Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Nana's Lakefront Pad Near Downtown Charlotte, Sleeps 4 Comfortable

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,380 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Queen Beds, sleeps 4 comfortable, New Bath Tubs

Cozy charming home on Lake Wylie and just 11 miles to downtown Charlotte and less than 6 miles to Charlotte Douglas Airport. Perfect place to just relax but close to all sites. Great for the airline traveler. Just minutes from interstate 77, 85 or 485, yet close enough to local amenaties such as fine dining, US White Water Center, Charlotte Motor Speedway, Nascar Hall of Fame, Bobcats Arena, Panthers Stadium, Daniel Stowe Botanical Gardens, Charlotte Premium Outlet (is minutes away) Malls, Aquatic Center, Blumenthal Performing Arts, Museums, Carowinds Theme Park, Hickory Furniture, Discovery Place and more. Bring your gear or watercraft to take advantage of Lake Wylie Fishing, Skiing, Swimming, Boating, Sailing, Rafting, Kayaking, as well as land lover activities such as cycling or play a few holes at the nearby Golf courses. If planning on attending an event in Charlotte this home is perfect. Totally New remodeled baths in 2015. Equipped with all you will need for a comfortable stay by the lake. Freshly laundered bed sheets as well as bath linens provided. Kitchen is equipped with everything you will need should you plan on staying in and enjoying the great lake views. Fabulous open deck, screened-in porch as well as outdoor Patio with sitting area to enjoy a tranquil waterfall spilling into our Koi fish pond. If you choose the fishing option, this pier is one of the longest on Lake Wylie at over 180 feet in length. Share the amazing views at sunset over the lake with your guests as the friendly neighbors do each evening. Enjoy all the beautiful flowers, or just relax and do some animal watching for squirrels, foxes, owls, water fowl, the occasional Golden Eagle, or any of the assortment of local bird types found in North Carolina. The local Frog population will provide you with an evening filled with songs and we hope you enjoy their harmony as much as we do. Remember at the end of each evening to clean up and leave no food outside on the patio as Raccoons have been known to show up in the screen room. This home comes with a laundry room, ironing board (with iron), even a hairdryer. If you forget some personal items or coffee, let the owner know and we will try to accomodate your needs. The deck is great for entertaining and family visits. As for night life entertainment, you may want to visit the River View Restaurant / Chill Bar for music and great food or visit uptown Charlotte or the US White Water Center for the occasional outdoor concert where you can also enjoy a great meal or drink. Please check out the web for details as to area locations, entertainment and dining.


Owner
Linda
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 25, 2017

About Linda

I decided to rent the home as a vacation rental to allow me to enjoy the lake while in town. I am working on the needs of my renters and welcome any views they can provide. Please take the time to read many reviews. I am a Realtor in North and South Carolina and would love to help anyone that is moving to the area. I love to meet new people so I hope to meet you on your stay. I also enjoy short vacations to other VRBO properties when we can get away. You will enjoy the peaceful surroundings at my lake rental located only within 12 miles from downtown Charlotte for a really nice dinner, attraction, movie, theater or event. There is a new outlet shopping center 10 miles away the Charlotte Premium Outlets just off of I-485 in south Charlotte.

The outlet just opened and includes 100 stores.

Linda purchased this house in 2003

Why Linda chose Charlotte

My lake house may be small, my welcome is BIG. Beautiful lakefront views, boat slip and pier of over 180 feet, just few miles to downtown Charlotte, and over 100 outlet stores close to property but far enough not to get caught in the traffic. Airport is less than 6 miles (Charlotte Douglas).

What makes this house unique

Just 11 miles to downtown Charlotte, few miles to the new Charlotte Premium Outlets off of I-485 in south Charlotte 9 miles from property. Carowinds is 13 miles from home, Charlotte Douglas Airport is less than 6 miles away. Nascar Hall of Fame is 11 miles away, Daniel Stowe Botanical Gardens in Belmont is 12 miles,

Amenities

Harbor House House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1380 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Rural
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , Two fully remodeled bathrooms, new granite tops, tubs/vanity
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , Two fully remodeled bathrooms, new granite tops, tubs/vanity
  • Remodeled 2 full baths. Very large new Soaking tub.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Both bedrooms have queen beds and have two additional roll-aways for extra guest and air beds for extra children. It will be a little crowed over 4 people. Newly remodeled bedrooms with hardwood floors.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Bring your own boat or kayak to pier.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

64% Complete
25% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
Nana's Lakefront Pad Near Downtown Charlotte, Sleeps 4 Comfortable
average rating of 4.451613 based on 31 reviews
Apex, NC
5

Just like staying at Nana's house

  • 5 of 5

My family of five enjoyed our long weekend at Nana's lakefront pad while in town for a race weekend. From the beginning, the owner was working to make our stay a comfortable one. The house itself was very similar to my children's grandmothers house, so they felt very comfortable. We loved the screened in porch, outdoor swing overlooking the water, and long pier perfect for attempting to fish. The owner checked in via email a couple of time to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The day we were to check out the weather turned a bit rainy and she even offered to extend our checkout so we could leave when we felt safe versus when the contracted time dictated.

We will return again.

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

Fantastic lake/river house stay!

  • 5 of 5

This property is everything advertised and more. Definitely in the style of Grandma's cabin by the lake with a beautiful back garden leading down to a dock that extends far out into the flat water river. A morning of paddle boarding (brought our own) brings you to nesting ospreys, great blue herons and turtles. In the evening fireflies abound in the garden making it look like a fairy land. The house is very clean and neat with all of the amenities of home. We were there to take a course at the U.S. National Whitewater Center which was a 10 minute drive or 15 minute paddle board downriver, an amazing venue for whitewater and flat water sports, climbing, mountain biking and running. I highly recommend this wonderful place.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I always appreciate responses by my guest and work hard to help them have a good stay. The home is definitely not the Hilton which I feel makes it much more like a grandmas stay at the lake/river. It kinda reminds me of Golden Pond for you guys old enough to know the movie. It is not perfect and that to me is it's special character. I am a grandmother of 3 and like the home to reflect my style. I will always provide a clean home but it's up to my guest to find the peace most if us are searching for. The home provides a setting great for the outdoor nature lovers in most of us. If you're open to finding peace and looking for nature you will love Nana's Lakefront Pad. Thank you for you input. I welcome responses so I can always improve your experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
4

Very Nice Lake House

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at this lake house. Be forewarned that the water is down a long hill, but worth it. Not suitable for handicapped, but it was a great time.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, I do agree. not good for handicapped individuals. Great if you want a nice clean home very close to everything. Home is located less than 12 miles from downtown Charlotte.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

Great Spot

  • 4 of 5

Great location, nice clean home......Great sunsets.

We fished off the dock and did very well. We will be back!

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am always happy when guest enjoy their stay. I try hard to achieve this. I realize they're some people you can't please, but appreciate those that are reasonable and understand this. The house is not perfect but is very clean and comfortable. From my site you can see most reviews are positive. There are a couple however that were unreasonable in their expectations. It will never be the Hilton but may be cleaner and maybe more comfortable. I read each review to see if there is something I can do to improve. This is not just a house but a home to me. Thanks Nana's Lakefront Pad
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5

Great comfortable home was very comfortable! Very Clean! Fully equipped with everything we needed . Nice screened in porch with view of the lake. Owner is very helpful. Close by Belmont had several dining choices. Close drive to downtown Charlotte.

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
1

Beware!!! Property is rundown. Pics are misleading. Owner was dishonest with us.

  • 1 of 5

Our family of 4 travels a lot staying at VRBO rentals around the country. This is by far the WORST experience we have ever had with a rental. Not only is the list of rundown or broken items long, there are safety hazards, & the owner has shown herself to be dishonest in stealing our deposit as well as additional $ she had promised to return.

We arrived to an overwhelming stench & broken lighting in the front room so that we couldn't see to get settled in the house. Within 30 minutes we had terrible headaches from the stench (We don't have allergies.) We tried to open windows or doors. We found that ALL of the windows were secured shut with plastic wrap. Coming from a cold winter climate to enjoy the warm NC weather, we were dismayed. Even the back patio door was cemented shut with caulk! There was no way to air out the smell which we traced to a cleaner that was used throughout the house as well as potpourri lanterns. We texted the owner who offered no assistance.

The list of broken items that we found included: living room recliner, treadmill, kitchen garbage lid, & all pantry shelves that fell out when you used them. The blankets in the bedrooms are thin from age & in very poor condition. The dock was also in rundown condition - boards unsecured & chair broken. The "newly renovated" bathrooms show gross neglect of broken floors, walls in disrepair & overall filth. The worst of offenses was open electrical wiring in unsecured outlets throughout the house. This was extremely dangerous w/ our toddler in the house!

The decor was HIDEOUS which is not shown in the pictures w/ fake flowers everywhere. There were masses of thick cobwebs throughout the dining & living rooms. The living room was packed with furniture...however the recliner & treadmill are broken & unusable. Beware when the owner says she will keep your deposit if you move the furniture. A family of 4 will not be able to see the TV unless they move the broken furniture out of the way.

The owner was very amiable during our stay, offered to give us $ back for our troubles, & take our time to leave. After we left, she ignored our efforts to contact her & refused to return our deposit. We've never had this experience w/ VRBO before, but they're unable to protect you as the consumer. They told us to file a credit card claim. They don't monitor safety issues on their properties even w/ photo proof. So if you stay here & have a similar issue with dishonesty..you will be on your own.

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was an extremely dishonest guest. I did everything I could to make her happy & home was nice & very clean before her arrival anyway. As for the recliner it was missing a bolt due to prior guest yet there was another one in the living room to use. I offered to fix it since I had just discovered the bolt missing prior to their stay & she would not let myself nor my contractor in. I later discovered the reason she had several people staying that were not put on agreement & rearranged the furniture to make room for them. The treadmill was working when you put the safety latch key in. She apparently did not understand operation since she couldn't understand how to work a simple TV remote. She had the TV completely unwired & should have asked me how to operate it. She left home a mess & broke things. I even had to go back & wash the dishes in the cabinets that they left dirty. She stayed much later without prior permission. When I came by to check on her to bring her more soap as she requested she blocked the door so I couldn't see the extra guest she hid. This was not such a problem but she broke things while there. She complained of things that were not broken while destroying my items. She ripped my expensive rug while moving a heavy couch. She even wiped her dirty shoes or something all over the towels and washcloths so I had to replace them. They were beyond cleaning after her visit. The wiring problem she spoke of was merely an outlet not in use in a closet. It took 3 seconds to turn the screw to fix it. I would have done it if she had let me in. She complained 9 hours after arrival when I had mopped with orange scented cleaner ie Lysol that everyone else loved. That was the smell she noticed and nothing else. She apparently expected the Hilton, it's not. It is a country lake home. She was extremely angry because I had to keep the very small deposit when she damaged my things beyond this value. The customer service at VRBO sided with me due to damage she caused & all broken rules. I replaced broken items by this guest, so everything is good. Owners need beware of this renter! I know when someone tries every way to lower the bill before booking I should be worried, but it was the slow season so I did lower it to help her. After her visit I really thought of stopping this business. Well that's just one bad guest we get those. Please note the good reviews and it's not the Hilton but its clean and comfortable certainly well worth the money!
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Charlotte Douglas Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Riverview Restaurant & Chill Bar
Nearest Ferry
280 Miles
Wilmington
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Ballantyne, Pebble, Renaisannce, Revolution
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Amtrak Gastonia, Charlotte, NC
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
I-485, I-85, I-77, Highway 74
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Riverview Restaurant & Chill Bar
Nearest Ski
70 Miles
Beach Mountain
Nearest Beach
280 Miles
Wilmington & Myrtle Beach
Car: recommended

Close to airport, downtown and all shopping etc.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Harbor House House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$150
$800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning -not refundable $80
Refundable damage deposit $75
Pet Fee $100
Tax Rate 8.5%

DUE TO ALLERGIES NO SMOKING INSIDE THE PROPERTY!!! INSIDE SMOKERS WILL LOOSE THIER DEPOSIT!!!
Holiday and special event rates may be higher than listed just call ahead. Call owner at 704-408-4578 should you have any questions. A hold of $150.00 for damage deposit will be held until property is inspected. No checks or money orders please. Credit Card only. Don't forget your vacation protection insurance.

NO PETS! Smoking only in designated areas. Any more than 4 guest or extra charge for over 4 depending on rental history. $50 Admin fee if canceled prior to stay.

NON-REFUNDABLE CLEANING FEE. NO PETS UNLESS OWNER ALLOWS, ALL PETS MUST BE IN KENNEL AND NO REFUND IF ANY DAMAGE DUE TO PETS OR IF PETS ARE NOT CLEANED AFTER!

Absolutely NO DIVING OFF THE PIER. WATER IS NOT VERY DEEP FOR DIVING. PLEASE WERE SHOES OF SOME KIND ON PIER, IT GETS HOT AND THE BOARDS MAY HAVE SPLINTERS.
PLEASE DO NOT WALK ON THE BOTTOM OF THE LAKE DUE TO POSSIBILITY OF GLASS OR FISHING HOOKS WITHOUT FOOT PROTECTION. WATER IS FROM 4 - 7 FOOT SO MAY BE DOWN DEPENDING ON THE DAMN, RAIN AND FLOW OF WATER NEARBY.

ALL TRASH MUST BE PUT IN LARGE TRASH CONTAINER OUTSIDE PROPERTY AFTER LEAVING, ALL DISHES MUST BE WASHED, ALL WET LINENS PUT IN LAUNDRY ROOM PRIOR TO LEAVING.

PLEASE DO NOT MAKE UP THE BED, SINCE I WILL REDO IT ANYWAY AFTER WASHING LINENS. IF YOU WASH THE BED LINENS PLEASE LET ME KNOW AHEAD SO I DO NOT REWASH THEM.

PLEASE TRY TO LEAVE HOME AS YOU FOUND IT.
PLEASE DO NOT REMOVE OR REARRANGE OR MOVE ANYTHING, IT MAKES IT DIFFICULT TO KEEP TRACK OF THINGS SUCH AS TV REMOTE. I ALSO AM NOT ABLE TO MOVE FURNITURE DUE TO HEALTH ISSUES. MOVING FURNITURE WILL RESULT IN LOSS OF DEPOSIT!

I PREFER TO DO ALL MOPPING DUE TO SLICK FLOOR WHEN WET AND WOULD RATHER YOU NOT GET HURT.

PLEASE LEAVE THERMOSTAT ON SAME SETTING AS YOU FOUND IT. IT IS LOCATED IN THE HALLWAY.

DUE TO RACCOONS AND SQUIRRELS PLEASE DO NOT LEAVE FOOD OUTSIDE PROPERTY.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties