Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

On N.C. border, golf, tennis, pool, zipline, heart jacuzzi, game rm, playg

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Space 5,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

5 BR, 3 Baths, Sleeps 14, Pool Table, Air Hockey,Foosball, 4 br have mtn. views

Enter the main level of this 5,000 sq. ft. home into a spacious great room (open floor plan including living, dining room, kitchen and sun room) with cathedral ceilings, stone gas fireplace and large screen TV. Entertain while enjoying a floor to ceiling view of the mountain ranges though forty feet of windows over looking the 10th hole of the golf course. The dining area can accommodate 18 people comfortably. A fully functional spacious kitchen with an island awaits your creativity. Out on the 20' x 40' deck you will enjoy fabulous views while dining a delicious meal prepared on a brand new gas grill while sitting at a picnic table ( seats 12 people or/and a high top table with 4 chairs, 2 double swing chairs while watching the kids playing on the playground.

Inside, adjoining the open entertainment space, on the top floor you will have your private romantic master suite with mountain views. There is a king size bed and a heart shaped Jacuzzi, shower and bidet. Downstairs, your guests will rest comfortably in one of the over sized bedrooms each with queen beds (3) and one with a king bed (1). The second master suite has a Craftmatic (massage and elevate capabilities) queen bed, day bed (sleeps 2), and private bathroom with a shower. Also located downstairs is a laundry room, sitting room/office, game room with pool table, Foosball table, air-hockey table, and kitchenette. A small outside playground for children awaits adjacent to the game room. (Beds sleep 14; with your own sleeping bags you could sleep 22).

More Details

Owner
Elaine W
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 10, 2017

About Elaine W

Bill Watts was the designer and golf course architect of the Sky Valley golf course 40 years ago!!! He graduated from U of M; was a scratch player and enjoyed designing many golf courses in Fla. and two in Georgia. His 9th hole at Innsbruck Golf Course, Helen, Ga. was recently named the 6th best in the world in 'Divine Nines, Innsbruck by Arnold Palmer'. (You could Google it) Bill and Elaine Watts, his wife, have enjoyed retirement and extensive travel.

Elaine W purchased this house in 1997

Why Elaine W chose Sky Valley

This home is well maintained. Attentive single family owners have loved this retreat for years making many wonderful family memories! We hope you will experience the same joy and peace that we find at this mountain retreat. Our elevation is 3,300' with evenings in the 60's and summer days in high 70's and low 80's!! A nice retreat from the hot summers elsewhere! We're actually on the North Carolina/Georgia border and very close to white water rafting, cool water tubing as well as grassy hill tubing, zip lining, winerys, lots of hiking trails, awesome waterfalls, slippery rock falls, antique shopping, quaint mountain shops, etc.

What makes this house unique

Access to large heated swimming pool, tennis court, Jacuzzi, hot tub, sauna and workout room included. The days you play golf, your group will be entitled to use the bar and restaurant at the Sky Valley Golf Club. You may play golf for $65 Monday-Thursday and $75 Friday to Sunday.

Amenities

Sky Valley House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Golf Course View
  • Lake View
  • Mountain View
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 20 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub , bidet , heart shaped jacuzzi, DVD player at foot of tub for movies!
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Golfers motif - Bill Watts designed Sky Valley golf course
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Bear motif overlooking golf course, with corner sink
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Great room for sleeping with no windows!
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , Queen Craftmatic massage, head and foot lift; Daybed sleeps2
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Flat screen TV in BR; heart shaped jacuzzi w/DVD player!!
  • 5 bedrooms
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
16% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
On N.C. border, golf, tennis, pool, zipline, heart jacuzzi, game rm, playg
average rating of 4.7222223 based on 18 reviews
3

Nice location but dated

  • 3 of 5

Owner was very helpful and easy to work with. Great location. View amazing!

However, the house needs updating. Sitting area not very comfortable. The playground, which was important for our grandchildren, was not in good condition and unable to use. Linens also need to be replaced. Sheets worn out.

Our stay was only 3 nights so we managed. Any longer would have made for an unhappy group.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful home and area!!!

  • 5 of 5

We rented this beautiful home to watch the 2017 solar eclipse since Sky Valley was in the path of totality. It did not disappoint!!! The home was roomy and comfortable. There were 4 adults and 5 children in our group and we enjoyed the game room, deck and play area immensely! The view is spectacular. There is an easy but beautiful hike with waterfall just 5 minutes away. There were also lots of other activities nearby....the pool, zipline, whitewater rafting and more! We recommend this home to anyone traveling to the area! T

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad your family enjoyed such a great eclipse experience in our home!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Duluth Georgia
4

Beautiful view! Lovely home.

  • 4 of 5

We used this home for a quiet weekend of rest and refreshing. It was stocked with everything we needed. The decor was a little outdated, but our only complaint was that all but one room only had one bed so it was hard to fit a lot of people. We brought several air mattresses and made it work just fine. Also, the pictures make it look like there is access to the pond and the golf course, but actually you can not walk down there; however, it made for a beautiful view! We had the privilege of meeting the owner and she is an incredible person and easy to work with!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was our pleasure and privilege to meet you all too, and so glad you had a restful time and refreshed as well. In the past two weeks, as well as the next, we've been very busy in the updating process, having had the whole house painted! We've also brought new perks into the kitchen to make it a happy place for creating your reunion and retreat cuisines! Sorry, our path to the golf course had grown over when you were here, but has since been opened up again! We look forward to hosting your group in the future for your next retreat!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location and View

  • 4 of 5

Large home in a golf community. Access to pool, hot tub, sauna and tennis. Sleeps 12 comfortably. Open concept kitchen, dining, living room with fireplace. Nice for all seasons! Big deck off the living room with a great view. Large waterfall in the community with trails along the creek. 20 min to Clayton for shopping.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your great review; we're very happy your family made some special memories in our home! We'd love to have you back any time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
United Arab Emirates
5

Loved the area!

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful time with 8 adults and 6 kids. Would absolutely go back again.

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5

Our family had not held a reunion in 30 plus years and we had a wonderful time at the cabin. The furnishings were very nice and we really enjoyed the great number of Christian items and books. Everyone of us could not get over the fantastic view the cabin offered. The view of the golf course was great for me and my three brother-in-laws as we are all golfers. We did play one round and it is a great course. The wives were impressed with the over all cleanliness. We would highly recommend this property as a family get away vacation rental. You are only about an hour from Helen,GA which has numerous small shops.

  • Submitted: May 3, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much! I'm thrilled your family had such a great time in our home! Come back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Sky Valley
"Great for golf course, beautiful paved and unpaved walking paths, bubbling brooks"
On the Veranda Restaurant
"On the Verandah features a unique array of appetizer and entrée recipes from the world over...."
Old Edwards Inn and Spa
"Dinning, Day Spa, and historic decor "
Scaly Mountain
"Our family loves the tubing in the summer and the winter! They had iceskating last year too! "
Highlands Aerial Park
"For fun adventure, try the Zip Line."
Nearest Airport
129 Miles
Atlanta International Airport
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
The Dillard House
Car: necessary

Beautiful neighborhood. Waterfalls in abundance! The awesome high waterfall in Sky Valley 1 minute from our house! Great for picnics and great play area for the kids, big and small! White water rafting trips are 40 minutes away on the Chatooga!!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
Cleaning Fee $200
Tax Rate 12.0%

$2000 for 7 nights, before tax and cleaning fee!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties