Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Tropical 1/1 private St. Pete condo--4 mi. to St. Pete Beach, Ft. Desoto Park!

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 650 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Tropical 1/1 private St. Pete condo--4 mi. to St. Pete Beach, Ft. Desoto Park

This is a cute, affordable, economical, and comfortable private 1/1 condo that is easy on your budget. Children ages 8 and over are welcome. Please contact us if you wish to share a different 2/2 condo very inexpensively with the property manager and her two sweet cats. It is located in the same building, also poolside and facing the forest. Thank you!

This is a retro, historic, 1960s art deco building of about 100 units. It's not the Trump Tower or Ritz Carlton by any means, but it has historic relevance and its unique design is unrivaled in the U.S. Various renovations have been made in recent years such as enhanced landscaping with more to come in future years such as new windows and balconies, so balconies (all poolside and facing the lush forest) are decorative only until the HOA decides what to do with them in the next 2-3 years. This location, Pinellas Point, is sizzling hot with real estate land and property appreciation.

The building is minutes from the warm, turquoise waters and white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, Fort DeSoto Park, and St. Pete Beach which was chosen by "Dr. Beach" as one of America's top beaches. This tastefully furnished, 1/1 private and highly affordable condo will suit your budget. It'll be your home away from home because it's equipped with all the comforts and conveniences needed for a memorable Florida vacation. Numerous activities are available nearby--enjoy the area's walking and biking trails, fishing, swimming, golfing, boating, sight-seeing trips, nightlife, casino cruises, sunset cruises, watercraft rentals, and more. Hop on board the Suncoast Beach Trolley at the Don Cesar, the famous "Pink Palace" on St. Pete Beach recently named "American's Best Historic Hotel," and spend the day exploring and touring Florida's Gulf beaches. Enjoy the "catch of the day" at one of the many beachfront restaurants or take a break from the sun and sand and meander through the unique shops and many tourist attractions up and down our beautiful coastline such as St. John's Pass. If you desire theme park adventures, Busch Gardens is a 45 minute drive east while Walt Disney World, Sea World, and Universal Studios are less than 2 hours away. Shop, dine, and explore downtown St. Petersburg during your stay. Sundial, the city’s newest architectural wonder in the heart of downtown, will mesmerize you with its unique collection of shops, restaurants, spas, nightlife, and entertainment. The place “to be” in downtown St. Pete is Beach Drive. Overflowing culture and arts, the unrivaled Chihuly Collection is just one of many diverse galleries along Beach Drive. The excellent dining at one of the many upscale restaurants is a must. St. Pete’s picturesque waterfront is also home to the world-class Dali Museum, Museum of Fine Arts, Mahaffey Theater, Florida Orchestra, and over 1,000 special events and festivals each year. For visiting sports fans, the choices abound--Tropicana Field, the home of the Tampa Bay Rays, is a 15 minute drive. Just north on Interstate 275 is Raymond James Stadium and Amalie Arena, home to the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Tampa Bay Lightning. The Tampa Bay area is also home to the Rowdies of the North American Soccer League, minor league baseball, and MLB Spring Training. So, pack your bags because it's vacation time which around here means fun in the sun!

For the comfort and health concerns of all guests, NO PETS and NO SMOKERS, please. Property to be used for legal purposes only.

This is a charming, tropically-themed one bedroom, one bath condo unit. For all you get, the pricing is very reasonable but please keep in mind that this is a privately owned condo and not the Hilton Hotel or a 5-star beachfront resort. We will be happy to direct you to those properties where you will pay $250/night or more. The condos are clean and tastefully furnished, but please have reasonable expectations because the photos you see and the descriptions online here are accurate. We work hard to please, make you feel comfortable, and provide quality at a very reasonable price for a Florida vacation.

The building is across the street from a marina and is convenient to the Gulf of Mexico and beaches (4 miles west), Ft. DeSoto Park (7 miles southwest), Eckerd College (1 mile west), downtown St. Pete (5 miles northeast), Tampa (18 miles northeast), and even Bradenton and Sarasota for a day trip (50 miles south)! The condo is a 5 minute walk from a major grocery store, shops, gas stations, convenience store, and restaurants. Enjoy the privacy of your own fully tropical-style furnished home with a living room, kitchen, dining area, bedroom, and bath (with tub and shower). One free designated parking space comes with the condo, and free guest parking is available around the building.

The Space

This is a tropical-style condo for one or two people--even three if someone doesn't mind sleeping on the sofa. Fully furnished living room with rattan furniture--sofa, recliner, coffee table, end table with lamp, credenza, Key West-style ceiling fan, and 32" LED Samsung TV (with basic cable from Bright House Networks) and Sony DVD player. Wifi is also provided by Bright House. The adjacent cozy dining area has a table with four chairs. The bedroom is also tropical-themed with artwork, queen bed, bedside tables with lamps, entertainment center, dresser with mirrors, walk-in closet, and ceiling fan. The kitchen has a refrigerator, stove/oven, microwave oven, dishes, glasses, pots, silverware---all you need to prepare meals! The bathroom has a toilet with storage unit above, shower and tub, and sink. The hallway contains a large closet and large linen closet too. The property manager lives downstairs and can assist you with questions. Enjoy complete privacy overlooking the large pool and tropical secluded forest outside your windows. Guests can use the large oval pool, fitness center, sand volleyball court, picnic/BBQ area, and laundry room, and they can park for free in the designated parking spot for that condo unit.

Interaction with Guests

Because she lives on-site, the property manager can answer questions and assist you. This condo is private and unoccupied by other people.

Getting Around

A public bus stop is a 5 minute walk from the condo. A large grocery store, Publix, and several shops, restaurants, convenience stores, and gas stations are a 5-minute walk from the condo.

Other Things to Note

Included: use of swimming pool, sand volleyball court, picnic and barbecue areas, laundry rooms, fitness center, free vehicle parking.

More Details

Property Manager
Maria Juhasz, Property Manager--MLD Friends, LLC
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, czech, hungarian
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 25, 2017

About Maria Juhasz, Property Manager--MLD Friends, LLC

Hi, I'm Maria, your on-site property manager with MLD Friends, LLC, a St. Petersburg-based and registered vacation rental management company. I'm friendly and outgoing and can assist as needed and give sightseeing advice during your stay. I have extensive overseas travel experiences and speak Hungarian and Slovakian quite well. I look forward to meeting you!

Maria Juhasz, Property Manager--MLD Friends, LLC purchased this condo in 2014

Why Maria Juhasz, Property Manager--MLD Friends, LLC chose St. Petersburg

Tropical Florida-themed for great ambiance! Friendly, informative host; convenient location to major attractions including our famous Gulf of Mexico beaches, Ft. DeSoto Park, downtown St. Petersburg, and Tampa. A short 5 minute walk to major grocery store (Publix) and shops. The public library is a 10 minute drive so you can check out books and DVDs for free and use the computers there is you wish.

What makes this condo unique

Property manager lives in the building and can assist you as needed and give sightseeing advice. Condo has many amenities for an enjoyable, relaxing, affordable holiday!

Guestbook comments from the manager

July 2015, Steve:

We had a nice stay at Maria's condo. She was warm and welcoming and gave us some good info regarding the local scene, restaurants and such. She checked in via text a time or two to make sure we were alright. We were looking for something simple and lower cost to use as our home base after spending all day everyday at the nearby beaches over the July 4th weekend. Her unit fit the bill for us and we even managed to use the onsite pool a time or two. The condo was pretty central to everything which made it nice and the Publix up the road was great for grabbing food and ice. Thanks again Maria for making us feel welcome!



August 2015, Pedro:

María was a pleasure to work with. She was patient with our unpredictable schedule for checking in, and that was a relief. She is informative, entertaining and great at providing insight on enjoying the local attractions. Her place was very well organized, properly stocked, clean and well attended. We would certainly stay again, because the value is worth it. The "Wave" building itself is unique, off the beaten path and quirky. Its a legitimate 60s Modernist work of architecture, that if it retained it's former glory, we probably couldn't afford stay there!
Feb 2016
  • 1 of 2

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Tampa International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Several
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
I-275
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Chinese, I-HOP, Denny's, others
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
St. Petersburg Beach, Pass-A-Grille Beach
Car: recommended

This condo is near I-275 for convenient access to Sarasota (45 minutes south), downtown St. Pete (10 minutes north), and Tampa (25 minutes north). Beaches are 4 miles west, the most famous being the beaches of Ft. DeSoto Park, St. Pete Beach, and Pass-A-Grille Beach. The historic Don Cesar Hotel built in the 1920s is a straight drive west from the condo. It's on St. Pete Beach and a must see! Water sports abound with kayak/canoe/jet ski/parasail/wind surf rentals nearby, pool and Gulf of Mexico swimming, and picnic/BBQ/volleyball/pool facilities on condo property.

Amenities

Pinellas Point Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:30 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Min. age of primary renter: 18
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Has sink, toilet, storage shelves above toilet, bathtub, shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Has queen bed, bedside stands with lamps, oak dresser with mirrors, oak entertainment unit, small LED television with cable, wifi, sitting stools, walk-in closet, ceiling fan, attractive tropical decor and silk plants, window overlooking pool/picnic/BBQ area/and palm/pine woods below for a secluded, resort-type ambiance. The bed sleeps up to 2 people. A 3rd person can sleep on the sofa for not extra cost, but it is a regular sofa and not a sleeper sofa. Some people bring an air mattress for a 3rd person. We have a pump to inflate it that you can borrow.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

3.4/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

25% Complete
25% Complete
25% Complete
16% Complete
8% Complete
Tropical 1/1 private St. Pete condo--4 mi. to St. Pete Beach, Ft. Desoto Park!
average rating of 3.4166667 based on 14 reviews
5

My Secret Exposed...

  • 5 of 5

This was my first vacation in St. Petersburg Florida and I stayed at Maria's Tropical Condo; an absolutely great choice that preset the mood for a fabulous vacation. The condo was clean, comfortable, fully furnished and delightfully decorated in a tropical theme. The convenient modern kitchen enabled the preparation of some of my meals on site, the private balcony adjacent to the kitchen allowed me to relax with a beverage while overlooking the swimming pool and woods in the background. Considering all the vacation rentals that I previewed, I found this condo to be the best in fit, form and function; the price was right, the privacy of a fully furnished efficiency condo, and the location within minutes of beaches, outstanding parks, bike trails, fishing, boating, golf and all of the cultural venues and events offered in the beautiful city of St. Petersburg Florida. Last but not least I must extend my heartfelt thank you to the gracious owner/hostess Maria who genuinely worked so hard to make my stay enjoyable and comfortable in every way and who tirelessly worked to ensure my stay was the best it could be. Just like General Douglas MacArthur said, "I came through and I shall return". It is a great place to stay and vacation !

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Summer Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing time in St Pete. Maria the property Manager was a wealth of information and always available for any questions we had.

Thank you Maria for letting us stay at the condo.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! I enjoyed meeting you and your husband and wish you both all the best in 2017 and moving forward in life!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Good location!

  • 3 of 5

This apartment was nice & cozy. It felt like a home away from home. The décor was tropical and a little dated but everything was in good repair. People that we met in the building were all pleasant. The owner was on hand if we needed anything. All in all it was a very nice place to stay and only about 20 minutes from a lot of things we did. Thank you Maria for letting us stay here.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Lynda, for the kind and positive review. We try to please and create a positive experience for guests and it's easy for those with realistic, optimistic, non-perfectionistic expectations. :) I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure to meet you both!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

DO NOT STAY IN THIS PLACE!

  • 1 of 5

My husband and I booked this condo for 3 nights, according to the pictures from website it looked pretty cozy. Reality was a different. 1. Condo smell, 2. It seems clean,but if you look closer you will definitely find out that this is not it. 3. The most horrible thing we have to deal with - a bugs. When we came back after grocery shopping at very first day and switched the lights we saw a huge bug sitting on the floor which freak me out so bad! It was not a little fly or bug, it was disgusting huge bug. We called to manager immediately because we were not going to stay at this place any moment. She came over to this condo and said that this is typical problem in FL, you can see bugs like that once in a while, all you need to do just find it and kill it, or if cannot not find it tonight , bug will die tomorrow anyway. (ARE YOU KIDDING ON ME???) I was in shock for a moment after these words and when we told her that we are not going to stay here for even one night and we need a our money back, she starts yelling on us (I am not kidding!) that she is not going to refund us any money and finally run away from a condo. We gave her a call after couple minutes and picked up the phone after our 3rd attempt to get hold of her. It was so rude and unprofessional! Anyway i asked her if she think that having bugs is valid reason to refund money to us, she said -NO. After we start packing at the same night, when air conditioner starts working another huge bug fell from it right on my husband shoulder while he was sitting on the couch. We were sooo out of there!!! Conclusion: if you like to deal with bugs and possible to find bugs on your body on the middle of the night paying money for it and deal with manager who does want to accept any complains this is the best place for you! I have been in FL several times and i have never ever had a problems with any bugs in any condos/hotels I booked before, because it were under proper pest control I guess.

  • Submitted: May 4, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hosts, beware! VRBO accepts all reviews without verification of facts. Total fiction is okay with VRBO in the name of "free speech." I prefer other booking websites for this reason. This review is fictitious libel because these two Russians didn't get their way. They arrived at the condo around 6 p.m. and were delighted about it. I even brought them two beach chairs from another condo because they wanted to suntan on the beach..However, I advised them to make indoor plans for the next day since torrential rainstorms and lightening were forecast with cooler temperatures. They started talking about ultimately going further south toward Miami, their final Florida vacation destination. At 9 p.m., I got a call from the wife about "a big bug." I went upstairs pronto and was there for 10 minutes but didn't find any bug and neither could they. I was totally skeptical about their story because the temperature was already dropping and it was starting to rain outside, so the bug story was a great excuse for them to leave. Of course, they demanded a full refund for their entire booking, and I said we can discuss that if there's a bug to be found. They got very rude and extremely demanding. I was professional and calm but I'm not a naive pushover. The husband yelled, "What if the bug crawls on my ass at night?" I said sarcastically, "Call me and show me your ass and the bug." However, by this time I had lost all respect for them, so I walked out of the condo in disgust at their conduct. I didn't hear from them again during their stay of 3 nights/4 days. On their departure day, I went upstairs to clean for future arriving guests who gave this condo a great review on another booking website. Conclusion: Too many reviews are libelous and malicious when clients don't get their demands met. They are false but VRBO chooses to allow any review to be posted online as "personal opinion."
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
3

Not far from beaches and parks

  • 3 of 5

Condo is next to a highway, but that made it easier to get to other parts of St. Petersburg; about 15 minutes from St. Pete's Beach. Lovely park about 10 minutes walk, it is on the water and has a Disc Course for playing Ultimate Frisbee. Publix grocery store less than 5 minutes drive. Maria wealth of knowledge for local attractions, etc.Condo is advertised as sleeping 3, my daughter slept on a regular sofa which could have been more comfortable. Maybe a foam topper could be purchased to make the sofa more comfortable for sleeping.

I checked my credit card bill, this property advertises that the damage deposit is refundable when in fact you are refunded your damage deposit minus what the credit card companies charge for the use of the credit card ( usually paid by the business accepting payment). In my case the refund was $30.00 USD less than what I paid. The web site mentions that there are fees deducted from the refund, I Thought that it pertained to the refundable deposit, not the full amount of the booking!

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review, Sharon. I'm sorry there was confusion about the credit card transaction fee which is anywhere from 2.5-3% of the booking total. That fee is deducted from what clients pay when they book--it goes to the credit card companies/banks as their profit, so it's money we never get. We deduct that loss from the security deposit which is the only way to do it. So that clients can have free echeck option, our property management company pays an annual subscription fee to VRBO so clients can use echeck payment. When used, the entire security deposit is refunded back to your checking/savings accoun since the full booking amount is paid with echeck. There's no "transaction" fee as with MasterCard, Visa, and others. International credit card transactions cost an addition 4.5% in "international transaction fees" in addition to the 2.5 to 3% regular transaction fees so as you can see, the money taken from the booking total adds up fast and goes to the banks as their profit. By offering echeck as a payment method through VRBO, we can keep our rates reasonable all year and especially during peak winter season when others just charge more per night to recover the credit card fees. We prefer clients to make a choice between payment type--credit card or free echeck. Thank you for understanding,.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
4

lovely for two

  • 4 of 5

we had a lovely time and enjoyed the nice and clean room and Maria was very helpful!

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! I live in the building and can assist as needed!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $40
Damage Deposit $150

Please contact me for long-term and seasonal rate quotes. The damage deposit is fully refunded if there aren't damages. Please pay VRBO by echeck if possible which is free--this can be done if booking is made 5 or more days prior to arrival. The transaction fee for credit card is 3% extra. The processing fee for cancelling a reservation is $25. Thank you!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties