check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Waterfront in Prince Edward County - Big Island Lake House

Bedrooms 3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

Enjoy a charming 3 bedroom cottage on a 1/4 acre near Picton on Bay of Quinte

The 1300 SF rustic cottage is on a 1/4 acre piece of property on Big Island, Bay of Quinte in Prince Edward County, accessible by road.  It is a 15 minute drive to Picton and close to surrounding wineries, cheese makers, antique stores, galleries and nice country restaurants.  We are on the water, with a dirt road between our front yard and the shore.  The shoreline is pebble; wearing water shoes you can have a nice swim since it is on the bay the water isn't too cold.  There is a grassy area with a picnic table at the water. Our has been installed this season and is a great spot to experience the area's excellent fishing.  Close to beautiful beach at Sandbanks park.

Couple of things to note for this Summer:

The umbrella pictured on the deck in the photos, was broken and has been removed.

There has been a Fire Ban in place most of the summer. Check online for updates.

The tub faucet needs to be run for a couple of minutes before using. When the water to the tub has been run for a while, harmless sediment builds up and the water is grey.

- 3 Bedroom; story-and-half

- Sleeps 7 + 2; dbl fold-out in Living Room 1x queen; 1x queen & 1x single; 2x single

- 1 four-piece bath

- fully-equipped kitchen with dishwasher

- sunroom with dining and sitting areas over looking lake


- cedar play-set in backyard

- tons of board games

- flat-screen T.V. with DVD player & surround sound

- no phone or WiFi, good cell reception

- water treatment system installed last season to mitigate sulfur odour in the water

We hope our guests enjoy the tradition of cottaging in Ontario; our property is not a house, it is a charming space that has many quirks, typical of a cottage. If you are looking for a luxury home with A/C, WiFi, in like-new condition, there are plenty listed in the PEC area.

More Details

Kristine White
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 12, 2016


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

Waterfront in Prince Edward County - Big Island Lake House
average rating of 4.181818 based on 11 reviews

Not Good for family vacations.

  • 1 of 5

Inaccurate travel time descriptions to Sand Banks and Belleville. Took much longer than described.

The property was not well maintained, yard and patio area covered in weeds. Oven and top stove element very dirty.

The owner provided fair communication prior to departure.

I would not recommend this property to family or friends. The water for bathroom and kitchen use comes out black and smells like sewer! We couldn't bathe or shower and were forced to use the dirty lake water with weeds and water snakes!

The water system should be fixed before future rentals.

We enjoyed Outlet Beach which was not a 15 minute drive, as was outlined, it was a 40 minutes away.

We would recommend owner leave garbage tags for pick up. Garbage was left by prior guests and were torn open by feral cats, which led to an infestation of flies.

We would also recommend fixing broken patio front window.

We were anxious to leave to have access to clean shower and kitchen water, so left a day earlier than planned.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Quiet , lovely sunsets, great weather.

  • 4 of 5

We were very happy with our stay at this cottage. The kitchen was well equipped, the beds were comfortable. The home owner had advised us of the water problem re Sulphur so were not surprised with this. My grandson was with it, so it was great to have the play ground equipment in the back, and some fun toys in the cottage. The weather was perfect for us so we were able to spend lots of time on the water - although we did not have much luck with the fishing, there were certainly others in the area who were. Most enjoyable.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Private Beach House at the corner of Peace and Quiet!

  • 5 of 5

We (grandparents) created beautiful family memories when we spent four very relaxing days with 4 grandchildren (ages 8 - 12) in this well maintained Cottage.

The owner responded to us promptly with questions I had and sent great directions. It was only a 2 hour drive so perfect for a few days get away. There was tourist brochures of winery attractions, etc.

Our favourite room was the fully glassed in sun room that overlooked a calm and beautiful view of the lake. We made the trip a "electronic free" trip for all of us, no cell phones, etc. We ate breakfast in the sunroom, the children discovered Board games and many hours were spent playing Clue, Monopoly, etc. either in the sun room or in the games room.

We walked right outside the front door and along the shores picking up driftwood, hiked and biked, toured little towns and a winery, went to the dunes at Sandbanks, read, cooked great meals and just 'chillaxed'. We had the kids' bikes and they were able to go up and down the quiet road.

The accommodations were top notch, everything you have at home and more. We were looking for a little weekend getaway from the city and that is exactly what we got.

Evenings around the fire pit with Grandpa playing guitar and the kids making up silly songs made for a memorable holiday.

Next time we will plan for a whole week.

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Had a great vacation at the Big Island Lake House

  • 5 of 5

Conveniently located near the wineries, Big Island Lake house was the perfect place to come home to after a day on the wine trails. Great fire pit near the shore was perfect for evening relaxing. There was a game room that kept the kids busy while we unwound. Beds were great and the sun room was great in the mornings (and evenings). Will definitely be back.

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Staying here will be a new yearly tradition.

  • 5 of 5

We spent a weekend here this spring with our children and another couple and their children and had a wonderful time. They enjoyed "fishing" off the dock with a child's fishing rod we found in the garage. The kitchen was well equipped and a good size for the many cooks in it! We had lots of room to sit all 9 of us at dinner. The cottage was spotless, it had obviously had a very thorough spring cleaning. The owner responded quickly to our text when we had a question during our stay. We will definately make this weekend a yearly tradition.

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay and honoured you will make staying at Big Island a family tradition! Look forward to hearing from you next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Has great potential - too bad it's not cared for.

  • 2 of 5

I stayed here with my husband and 2 grown sons for 2 weeks in July 2015. Upon arriving at the house around noon, we were unable to locate the house key where the owner said it would be. The house was locked, so we attempted to contact the owner - she didn't respond to our texts, emails, or voicemails until after 6pm. We lost half a day of our vacation driving around in a hot car with a tired cranky puppy. Eventually, a neighbor let us in. Not a great start.

Let's begin with the positives: The house is nicely layed out and the property is beautiful. The views of the sunset are amazing.

Unfortunately, the house has fallen into disrepair, and whoever is in charge of cleaning, wouldn't know a clean kitchen if they tripped over it. The cupboards were sticky and grimy; the dishes were filthy; the cutlery was disgusting; the drawers were dirty and many had dead bugs in them. The pots and pans were so rusty and dirty, that I could only clean 2 of them well enough to use. I was prepared for the smelly water problem, and didn't really mind that. The dirt and grime and cobwebs were overwhelming; I was so discouraged. After cleaning the kitchen as best I could, and dusting, sweeping up flies, and cleaning windows everywhere else, we settled down and enjoyed ourselves. It really is a peaceful spot, and we loved the location. We brought kayaks and bikes, and really enjoyed the neighborhood.

The beds were ok - new and clean; otherwise, I would have left for sure!

The other big disappointment was the missing dock. The description and the photos showed a nice dock in the water. The neighbor told us it hadn't been installed yet. That's really misrepresentation, and we should have been told about that up front.

I feel like we overpayed steeply for this place, and I would not recommend it to anyone who cares about cleanliness. When we left, the place was much cleaner than when we arrived. I'd suggest doing some repairs (shattered window in sunporch, broken spaceheater hanging off the wall in there, jammed window by front door, iffy screens etc.); replacing the decrepit picnic table by the water; installing the dock; and hiring a good cleaner - then the place would be worth it! It does have great potential.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback, based on it I replaced that cleaner with a wonderful professional. I wish you had voiced your complaints during your stay so I could do my best to address them - as I refunded you an extra $80 because I felt horrible that the previous guest didn't leave the key for you. Renting does cause a lot of wear and tear on a cottage, the hole in the outer window pane you described was from a guest with a child who was an over-zealous future baseball star. Once the cottage is empty in a week, fall maintenance can begin! I truly hope that your vacation was still enjoyable, as we have such short summers here in Ontario. Best regards,
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0



Rates & Availability

Prince Edward County Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $60
Refundable damage deposit $187
Pet Fee $37

We ask that you leave the cottage as you found it, and swept clean. Note: extraordinary cleaning fees may apply e.g. broken bottles. Litter.

The cottage is in a very quiet area, and we expect noise to be kept to a minimum after 11 pm. Please be respectful of our neighbours.

Rates are subject to change until first payment is received

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Prince Edward County Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Adjoins washroom on main floor.
    'Kid's Room' - 2 twin/ single , A camping cot is stored under one of the beds. Toys too!
    The 'Bird Room' - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Second floor
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • festivals
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • swimming

Partner Offers