Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

rooms from $75/night free wifi call ahead 616-886-0750

Bedrooms 3
Space 100 sq ft
Property type hotel


About the property

motel rooms $75 per night or $200 per week seasonal only


Rooms A and B share a full size kitchen.

Rooms C thru H have kitchenettes.

All rooms have their own private bathrooms.

Each room has a queen size bed, refrigerator, cookware, kitchen ware and new linens.

There is a bike path right outside the front door so bring your bikes.

Walk or bike to downtown Saugatuck for a day of shopping and great food.

Also walking distance to the dune rides or dairy days.

Only minutes to Lake Michigan, Oval Beach, Felt Mansion, or the State park.

Please call ahead after booking your stay for directions and access to the property.

More Details

Terry Shull
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 26, 2018

About Terry Shull

We have been living in the area for sixteen years.

As a general contractor I purchased this property as an investment. It has been a real pleasure repairing and upgrading the facility.

Terry Shull purchased this hotel in 2013

Why Terry Shull chose Saugatuck

Enjoying meeting and working with new people from all over. My goal is to have repeat clients. They too will enjoy the property and all it has to offer.

What makes this hotel unique

Easy access to everything. Walking distance to downtown Saugatuck.

Uniquely surrounded on three sides of wooded property.

If you are budget minded this maybe the perfect property for you.


Saugatuck Hotel Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • hotel
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 100 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Budget
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • each room has a queen size bed
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • water skiing


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

42% Complete
42% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
rooms from $75/night free wifi call ahead 616-886-0750
average rating of 4.214286 based on 14 reviews

Perfect little getaway spot!

  • 5 of 5

This was our third year staying at Terry’s property. As always, it was clean and well stocked with everything we needed. The new king size beds were amazing. Close to everything in Saugatuck and Douglas and surrounding areas. We discovered the Casco Township Nature Preserve this trip. It’s only 20 minutes from Terry’s and is our new favorite beach. Lots of stones and sea glass. Oval Beach was great as always and is only ten minutes from Terry’s. Can’t wait to go back next fall.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback! It is much appreciated.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
What is this space for?

Basic & Remote

  • 2 of 5

1. I never received any word about checking in (where to go upon arrival, which unit I was assigned, getting a key, etc) but since it was a ‘motel’-style situation rather than a home, I just assumed the owner was on-site and would be available. Not the case. After wondering around for awhile I noticed a phone number on the entrance sign. Terry answered right away & said he was at his daughter’s soccer game & had left the key under the mat. I couldn’t help but wonder why he hadn’t simply called or texted me to tell me which unit and the key situation when he knew he wouldn’t be there so I could have avoided walking all around looking for someone while getting more & more nervous. Not another person was ANYWHERE...and as it turned out, there never would be. However, Terry was pleasant on the phone, telling me he had adjusted the heat , laid out an extra quilt and towels. This was our first and last conversation with him.

2. The room was tidy and pretty recently renovated. We weren’t expecting Shanghai La, so we still felt optimistic upon getting into our room but while things looked okay, the ‘easy chair’ was hard as a rock and the bed was equally squishy soft. This became more critical when the weather took a turn and we had to spend way more (uncomfortable) time in the room than we had intended to.

3.MOST IMPORTANTLY, however, was that we felt very vulnerable from a safety standpoint. Let me be clear, we did NOT have any actual scarey incidents. It’s just that the place is located right on a highway, a bit of a distance from town, among lots of trees/woods and has no lighting except the light at the door of each unit. And we were THE ONLY people there. Terry obviously does NOT live there and we were the ONLY rented unit. As 2 older women alone, we felt more and more vulnerable and insecure. I really believe we should have been told this upon check-in so we could have opted to try for something more secure elsewhere or, at the very least, had a reassuring chat. While the stay wasn’t ‘awful’, we won’t be back. Sorry.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First, let me say thank you for your stay. It was unfortunate that it rained everyday while you were in town. I am almost certain that the weather played a major role in the enjoyment of your stay. I must apolize that you did not get the message I had left for you on the number that was listed on your rental agreement. Past guests have been quite pleased with the furnishings. The living room chairs are from Herman Miller and the beds are from IKEA. The motel is on a main road and there should be no concern for safety. Also, I might add that motel is within walking distance to a State Police post and the Township Fire Department.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Fresh paint, damp

  • 3 of 5

Moisture in room high! Felt like everything always wet. That being said, Terry very nice guy. Good host, very accommodating. Shower little scary thought something gonna fall thru ceiling. I know I was first of season so pretty stinky but frebreeze took care of. Everything you could need was there, just nowhere to use any of it. No counter at all, no table space. It fit my needs perfectly since I didn't need any of it, ate out and family local. Would come again.

  • Submitted: May 10, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great value, well kept property and great location.

  • 5 of 5

Everything went very well Terry pays attention to detail.

  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

End of summer vacation

  • 5 of 5

Very clean and comfy place to stay. We will be back again.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

No frills but great for what your paying for.

  • 4 of 5

My husband, our dog (large 115 pounds) and I spent a week in room A with the attached kitchen. The rooms are nothing fancy but are clean and decorated nicely. We had enough room for us all not to feel cramped in on top of each other. It was also nice having a kitchen and being able to cook or eat when we wanted to. The location is close enough to walk or bike into Saugatuck and Douglas. We brought our bikes up so we biked all over the two towns and to the beach. We enjoyed our stay at Shulls and for the price of the rooms it was great!

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Car: necessary

walk or bike to downtown saugatuck


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties