Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Waterfront Four Seasons Chalet Pet Friendly

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

- 3 BR, 2BA

This lakefront chalet is located in Pocono Mt Lake Estates. The home is beautifully furnished and fully equipped for comfortable vacation living. Lake views from the kitchen, living room and loft. Secluded among maple, pine and birch trees. The chalet has three bedrooms; two downstairs with one bath downstairs and one upstairs in loft area with full bath upstairs. The upstaris bedroom has a queen size bed, TV and stereo. Downstairs both bedrooms have double beds. There is a large front deck overlooking Eagle Lake.

No Smoking. Pets are permitted. A non-refundable pet fee applies. Cleaning fee applies.

RENTED BY THE WEEK ONLY MAY 15 THROUGH SEPTEMBER 15

**Note: firewood is * not* provided.

supplies for barbeque grill not provided

**You must at least 21 to enter into a rental agreement.

More Details

Owner
Patrick Vance
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2017

Amenities

Bushkill Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom -
    Bathroom -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 1 double
    Bedroom - 1 double
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
1 Queen, 2 double, 1double sleeper sofa, 1 single roll-away. Canoe, **Note: firewood is * not* provided. **You must at least 21 to enter into a rental agreement.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(47 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
19% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
4% Complete
Waterfront Four Seasons Chalet Pet Friendly
average rating of 4.5319147 based on 47 reviews
Bushkill
5

We had excellent time

  • 5 of 5

I had group of 7 people with me.

We had a great time in this Chalet.

Very clean nice cozy place.

View from Deck is really great.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Come have a great time in the Poconos. Autumn is a beautiful time to visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
8 3
Voorhees Township, New Jersey
5

Great Weekend Retreat

  • 5 of 5

Two of my girlfriends and I take a yearly Labor Day Weekend trip. We've used HomeAway each time and have yet to be disappointed. This Chalet was clean and comfortable and true to the pictures. We brought our own firewood and charcoal and made use of the fireplace and grill. We also used the canoe, which needs replacing as one of the seats is broken.

Previous reviewers have notated needed repairs and issues with critters in the walls. While we didn't hear anything in the walls we did notate the areas that needed some work. The owner Patrick advised of this in advance and followed up with notice that he was addressing them upon our departure. If you have Four Seasons taste with a Motel 6 budget, then this is not the place for you. If you are looking for calm surroundings with beautiful views then book away! My final note would be that some type of medium brightness dusk to dawn or motion sensor light could be used for the drive way. Coming down that steep hill at night is a bit precarious. Ultimately we enjoyed our stay and would recommend to others seeking this type of experience.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you had a good time and enjoyed the house. A lot of maintenance finished to the house this week, so feel free to come back and enjoy the improvements.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Alexandria, Virginina
3

Beautiful Place in need of maintenance and rodent control

  • 3 of 5

This is a beautiful spot and a great house but the eaves are rotting and the squirrels have made them their home, the noise at night keeps vacationers awake. Having read about this in a previous review I had assumed the owner would haven taken care of the problem by now, at least stapled chicken wire over the holes but NO, nothing was done about it. The frame of the front door is rotting away, at this point anyone could kick it in. The two sliding glass doors to the deck have no screens, we found a bent one we could lean against one door. The deck railing would not pass inspection as little children could fall right off. Also, too bad that what looks to have been a nice floating dock has now been pulled onto the shore and serves as a deck instead, making it difficult not to tangle fishing line in the trees and to launch our kayak without getting into the water.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. It does seem like you enjoyed the house and the area. As I mentioned to you when you booked, the soffits were torn down by previous renters who enjoyed themselves a little too much. They have since been replaced. As I mentioned to the other reviewer and to you, the house does have squirrels around the property. In fact, it has an abundance of wildlife around it. Some guests think it adds to the charm of the visit, but I do apologize if the general wildlife in the area upset you or ruined your stay in any way. The front door, also damaged by my previous guests has been replaced and the new screens are currently on order. I do try to get damage left by previous guests fixed as quickly as I can, but the damage you experienced occurred only two weeks prior and instead of cancelling your stay, so I can get the work completed, an option I provided you, I thought the best option was to allow to continue with your trip and enjoy everything else the house has to offer as well as the Bushkill area. As for the dock, it is purposely set back so that guests who wish to bring their own boats can launch them without falling in the lake. Again, I apologize if that ruined your enjoyment of the dock or the lake. My many other guests seem to appreciate the consideration, especially when they have kayaks. There was of course the community dock, beach, playground, and picnic area just a three minute walk from the house. I hope you had the chance to take advantage of those great and convenient amenities. You were a wonderful guest and I hope you come back in the fall to see the spectacular sites the autumn season has to offer.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful Location

  • 5 of 5

Overall, I'm giving this a five star based on location. The lake is beautiful and we really enjoyed using the canoe. We also had two of our own kayaks. The dock is great and a very peaceful place to sit and relax. We loved the pool and also the lake beach. The house is close to the Delaware River and many waterfalls. There is no need to pay admission to Bushkill Falls, unless you want to. Many of the falls are just a short hike from the parking areas.

As other reviewers pointed out, the house does need some TLC. Patrick the owner was very forthcoming about this before our stay. The squirrels do run through the soffits, but this was only a problem one night as they seemed to be in the walls of one bedroom and did wake up the person staying in that room.

Some of the damage is from renters who may not respect the property. When we arrived the one screen door to the deck was bent out of shape and immediately fell out. The other sliding door had no screen at all. Patrick was unaware of this until I told him, and they had already been replaced twice since April. So, please be respectful of the home and future renters. It would have been nice to have the full screen doors open to enjoy the beautiful breeze and the house, which has no AC, would not have been hot at all.

Some points to consider, which are no secret if you read the listing details, are as follows:

The kitchen is small and there is limited storage space. My group of eight renters were seven adults and a baby. So, we were a bit cramped at times in the kitchen.

There is no dishwasher if that matters. We had plenty of capable dishwashers in our group.

The master bedroom is a loft. The pull out sofa bed is also there. There is limited privacy if that's important to you, but we did not mind. It offers a great view of the lake to wake to each morning.

The driveway is a bit steep, but we all had four-wheel drive and all wheel drive vehicles, so this was not a problem. There is room for one car at the top of the driveway, but I don't think you could fit two there.

Lastly, as you can see in the pictures, the deck railing is horizontal and it is quite high off the ground. This may be a concern if your group includes toddlers and young children.

Overall, we loved the house and location. We have vacationed in Bushkill quite a few times and love the area. We would definitely rent again.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

RIPOFF

  • 1 of 5

I wasn't even going to write a review but Patrick and HomeAway asked for it. Right from the beginning they tried to overcharge me with a pet fee although we had no pet and a damage fee and a security deposit. Patrick blamed it on HomeAway and Homeaway blamed it on Patrick. I did eventually pay only the refundable security deposit after a ridiculous number of time wasting emails and calls. I inquired about my refund and I was told that I had to wait 30 days. I have rented many, many places and I never had to actually wait 30 days for my security refund but this has now been 40 days and still no refund so I will waste more time and take it to another level. You have to be Nuts to rent this place there are squirrels in the walls.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The guest signed a rental agreement which indicated that he understood the time table on the return of his security deposit, which is 30 days. All of my guests sign the same rental agreement. It is plain and obvious in the agreement. For him to mislead review readers that he did not receive his security deposit is an example of what I had to deal with regarding this guest. The security deposit was returned to him on the 27th day. HomeAway takes three days to transfer funds. I have no control over the transfer schedule. The 30 day wait is to allow charges that guests will ring up during their stay at the house. For example, this guest incurred a $30.00 fee for excess garbage, however, the bill for this was not received until three days AFTER I had returned his security deposit. So, it is a fee I will not recover and obviously a fee for which he will not take responsibility. There are squirrels at the house. The house is in the mountains. There is little I can do to control the animal population in or around the house or community in which the house is located. My apologies to review readers as I know these sour grape reviews do little to tell you more about the house and the area. I recommend that you read the dozens of five star reviews of guests who genuinely enjoyed their stayed at the house and in the area.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

If you like squirrels.................

  • 1 of 5

..you love this place. They are active both day and night in the walls and ceiling. If you look closely at the photo of the deck and windows you can see the eves need some work, ( this is true for a lot of the exterior )this is where the little cridders enter and leave. Very disappointed with this property. The owner must never visit this house. Did not get our money's worth on this one.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I had explained to the guest that the soffits over the deck overlooking the lake were damaged by previous guests who apparently enjoyed the house too much. I explained that during the busy summer season that arranging for repairs was difficult especially with guests who already confirmed their bookings. Like he, guests do not want repairs going on during their stay. It is unfortunate that on a five star rated home this guest could not find enjoyment in the beautiful views of the lake from the house; or note how he enjoyed the rides in the canoe from the private dock on the property; or how he enjoyed beautiful Bushkill Falls only ten minutes from the house, or hiking along the Delaware River in the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation area, or fishing on many of the streams and lakes in the area, or enjoy any of the near 40 plus restaurants just 15 to 20 minutes from the house or the award winning community center with pools, club house and game room, or, the new furniture, or the new washer and dryer, or the impressive loft bedroom in the house, or, or, or.... Instead to complain about squirrels? My property is in the Pocono mountains. There are squirrels and rabbits and deer, and raccoons, etc. on the property. It is sort of part of what guests are looking for in a house in the Poconos.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Located off Route 209 near Bushkill Falls, Fernwood, Shawnee and Alpine Mountains for skiing and winter sports. Non-power boat lake excellent for fishing. Just minutes from the chalet, Pocono Mt Lake Estates offer the following amenities: tennis courts, indoor and outdoor pools, restaurant, gym, snack bar, sandy beach with picnic facilities and children's play area. Use of these facilities requires a badge per person through the Pocono Mountain Lake Estates Community Association. A $100.00 ($75.00refundable) cash deposit is required by PMLE to obtain badges. Within minutes of horseback riding, 18 hole championship golf, white water rafting, paintball, snowmobile and ATV rentals, skiing, tubing and skating, etc.

Nearby are antique shops, flea markets, 'Crossings' Factory Outlet stores and excellent restaurants. New York City and Philadelphia are only two hours by car.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Pet Fee $65
Damage Deposit $300

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.