check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

CLOSED FOR WINTER 2016/2017, book now for Spring/Summer 2017 Only $175/NIGHT!!!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
1
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

4 bedroom, 2 bath on the Frying Pan River!

Relax and unwind on the back deck while taking in the beauty of the Frying Pan River! This 4 bedroom cabin literally sits on the bank of the Frying Pan River. It is equipped with plenty of room for the whole family with 2 full beds, bunk beds, 2 singles, and a fold out couch.

Located 25 miles up the Frying Pan River, you are just 5 minutes away from Ruedi Reservoir, which offers over 200 square miles of boating, jet skiing, fishing, skiing, wakeboarding, stand up paddle boarding, sailing, canoeing, and whatever else you might desire on this scenic reservoir.

If you are a fly fisherman...welcome to the head waters of the Frying Pan River! Step off the newly constructed, beautiful redwood deck and tie one on. This is your sanctuary!!!

If an adventurous day of horseback riding, jeeping, rock climbing, dirt biking, ATVing, hunting, fishing, mountain biking, road cycling, or hiking in the the White River National Forest sounds like fun...welcome to your sanctuary!!!

If a Colorado winter vacation filled with snowmobiling, x-country skiing, ice fishing, skiing, snowboarding, or sledding, once again you have found your spot!

Best of all, this sanctuary is located just 25 miles from Basalt, which boasts numerous restaurants, shopping, and a newly constructed Whole Foods. Aspen is less than an hour away if you are looking for a great day at the resorts, or would like to take in the X-Games.

At a fraction of the price of most rentals or hotels in the area, this is a tremendous value with an unmatched setting on the Frying Pan River. You will fall asleep to the tranquil sounds of the rushing water and look forward to your next return.

Please feel free to contact me with any questions and I will look forward to earning another repeat visitor!

Please feel free to call or e-mail anytime.

Ryan Newberry

(970) 927-4905

(720) 352-2095

**I DO HAVE MORE SMALL CABINS FOR RENT IN THE AREA, THAT ARE OFFERED AT VERY REASONABLE PRICES, PLEASE CONTACT ME FOR VACANCY OPPORTUNITIES ON THESE AS WELL!**

More Details

Property Manager
Ryan Newberry
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 13, 2016

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

CLOSED FOR WINTER 2016/2017, book now for Spring/Summer 2017 Only $175/NIGHT!!!
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 11 reviews
5

wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5

7 guys on a hunting trip. What a beautiful cabin it fit all of us just perfect. The weather was a little to warm for the elk to be out but had a fabulous time seen tons of wildlife( big horn sheep, mule deer, bear, turkey, coyotes, and the biggest moose I have ever seen). With the warm weather it made the place a fishermen's paradise. A perfect cozy quiet place that I will someday soon take my family there. enjoyed every minute being there had everything that you needed. Thanks Ryan for keeping in contact with me whenever I had questions before I left and while I was there

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

retired military

  • 5 of 5

We had an excellent week with friends in this cabin. The country is beautiful and this cabin is the perfect getaway. The cabin is very clean and well equipped for an extended stay. Ryan was great to work with, met the owners, thanks to them for making their cabin available. Looking forward to another trip to CO.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

relaxing and quiet

  • 4 of 5

We had an enjoyable stay at the Cabin on the Frying Pan. It was a visit with old friends and a chance to introduce our teenagers to fly fishing. The cabin is quaint and quite small but functions well with the basics. The running water sings you to sleep and the cool nights make for sound sleeping. We did find the mosquitos to be pesky, after 10 am and atrocious after 6 so make sure to stock up on repellants before arriving. We were unable to use the deck...wished I had one of those repellant cells that clears the area for 10-15 feet or so.

The fishing was quite good downstream below the dam, but the waters near the cabin weren't as ideal as the water was rushing too quickly.... but it did sing beautifully.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. I will say that I was a bit disappointed in the rate that is advertised. Once additional people are added to the cabin, the rate is a bit high for the amenities offered...and it comes as a "cleaning" fee. I understand that with no washer and dryer, washing bedding and towels is a chore, but with that high of a cleaning fee I would expect less dirt and cobwebs.

The people in Basalt are wonderful and we enjoyed the BLT sandwich shop and taqueria just next to Cassie's.

If you are headed up soon, you will need matches and ziploc bags. I left a new (small) can of coffee and there is dish soap. :)

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at the cabin, it's rustic and has the feel of a backcountry cabin with the river right outside the door. I woke up one morning made a cup of coffee, took my 3 wt fly rod out to the river and caught a rainbow in the first cast!

Would def. go back, Ryan N. was also a pleasure to work with.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

No Phone, No Fools, We're Set!!!

  • 5 of 5

What an amazing time we had!! Cabin is completely rustic, nothing fancy at all. But OH the location!!!!!!! PROS:

The river behind the cabin sold it for us!!! Secondly, the "Phantom Brand" Screen doors were awesome!!! No mosquitoes until dusk for some reason, but not complaining! Literally 20 wide-gaited steps and you are IN the water. River flowing (sound) 24/7 was enough to make the whole trip worth it. Decent size deck, quiet, clean, nice patio 6-seater table, rocking style metal chairs and umbrella. Cabin sleeps 8. Three Full-Size beds and one bunk bed. Plenty of room for a blow up mattress for kids! Bathtub shower updated. everything else was dated, but it worked. Big Refrigerator and top Freezer Stove and oven small, but worked GREAT! 2 grills on the deck. Dining table sat 4. You seriously do not need to bring anything but FOOD, clothes, fishing gear and gender appropriate toiletries. Water Pressure in the shower was fantastic. They had all the pots, pans, dishes, glassware, utensils, Paper Towels, Trash Bags, Dish Soap, Dinner napkins, etc, that one could need. I recommend bringing Ziploc's and saran wrap in case you have leftovers. The scenery to and from town (Basalt) is "Shock & Awe" beautiful. You do not need to haul a bunch of ice chest and food from home....They have a Whole Foods in Basalt and a King Soopers north of Basalt. The weather was exceptionally great. You will want to layer clothing. The hottest day was high of 86 and the other days were in the low to mid 70's. Evenings & Mornings were very cool. The cabin has a wood stove and baseboard heaters, but we didn't use them. We slept with the windows open so we could listen to the river. My husband caught Rainbows and Browns as big as my calves and as long as from my toes to my knees (I am 5ft 7in). One after the other.....they like to hide in the calm pools behind the big rocks. We came in over Independence Pass and left through Glenwood Springs! Great scenic arrival and departure!!! Ryan was great. Left us to ourselves but was "on call" had we needed anything. WE WILL BE BACK YEAR AFTER YEAR FOR SURE!!!!

CONS:

Stove and oven: both small with no light above them.

Master Bed was VERY FIRM and its a "Full" size (We are used to Queen)

Pack surge protector/ext cords as electrical sockets are sparse and oddly placed You WILL need to charge Cameras, Cellphones etc for the picture taking/GPS-ing of the next day's events.

Our trip was Monday to Thursday in June of 2016!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Cabin in the woods

  • 2 of 5

My experience was not as positive as other guests. Ryan provided no assistance to us before or during our stay. 2 weeks prior I asked him if there would be additional fees since another family member would be with us for a single night. I felt like the Owner should know there would be more people staying there than initially thought...even though I knew there was plenty of space. I did not get a response. The day before we arrived the Homeaway app provided only an address but no info if key needed to be picked up or how to gain access to cabin, nor any other info on check-in/out procedures, how to deal with trash, etc. I sent text to Ryan but again had no response. The day we were to arrive I called Ryan at both phone numbers listed in app but had to leave a message. I knew cabin was remote and might not have cell service so I needed this info before we arrived. I did not get a return call or text. Had to drive to cabin and hope it was open and information inside. We arrived to a locked cabin with a combination lock on the door which presumably held the key. Great. The cabin had wifi for guests but wouldn't connect to Internet so trying to reach Ryan for 4th time was not an option. We had no choice but to try and guess the combo for the lock, and it didn't take long before we did guess it (would recommend it be changed so it's not that easy...but luckily it worked in our favor). We stayed our 2 nights with zero communication from Owner, not even a welcome note with "here's things to know". I felt the entire time that I was trespassing into someone's home even though I'd paid in full and had confirmation of the reservation. Every adult in our group felt like it was unacceptable to have to basically break in to our rental after multiple attempts to reach the Owner. The cabin is fine, but was crazy hot upstairs so everyone had to sleep downstairs, including 1 adult in a kids bunkbed. The phone did not work as I found out when I tried to call Ryan AGAIN. The river is relaxing and we tried to make the best of it, but it wasn't the experience I expected because of the complete lack of information. Cabin is very remote, although there are a few cabins next to this one.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Cindi, I am so sorry that you didn't receive the rental instructions. I wish I had known prior to your day of arrival that you hadn't received them, as I can only imagine that stress on you. I hope you enjoyed your stay after the fact! Please let me know if there is anything I can do to make up for your headaches! Regards, Ryan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Relax and unwind on the back deck while taking in the beauty of the Frying Pan River! This 4 bedroom cabin literally sits on the bank of the Frying Pan River. It is equipped with plenty of room for the whole family with 2 full beds, bunk beds, 2 single beds, and a fold out couch.

Located 25 miles up the Frying Pan River, you are just 5 minutes away from Ruedi Reservoir, which offers over 200 square miles of boating, jet skiing, fishing, skiing, wakeboarding, stand up paddle boarding, sailing, canoeing, and whatever else you might desire on this scenic reservoir.

If you are a fly fisherman...welcome to the head waters of the Frying Pan River! Step off the newly constructed, beautiful redwood deck and tie one on. This is your sanctuary!!!

If an adventurous day of horseback riding, jeeping, rock climbing, dirt biking, ATVing, hunting, fishing, mountain biking, road cycling, or hiking in the the White River National Forest sounds like fun...welcome to your sanctuary!!!

If a Colorado winter vacation filled with snowmobiling, x-country skiing, ice fishing, skiing, snowboarding, or sledding, once again you have found your spot!

Best of all, this sanctuary is located just 25 miles from Basalt, which boasts numerous restaurants, shopping, and a newly constructed Whole Foods. Aspen is less than an hour away if you are looking for a great day at the resorts, or would like to take in the X-Games.

At a fraction of the price of most rentals or hotels in the area, this is a tremendous value with an unmatched setting on the Frying Pan River. You will fall asleep to the tranquil sounds of the rushing water and look forward to your next return.

Please feel free to contact me with any questions and I will look forward to earning another repeat visitor!

Please feel free to call or e-mail anytime.

Ryan Newberry

(970) 927-4905

(720) 352-2095

**I DO HAVE MORE SMALL CABINS FOR RENT IN THE AREA, THAT ARE OFFERED AT VERY REASONABLE PRICES, PLEASE CONTACT ME FOR VACANCY OPPORTUNITIES ON THESE AS WELL!**

Photos

Rates & Availability

Thomasville Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee/2 ppl/2 nts $100
Refundable damage deposit $200
Pet Fee $1

Refundable damage deposit of $200 is for a 2 night stay, if you are booking for a week the refundable amount is $500. Please feel free to contact me regarding pets.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Thomasville Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Downstairs bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Upstairs bathroom - toilet , The upstairs bathroom only has a toilet and a sink.
  • The downstairs bathroom has calming view of the river and has recently been remodeled with a tub/shower combination and custom tile slate flooring.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Downstairs bedroom - 1 double
    Upstairs bedroom #1 - 1 double
    Upstairs bedroom #2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bunk bedroom - 2 bunk bed
  • There are 4 bedrooms, 2 of the bedrooms are located upstairs. There is a full bed in one of the downstairs bedrooms, and then bunk beds in the other downstairs bedroom. In the upstairs bedrooms there is another full bed, and another bedroom with two single beds.
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties