Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Nana's Lakefront Pad Near Downtown Charlotte, Sleeps 4 Comfortable

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,380 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Queen Beds, sleeps 4 comfortable, New Bath Tubs

Cozy charming home on Lake Wylie and just 11 miles to downtown Charlotte and less than 6 miles to Charlotte Douglas Airport. Perfect place to just relax but close to all sites. Great for the airline traveler. Just minutes from interstate 77, 85 or 485, yet close enough to local amenaties such as fine dining, US White Water Center, Charlotte Motor Speedway, Nascar Hall of Fame, Bobcats Arena, Panthers Stadium, Daniel Stowe Botanical Gardens, Charlotte Premium Outlet (is minutes away) Malls, Aquatic Center, Blumenthal Performing Arts, Museums, Carowinds Theme Park, Hickory Furniture, Discovery Place and more. Bring your gear or watercraft to take advantage of Lake Wylie Fishing, Skiing, Swimming, Boating, Sailing, Rafting, Kayaking, as well as land lover activities such as cycling or play a few holes at the nearby Golf courses. If planning on attending an event in Charlotte this home is perfect. Totally New remodeled baths in 2015. Equipped with all you will need for a comfortable stay by the lake. Freshly laundered bed sheets as well as bath linens provided. Kitchen is equipped with everything you will need should you plan on staying in and enjoying the great lake views. Fabulous open deck, screened-in porch as well as outdoor Patio with sitting area to enjoy a tranquil waterfall spilling into our Koi fish pond. If you choose the fishing option, this pier is one of the longest on Lake Wylie at over 180 feet in length. Share the amazing views at sunset over the lake with your guests as the friendly neighbors do each evening. Enjoy all the beautiful flowers, or just relax and do some animal watching for squirrels, foxes, owls, water fowl, the occasional Golden Eagle, or any of the assortment of local bird types found in North Carolina. The local Frog population will provide you with an evening filled with songs and we hope you enjoy their harmony as much as we do. Remember at the end of each evening to clean up and leave no food outside on the patio as Raccoons have been known to show up in the screen room. This home comes with a laundry room, ironing board (with iron), even a hairdryer. If you forget some personal items or coffee, let the owner know and we will try to accomodate your needs. The deck is great for entertaining and family visits. As for night life entertainment, you may want to visit the River View Restaurant / Chill Bar for music and great food or visit uptown Charlotte or the US White Water Center for the occasional outdoor concert where you can also enjoy a great meal or drink. Please check out the web for details as to area locations, entertainment and dining.


Owner
Linda
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2017

About Linda

I decided to rent the home as a vacation rental to allow me to enjoy the lake while in town. I am working on the needs of my renters and welcome any views they can provide. Please take the time to read many reviews. I am a Realtor in North and South Carolina and would love to help anyone that is moving to the area. I love to meet new people so I hope to meet you on your stay. I also enjoy short vacations to other VRBO properties when we can get away. You will enjoy the peaceful surroundings at my lake rental located only within 12 miles from downtown Charlotte for a really nice dinner, attraction, movie, theater or event. There is a new outlet shopping center 10 miles away the Charlotte Premium Outlets just off of I-485 in south Charlotte.

The outlet just opened and includes 100 stores.

Linda purchased this house in 2003

Why Linda chose Charlotte

My lake house may be small, my welcome is BIG. Beautiful lakefront views, boat slip and pier of over 180 feet, just few miles to downtown Charlotte, and over 100 outlet stores close to property but far enough not to get caught in the traffic. Airport is less than 6 miles (Charlotte Douglas).

What makes this house unique

Just 11 miles to downtown Charlotte, few miles to the new Charlotte Premium Outlets off of I-485 in south Charlotte 9 miles from property. Carowinds is 13 miles from home, Charlotte Douglas Airport is less than 6 miles away. Nascar Hall of Fame is 11 miles away, Daniel Stowe Botanical Gardens in Belmont is 12 miles,

Amenities

Harbor House House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1380 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Rural
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , Two fully remodeled bathrooms, new granite tops, tubs/vanity
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , Two fully remodeled bathrooms, new granite tops, tubs/vanity
  • Remodeled 2 full baths. Very large new Soaking tub.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Both bedrooms have queen beds and have two additional roll-aways for extra guest and air beds for extra children. It will be a little crowed over 4 people. Newly remodeled bedrooms with hardwood floors.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Bring your own boat or kayak to pier.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

61% Complete
26% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
5% Complete
Nana's Lakefront Pad Near Downtown Charlotte, Sleeps 4 Comfortable
average rating of 4.352941 based on 34 reviews
Apex, NC
5

Just like staying at Nana's house

  • 5 of 5

My family of five enjoyed our long weekend at Nana's lakefront pad while in town for a race weekend. From the beginning, the owner was working to make our stay a comfortable one. The house itself was very similar to my children's grandmothers house, so they felt very comfortable. We loved the screened in porch, outdoor swing overlooking the water, and long pier perfect for attempting to fish. The owner checked in via email a couple of time to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The day we were to check out the weather turned a bit rainy and she even offered to extend our checkout so we could leave when we felt safe versus when the contracted time dictated.

We will return again.

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
5

Wonderful relaxing vacation

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights and we had a fantastic time. The cabin is beautiful inside and out. The view to the lake is great. The koi pond adds tranquility. We spend a lot of time sitting on the screened lanai watching the hummingbirds. The cabin was very clean and Linda was great with communication. We actually cooked every meal and we had everything that we needed. Only took us 15 minutes to get there from the airport. We will definitely be back. We caught fish from the dock everyday and even enjoyed a catfish lunch one day.

Tom and Mary Ann from Ft. Myers, FL

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great host, excellent location.

  • 4 of 5

Our host was great and the location was super convenient to the city without being in the middle of things. Loved being on the lake and the rustic charm of the porch, yard and dock. The home was a little older but clean and comfortable - had everything we needed for a great stay. I also really appreciated that the host checked in with us a few times to be sure we had everything we needed.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
1

Excellent view, perfumey and dirty house that needs some repairs. Left early for a hotel

  • 1 of 5

In the beginning, The owner was very helpful, informative and seemed excited that we would be staying at her cottage. She was quick to answer questions and to let us know if she needed to come by. Communication is always a good thing. Her piece of property has great potential. The view is great, the lake was warm, and the sunflowers were pretty. Sadly, when we arrived at the house we could smell potpourri or cleaner of some sort before even entering the house. This extreme smell effected our family and gave us headaches and some of us barely slept the first night due to the odor. We could not even air out the smell, because all the windows were sealed shut and the one working sliding glass door did not have a screen. In front of another sliding door that was sealed shut was a small pile of dead bugs. I have read others say how clean this house was for them, I wish it had been the case for us, as there were many full cobwebs, layers of dust and cockroaches (alive and dead). The dock had loose boards on it that were a hazard for the kids, as well. We have stayed at the lake before and hadn't had any issues with pests or unsafe docks. We left 2 days early. The communication slowed when we told The owner we wanted to leave early. Before we even said why we were leaving, we received a lecture from her about how the lake house wasn't as clean a a hotel, and that we were not getting any refund. Just putting it into perspective, we were quite excited to stay at A nice clean hotel the next night. We don't post this to attack, as I mentioned earlier, the property has great potential. We were just not able to enjoy it.

We have stayed at 5-6 other homeaway properties and they were all wonderful, this one is definitely the exception. We do have photos of the items that caused us to leave early.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The guest finished his job early and wanted a refund for leaving early and since I could not re-rent the home on short notice couldn't do the refund so he was upset. This is not a hotel and to re-rent is not possible on a short 2 day notice. Clean is all what you will get at this home, unfortunately most cleaners do have a clean smell that is almost like potpourri. There is absolutely no potpourri in the home but it may be either the Lysol orange sent or Glade linen carpet sent he smelled. I did use these that day. It is difficult making everyone happy and it looks to be that 99% of the people are happy. Please read most of the reviews if you have the time. It is hard to deal with the hotel (Hilton) type of guest since they are really not accustomed to outdoors and lake life. As for the boards on pier a few do need to be replaced but completely safe. Have you ever been to the beach piers? Boards are weathered as usual. This is completely normal. I find some people are just not the outdoor type and really should rent a hotel room, possible the Hilton at $200 per day downtown. Obviously these guys are this type. Not to be critical but after 3 years in this work it is the case with some very particular guys and a hotel or very expensive new home is the answer for them not a lake older cabin away from this city a little. My home is very reasonably priced and just a cabin on the water. It is simply a lake house and yes cobwebs form outside after 30 minutes and there is nothing I can do about it. If you know anything about lake living you do know this. Even a problem with a completely new home near me. There is nothing I can do but the home has been exterminated and no unwanted critter will survive inside. Outside is another thing since it is outdoors after all. You may see squirrels, birds, raccoons, possums, and fox. Prior to renting please know this is just a lake cabin and will always be clean but if you have a sensitivity to orange Lysol cleaner please do not rent this home because I demand the home be cleaned and this is the best smelling item I have found. I do not want to use bleach it smells worse and some soaps are slippery and leave a film on the floors. If cleaners bother you please let me know prior to me cleaning because it will be cleaned and sanitized as much as possible. So in final please do not book a lake outdoor cabin if you are the hotel type. This will only cause us hardship.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Fantastic lake/river house stay!

  • 5 of 5

This property is everything advertised and more. Definitely in the style of Grandma's cabin by the lake with a beautiful back garden leading down to a dock that extends far out into the flat water river. A morning of paddle boarding (brought our own) brings you to nesting ospreys, great blue herons and turtles. In the evening fireflies abound in the garden making it look like a fairy land. The house is very clean and neat with all of the amenities of home. We were there to take a course at the U.S. National Whitewater Center which was a 10 minute drive or 15 minute paddle board downriver, an amazing venue for whitewater and flat water sports, climbing, mountain biking and running. I highly recommend this wonderful place.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I always appreciate responses by my guest and work hard to help them have a good stay. The home is definitely not the Hilton which I feel makes it much more like a grandmas stay at the lake/river. It kinda reminds me of Golden Pond for you guys old enough to know the movie. It is not perfect and that to me is it's special character. I am a grandmother of 3 and like the home to reflect my style. I will always provide a clean home but it's up to my guest to find the peace most if us are searching for. The home provides a setting great for the outdoor nature lovers in most of us. If you're open to finding peace and looking for nature you will love Nana's Lakefront Pad. Thank you for you input. I welcome responses so I can always improve your experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
4

Very Nice Lake House

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at this lake house. Be forewarned that the water is down a long hill, but worth it. Not suitable for handicapped, but it was a great time.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, I do agree. not good for handicapped individuals. Great if you want a nice clean home very close to everything. Home is located less than 12 miles from downtown Charlotte.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

U.S. National Whitewater Center
" GOOD FOR ADVENTURE TRAVERLERS, FAMILY TRAVELERS, NIGHTLIFE LOVERS, TRENDSTERS, WELLNESS, BU..."
U.S. National Whitewater Center
" GOOD FOR ADVENTURE TRAVERLERS, FAMILY TRAVELERS, NIGHTLIFE LOVERS, TRENDSTERS, WELLNESS, BU..."
Daniel Stowe Botanical Garden
"Family, business, green travelers, budget, local, history, luxury, art & design, landscapers..."
riverview raw bar & chill
"Nightlife, vegetarian, students, local culture, foodies, budget travelers"
NASCAR Hall of Fame
Carowinds
"Family travelers"
Billy Graham Library
"History Buffs, Local Culture, Family Travelers, Spiritual Seekers"
Discovery Place
"Family, Advenure, Art & Design, Budget, Local Culure, Students"
http://www.panthers.com/stadium/
"Family, Students, Adventure"
Bank of America Stadium
"Bank of America Stadium "The Vault" Bank of America Stadium.jpg Former names Carolinas S..."
Charlotte Motor Speedway
"Map Edit 5555 Concord Parkway South Concord, NC 28027 ..."
Blumenthal Performing Arts Center
SouthPark Mall (NC)
Charlotte Epicenter
Price's Chicken Coop
Amelie's French Bakery
Uptown Charlotte
Lupie's Cafe
Time Warner Cable Arena
Levine Museum of the New South
Rock Bottom Brewery
Charlotte Bobcats Arena
Theatre Charlotte
NASCAR
Founders Hall
The Capital Grille
Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Charlotte Douglas Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Riverview Restaurant & Chill Bar
Nearest Ferry
280 Miles
Wilmington
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Ballantyne, Pebble, Renaisannce, Revolution
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Amtrak Gastonia, Charlotte, NC
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
I-485, I-85, I-77, Highway 74
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Riverview Restaurant & Chill Bar
Nearest Ski
70 Miles
Beach Mountain
Nearest Beach
280 Miles
Wilmington & Myrtle Beach
Car: recommended

Close to airport, downtown and all shopping etc.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Additional Guest Fee $20 per person per night
Damage Deposit $75

DUE TO ALLERGIES NO SMOKING INSIDE THE PROPERTY!!! INSIDE SMOKERS WILL LOOSE THIER DEPOSIT!!!
Holiday and special event rates may be higher than listed just call ahead. Call owner at 704-408-4578 should you have any questions. A hold of $75.00 for damage deposit will be held until property is inspected. No checks or money orders please. Credit Card only. Don't forget your vacation protection insurance.

NO PETS! Smoking only in designated areas. Any more than 4 guest or extra charge for over 4 depending on rental history.

NON-REFUNDABLE CLEANING FEE. NO PETS UNLESS OWNER ALLOWS, ALL PETS MUST BE IN KENNEL AND NO REFUND IF ANY DAMAGE DUE TO PETS OR IF PETS ARE NOT CLEANED AFTER!

Absolutely NO DIVING OFF THE PIER. WATER IS NOT VERY DEEP FOR DIVING. PLEASE WERE SHOES OF SOME KIND ON PIER, IT GETS HOT AND THE BOARDS MAY HAVE SPLINTERS.
PLEASE DO NOT WALK ON THE BOTTOM OF THE LAKE DUE TO POSSIBILITY OF GLASS OR FISHING HOOKS WITHOUT FOOT PROTECTION. WATER IS FROM 4 - 7 FOOT SO MAY BE DOWN DEPENDING ON THE DAMN, RAIN AND FLOW OF WATER NEARBY.

ALL TRASH MUST BE PUT IN LARGE TRASH CONTAINER OUTSIDE PROPERTY AFTER LEAVING, ALL DISHES MUST BE WASHED, ALL WET LINENS PUT IN LAUNDRY ROOM PRIOR TO LEAVING.

PLEASE DO NOT MAKE UP THE BED, SINCE I WILL REDO IT ANYWAY AFTER WASHING LINENS. IF YOU WASH THE BED LINENS PLEASE LET ME KNOW AHEAD SO I DO NOT REWASH THEM.

PLEASE TRY TO LEAVE HOME AS YOU FOUND IT.
PLEASE DO NOT REMOVE OR REARRANGE OR MOVE ANYTHING, IT MAKES IT DIFFICULT TO KEEP TRACK OF THINGS SUCH AS TV REMOTE. I ALSO AM NOT ABLE TO MOVE FURNITURE DUE TO HEALTH ISSUES. MOVING FURNITURE WILL RESULT IN LOSS OF DEPOSIT!

I PREFER TO DO ALL MOPPING DUE TO SLICK FLOOR WHEN WET AND WOULD RATHER YOU NOT GET HURT.

PLEASE LEAVE THERMOSTAT ON SAME SETTING AS YOU FOUND IT. IT IS LOCATED IN THE HALLWAY.

DUE TO RACCOONS AND SQUIRRELS PLEASE DO NOT LEAVE FOOD OUTSIDE PROPERTY.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.