About the property
- Condo950 sqft
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay3 - 5 nights
Top floor condo with cathedral ceilings, A/C, FREE WIFI, 2 bedrooms, oceanvie
LOVELY OCEANFRONT KONA MAKAI RESORT WITH TENNIS, POOL, SPA, SNORKELING.
CHECK OUT OUR NEW LOW SUMMER RATES!
REALLY SWEET 2 BEDROOM CONDO ON THE TOP FLOOR! 3RD FLOOR. BALCONY DINING WITH OCEAN VIEW AND GARDEN VIEW.
2 FLIGHTS OF STAIRS FRONT DOOR. NO ELEVATOR.
SLEEPS UP TO 5 PEOPLE.
THIS PRIVATELY OWNED 3rd floor CONDO IS AIR CONDITIONED. 2 STORIES WITH MAIN LEVEL BEDROOM WITH QUEEN BED, AND A SPIRAL STAIRCASE UP TO 2ND LOFT/BEDROOM WITH 1 QUEEN AND 1 TWIN BEDS.
Breakfast bar in the fully equipped kitchen with all new lovely stoneware, silverware, pots and pans.. Slider out to balcony with great ocean view and table/chairs for outside dining. Lovingly cared for unit. Nicely furnished and equipped.
Complex has night time security gate.
Ocean view swimming pool, jacuzzi, and BBQ area.
Ping Pong table
Saunas and gym equipment
Private free parking.
Close to shops and restaurants.
Black and Green sand beaches with turtles sunning themselves.
White sand beaches.
There are many things to do on the Big Island!
Go sunning, swimming, snorkeling or scuba diving, boogie boarding, surfing, deep sea fishing for the BIG CATCH! Museums, Hawaiian Hula competitions and shows, Ironman race in October each year. And, the big one is a visit to a real live VOLCANO! See steam vents, and if you are lucky red hot lava flowing into the ocean!
Visit spectacular waterfalls, rainforests, orchid and fern forests, botanical gardens.
Visit Parker Ranch the largest privately owned cattle ranch and see real cowboys (Paniolos).
Fun farmers markets with only locally grown fruits and vegetables, local crafts and clothing.
World famous KONA COFFEE is grown right here in the Kona Coffee Belt, the only place in the world, and Hawaii is the only state in the US growing coffee. Lots of Macadamia Nut farms. Many have tours available.
You won't be bored here! Plenty to do or not...your choice. You can just kick back and relax in a slower environment and enjoy the natural beauty and culture surrounding us.
QUOTES FROM OUR GUEST BOOK:
“Absolutely loved staying in this Kona Makai condo! The place has a great location easy to get anywhere from here, with a great view from the balcony. The condo is clean, well equipped and the resort itself is a wonderful place to stay. Would definitely recommend for anyone staying in Kona! ”
Excellent place to stay! The location is perfect, a long walk to downtown, or a very short drive, about a mile to Kona down Allii. The house had beach towels and beach mats. The 3 floor units have vaulted cellings with a great lanai. The master bedroom has a temperpedic mattress and we slept great! This is a great condo and I would rent again. Wish we would have stayed here longer!!
The view was wonderful and the weather devine. The condo has a great ocean front location. Great access to downtown, dining, shopping and fun activities. The unit is clean and in good shape. We had a very pleasant stay. We were impressed with how quiet and friendly the tenants were. Perfect for couple, and or couple with two to three children.
Our stay was delightful, the weather beautiful and the view from condo excellent. Great location to town and dining ,shopping and fun activities. Condo in good shape and clean . A couples and or couple with two to three children perfect. Nice and quiet with friendly people. Great Island to see and explore all the beauty the Islands have to offer.
A HUI HOU!
Wonderful stay here at Kona Makai and on this beautiful island. This 3rd-floor condo was clean and comfortable, and there was plenty of room for our family of four. The complex itself is very quiet and well maintained. It is convenient to shopping, restaurants, markets, and numerous beaches. Of course, the weather was absolutely perfect. No hesitation whatsoever in recommending this unit to family and friends. Mahalo, Michael!
Lynda L said...
I just wanted to thank you for the excellent accommodations you provided us. Your condo was just perfect for our family. My husband is an airline employee. We will be sure to pass the word along and recommend your condo to family and friends. Thank you Lynda L
Guests sent us this nice email after staying in our condo at Kona Makai: 'I just wanted to extend my thanks for such a cute little condo for our trip 17-25 Oct. We were very pleased with it considering it was site unseen. I didn't want to leave. I will recommend it to anyone that I know coming to the Big Island and the next time I come over. Thank you, CS'
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within one day
- Calendar last updated:
- Mar 18, 2018
Pool / Spa
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Nice Holiday Stay
We had an overall nice stay at the Kona Makai Condo resort. We stayed in building 5 unit 303 which is one building back from the water and on the top floor of the building. 3 floor walk up with easy stairs. All the units/buildings have lanais looking into a very nicely landscaped central courtyard that rises up from the ocean front and at least from this unit you have a nice view of the ocean without excessive noise. Overall the place was very quite and the neighbors, many who are snowbirds, were friendly and relaxed. The resort has a very nice salt water swimming pool and hot tube that were sparsely used. They have new built in webber grills right on the water with good lighting for some great grilling at night. The condo itself was a good size for our family of four. The loft upstairs was small with the two beds, which were comfortable, but big enough for our two teenagers. The master bedroom was big enough and the bed was very comfortable. The reason I am giving a 3 instead of a 5 star rating is because of few issues most of which were resolved in the first few days. First the bedding was old and stained. This was resolved in a day thanks to Micheal, Janet and the owner. They replaced the sheets with new ones the next day. Also the stove top had only 3 working coils, all of which were fairly bent. The owner emailed my wife and said that the whole stove was being replaced and that they were waiting for the unit to arrive from the mainland. The rusted AC unit in the master bedroom was leaking onto the old worn out and stained carpet when we arrived. We turned it off and the area dried out over a few days. The rest of the unit has tile and nice vinyl flooring and again this problem could be easily fixed with replacing the carpet with hard flooring and replacing the window unit AC (although this time of year it is not really needed). Easy parking and Bud the super was helpful with grounds related questions. Overall a good value and good place to stay.
Aloha, and thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay.
New sheets have been purchased and utilized.
A new stove is on back order and should arrive in January.
A/C unit was frozen up due to continual running. Really only needed during summer months anyway.
Carpets have been steam cleaned, and the unit owners are coming in a couple months and will assess the need for new carpeting or not.
Mahalo! Michael & Janet
We wanted to stay at sea village but we're booked at kona makai
Thought we were at sea village but vrbo booked us at kona makai
Great location but not family friendly
I'll start with the pros as I am a glass half full kinda person. The condo is in a great location. The check-in was simple, Janet & Michael were accommodating; allowing us to check in early as we came from another resort that we had to check out of by noon. The space is good, beds were comfortable, kids loved the loft area and all the games. Charming décor. We did not need the AC, plenty of ceiling and floor fans. There is a nice peekaboo view of the ocean from the lanai. The grounds are beautifully kept and the pool and BBQ area has an amazing ocean view.
Cons: The condo is in desperate need of some TLC. The appliances are old and the carpet is really bad - it needs to be replaced (tile would be a better option for sure). The dishes/cookware are also really old/cheap. The worst part was the people that own/live there. They made us feel very unwelcome. The kids were swimming in the pool and there was an elderly couple who clearly did not want to share the pool and were making snide comments. Our two children are well behaved respectful kids and were doing nothing wrong. We were also told to be quiet on the lanai by the neighbors above and to the left. Apparently talking is not allowed. I think they should add another rule (the list in lengthy); Owners cannot rent to anyone under 65. To be fair I am sure not everyone who lives there is awful but our experience was not great. Glad we were only there for 2 nights. I gave this a 3 but my husband would have rated it a 2 at best.
Children are always welcome here. We are very sorry you had a less than great experience at the pool because of some grouchy old people staying there. Something we cannot control, and don't recall hearing about before in the many years we've managed this unit at Kona Makai. You mentioned someone from the condo 'above' asking to be quiet, but there isn't a condo above, this is top floor.??
For the price, this condo is a great value, at $122 a night rent, that sleeps up to 5 people in Hawaii, oceanfront resort, etc. Yes the place is older and it gets rented pretty much non-stop. Owners are coming next month and will be doing their usual updates of any items needing replacing.
I hope these few grouchy people who happened to be there at the time our guests were was just an infrequent bad timing and won't discourage families with children. You are always welcome! Janet
Great condo but bad timing!
Great condo and location!
Pros: it is a great condo and located close to downtown Kailua-Kona. Condo provided enough bed to accommodate 2adults and 3kids. Also had swimming equipments for the beach. I like the fact that it is a gated condo so it is very secure. Easy registration and AC worked great!
Cons: 4-5 days out of the 7 days rental, the building did not have any running water from 0800-1700 due to a water problem. We had to utilize a portable toilets outside in a 98 degree weather which was unacceptable. Family got sick and this problem caused more frustration. Wi-Fi was very slow and only could get a good reception if you sat outside the balcony. Beware of ants! Site manager office was always close and never opened during our stay.
Overall it was a good condo with just bad timing for water problem.
Very comfortable condo close walk to town with ocean view. We were a couple with one adult child and it worked out perfectly.
Just about every water oriented sport/activity you could wish for. And, the water's warm!