers in every room for our stay. The location was perfect for games anywhere around Atlanta. And it was so nice to come back home to a warm house instead of a hotel room. Would highly recommend this rental!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Holiday Happiness

  • 4 of 5

Stone Creek Lodge was a terrific home for our three-generation-Atlanta area stay over the Christmas holiday. The entire home was comfortable and spacious for all six of us to spread out and have many meals in while the sun room suite was perfect for parents, age 87 and 88, to have their necessary quiet times. This home is well-situated with accessibility to Interstate 75 which is right around a couple of corners. Asenah’s lovely floral arrangements were a delightful touch, and Richard attended, immediately, to our every need. If you like cozy, this house is for you.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Ideal family home in Atlanta area

  • 5 of 5

On arriving, we were greeted by the owners who had cut fresh roses from outside and put them in every room! The attention to detail was impeccable. From soaps to spices to cookware to towels to a hair dryer and once I looked I realized every room had a "theme"/color scheme and the detailed Decor made the house feel like a home for the time that we stayed. There was a toddler bed/crib for my youngest and also a creek out back for my older children. We were 20 minutes from downtown Atlanta to visit attractions like the night lights at the botanical gardens or whatever we wished. It was absolutely beautiful and a perfect solution to not being able to make it to North Georgia. George was quick to help with whatever we needed and his wife was kind and welcoming. The nature was beautiful on the land and there's a park a short walk away with a playground for the kids behind the tennis court. Perfect.

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for such a thoughtful review. We enjoyed meeting you and your children are adorable.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Terrible

  • 1 of 5

I would never rent from this owner. Beds are terrible. TV did not work properly. Cats in the outside garbage every night. Bathroom sink did not drain. Odor in house. Owner has video cameras on the exterior of house to watch you come and go. Owner did not respond to TV issues. No cable for the TV. Make sure you read lease owner kept my security deposit for no reason.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Please read the guest's agreement. You rented this home with 7 guests on your agreement. You then put 12 people in the home. The home would not have rented to you if you a listed 12 people. If you bring extra people or pets you have to let us know.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
4

Perfect for our needs !!

  • 4 of 5

This house was perfect for our needs - we were coming and going a lot. My only complaint was the mosquitoes were horrid when we sat out on the deck !! Could probably stand to update some of the cookware - but other than that was a great place. We locked ourselves out and the owner was very kind to come and open the place back up !!

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

PERFECT FOR ANY OCCASION !!!

  • 5 of 5

This property works for any and all occasions. I unfortunately needed a place to accommodate 9 family members traveling in from various destinations for a funeral. It provided the perfect setting for the family to be together. A hotel would not have come close to providing the comfort, closeness and homey feeling needed under the circumstances. George and Asenah are totally awesome owners and stopped by to pay their respects and see if there was anything we needed. They were attentive and responsive to our needs and I truly appreciate them both. I could go on, and on, and on but this property lifted the cloud of despair and feeled us all with joy. The peace and tranquility that surrounds the property was a bonus. Fully satisfied.

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable

Additional information about rental rates

CLEANING $200
Pet Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $200

NO PARTYING, LOUD NOISE, EVENTS AND OR FIREWORKS. ONLY REGISTERED GUEST ARE TO BE AT HOME OVERNIGHT. PLEASE DO NOT MOVE FURNITURE OR TV.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.