Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

12F - PREMIUM OCEAN! 3BR/3BA, STEPS to pool & ocean club, DISCOUNTED GOLF!

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,660 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 1 - 6 nights


About the property


Largest floorplan at Halii Kai, this almost-oceanfront two-story 3-bedroom penthouse condominium has dramatic coastal views across the signature 12th hole of the Waikoloa Beach golf course. Enjoy year-round sunsets and views down the Kohala Coast towards Kona and Hualalai!

The private Halii Kai oceanfront owner’s club, just steps away, has a lagoon-style saltwater pool, fitness center and the Ocean Club Bar & Grill. Watch whales in season and spinner dolphins and passing canoes year round. Enjoy lunch or sunset cocktails with your neighbors.

The condo's kitchen features granite countertops, African mahogany cabinets and stainless steel appliances. Eat indoors or on the ocean view lanai off the dining room to enjoy leisurely and scenic meals. Bathrooms are elegant and roomy. There is a separate laundry room with washer and dryer.

Listen to the waves from your master bedroom with its own lanai. Guests in the other two bedrooms enjoy privacy and mountain views.

This villa has high quality furnishings.

Waikoloa Beach Resort has two golf courses, two shopping centers for boutiques and dining, the amenities of two hotels...and the white sand beach at Anaehoomalu Bay.

Situated 18 miles from the Kona International Airport and 26 miles from Kailua-Kona, luxurious Hali’I Kai is located along the 12th fairway of the Waikoloa Beach Resort’s Beach Course. It extends to the Ocean Club where you can watch migrating humpback whales as well as the breathtaking sunsets. Add the views of Mauna Kea, swaying palm trees and lava fields and you get the feeling you are somewhere truly special. The Ocean Club features a private clubhouse with outdoor restaurant and bar, multi-level heated lagoon style freshwater pool with waterfall, sand-bottom hot-tub, Wolf gas grill, and exercise cabana all with unparalleled views. Don’t forget to save some time for a game of tennis or half-court basketball, a barbeque picnic followed by an afternoon nap in the hammocks of Coconut Grove. Features of this Condo: - Ocean/golf course views from lanai, - Gourmet kitchen featuring African mahogany cabinetry and granite countertops.

- Luxury furnishings

- Entertainment system with cable TV, DVD, CD/Stereo

- Broadband internet

- Flat screen Cable TV in all bedrooms

- Clock-radio alarms in all bedrooms

- Phone in master bedroom

- Air Conditioning - Ceiling fans (with remote control) in living and bedrooms

- Washer and Dryer

- Iron plus ironing board

- High thread count bedding

- Beach towels

- Cooler

- Gas Grill on Lanai

- Gated security entrance

- Coded entry into the unit (this means you don’t have to pick up/drop off keys) We invite you to come see for yourself why these oceanfront villas on the Kohala Coast were named Hali’i Kai, Hawaiian for spreading out to the sea. With the thoughtfully conceived amenities and activities like golf, whale watching, snorkeling, hiking, biking, tennis, horseback riding, sailing, fishing, we are confident that your stay at Hali’I Kai will be memorable.

GET & TAT License #W43254424-01.

More Details

Chrisy Jankowski
Member since: 2014
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 14, 2018

About Chrisy Jankowski

We purchased this lovely property very recently and are thrilled to have finally found our perfect Hawaiian getaway. We have come to this island location for 8 weeks each year for the past 10 years or so, and have finally settled in on our dream vacation home away from home. The photo above is a small glimpse of our wonderfully robust family which includes: 4 siblings, 2 daughter-in-laws, 2 son-in-laws, 14 grandchildren and their first great-grandchild do in August 2014, there will be plenty of room and memories to be had at this beautiful island resort. Happy vacationing!

Chrisy Jankowski purchased this townhome in 2014

Why Chrisy Jankowski chose Puako

Outstanding amenities and location in a gated community. Additionally, for the avid golfer, enjoy golfing on either the Kings Course or the Beach Course for a fractiol of the price with our owner membership!

What makes this townhome unique

Our penthouse is closest to the pool, club, fitness center and restaurant. Our owner Golf Club Membership allows our guests to golf for a mere fraction of regular fees with no restriction on tee times.


Puako Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1660 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View ...
  • Resort
  • Village
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - separate tub and shower
    Bathroom 2 - separate tub and shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , MBR with private lanai
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , mountain views
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , mountain views
    - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Brand New QUEEN sleeper sofa with a memory foam mattress
    - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Brand New TWIN sleeper sofa
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
12F - PREMIUM OCEAN! 3BR/3BA, STEPS to pool & ocean club, DISCOUNTED GOLF!
average rating of 4.8235292 based on 17 reviews

Perfect island vacation house!

  • 5 of 5

The view! The view! The view! This condo was perfect for our family vacation. A close walk to the pool and the fitness center overlooking the ocean, with the open ocean breeze is one-of-a-kind! Everything we needed was here: 5 beach chairs, umbrellas, coolers, beach towels, snorkel equipment for 3+ - everything! The kitchen is nicely appointed with all we needed to cook 2 meals a day to enjoy on the lanai with this beautiful view! Thanks for a wonderful stay - if we come back to the Big Island, this is our #1 choice for accommodations!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fabulous Condo in Waikoloa!!

  • 5 of 5

We loved this condo. Just got back this morning and I am missing eating my papaya on the lanai overlooking the golf course and the ocean. The condo feels very new (granite counter tops) and is very well equipped. The condo has beach bags, beach chairs, beach umbrellas, a cooler-- everything you need for a great day at the beach. An added plus is the beautiful pool and hot tub which is just steps away. And they have a great cafe there where you can charge food and drink to your room. Try the pulled pork nachos!! The condo's owner, Chrisy, was very accommodating (she very graciously extended us a very late check out time as we took the red eye home) and her local manager, JT, replied immediately the few times I texted her with questions.

We absolutely would come back here. Loved every minute!!!

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sacramento, CA

Golfers, Ideal Location!

  • 5 of 5

Our annual golf trip was to Kona this year and this condo was perfect for us. Everyone wants space so three had rooms and the 4th opted for the pull out bad in the living room. 10-15 minute drive to all but one of the 6 courses we played, so the location was perfect. Also, being right next to the pool, and bar/restaurant was ideal. The beds were very comfortable. Nice amenities. I loved sitting on the lani in the morning over looking the golf course and watching the surf crash on the craggy lava. Stores and restaurants are all very close. After 7 days driving around we all decided Hali i Kai was the best complex at Waikoloa. And Chrisy was so helpful before we got there that we had no questions or problems when we arrived. Would return to 12F every time.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sparks, Nevada USA

Beautiful location and unit

  • 5 of 5

Unit 12f is close to the pool and is furnished beautifully. We have stayed at Hali Kai numerous times. This particular unit had 3 boogie boards, 3 beach chairs, 2 coolers, 2 beach mats, sand toys and beach towels. We used the gas grill a lot and the kitchen had many spices, as well as sugar, honey, and cooking spray. There were plenty of towels and soap dispensers and cleaning supplies. Everything worked great and we had lots of seating for games, eating and movies! This is a great home away from home:-).

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Beautiful Property with Temporary Issues

  • 2 of 5

The unit was as portrayed on the VRBO description with gorgeous ocean views, lovely lanais, stocked kitchen, nicely decorated, working wifi, comfortable beds, and available beach equipment. The unit is conveniently close to the pool and exercise center, both of which are lovely. The unit was generally clean, but did have an serious issue with cockroaches.

Concerning the degree of the infestation:

Upon arrival, there were two large dead cockroaches in the downstairs tub. These, perhaps, could have entered upon a cleaning crew’s time.While groceries were put away, cockroaches scurried away in every cupboard that was opened. Under the sink, there was a “pool” of 10-15 live cockroaches. Every time the dishwasher was opened, cockroaches came out from the nooks and crannies from within the dishwasher. At least one was within the coffee pot. My son, who was sleeping on the living room pull-out, saw at least one in the couch while making his bed. Each evening, upon returning home and turning on the lights in the kitchen, several ran into the baseboards in the kitchen.

We called the caretaker and she promptly called a pest control company which did come on the following morning, and sprayed the baseboards of the entire unit. Unfortunately, this did not result in any noticeable decrease in the cockroach population.

Unfortunately, once we returned home and tried to contact the owner of the property, she was difficult to reach.

Once this problem is rectified the property will once again make a perfect Hawaiian destination.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: My goal as a property owner is for each and every guest to have a wonderfully enjoyable experience at our home. I wish that I was made aware of this issue at it's onset and would have happily done my best to find another suitable accommodation with a full refund. Unfortunately, my caretaker simply mentioned that guests needed an exterminator. I never heard a single word from the guests whatsoever...not until after checkout. I certainly would never want to vacation in that surrounding and we do our best to spray the unit quarterly to avoid this. Because of this occurrence, I will begin spraying monthly. While I haven't had any other guest encounter this issue since I have owned the property going on 3 years now, I can understand the frustration. Communication from the unset is critical. My apologies.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Gaithersburg, Maryland

Little piece of paradise!

  • 5 of 5

great updated spacious and clean condo! Ocean views were amazing. Fabulous pool and poolside restaurant that you don't get at many condos. Location was close to big resorts for other amenities when needed (spa, luau etc). Only downside was no beach on property but the sandy spaces are limited on the west side and was a relatively short drive to several absolutely gorgeous beaches.

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
18 Miles
Kona International (KOA)
Car: recommended

Waikoloa Beach Resort has two golf courses, two shopping centers for boutiques and dining, the amenities of two hotels...and the white sand beach at Anaehoomalu Bay.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Check out cleaning fee $250 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 13.75%

Hawaii Taxes and Cleaning Fees are as follows:
GET and TAX totals 13.417%
Check out cleaning fee of $250

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.