Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

UP TO 15% OFF Maalaea 1 Bedroom Oceanfront condo near Aquarium """

Bedrooms 1
Space 670 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

Centrally located on the island in the oceanfront town of Maalaea, the Island Sands is one of Maui’s best condominium values. Walk from your condo to the Maui Ocean Center (Maui's aquarium), which is consistently one of Maui's most popular tourist attractions. You will also be able to walk to the shops and restaurants in Maalaea or the countless boat excursions that leave the harbor. Book a snorkel trip, whale watch, or deep sea fishing adventure and depart from the Maalaea harbor just minutes away from your condo!

The Island Sands condominium complex sits right along a beautiful white sand coastline. You can take a stroll on the 5 mile white sand beach and look for shells or simply enjoy the placid views. Return back to the property and swim at the beach or take a dip in the pool.

The property has BBQ’s, or you can cook in your fully equipped kitchen. The beautifully decorated condo has free high speed internet, cable TV, in-unit washer/dryer, in-room safe, and over 100 items our management company has found comforting to guests coming to Hawaii. The bedroom has a king size bed, and there is a sofa bed in the air conditioned living room, so you can comfortably sleep 4.

Call for 2017 specials.

This condo is professionally managed by an on-island management company. All responses to this listing will come from them.

Hawaii Tax ID # TA-128-199-8848-01

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 13, 2018

About Property Manager

Condominium Rentals Hawaii has been managing vacation rental condos on Maui and Kauai for over 30 years. We service thousands of guests each year and assure that they have memorable vacations in Hawaii.


Maalaea Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 6
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 670 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...


3.7/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

14% Complete
71% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
UP TO 25% OFF Maalaea 1 Bedroom Oceanfront condo near Aquarium
average rating of 3.7142856 based on 7 reviews

Great view, clean and comfortable

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time, a lot of whale watching. Comfortable bed. Pictures in listing are real.

We were disappointed there were no beach chairs in condo. Most people go to Hawaii to use the many beautiful beaches. Hard to fly with your own beach chairs. Called for help with this, left a message, never got a return call. Bought a couple of cheap chairs, left them there. Overall it was a good experience. Ray and Sue

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Leesburg, FL

Stunning views, great location

  • 4 of 5

We stayed in this condo for 2 weeks and it provided everything we needed. The condo is exactly as pictured – plainly decorated – and it is clean. We found the sofa, gravity chair and king bed comfortable which was important to us. You can't beat the view from this unit which offers a view of Kihei and the southern coast, and the coastline towards Lahaina, and the island of Kaho'olawe straight ahead. Kihei and the hills above Kihei light up at night and it is so very pretty. We could see the turtles from the lanai but the whales had not yet arrived. We enjoyed some lovely sunsets. The screen door to the lanai looked new and opens and closes easily.

The kitchen is well stocked with all the necessary cooking utensils. The washer and dryer worked great. The bar stools swivel but are not too sturdy. In the bedroom there was plenty of room for storing your clothes with lots of hangers (probably a couple dozen). The shower is a large walk-in shower (not a tub to climb over). The gas grills are spotless and we used one almost every day. The water in the pool was a comfortable warm temperature. On Friday mornings, the complex offers coffee and donuts poolside. Best donuts I ever had!!

This unit has a very good parking spot #66 near the office. The elevators were always available. I don't think we ever waited longer than 30 seconds for an elevator.

We enjoyed the breezes and yes we had a couple days of hurricane type winds but they only affected us in the parking lot. We found this condo complex to be a nice laid back area for mature adults. You can walk the nearby beach for miles or walk to the marina to get a meal, shop, go to the aquarium or take a boat trip. It takes 10 minutes to drive to Kahuli.

  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review! Sounds like you had a great stay and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. - Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great view, nice but somewhat dated apartment

  • 4 of 5

The view is fantastic, the location central, and the apartment itself was pleasant and comfortable for 2 people. All appliances and furnishings were clean and functional. The fixtures in the kitchen and bathroom are dated but clean. Some things need an intensive cleaning (top of the fridge, bedroom carpet). Cable TV and Internet access were useful. Access to grills and pool were included and we used both. Street construction made parking access inconvenient but that should be temporary.

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2016
  • Stayed: February 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your review. We are glad to hear you had a great stay. It is rare to be able to whale watch from your room on Maui! We will let the cleaner know to take a look at the top of the fridge. - Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

What an incredible view!

  • 5 of 5

We very much appreciated our stay in this condo! Having never been this close to the ocean, we were so impressed with the ocean being right outside the lanai! It was very clean and comfortable and we would definitely want to stay here again! Highly recommend it!

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2015
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your review. Glad to hear you had a great stay. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. In the winter months, you can even see whales from the lanai! - Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Puyallup, WA

Amazing Condo!

  • 4 of 5

Location and view is great! We found the condo to be extremely clean and well appointed. The first few nights was a bit uncomfortable in the bedroom (Maui had record breaking heat during our stay)until we decided to take advantage of the wonderful trade winds. Once we opened the windows at night the breeze was fantastic! Pool and Barbeque area was great. Having a safe in our unit was a great peace of mind. Can't say enough wonderful things about our stay. Highly recommend! We will definitely be back.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. Glad to hear you had a great stay and we hope to host you again soon! Mahalo, Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Terrible experience

  • 1 of 5

To start we received our check in instructions several days after our check in date. I had to call the office the day before to receive them so I could get the physical address. Once there, it being a holiday, their office was closed so I couldn't get the code to get into the building until later in the day because I had to use their emergency number which nobody answered and I had to wait for a reply hours later.

After that the day went smoothly until the following day where after taking a shower I noticed some of their flaws. The lights were littered with bug bodies in their housing. The couch had multiple stains and dead bugs. The silverware and plates has dried food still left on then and placed in the cabinets. To summarize, it was disgusting. The air conditioning unit was placed in such an area in the photo that the hall that leads to the bedroom receives zero relief and is constantly hot and humid, the only relief is a ceiling mounted fan.

The bathroom, after showering, I reached for a towel and the rack separated from the wall. It had obviously been this way because you could see where they tried to patch it up. The vent for the bathroom was covered in dirt and grime, it had not been cleaned in quite a while.

The appliances were all in working order thankfully. This was it's only saving grace. You may be tempted by this illustrious view, but be forewarned. My girlfriend after the first day tried to go out and greet the day and couldn't even open the backdoor. I had investigated and forced it open to discover that the only way to fully close it is to have it derail. So once I get it back on track it will not fully close unless you make it which causes it to derail. This was pretty frustrating.

Now for the icing on the cake. After the first day we picked up some local sweets packed in a box that we left on the counter, big mistake. Within that same day at night I noticed little movements around the box to discover to my dismay ants had infested this unit and you cannot leave food out here, even if it's in a box. Not only that but near the washing machine I discovered cockroaches as well. Upon further inspection I decided to check out the couch in greater detail as well as the bedding. I discovered little mites on the couch but thankfully the bed appeared "clean". For the price we paid to rent this unit I can say I would've gladly went out and rented a standard hotel to forego all their "amenities".

In summary, avoid at all costs.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, Sorry to hear you did not enjoy this oceanfront condo at the Island Sands Resort. Our notes indicate that we both called and emailed you our check-in instructions on 6/24 (as is our policy when guests arrive on a holiday). Sorry to hear you still had issues checking into the condo. I wish you would have informed our management office about your issues such as the silverware being dirty, towel rack being loose, and lanai sliding door being off the track. We could have sent a maintenance person to quickly fix these issues for you. Also if any our our guests do not find the cleaning up to par we will send the cleaner back to address any of your concerns. Again, we wish you would have informed us of these issues. We have now sent someone to the condo to inspect these elements and assure they are up to par for future guests. Regarding the ants that formed around your food you left out, this is a common occurrence on Maui unfortunately. We provide a note in all the condos we manage on the island to leave all food in the refrigerator so as not to attract bugs. Most all condo properties on the island (including this one) sprays for bugs every three months to keep insects issues at bay, but leaving food out in the kitchen will inevitably attract some bugs. We hope you give the Island Sands another chance and encourage you to reach out to the people you are renting from so they can address any concerns you may have while in the condo. mahalo, Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $105
Reservation Fee $72.91
Tax Rate 14.42%

Cancellation Policy:
If you cancel 61+ days before your arrival date, you will receive a full refund.
If you cancel 60 days or less before your arrival date, you will receive no refund.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties