Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cozy Casita, 2 Houses From The Bay!!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 330 sq. ft.
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Fully Equipped Studio With TV Room And Full Kitchen.

This is a great, cozy, relaxing space. We named it Casita Jamaica, after the word 'Casita' (a tiny house, which is what this charming condo feels like) and 'Jamaica' (which is the Spanish word for hibiscus, a plant that is used in Mexico to make a refreshing iced herbal tea.)

The main living area features a full bed with a spring-loaded storage mechanism that allows you to stow suitcases out-of-the-way and also provides storage space for beach items. The main living area also has a flat screen TV, large wardrobe, 2-person dining table & chairs, and a closet with beach towels, board games, and other goodies.

The kitchen is a galley-style kitchen located off the main living area. It has an apartment-sized stove & oven, a full refrigerator, a microwave, and a sink (sorry, no dishwasher!) Plenty of small kitchen appliances, cookware, and dinnerware is stored in the cabinets and open shelving on either side of the space. There should be everything you need there - even if you wanted to make Thanksgiving dinner!

Past the kitchen is the 'bonus room', an enclosed porch that is used as a miniature living room for the Casita. The bonus room has a loveseat, an airbed that can accommodate 1-2 additional guests, and a desk and TV.)

Calming colors throughout make the space seem even larger, and huge windows plus a skylight ensure tons of light. This rental is located on a quiet, residential pedestrian walkway and is away from the front of the property with its own private entrance.

Because this is a tiny, cozy studio unit, it is best suited for a maximum of two adults. With more than two adults, it gets very crowded!! The place can accommodate up to 2 kids, but again - its a tiny little studio Casita from the 1920s, so it gets very cozy very quickly!

This is a great hotel alternative where you can feel integrated into the beach neighborhood and lifestyle. Unfortunately, the Casita has limited outdoor space - there is a small settee and a little dining set for 2. If you are planning to bring bikes or a lot of beach equipment that needs 'live' outdoors, this would not be the best choice.

More Details

Owner
Cathy
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 9, 2017

About Cathy

We are a husband & wife team who have been running vacation rentals on the San Diego coastline since 2007.

Cathy purchased this studio in 2014

Why Cathy chose San Diego County

Amazing location and a completely charming historic cottage (so hard to find these days!) We fell in love with the layout and location of this property.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The beach studio was a great place to stay. Cozy is the perfect word to describe it. We had 3 adults fit in it comfortably. With the bonus room, we actually set up a small bed and became innovative, and it ended up being a great space! The location is PRIME. So close to mission beach and just a short walk to pacific. Also, the downtown area is not too far away. The area was great and I would recommend it to anyone!
Jul 2015
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

Mission Beach Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 330 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

3.2/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

Cozy Casita, 2 Houses From The Bay!!
average rating of 3.2 based on 13 reviews
4

Great Location to Beach & the Bay

  • 4 of 5

We booked this rental so I could attend a conference and my fiancee could enjoy the beach. It's a little snug condo a couple blocks from both ocean and bay. Parking is off-site for the unit, so have some patience and get your parallel parking practiced up! Lots of nice strolls, sightseeing, and beach-going within a few minutes walk.

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Convenient location....extremely Firm Bed...Owner hit and miss with response time.

  • 2 of 5

Sadly, our experience in the Casita fell short of our expectations and unfortunately, recuperation upon our return was needed after staying at the Casita.

On the plus side: The space is cute cozy really only suitable for 2 people. The Kitchen was adequately stocked for a good variety of culinary needs. Centraly located to beach and bay, food and liesure activities. Albeit small, the bathroom served our needs with plenty of toilet paper. Portable AC is available as is a ceiling fan.The unit is economic and great for those that will be out and about all day. Once all neighbors have turned in for the night the area is really quite peaceful and quiet. Cons: the bed is only really suitable for those that prefer an extremely firm board like experience. My companion and I woke up stiff and sore every morning The pillows extremely flat and provided no support. Luckily we found an extra comforter/duvet which we placed on the matress and softenend our experience somewhat. There was no point contacting owner as ad stated that bed and pillows were to inlaws preferances and no additional toppers or pillows would be provided and one was to bring one's own linens pillows etc to ensure comfort if driving. Ad Does not divulge the exceptionally firm bed or super flat pillows. Casita is part of a larger building and the structure and lack of insulation and sound proofing are out of owners control. Neighbors were clearly heard when on the phone in adjacent unit. Stomping of feet up and down the stairs & conversations over head where one sleeps come from an upstairs unit. Communication with owner was hit and miss. When keyless entry required new batteries, owner responded to text immediately. When we asked what time check out was early our last evening, owner responded immediately to which we replied immediately within seconds with a request to extend stay by 1 possibly 2 hours. Owner did not respond until 8:30 AM next day stating that cleaner would have to be contacted. Too little too late...a simple response stating cleaner is already booked for 10 am would have been appreciated the night before and really common courtesy. But to leave us hanging til the next morning? Not acceptable. Seems owner goes dark and becomes conveniently unavailable when she is not interested in answering.

As a Tour & Travel Professional for 25 years...I found the whole experience a bit off putting. So...ask all your questions prior to booking so you know exactly what you are getting.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Aakb

  • 2 of 5

Sadly, our experience in the Casita fell short of our expectations and unfortunately, recuperation upon our return was needed after staying at the Casita.

On the plus side: The space is cute cozy really only suitable for 2 people. The Kitchen was adequately stocked for a good variety of culinary needs. Centraly located to beach and bay, food and liesure activities. Albeit small, the bathroom served our needs with plenty of toilet paper. Portable AC is available as is a ceiling fan.The unit is economic and great for those that will be out and about all day. Once all neighbors have turned in for the night the area is really quite peaceful and quiet. Cons: the bed is only really suitable for those that prefer an extremely firm board like experience. My companion and I woke up stiff and sore every morning The pillows extremely flat and provided no support. Luckily we found an extra comforter/duvet which we placed on the matress and softenend our experience somewhat. There was no point contacting owner as ad stated that bed and pillows were to inlaws preferances and no additional toppers or pillows would be provided and one was to bring one's own linens pillows etc to ensure comfort if driving. Ad Does not divulge the exceptionally firm bed or super flat pillows. Casita is part of a larger building and the structure and lack of insulation and sound proofing are out of owners control. Neighbors were clearly heard when on the phone in adjacent unit. Stomping of feet up and down the stairs & conversations over head where one sleeps come from an upstairs unit. Communication with owner was hit and miss. When keyless entry required new batteries, owner responded to text immediately. When we asked what time check out was early our last evening, owner responded immediately to which we replied immediately within seconds with a request to extend stay by 1 possibly 2 hours. Owner did not respond until 8:30 AM next day stating that cleaner would have to be contacted. Too little too late...a simple response stating cleaner is already booked for 10 am would have been appreciated the night before and really common courtesy. But to leave us hanging til the next morning? Not acceptable. Seems owner goes dark and becomes conveniently unavailable when she is not interested in answering.

As a Tour & Travel Professional for 25 years...I found the whole experience a bit off putting. So...ask all your questions prior to booking so you know exactly what you are getting.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Anita, I'm very sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with your stay. However, I don't really consider responding to a midnight text at 8 when when I wake up to be 'hit or miss' communication. I can't provide 24 hour service unfortunately - I do need to sleep sometimes! And my response in the morning was that it was fine for you to stay until noon, not what you've written here! I'm not sure where the misunderstanding arose about that or why you would misrepresent my answer. Also, I'm very sorry about the partying neighbor's upstairs, but you only told me about them on the morning of checkout - if you had let me know any time earlier during your weeklong stay, I could have asked them to simmer down or even kicked them out if they didn't comply!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
2

Property was adequate. Luckily I didn't have to spend much time there.

  • 2 of 5

I really have two complaints about this rental. The first is probably more likely to bother future renters, the second was probably an oversight by the property owner.

I have never been more exhausted coming home from a vacation as I was coming home from San Diego staying on Jamaica Court. This rental has a large skylight nearly directly above the only bed and every day I slept in this condo I was awoken by vividly bright sunlight at 6:00-6:15 every morning. I could not fall back to sleep. There was no logical way to shade the skylight.

The second complaint I kind of scoff at. Luckily I was in town for a wedding and didn't spend a whole lot of time in the condo because there was no toilet paper. I notified the owner and she told me someone would drop some by the same day by noon. I never got new TP. I was too busy with wedding stuff being the best man to actually complain anymore. But I'm still amazed that someone like TP wasn't provided.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Super cute!

  • 5 of 5

The casita was perfect for our needs. It was fully stocked with essentials (iron board, iron, hairdryer), beach items, and games for kids. We attended a wedding in San Diego and the house fit our needs perfectly, FYI: walking distance to the Bahia Resort :) The Direct TV was out during our stay. Our host was apologetic and called a tech to come out and service the TV. I highly recommend this studio/casita. Another FYI: The casita is attached to a larger home, the parking spaces provided are for the larger home but we were able to find parking close by.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Ok place, bad owner

  • 2 of 5

We were told that the studio would be ready at 3 for us. Arriving at 3, we didn't get a response with our lockbox code until 4:30. Upon our arrival, basic necessities such as toilet paper were gone and the owner promised to bring supplies in the morning, which they never did. Additionally, the hide-a-bed was broken making the 4 person studio not really sufficient for 4 people anymore. The studio was overall advertised very differently from how it was during our trip. I would not recommend for 4 people and it should not be advertised as suitable for such. The owner was not friendly when she finally showed up days later bringing supplies for her other place. Overall I was not satisfied with the owner or the place.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm really shocked at this review. Casey and friends were so pleasant in person! We didn't even give them a hard time about how messy they left the place. We did have some communication difficulties at check-in but I thought everything was resolved as they seemed laid back and like they were having a good time when I met them. I did have to instruct Casey & friends on not blocking the walkway, I guess that didn't go over too well with them, but it was really not fair that they should be blocking other guests' access to their rentals. We do very clearly state in our listing that the property is intended for a maximum of two adults (and up to two small children) and that it is very crowded with 4 people.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Map

Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mission Beach Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
High Season
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
$149
$999
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 13 2017 - Sep 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$129
$799
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$109
$695
$2,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Anita's Housekeeping $40 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 11.05%

Refundable Damage Deposit is returned within 48 hours of check-out.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties