Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

NEW 2bd Cozy Early California House

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

On the Woodland Hills/Calabasas border.THIS IS NOT A SHARE! THIS IS" NOT" DARK AND DANK CUBICLE APARTMENT! You have the entire place to yourself. If the calendar says that the cottage is available,. IT IS! HIT THE BLUE 'BOOK IT BUTTON'! Also If you decide this is the place for you and yours,and it is a last minute booking (three days or less before you arrive) you must send a request via email to book. Without that prior contact on a last minute booking ,we will most likely decline your request. Please leave a telephone number so that we may give you a quick call. Before the description starts in earnest...Please if you or any person in your party is a smoker, do not book this home. There will be a "dishonesty penalty" charged to you if you smoke anywhere on the premise.OK..with that bit of info out of the way..the place is centrally heated and cooled. Two very large tastefully inviting' bed rooms.(with King and Queen beds. You may have up to three (including 1 separate hideaway), beds,nobody has to sleep on a couch! One and one quarter bath(no waiting), The linens are of sufficient thread count and are impeccably clean.(I clean them myself). A bathroom with a 'full bathtub',and not just a shower. You can be assured of peaceful uninterrupted nights sleep..This is a completely detached building with 'total privacy' as it's sole design mission.The kitchen is fully appointed ,including a microwave,full sized refrigerator, full stove , toaster,spices that would satisfy most palettes,dishes,and an assortment of pots and pans. An array of gourmet teas and coffee are there for your enjoyment. There is a clothes washer and dryer solely for your use.*(Due to the drought,washer and dryer use are strictly for stays one week or longer If you are not planning your stay for a week or longer please do not request use of the washer or dryer. It is awkward and uncomfortable to have to say no.). Also because of the drought the dishwasher may not be used)The fully appointed grand kitchen that opens up into a bright living room that is large enough and elegant enough, to entertain new clients ,family ,new friends ,or whomever you choose! Flat screen television and 'WI-fi' are included.

Outside is a very cozy and comfortable 'artistically designed' private bar be cue area,perfect for lazy afternoon suntan sessions.Best of all its an easy short drive through 'back road beautiful mountain scenery' direct to Malibu Beach California .Lots of hiking and biking trails, High end 'shopping abounds well within easy walking distance.Conveniently situated between the Calabasas Commons,(as seen frequently on TMZ and other shows), and at least four other shopping malls and stand alone boutiques abound. There are also plenty of' Gourmet' restaurants for every taste and palate . Public transit is within blocks to take you to local places like Hollywood, Universal studios, Venice Beach, and such.There is no need to base your 'home away from home' in any one of those congested areas when within a few minutes you can be there.Lets face it, most Vacations to 'Big Cities' aren't very relaxing... Where you are able to go and really 'unwind' is what makes all of the difference.You can also view or book another one of our fabulous properties by following this link.

I cannot emphasis enough how important it is for a home away from home to afford you as a guest, 'complete privacy'...You wont feel intruded upon in at all.

Unfortunately for our safety and even more than that,..The safety and privacy of our guest we can not allow 'stop byes',or 'drive byes'. Please do not ask.We tried it before and it simply does not work. Valid identification for all guest must be presented at time of check in. Folks,because we "are not" a hotel therefore there is no concierge service. Unless approved by us,and arrangements have been made, well before your arrival date, (as in when you make your travel arrangements),we will not accept vacationers after 9 o''clock PM. We are in bed. No exceptions. Guest must contact host at least forty eight hours ahead of time to notify as to what time plane arrives if arriving via plane.Guest" must contact host" via email (no text), at least forty eight hours ahead of time to notify as to what time plane arrives if arriving via plane.Guest must still contact host even if they are arriving by car. If you do not call ,please do not expect us to be anywhere near prompt to greet you. Folks, this is Los Angeles. Hundreds of square miles ,20,000,000 people. If you dont have a concern that you may have to wait for hours to get entry into the house because you didn't call,..? After arrival please contact host as to give a better ETA .Restricted:This is a two story house. If you are handicapped ,older or have young children ..you will want to view our other one story listings.No rearrangement of furnishings for any reason.Restricted: Not suitable for handicapped persons,younger children,or elderly.Due to safety concerns for existing and future guest, exact address Will only be emailed to guest (3) days before arrival. .The zip code is 91367.Due to the California water shortage stays under 7 days will not have access to clothing washer and dryer.The host will meet and greet you with a short orientation and give you the keys..Then you are set to start your vacation!

More Details

Owner
Rich and Eva
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 6, 2017

About Rich and Eva

I attempt at all times to remain open minded on all things.Our differences are what makes life interesting.,modesty is usually the best life policy,I strive to be easy to communicate with.I love garage sales and second hand stores.traveling up the California coastline,cooking for old and new friends,Good jazz and jazz (website hidden) homes represent me and my Life views,... calm and relaxed.Nothing artificial,all natural.I never ever want to leave any situation second guessing 'did I do my best?' Therefore I attempt a 110 percent effort.

Rich and Eva purchased this house in 2007

Why Rich and Eva chose Los Angeles County

Location,Location ,Location!

Map

Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
local peasant
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
woodland hills
Nearest Train
6 Miles
chatsworth
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
hwy101
Nearest Ski
80 Miles
Big bear
Nearest Beach
9 Miles
Malibu
Car: recommended

This is a restricted listing due to the steep stairs in the home. No children under the age of 9 years . to the elderly or disabled...Please look to our more user friendly house that would be better suited to your physical circumstance. Thank you..No parties or gatherings of any kind with out paying party rates,obtaining party insurance and prior written permission from host..No rearrangement of furnishings for any reason. Absolutely no fires of any kind with the exception of the barb que.Due to safety concerns for existing and future guest, exact address Will only be emailed to guest (3) days before arrival.When guest vacate, the house must be left exactly as it was when guest were given the keys. This means no dirty dishes,linens must be left at the door for laundry pick up,no stains on couches,no rearrangement of furnishings etc. If you do not receive the exact address with in three days, please notify us telephone number that will be provided after you book.The zip code is 91367.No guest of guest parking for any reason. Guest assumes liability for any and all loss or injury for self and guest of guest.No check in after nine PM.If guest arrives at the rental with a larger number of guest than agreed upon in the rental contract,the contract will be nullified and cancelled. No refund will be given.

Amenities

Woodland Hills House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Theme:
  • Historic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Restricted:This is a two story house. If you are handicapped ,older or have young children ..you will want to view our other one story listings.No rearrangement of furnishings for any reason.Restricted: Not suitable for handicapped persons,younger children,or elderly.Due to safety concerns for existing and future guest, exact address Will only be emailed to guest (3) days before arrival. .The zip code is 91367.Due to the California water shortage stays under 7 days will not have access to clothing washer and dryer.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
NEW 2bd Cozy Early California House
average rating of 4.866667 based on 15 reviews
5

Very clean and comfortable. Great location!

  • 5 of 5

My sister and I stayed here for a week in mid-August 2017 while attending a high school reunion and visiting relatives. We were impressed by how clean, attractive and comfortable it was. This house really does look just like it does in the pictures!! Rich and Eva were very welcoming and attentive. It’s important to point out, as clearly noted in the VRBO listing, that all bedrooms and bathrooms are upstairs. The stairs are a bit steep so this house would not be the best choice for anyone who has trouble going up and down stairs. Babies and toddlers would have to be closely supervised.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfectly sized with all the essentials.

  • 5 of 5

This was a very nice place for our group of 4 (2 couples) to stay. We visited 6 flags and Universal Studios during our stay and they were both good distances away from the home, not too far or hard to get to at all. There was a grocery store and gas station right on the corner as well as some fast food options around the corner. All in all a very nice place and location to stay in. Very pleased with my stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

woodland hills haven

  • 4 of 5

good neighbourhood/ good accomodation /good aircon / noisey irrigation system at 06:00 every second morning / very comfortable with a rustic feel

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just book it!

  • 5 of 5

What an adorable little getaway! My friend and I stayed at Rich & Eva's Woodland Hills property and loved it. Rich, despite claiming to be socially awkward, was easy to work with, funny and charming. He was very responsive and attentive and just an all around nice, easy going guy. The property itself is clean, charmingly decorated and very naturally cool in the living room area, where I spent most of my time while in the rental. The upstairs where the bedrooms are can get a little warm, but there is air conditioning throughout the home that you can adjust. The wifi worked great, we got a bottle wine from our hosts to enjoy and we had a great time going to the beach everyday and getting tanned/sunburnt.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great space!

  • 5 of 5

My hosts were extremely accommodating and thoughtful. The rental was clean and we had everything that we needed. I would not hesitate to stay there again and will do so anytime I'm in LA.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy Guest House for two

  • 5 of 5

This was perfect (location/price/accommodations) for our four day stay. LA traffic delayed our arrival; the owners were available and understanding. The guest house is cute! Our compact car navigated the narrow driveway well. TV reception was good; water pressure was acceptable; the neighborhood was peaceful at night. Both bedrooms AND bathrooms are upstairs. That was not a terrible inconvenience but should be noted for those accustomed to relief within 10 steps. The “house rules” were great reminders for staying as a guest at any home; they relieved my apprehension and brought a sense of commonality. No surprises here; everything looked as pictured which was a relief. Thanks for letting us stay at your house. We had a great visit!

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We try our very best! Thanks so much.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

damage insurance $65
cleaning fee $60

Check in time 3pm and check out time11am ,No parties/gathering of any kind unless party otherwise approved by management and guest has paid "party rates"...Party insurance must be purchased and approved by management.The house assumes "absolutely no" responsibility for Guest's actions or accidents,or loss of any kind or manner.Guest accepts any and all liability for property damage (both physical and personal),incurred by or result of him/her self and or his or her guest.Driving or parking on the premises are at the host discretion. Host accepts no liability for damage done to guest automobile while parked or driven on premise with the permission of the host . No smoking of anything in the premises., Smoking anywhere "outside" on premises is also prohibited ..Candles in the unit are for decoration "ONLY" the candles on the dining table may be lit "ONLY" while placed on the dining room table. Candles may also be used outdoors ... if used with caution.No fires of any kind in the home with the exception of the oven and stove. Absolutely no drugs or use of any kind.(tobacco,marijuana,pipe etc.with or witout a prescription.) any where on premises for any reason.No moving,rearrangement, or removal of furnishings for any reason. "Host reserves the right to pass'. Upon acceptance of this contract, guest relinquishes right of review and or blog with regard to this property to any outside website or forum.Host also reserves the right to refuse service.Guest that made reservation must be present with valid ID and credit card used to book the home upon check in. Guest also understands this agreement does not constitute a contract between "landlord and tenant", as stipulated in/by codes of California . This agreement is a temporary "vacation stay" in which any monetary compensation or consideration is an agreed upon donation to the household stipulated in the afore mentioned contract in return for temporary rights as stipulated in and for use solely in the time period indicated

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties